Card Hunter Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Card Hunter is is an innovative new take on strategy gaming that lets its developers flex their turn-based gaming muscles in a way that they never could have as part of a bigger outfit.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jul 27, 2015
    85
    It’s a surprisingly faithful and endearing approximation of playing a pen-and-paper RPG like Dungeons and Dragons, taking core pieces of the culture and structure of a D&D game and stripping it down to basic, easy-to-understand mechanics.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Sep 9, 2015
    85
    Card Hunter is a rare gem among free-to-play-games because its revenue model isn’t an all-consuming behemoth. The tabletop RPG with card battles is an excellent idea, it is a little grindy but at least it has a tiny story too. [Sept 2015]
  3. Sep 2, 2015
    80
    Card Hunter not only prides itself in capturing the spirit of tabletop gaming, but has also built a refreshing game on top of CCG concepts to bring tactical depth under its charming visuals, and best of all, it won’t cost you a penny to experience its joy.
  4. Nov 13, 2015
    75
    A curious and complex title, that will definitely satisfy those who love some good old turn based combat. When it comes to graphics is obviously pretty weak, but makes up for it with its great mechanics and fun challenge level.
  5. Jul 26, 2015
    67
    As much as I wanted to enjoy Card Hunter, I found myself losing interest by the end.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Jul 19, 2015
    10
    This game is wonderful and everyone should be playing it, I dont really have time to explain.

    so yea... this is boring.... i want to stop
    This game is wonderful and everyone should be playing it, I dont really have time to explain.

    so yea... this is boring.... i want to stop writing this review and go play the game...
    Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2017
    10
    This game is the perfect blend of traditional PvP and tabletop gaming. The campaign is a well-written and engaging story, it has a perfectThis game is the perfect blend of traditional PvP and tabletop gaming. The campaign is a well-written and engaging story, it has a perfect difficulty curve that always keeps the AI fresh, and it has mild replayability because each campaign level has challenge quests and because levels are often battled co-operatively with others. If PvP is more your thing you'll fit right in. There is a deep meta that is continuously evolving and changes drastically every month with map rotations. People spy on other's games just to take notes on their builds. But don't be intimidated because most people playing PvP these days are newer players. The ranking system does a great job at making sure you play people with a similar item collection/ability level.

    Oh, and perhaps the best part about this game is that it is truly a free-to-play gem. Money can't be used to purchase specific high-tiered weapons. Random shop stock and chest openings prevent this game from being pay-to-win.

    But be warned, getting ahead in this game requires, not money, but time. I've invested only $10 in this game, but I've also invested 750 hours. Free-to-play gamers looking for a place they can settle into need look no further -- this game is perfect for you. Gamers who want to dabble with this an hour or two a month should just move along.
    Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2017
    10
    This game is wonderful and everyone should be playing it, I dont really have time to explain.

    so yea... this is boring.... i want to stop
    This game is wonderful and everyone should be playing it, I dont really have time to explain.

    so yea... this is boring.... i want to stop writing this review and go play the game...
    Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2015
    8
    Great little TBS/digital board game... oh wait, not that little, it actually provides countless hours of fun and huge reliability. The bestGreat little TBS/digital board game... oh wait, not that little, it actually provides countless hours of fun and huge reliability. The best f2p I've played thus far. The model is far, definitely not p2w. If you enjoy collecting loot or if you love board games, this game is certainly worth checking out. Fun solo and even better with some buddies. Expand
  5. Oct 4, 2015
    7
    Interesting and fun game, it started as a browser based game and it's now available on Steam, with revamped multiplayer features. Every playerInteresting and fun game, it started as a browser based game and it's now available on Steam, with revamped multiplayer features. Every player interested in deck building/board/TBS games should give it a try.
    Might get repetitive after a while, even though the developers are introducing new expansions and different modes in the game.
    Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2015
    7
    Card Hunter is an RPG/Board game, the game is good for a Free2Play game but after you hit level 7 you need to repeat some levels to get moreCard Hunter is an RPG/Board game, the game is good for a Free2Play game but after you hit level 7 you need to repeat some levels to get more EXP and to get better items, and thats what i dont like about the game: Its too repetitive.
    Oh and you need to use real money to unlock some extra levels, but thats not so bad i suppose.
    Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2015
    4
    4/10 - An exellent game for what it tries to be, but an 80' cardboard tabletop combat game is simply to booring and repetitive to hold any4/10 - An exellent game for what it tries to be, but an 80' cardboard tabletop combat game is simply to booring and repetitive to hold any kind of appeal to me. The nostalgia wore off after 5 hours, and that was that. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews