Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 402 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 brings the conclusion to the Lords of Shadow saga as Gabriel Belmont returns to face off against the forces of darkness.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    80
    It is this element of exploration and free moving that I sorely missed in the first part.
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    78
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 is a solid entry for the series, delivering an intense, visually stunning adventure that is best experienced on PC.
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    70
    When Mercury Steam seemed to be about to produce a new successful title with very little effort, something went wrong and what we've got is not even the shadow of what we've been expecting in all these years. A conclusion that well-deserved another fate.
  4. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    Underneath the unfocused, ramshackle design decisions and incomprehensible story there's a decent action game - but how much of it you're willing to endure for closure depends on how deeply entrenched you are into Lords of Shadow's lore.
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    50
    The creators have looked everywhere and were inspired by everything, but unlike the competition there's no quality in their endeavours. Instead of a great hack and slash title they serve us a merely stereotypically dull piece without brains. On top of that, the game looks off colour.
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    40
    A massive disappointment. It tells a confusing and uninteresting story in a bloated game that works against you at every angle. The combat can be fun at times, and reaches its high points during the various boss fights.
  7. 40
    A mediocre button masher at best, brought down by absurd design choices and low production values. [Issue #240]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 87
  2. Negative: 9 out of 87
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    I liked the first one and I like this one too. I don't care to give a full review right now just had to state that I would score it 8 out of 10 normally but because there are morons who give games 0's only because it's not as good as the original, I had to rate it 10 to make up for this stupidity. 0 means the game is completely broken and unplayable and enjoyment was impossible. When you give 0's to games that are clearly not even close to being that bad, your just showing that your either under the age of 18 and still rather stupid or your just rather stupid altogether. Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    The game has greatly improved since first Lords of Shadow. It literally improved on levels for PC users - the graphics became better and more optimized for PC, the controls and tutorials became much more understandable (there is still a slight problem - only xbox controllers are working with the game). The game also gives you a good review on former story. The graphics are really great. So this definitely worth playing. 10 out of 10. Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    SIMPLESMENTE: O jogo em si é ÓTIMO, apesar de controvérsias de opiniões.. Pois chocou-se muito com expectativas esperadas, por questões de enredo. Mas nada disso tirou o brilhantismo deste game. Expand
  4. May 1, 2014
    9
    The very start of this game is fantastic and I loved the scene thats been duped the "family" scene - it really paints the picture of what vampires are and should be ("cough" no sparkles). But then you got this random strech of boring, some nice battles during this time, but for some players this will be enough to make them want to quit. When you reach the Toy maker for me that was like a new leaf was turned over - I just became addicted with the story, the combat mechanics and boy are they smooth, just seemed liked the boring disappeared.

    This game has a great story, great voice acting, really nice graphics (upgrade to nr 1), you can set the keys to your liking and nice music.

    Now for the bad points is that strech of boring - when I say this, it just feels like your constantly jumping with really little to no fighting and no brain power is being used whatsoever. This is the time when you will feel that "hated" stealth system too many times and you feel so limited. But then later that all changes and even the stealth parts are very few and far, and you actually start to feel powerfull and get to fight more often than before.

    Now they were lazy with the "toturial" key displays and turning off quick time events are rather a must unless you know all the keys off by heart which will give you an extra added difficulty to boss battles if you want that (but luckily if you hate QTE - you can turn them off)
    Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    The game is pretty good. It is not perfect, but it follows the Stoker's idea of Dracula. It seems developers are inspired mainly from Stoker's book and Coppola movie. This is fantastic, because MercurySteam brings so many details from original Dracula like people possession, transformation into rats, boundless love to his wife and even some quotations from the 1992 movie masterpiece. The graphics is good, animation is good, voice acting is perfect, details are amazing, storytelling is not obvious and thrilling. Gameplay is pretty the same to the previous Lords of Shadows, but it provides us with some new interesting gameplay mechanics like an ability to become a fog or the ability to freeze opponents(even bosses). The game suffers from some poor designed levels, but it has great story,amazing gameplay and awesome engine that is capable of delivering amazing visuals even to a very old PC with high and stable fps. There is no point to say that the game is compiled from many other great games, because it predecessor was a clone of god of war with its own story. This game is something different, it is the same, but no more looking like God of War franchise. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2014
    8
    Игра мне понравилась больше 1 ой части! +Великолепные видеоролики +Множество боссов +Дизайн локаций -Боёвка -Стелс
  7. Feb 25, 2014
    0
    Awful - WISH I would have read a review before getting this game. It's 10 steps backward from the original. I was expecting so much more. The graphics aren't bad, but the gameplay just becomes a bore. Expand

See all 87 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.