Carmageddon 3: TDR 2000 PC

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 62
  2. Negative: 8 out of 62
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GrezthePrez
    Jun 30, 2002
    10
    Wicked, totally wicked.
  2. CalR.
    Sep 8, 2002
    10
    A game way ahead of its time, hence the poor reviews at its debut. Running on a Geforce4+ will give you absolutely beutiful graphics, and very smooth animation and effects (after you enable the 64MB textures hack). True the timer is a letdown, but you can 'freedrive' so you can drive around and kill everything/ explore everything. I can only hope they make a carmageddon for the A game way ahead of its time, hence the poor reviews at its debut. Running on a Geforce4+ will give you absolutely beutiful graphics, and very smooth animation and effects (after you enable the 64MB textures hack). True the timer is a letdown, but you can 'freedrive' so you can drive around and kill everything/ explore everything. I can only hope they make a carmageddon for the xbox (which would be graphically one of the best games out there, no doubt). Expand
  3. AndyPocalypse
    Jan 8, 2003
    9
    It is a very good game, but it don't have the vastness of the original or the sequel, but still well worth buying.
  4. Feeblez
    May 16, 2003
    9
    This must be one of the most underated games ever! True, when it first came out the framerate was a little poor on most people's hardware. But fortunately unlike Carmageddon 2 the game plays really smooth on a modern gfx card. (make sure texture filtering is set to Linear or Triliner so the textures don't look blocky!) The spectacular physics on display in this game are only This must be one of the most underated games ever! True, when it first came out the framerate was a little poor on most people's hardware. But fortunately unlike Carmageddon 2 the game plays really smooth on a modern gfx card. (make sure texture filtering is set to Linear or Triliner so the textures don't look blocky!) The spectacular physics on display in this game are only just starting to be seen in stuff like Half-life 2! I don't know what the reviewer's problem is with the timed missions, sure it may take a few attempts to do each mission, but isn't this the same for all the over hyped and comparatively dull console driving games we play today? I am slightly turned off by gore in games (Soldier of Fortune), but this game has a really fun sense of humour, so make sure you install the red blood patch! The game is hillarious and addictive at the same time, and unlike Midtown Madness 1/2 and GTA3/Vice City on the PC you shouldn't get nasty graphical glitches that make the thing unplayable on a large percentage of machines. Expand
  5. Feeblez
    May 16, 2003
    9
    This must be one of the most underated games ever! True, when it first came out the framerate was a little poor on most people's hardware. But fortunately unlike Carmageddon 2 the game plays really smooth on a modern gfx card. (make sure texture filtering is set to Linear or Triliner so the textures don't look blocky!) The spectacular physics on display in this game are only This must be one of the most underated games ever! True, when it first came out the framerate was a little poor on most people's hardware. But fortunately unlike Carmageddon 2 the game plays really smooth on a modern gfx card. (make sure texture filtering is set to Linear or Triliner so the textures don't look blocky!) The spectacular physics on display in this game are only just starting to be seen in stuff like Half-life 2! I don't know what the reviewer's problem is with the timed missions, sure it may take a few attempts to do each mission, but isn't this the same for all the over hyped and comparatively dull console driving games we play today? I am slightly turned off by gore in games (Soldier of Fortune), but this game has a really fun sense of humour, so make sure you install the red blood patch! The game is hillarious and addictive at the same time, and unlike Midtown Madness 1/2 and GTA3/Vice City on the PC you shouldn't get nasty graphical glitches that make the thing unplayable on a large percentage of machines. Expand
  6. Satansbestfriend
    May 22, 2003
    10
    THIS GAME RULES!!!!!!
  7. Billy
    Aug 15, 2003
    10
    This game kicks ass its better then the 2nd one!!!!!!
  8. MIniumDamn
    May 10, 2004
    10
    Very Nice.
  9. JoshuaB.
    May 10, 2005
    8
    First of all, I don't like games like NFS, because even a little mistake can be fatal. But in Carmageddon you can run every way you like! And even a serious mistake is not fatal, and a lost time in case of mistake can be compensated with your good futher driving! You can do everything! TDR2000 has better graphics then C2, mission more interesting, but usual races are not so First of all, I don't like games like NFS, because even a little mistake can be fatal. But in Carmageddon you can run every way you like! And even a serious mistake is not fatal, and a lost time in case of mistake can be compensated with your good futher driving! You can do everything! TDR2000 has better graphics then C2, mission more interesting, but usual races are not so interesting than in C2. Police cars is not god add-on, I take not much pleasure trying to wreck non-wreckable police cars. Viewing distance is significally bigger, and it is a big plus! (setting "MaxYonFactor" more than 35 hangs up C2 when AI car is trying to recover) In most times phisycs are better. I didn't play over network, but I think C2 will be more interesting. Expand
  10. KielM.
    Nov 11, 2002
    9
    This game could use better graphic.. but i believe it would slow it down to much and create a higher demand on better video cards.. by keeping it like this.. makes it more playable to more users!!
  11. GuyR.
    Jul 4, 2002
    10
    Carmagedon is the best game ever made. It is the greatest and most fun of any game. And TDR2000 is the best of the series. Definitely a great buy!
  12. SamS.
    Aug 17, 2002
    10
    Best game playable on XP. There has never been so many objects hidden places and great graphics in any game with the exception of mabey Commanche 4. TDR make the highly overated nascar games seem total dull and numbing. All one can do whith them is run aroud cheesy loking track. TDR has things I am still discovering even after 1.5 years of play.
  13. Zhanatus
    Aug 8, 2002
    10
    Hey this is a great game Not by the graphics or sounds but by the idea.
  14. RooBah
    Oct 24, 2003
    9
    Comon, jesus...lol (did I just say that?).. while I can agree that its not a 10 due to some net problems, it certainly has never been anything CLOSE to a simulation. It haws stunning gfx and use of AA... the framerates are more than tolerable on my P3-667, 512 meg, GF2 mx400 system. I would like to know how to use the replay output device though.
  15. Whocares
    May 21, 2003
    10
    this game rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! its the best game i ever played[and i played a lot of games]
  16. Harry
    Jul 11, 2004
    9
    Awesome.
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. 58
    You know you've got problems when the top quote on the box tells you that Maxim gave the game five out of five stars. I mean, that should tell you something immediately, right?
  2. 60
    While the vehicular slaughtering remains satisfyingly gruesome in looks and sound, the graphics of the rest of the game have taken a step back -- Carmageddon 3 suffers from lousy frame rates and animation slowdowns.
  3. Mission frustration will have most gamers utilizing cheats to move on to the next level.