Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 453 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 brings the conclusion to the Lords of Shadow saga as Gabriel Belmont returns to face off against the forces of darkness.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    80
    It is this element of exploration and free moving that I sorely missed in the first part.
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    78
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 is a solid entry for the series, delivering an intense, visually stunning adventure that is best experienced on PC.
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    70
    When Mercury Steam seemed to be about to produce a new successful title with very little effort, something went wrong and what we've got is not even the shadow of what we've been expecting in all these years. A conclusion that well-deserved another fate.
  4. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    Underneath the unfocused, ramshackle design decisions and incomprehensible story there's a decent action game - but how much of it you're willing to endure for closure depends on how deeply entrenched you are into Lords of Shadow's lore.
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    50
    The creators have looked everywhere and were inspired by everything, but unlike the competition there's no quality in their endeavours. Instead of a great hack and slash title they serve us a merely stereotypically dull piece without brains. On top of that, the game looks off colour.
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    40
    A massive disappointment. It tells a confusing and uninteresting story in a bloated game that works against you at every angle. The combat can be fun at times, and reaches its high points during the various boss fights.
  7. 40
    A mediocre button masher at best, brought down by absurd design choices and low production values. [Issue #240]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 104
  2. Negative: 13 out of 104
  1. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    Great game with good gameplay and well enhanced graphics, has a very broad movement system, allowing a greater variety of moves and combos,Great game with good gameplay and well enhanced graphics, has a very broad movement system, allowing a greater variety of moves and combos, the only negative point is the absence of an online mode, still the game was flawless. Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    Ignore the amateur journalist reviews as they often score games based on 2 hour playthroughs before they give up. This games is a fittingIgnore the amateur journalist reviews as they often score games based on 2 hour playthroughs before they give up. This games is a fitting culmination to the Lords of Shadow series. You can truly see the level of commitment Mercury Steam has put into this game. From beautiful art style, excellent voice acting and strong music score to delighting and hilarious fan service. The combat system has matured since the first game and it's now more complex and rewarding, exploration is also better, the metroidvania navigation style becomes substantial and fun later into the game as you acquire more skills and roam freely finding upgrades and collectibles. Boss encounters are the highlight of the show, they are intense and rewarding providing climatic moments in the story. Yes, the game certainly it’s flaws: sneaking sections and generic level design in some areas. Those flaws are just one hour or less of the 20 hour campaign. If you enjoyed the first game, you must get this one. You won’t regret it! Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    I liked the first one and I like this one too. I don't care to give a full review right now just had to state that I would score it 8 out ofI liked the first one and I like this one too. I don't care to give a full review right now just had to state that I would score it 8 out of 10 normally but because there are morons who give games 0's only because it's not as good as the original, I had to rate it 10 to make up for this stupidity. 0 means the game is completely broken and unplayable and enjoyment was impossible. When you give 0's to games that are clearly not even close to being that bad, your just showing that your either under the age of 18 and still rather stupid or your just rather stupid altogether. Expand
  4. May 16, 2014
    9
    I really enjoyed this game and thought that it was better then the first one. The camera system was a huge improvement and the graphics wereI really enjoyed this game and thought that it was better then the first one. The camera system was a huge improvement and the graphics were actually pretty good..... they did well with the story carrying on from the last game in most part - so if you didn't play the first game and the DLC for the first game you may not understand why things happen the way they do. I honestly can't see why people would give this such a low ratiung - even if it doesn't meet your expectations it's still a great game with only few flaws... I mean honestly Critic score of 58/100 .... thank god I generally judge a game on User score.. because that's honestly utter BS. If you play this game without expecting a 'hack and slash button mash' kinda experience (similar to devil may cry) then you will probably be disappointed....... if you don't like those 'kind' of games - fair enough. but that isnt a reason to rate this game low. Anyway I hope they make a 3rd :) Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 has some nice new improvements and features over the original especially with the magic system. The story isCastlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 has some nice new improvements and features over the original especially with the magic system. The story is just a bit lacking and the modern day city environment may not appeal to all plus some of the boss battles are a bit on the easy side. Still, it's a lot of fun to go out and kick some ass as Dracula. Expand
  6. Oct 21, 2014
    8
    There is something very wrong with the professional reviews. Could be interesting to investigate the reasons.
    Anyway: Game has a lot of what
    There is something very wrong with the professional reviews. Could be interesting to investigate the reasons.
    Anyway: Game has a lot of what its predecessor got right: Graphics, Gameplay, Atmosphere, High production values and is fun to play.
    Yes, some elements could have been better, like less confusing map and direction, more variety in environments and enemies, consistently engaging story. The so badly criticised stealth sections are quite rare and I found them rather interesting to solve.
    Game felt a bit long against against the end, and (playing with a guide) I skipped the last collectibles to get to the end. Which I personally didn't like specifically, but I believe it is in canon and hence acceptable. Give this game a try if you liked LOS 1, you shouldn't regret it.
    Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2014
    0
    This game is really silly .The control sucks, game-play is like DMC but dmc is better,faster and More fun. I give the game 0 because This gameThis game is really silly .The control sucks, game-play is like DMC but dmc is better,faster and More fun. I give the game 0 because This game does not have any positive thing . Expand

See all 104 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.