Castle Crashers PC

Castle Crashers Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hack, slash, and smash your way to victory in this award winning 2D arcade adventure from The Behemoth! Featuring hand-drawn characters, Castle Crashers Steam Edition delivers hi-res visuals like nothing you've seen before. Four friends can play locally or online to save your princess,Hack, slash, and smash your way to victory in this award winning 2D arcade adventure from The Behemoth! Featuring hand-drawn characters, Castle Crashers Steam Edition delivers hi-res visuals like nothing you've seen before. Four friends can play locally or online to save your princess, defend your kingdom, and crash some castles! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. 82
    An absolute addiction, a thoroughly entertaining beat’em up. Despite its age (it was first released for the Xbox, four years ago), it’s a first class option for frantic co-op mayhem. [November 2012]
  2. Sep 28, 2012
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    One of the best indie games ever made hands down. It has it all. Excellent fluid gameplay that stands up to multiple playthroughs. Humor.One of the best indie games ever made hands down. It has it all. Excellent fluid gameplay that stands up to multiple playthroughs. Humor. Difficulty. AND IT'S CHEAP AS DIRT. Now that's what an indie game should be. High quality oldschool gameplay for a few dollars. Forget all these boring cookie cutter art games coming out. I want to PLAY my games. Collapse
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    Game: Castle Crashers
    Genre: Beat Em Up RPG
    Developer: The Behemoth System: Steam (PC) Total Score: 90/100 Value Score: 9.0/10
    Game: Castle Crashers
    Genre: Beat Em Up RPG
    Developer: The Behemoth
    System: Steam (PC)
    Total Score: 90/100
    Value Score: 9.0/10

    Castle Crashers was originally a console exclusive indie Beat Em Up game but now it's available on Steam for a decent price alongside its DLC. The game consists of a medieval style plot, with humor and a lot of blood and gore added to the mix with its Beat Em Up gameplay style that clearly will scream nostalgia for fans of Streets of Rage, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Battletoads and Final Fight it also includes a RPG Leveling up system which adds a bit more depth to the overall gameplay experience as you can increase your stats or learn new attacks. The game also provides a great multiplayer experience with up to 4 players who can engage in the main campaign which comes in two difficulty flavors or duke it out in a arena type PVP style mode.

    • Story: 9/10
    • Characters: 10/10
    • GamePlay: 9/10
    • Graphics: 8/10
    • Sound: 8/10
    • Music: 10/10
    • Length: 7/10
    • Replay Value: 10/10
    • Player Value: 9/10

    +Nostalgic Beat Em Up Genre
    +Great Multiplayer
    +RPG style level up system which includes powering up stats and learning techniques and skills.
    +Different difficulty modes
    +Versus modes/PVP
    +Unique art style and animations not seen in most games
    +Play as different types of characters with their own fighting style
    +A lot of great humor added throughout the game.
    +Decent plotline

    -Really short in its main campaign
    Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    Although I found it a bit weird that it took 4 years after the initial release on the Xbox 360, for it to come out on PC, it still doesn'tAlthough I found it a bit weird that it took 4 years after the initial release on the Xbox 360, for it to come out on PC, it still doesn't really matter, because I finally have it, and I have finally enjoyed it. Castle Crashers for PC is just like the Xbox 360 and PS3 version. Fun, medieval sword fighting against evil knights, monsters, and strange creatures. The game is very nicely done, with good graphics, and fun, addicting levels and gameplay. Castle Crashers is best enjoyed through online multiplayer with friends or strangers. That said, the game lets you enable voice chat for a more fun multiplayer experience. I seriously think it's a powerful, and engaging fighting experience. Even if it is very cartoony. CC for PC receives a 9/10 from me. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2013
    8
    THE GOOD: Castle Crashers has been a long standing top seller for the XBOX360 and PS3 for a number of years, but was only released on the PCTHE GOOD: Castle Crashers has been a long standing top seller for the XBOX360 and PS3 for a number of years, but was only released on the PC via Steam in September. Wow, first off it's surprisingly fun and simple to play. Gameplay is rudimentary reminiscent to Sega's Golden Axe. Wave after wave of enemies approach you on each screen, with health and weapon pick-up's along the way. In addition to this, you also have a character level system. As you mash your way through the game your character levels up and you're able to spend skill points on various attributes (including strength, defense and magic). I say it's similar to Golden Axe, but frequently you are presented with a boss or scene that can see you riding on the back of deer being chased by a large forest monster or heading down the river, trying to jump on logs and other wreckage to prevent being eaten by sharks. Visually the cartoon look is polished, with the animation of characters top notch. I found some of the characters actually make me laugh so kudos to Behemoth Studios' art/animation department for this. Sound and music is suitably well done.

    THE BAD: The leveling system means that some levels are tough and require repeated attempts before they can be completed. This rinse/repeat method can be frustrated but as you progress through the game world, you encounter side levels such as arena's or other castles - which are a welcome diversion from main A-to-B quest line. Overall the title is a welcome addition to Steam. Get crashing those castles now!
    Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    A solid experience. There seems to be a lot of poop in this game, however, most of this game is playable for people who don't appreciateA solid experience. There seems to be a lot of poop in this game, however, most of this game is playable for people who don't appreciate toilet humour. Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2015
    7
    Castle Crashers, a game developed by The Behemoth - the same people that recently developed for Steam "BattleBlock Theater". Castle CrashersCastle Crashers, a game developed by The Behemoth - the same people that recently developed for Steam "BattleBlock Theater". Castle Crashers is a fun game to play alone and with your friends with its great music and wacky comedy (from farting birds to bears reading newspapers then farting), the only thing I have to comment about is the level of difficulty, I don't know how easy it is with a friend with Co-Op/Multiplayer but on your own with Singleplayer it can be really difficult sometimes and also if you have a controller... USE IT! This game does not run well with a keyboard and the developers weren't bothered to change the XBOX symbols to keyboard symbols and vice versa, so if you were like me at first playing with a keyboard, your kinda stuck and it is very un-enjoyable to play with a keyboard, so if you have or you can afford one, play with a controller by all means necessary! Expand
  7. Mar 3, 2013
    3
    A remake of Golden Axe after 20 years and with worst graphics. Thats all. Well, a bit RPG here, but nothing to make the difference. It wasA remake of Golden Axe after 20 years and with worst graphics. Thats all. Well, a bit RPG here, but nothing to make the difference. It was like "Why am I playing a TMNT game when I could be playing something new?". I like modern remakes, like Legend of Grimrock, but they must be MODERN and FUN. This has nothing of that. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews