Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 413 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 brings the conclusion to the Lords of Shadow saga as Gabriel Belmont returns to face off against the forces of darkness.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    80
    It is this element of exploration and free moving that I sorely missed in the first part.
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    78
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 is a solid entry for the series, delivering an intense, visually stunning adventure that is best experienced on PC.
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    70
    When Mercury Steam seemed to be about to produce a new successful title with very little effort, something went wrong and what we've got is not even the shadow of what we've been expecting in all these years. A conclusion that well-deserved another fate.
  4. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    Underneath the unfocused, ramshackle design decisions and incomprehensible story there's a decent action game - but how much of it you're willing to endure for closure depends on how deeply entrenched you are into Lords of Shadow's lore.
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    50
    The creators have looked everywhere and were inspired by everything, but unlike the competition there's no quality in their endeavours. Instead of a great hack and slash title they serve us a merely stereotypically dull piece without brains. On top of that, the game looks off colour.
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    40
    A massive disappointment. It tells a confusing and uninteresting story in a bloated game that works against you at every angle. The combat can be fun at times, and reaches its high points during the various boss fights.
  7. 40
    A mediocre button masher at best, brought down by absurd design choices and low production values. [Issue #240]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 91
  2. Negative: 9 out of 91
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    I liked the first one and I like this one too. I don't care to give a full review right now just had to state that I would score it 8 out of 10 normally but because there are morons who give games 0's only because it's not as good as the original, I had to rate it 10 to make up for this stupidity. 0 means the game is completely broken and unplayable and enjoyment was impossible. When you give 0's to games that are clearly not even close to being that bad, your just showing that your either under the age of 18 and still rather stupid or your just rather stupid altogether. Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2014
    10
    I have to give this game a 10. Its sad to see the low score this game is getting by people who just play this for 10 minutes and leave it in there steam library. Its different from the first one but in a good way. I am happy the combat system and weapons changed and there is even a new learning curve to how to use Gabriel. The story is really good and I am loving the music like in the first game. I am just 4 hours in the game and I am hooked as I was to the first game. I love the Lords of Shadow series as much as any other Castlevania game. I am looking forward to the third LOS. I am loving this game, a solid 10! Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 is great game, Love the story and gameplay, good improvement overt first LoS. I enjoy the game and have 'Ok another checkpoint and i go to sleep' syndrome. Expand
  4. Apr 10, 2014
    9
    Still i like Gabriel very much. I like every Cut Scene, in my Eyes, Castlevania has one of the best Storys ever written. Started playing it on PSX. I dont like the future part, because i loved the middle age in this game, but it is well implanted and like in Devil may cry, it makes Sense.

    Pro: Fighting System, Story, Atmosphere, Time Travels, Boss Fights
    Cons: Sneaking part, Future time
    Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    I´m just in the first hours of the game, but the critic score don´t have any sense. The combat system is an improvement from the first one, the camera isn´t fixed anymore. The stealth sections isn´t bad either.
    If you love the first Lord of Shadow, you´re gonna love this one too.
    Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2014
    8
    Really fun game, but, am I the only one who thinks the voice acting is ... not bad, but not good?

    I am also surprised by the critical
    score, critics really? You gave this game the same overall as Sim City? Jeezus.

    Anyways if you like Castlevania this is definitely worth the buy.
    Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2014
    0
    Awful - WISH I would have read a review before getting this game. It's 10 steps backward from the original. I was expecting so much more. The graphics aren't bad, but the gameplay just becomes a bore. Expand

See all 91 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.