Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    100
    It absolutely harkens back to my own time as a tabletop gamer, with both D&D and CCGs, and its story treats those memories like they’re a treasure, rather than a punchline. Will you enjoy it as much if you don’t have those memories to draw on? Well, if you like fun, and can stomach learning something new, then I don’t see how you get out of this without having at least a little.
  2. Sep 12, 2013
    100
    Card Hunter gets it right in every which way that matters, and even in some of the ways that don't. It's geeky, goofy tabletop fun remade for the modern web browser: brilliantly designed, highly appealing and top-notch fun.
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    90
    If you’re a tactics nut like me, Card Hunter is wonderful stuff. Deep, smart, and lovingly crafted - this is proof that free-to-play can work even without costumes and hats.
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    90
    It’s even more remarkable that all of this exists in a browser-based game.
  5. Nov 11, 2013
    89
    A must play for SRPG fans and wistfully nostalgic D&D enthusiasts.
  6. Dec 25, 2013
    86
    Those interested in CCGs, but slightly daunted by endless rule sets, will find Card Hunter the perfect place to be. [Jan 2014, p.83]
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    86
    It’s the early days of Card Hunter, but it feels charming and exhilarating, with the promise of co-op and new campaigns in the future. We’ve played with and without spending a dime, and while cash can assuredly speed things up, Card Hunter is a valid experience for penny pinchers and pizza lovers alike.
  8. Sep 24, 2013
    85
    A truly magical fusion of tabletop RPG and CCG that’s only missing pizza and beer—and co-op.
  9. Sep 20, 2013
    83
    Even with its frustrations, Card Hunter is easy to recommend to tactics enthusiasts. The charming nods to old-school dungeon crawls are spot-on, but the depth of the incredibly flexible combat system gives Card Hunter its legs. There’s even a well-designed multiplayer mode that lets you test your skills against fellow online players. The fact that Card Hunter is also a free browser-based game is icing on the cake, and a potent reminder that awesome games are cropping up in all sorts of unexpected venues these days.
  10. Sep 12, 2013
    81
    Card Hunter is a remarkable and sophisticated casual game with a deep strategic soul. Unfortunately it lacks some options to personalize matches and involve other players in our own adventures.
  11. Nov 6, 2013
    80
    Card Hunter is anything but inconsequential. It’s a top tier turn-based tactics game, a secret TCG, and the first RPG I’ve ever played to make a virtue of a generic fantasy setting. It’s the inspired XCOM variant that Space Hulk seems to have turned out not to be.
  12. 80
    Card Hunter looks simple but it conceals a treasure trove of fun stemming from card combinations, RPG features and the multiplayer battlefield. [Nov 2013]
  13. Oct 10, 2013
    80
    This is a game that takes its fantasy as seriously as it needs to be, which is to say both lightly and with rigour in homage to the communal games that make up videogames’ heritage. But it’s also a real original.
  14. Oct 3, 2013
    80
    Card Hunter folds the best of card games and video games into a single experience. The combat and aesthetics all gel together in a unique browser-based game. Try the game, even if you’re not into board games, as it a should scratch the itch of anyone who is missing a polished turn based experience.
  15. Oct 3, 2013
    80
    Card Hunter's fusion of tabletop role-playing games and trading cards is easy to get into and hard to pull away from.
  16. Sep 25, 2013
    80
    Delightful and thoroughly addictive genre-blending fun teetering on the cusp of greatness. [Oct 2013, p.80]
  17. Sep 12, 2013
    80
    If you've ever spent an evening huddled around a table telling tales of crypts and wyverns, I highly recommend that you give Card Hunter a shot. Even if you eventually hit a paywall, you'll have a ton of fun, and may even recall some of your fondest role-paying memories in the process.
  18. Sep 12, 2013
    70
    It has a lot of potential and I'm interested to see how it grows, because it's a game that's all about trying new things: new tricks, new combinations, new possibilities.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite F2P game right now. It is really addicting. You don't need to play it everyday, but once you start playing it you can'tThis is my favorite F2P game right now. It is really addicting. You don't need to play it everyday, but once you start playing it you can't put it down. I have several friends who are also now hooked on this game. Full Review »
  2. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    I've been hooked on Card Hunter since beta. I'm hoping the game comes to mobile devices soon. The only thing I would like to see a longerI've been hooked on Card Hunter since beta. I'm hoping the game comes to mobile devices soon. The only thing I would like to see a longer campaign map. Full Review »
  3. Sep 14, 2013
    7
    This game is all kind of amazing, except one. It has lots of charm, stylish graphics, engaging rules, geeky semi-story, but all the time, itThis game is all kind of amazing, except one. It has lots of charm, stylish graphics, engaging rules, geeky semi-story, but all the time, it teases the player with more and more virtual things he could obtain if only he paid more and more money through micro-transactions. Full Review »