Castle Crashers PC

Castle Crashers Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hack, slash, and smash your way to victory in this award winning 2D arcade adventure from The Behemoth! Featuring hand-drawn characters, Castle Crashers Steam Edition delivers hi-res visuals like nothing you've seen before. Four friends can play locally or online to save your princess,Hack, slash, and smash your way to victory in this award winning 2D arcade adventure from The Behemoth! Featuring hand-drawn characters, Castle Crashers Steam Edition delivers hi-res visuals like nothing you've seen before. Four friends can play locally or online to save your princess, defend your kingdom, and crash some castles! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Feb 6, 2013
    82
    An absolute addiction, a thoroughly entertaining beat’em up. Despite its age (it was first released for the Xbox, four years ago), it’s a first class option for frantic co-op mayhem. [November 2012]
  2. Sep 28, 2012
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    One of the best indie games ever made hands down. It has it all. Excellent fluid gameplay that stands up to multiple playthroughs. Humor.One of the best indie games ever made hands down. It has it all. Excellent fluid gameplay that stands up to multiple playthroughs. Humor. Difficulty. AND IT'S CHEAP AS DIRT. Now that's what an indie game should be. High quality oldschool gameplay for a few dollars. Forget all these boring cookie cutter art games coming out. I want to PLAY my games. Collapse
  2. Sep 10, 2016
    9
    One of the best indie games of all time. A story mode with some hilarious and epic moments that makes you to love this game. Multiplayer storyOne of the best indie games of all time. A story mode with some hilarious and epic moments that makes you to love this game. Multiplayer story mode is one of the best things that this game has. Also the other game modes are great to have fun with friends or online against other players Expand
  3. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    Probably the best fun I've had with a beat em up since I played Target Renegade on the C64. I bought it thinking I probably wouldn't play muchProbably the best fun I've had with a beat em up since I played Target Renegade on the C64. I bought it thinking I probably wouldn't play much then I got completely sucked in and thoroughly enjoyed myself. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2013
    8
    THE GOOD: Castle Crashers has been a long standing top seller for the XBOX360 and PS3 for a number of years, but was only released on the PCTHE GOOD: Castle Crashers has been a long standing top seller for the XBOX360 and PS3 for a number of years, but was only released on the PC via Steam in September. Wow, first off it's surprisingly fun and simple to play. Gameplay is rudimentary reminiscent to Sega's Golden Axe. Wave after wave of enemies approach you on each screen, with health and weapon pick-up's along the way. In addition to this, you also have a character level system. As you mash your way through the game your character levels up and you're able to spend skill points on various attributes (including strength, defense and magic). I say it's similar to Golden Axe, but frequently you are presented with a boss or scene that can see you riding on the back of deer being chased by a large forest monster or heading down the river, trying to jump on logs and other wreckage to prevent being eaten by sharks. Visually the cartoon look is polished, with the animation of characters top notch. I found some of the characters actually make me laugh so kudos to Behemoth Studios' art/animation department for this. Sound and music is suitably well done.

    THE BAD: The leveling system means that some levels are tough and require repeated attempts before they can be completed. This rinse/repeat method can be frustrated but as you progress through the game world, you encounter side levels such as arena's or other castles - which are a welcome diversion from main A-to-B quest line. Overall the title is a welcome addition to Steam. Get crashing those castles now!
    Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2014
    8
    Really nice 2D side-scrolling RPG smashing game. The Co-op mode is multiplying the gameplay experience and gives you tons of funny moments.Really nice 2D side-scrolling RPG smashing game. The Co-op mode is multiplying the gameplay experience and gives you tons of funny moments. The cartoon graphic is highlighting the humor of this game. I recommend it more for multiplayer, but single play gives funny time and challenges battles as well. Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2014
    7
    A funny, cute co-op beat em up. My fiance and I loved playing this game through, finding all the secrets and using the unique mechanics.A funny, cute co-op beat em up. My fiance and I loved playing this game through, finding all the secrets and using the unique mechanics. Despite the fun it gives there are a few things that could have been improved. Enemies take a long time and a lot of hits to kill which can be annoying when you just want to progress and waves of enemies keep flooding in. Leveling up is a chore. Leveling up takes longer than it should. Weapons are interchangeable and samey, most of the weapons look different and thats it. The animal companions are cute and sometimes helpful but most of them are usually ineffective and never deliver.
    Overall, this game is okay alone, a blast with a friend or two but after a fun 1st play through but i dont think you can enjoy it as much a second time.
    Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2015
    0
    **** this game is **** dog don't buy this game money go wind meself tatatatatbabababababababbabacatabatacatabata* game get reckt**** this game is **** dog don't buy this game money go wind meself tatatatatbabababababababbabacatabatacatabata* game get reckt mazafakaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa Expand

See all 29 User Reviews