Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    70
    When Mercury Steam seemed to be about to produce a new successful title with very little effort, something went wrong and what we've got is not even the shadow of what we've been expecting in all these years. A conclusion that well-deserved another fate.
  2. Feb 25, 2014
    70
    The developers have put too many different ideas into Lords of Shadow 2, and the end result is a bit messy. We have a great combat mechanic that is flawed in a very important place. There are cool special powers that are useful only in certain parts of the story. Stealth gameplay bores instead of being exciting. Still - for every mediocre idea there's a great one. Lords of Shadow 2 is a lesser game than its predecessor, but still generates many hours of fun.
  3. The PC version of Lords of Shadow 2 has the same shortcomings of its console variants, improved graphics and an easy-to-use camera do not change our disappointment with the sequel.
  4. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    A good game with a satisfying conclusion to the MercurySteam saga that sadly falls short of its predecessor, thanks to the puzzling inclusion of unwanted stealth elements.
  5. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    Underneath the unfocused, ramshackle design decisions and incomprehensible story there's a decent action game - but how much of it you're willing to endure for closure depends on how deeply entrenched you are into Lords of Shadow's lore.
  6. Feb 26, 2014
    58
    It’s a tragedy to see Lords of Shadows 2 arrive in this form. Rather than focus on what made the first game so much fun, the designers seem to have totally misunderstood what gamers wanted from the sequel, and delivered something that was utterly alien to the first game.
  7. Mar 4, 2014
    50
    The creators have looked everywhere and were inspired by everything, but unlike the competition there's no quality in their endeavours. Instead of a great hack and slash title they serve us a merely stereotypically dull piece without brains. On top of that, the game looks off colour.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 465 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 106
  2. Negative: 15 out of 106
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    I liked the first one and I like this one too. I don't care to give a full review right now just had to state that I would score it 8 out ofI liked the first one and I like this one too. I don't care to give a full review right now just had to state that I would score it 8 out of 10 normally but because there are morons who give games 0's only because it's not as good as the original, I had to rate it 10 to make up for this stupidity. 0 means the game is completely broken and unplayable and enjoyment was impossible. When you give 0's to games that are clearly not even close to being that bad, your just showing that your either under the age of 18 and still rather stupid or your just rather stupid altogether. Full Review »
  2. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    GREAT GAME do not listen to some paid reviewers. The game has improved gameplay and a better camera from the original the voices are alsoGREAT GAME do not listen to some paid reviewers. The game has improved gameplay and a better camera from the original the voices are also excellent and the graphics are nicely done and the music is really fitting and epic. The only bad about it is the stealth part which is a bit weak and annoying but except from that the game is very fun.(Be warned a gamepad is recommended) Full Review »
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    0
    Awful - WISH I would have read a review before getting this game. It's 10 steps backward from the original. I was expecting so much more. TheAwful - WISH I would have read a review before getting this game. It's 10 steps backward from the original. I was expecting so much more. The graphics aren't bad, but the gameplay just becomes a bore. Full Review »