Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 PC

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 517 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 brings the conclusion to the Lords of Shadow saga as Gabriel Belmont returns to face off against the forces of darkness.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 - GamesCom 2013 Gameplay Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. GameStar
    Feb 25, 2014
    80
    It is this element of exploration and free moving that I sorely missed in the first part.
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    78
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 is a solid entry for the series, delivering an intense, visually stunning adventure that is best experienced on PC.
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    70
    When Mercury Steam seemed to be about to produce a new successful title with very little effort, something went wrong and what we've got is not even the shadow of what we've been expecting in all these years. A conclusion that well-deserved another fate.
  4. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    Underneath the unfocused, ramshackle design decisions and incomprehensible story there's a decent action game - but how much of it you're willing to endure for closure depends on how deeply entrenched you are into Lords of Shadow's lore.
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    50
    The creators have looked everywhere and were inspired by everything, but unlike the competition there's no quality in their endeavours. Instead of a great hack and slash title they serve us a merely stereotypically dull piece without brains. On top of that, the game looks off colour.
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    40
    A massive disappointment. It tells a confusing and uninteresting story in a bloated game that works against you at every angle. The combat can be fun at times, and reaches its high points during the various boss fights.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 7, 2014
    40
    A mediocre button masher at best, brought down by absurd design choices and low production values. [Issue #240]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 112
  2. Negative: 13 out of 112
  1. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    No entiendo cómo se puede poner mala nota a un juego de tanta calidad como es Castlevania Lords of Shadow 2. Con notas medias como está tanNo entiendo cómo se puede poner mala nota a un juego de tanta calidad como es Castlevania Lords of Shadow 2. Con notas medias como está tan injusta de 5 y pico cada día me convence menos la valía de la nota media que se puede obtener a través de metacritic. Yo personalmente prefiero mirar varias webs de juegos y contrastar notas medias que mirar en metacritic ya que la nota media de los juegos con mucho renombre suelen tener buena nota y los no tan conocidos o de estudios secundarios se llevan notas malas.
    Un clara ejemplo de la poca valía de las notas de metacritic es la comparación entre notas de usuarios versus críticas profesionales poniendo en comparación a Call of duty ghost y Lords of Shadow 2:
    -COD Ghost PS4: Profesional: 7.9, Usuarios: 3.2
    -Lords of Shadow 2: Profesional: 5.8, Usuarios: 7.9

    Diferencias tan dispares son demasiado habituales en esta página, y personalmente prefiero las opiniones de usuarios como yo que las de supuestos profesionales críticos, que en muchos casos están pagados.
    Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    Great game it has definitely improved upon LOS1 beside the fact that it does have some slow stealth parts, it has rewarding skill trees andGreat game it has definitely improved upon LOS1 beside the fact that it does have some slow stealth parts, it has rewarding skill trees and very high quality boss battles,also lets not forget the gorgeous graphics Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    I liked the first one and I like this one too. I don't care to give a full review right now just had to state that I would score it 8 out ofI liked the first one and I like this one too. I don't care to give a full review right now just had to state that I would score it 8 out of 10 normally but because there are morons who give games 0's only because it's not as good as the original, I had to rate it 10 to make up for this stupidity. 0 means the game is completely broken and unplayable and enjoyment was impossible. When you give 0's to games that are clearly not even close to being that bad, your just showing that your either under the age of 18 and still rather stupid or your just rather stupid altogether. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    9
    -The combat is solid and very fun as well as challenging.
    -Love how you backtrack when you get new ways to get to secrets.
    -Easy to travel
    -The combat is solid and very fun as well as challenging.
    -Love how you backtrack when you get new ways to get to secrets.
    -Easy to travel around with fast travel locations in castle as well as in modern city sections.

    +Game looks amazing. not sure why critics gave it an average score..
    Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2014
    8
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 is another example that shows you can't trust critics and you have to try it yourself. The gameplay is of topCastlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 is another example that shows you can't trust critics and you have to try it yourself. The gameplay is of top notch quality and the visuals are stunning. The boss fights are better than the first game. The plot is a bit weak and confusing but overall it's an 8 out of 10 for me. Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    8
    The true about this game is that is doesn't the same exploration feeling tlike the first, but the character improves so much.
    It doesn't
    The true about this game is that is doesn't the same exploration feeling tlike the first, but the character improves so much.
    It doesn't deserve the bad critics, I have finished it and it's awesome, although the ending can be dissapointing.
    Collapse
  7. Nov 23, 2014
    0
    This game is really silly .The control sucks, game-play is like DMC but dmc is better,faster and More fun. I give the game 0 because This gameThis game is really silly .The control sucks, game-play is like DMC but dmc is better,faster and More fun. I give the game 0 because This game does not have any positive thing . Expand

See all 112 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.