Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 404 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 brings the conclusion to the Lords of Shadow saga as Gabriel Belmont returns to face off against the forces of darkness.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    80
    It is this element of exploration and free moving that I sorely missed in the first part.
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    78
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 is a solid entry for the series, delivering an intense, visually stunning adventure that is best experienced on PC.
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    70
    When Mercury Steam seemed to be about to produce a new successful title with very little effort, something went wrong and what we've got is not even the shadow of what we've been expecting in all these years. A conclusion that well-deserved another fate.
  4. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    Underneath the unfocused, ramshackle design decisions and incomprehensible story there's a decent action game - but how much of it you're willing to endure for closure depends on how deeply entrenched you are into Lords of Shadow's lore.
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    50
    The creators have looked everywhere and were inspired by everything, but unlike the competition there's no quality in their endeavours. Instead of a great hack and slash title they serve us a merely stereotypically dull piece without brains. On top of that, the game looks off colour.
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    40
    A massive disappointment. It tells a confusing and uninteresting story in a bloated game that works against you at every angle. The combat can be fun at times, and reaches its high points during the various boss fights.
  7. 40
    A mediocre button masher at best, brought down by absurd design choices and low production values. [Issue #240]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 87
  2. Negative: 9 out of 87
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    I liked the first one and I like this one too. I don't care to give a full review right now just had to state that I would score it 8 out of 10 normally but because there are morons who give games 0's only because it's not as good as the original, I had to rate it 10 to make up for this stupidity. 0 means the game is completely broken and unplayable and enjoyment was impossible. When you give 0's to games that are clearly not even close to being that bad, your just showing that your either under the age of 18 and still rather stupid or your just rather stupid altogether. Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    Ignore the amateur journalist reviews as they often score games based on 2 hour playthroughs before they give up. This games is a fitting culmination to the Lords of Shadow series. You can truly see the level of commitment Mercury Steam has put into this game. From beautiful art style, excellent voice acting and strong music score to delighting and hilarious fan service. The combat system has matured since the first game and it's now more complex and rewarding, exploration is also better, the metroidvania navigation style becomes substantial and fun later into the game as you acquire more skills and roam freely finding upgrades and collectibles. Boss encounters are the highlight of the show, they are intense and rewarding providing climatic moments in the story. Yes, the game certainly it’s flaws: sneaking sections and generic level design in some areas. Those flaws are just one hour or less of the 20 hour campaign. If you enjoyed the first game, you must get this one. You won’t regret it! Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    Castlevania series is synonymous to all the gamers as a classic and is a milestone in the gaming industry. The reboot of this series as "Castlevania: Lords of shadow" is perhaps the best reboot and it succeeded in every aspects (graphics, gameplay, music etc.). Expand
  4. May 16, 2014
    9
    I really enjoyed this game and thought that it was better then the first one. The camera system was a huge improvement and the graphics were actually pretty good..... they did well with the story carrying on from the last game in most part - so if you didn't play the first game and the DLC for the first game you may not understand why things happen the way they do. I honestly can't see why people would give this such a low ratiung - even if it doesn't meet your expectations it's still a great game with only few flaws... I mean honestly Critic score of 58/100 .... thank god I generally judge a game on User score.. because that's honestly utter BS. If you play this game without expecting a 'hack and slash button mash' kinda experience (similar to devil may cry) then you will probably be disappointed....... if you don't like those 'kind' of games - fair enough. but that isnt a reason to rate this game low. Anyway I hope they make a 3rd :) Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    The game is pretty good. It is not perfect, but it follows the Stoker's idea of Dracula. It seems developers are inspired mainly from Stoker's book and Coppola movie. This is fantastic, because MercurySteam brings so many details from original Dracula like people possession, transformation into rats, boundless love to his wife and even some quotations from the 1992 movie masterpiece. The graphics is good, animation is good, voice acting is perfect, details are amazing, storytelling is not obvious and thrilling. Gameplay is pretty the same to the previous Lords of Shadows, but it provides us with some new interesting gameplay mechanics like an ability to become a fog or the ability to freeze opponents(even bosses). The game suffers from some poor designed levels, but it has great story,amazing gameplay and awesome engine that is capable of delivering amazing visuals even to a very old PC with high and stable fps. There is no point to say that the game is compiled from many other great games, because it predecessor was a clone of god of war with its own story. This game is something different, it is the same, but no more looking like God of War franchise. Expand
  6. May 23, 2014
    8
    A sequel that's been done an injustice by many reviews, Lords of Shadow 2 is better balanced, richer and more polished than the original, much higher scoring game. The game world is more intricate and complex, the gameplay more varied, and the story better presented. A solid 8, a great modern Metroidvania whose flaws pale besides the large amounts of quality content delivered. A fun, bigger than life and often amusing ride. Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2014
    0
    Awful - WISH I would have read a review before getting this game. It's 10 steps backward from the original. I was expecting so much more. The graphics aren't bad, but the gameplay just becomes a bore. Expand

See all 87 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.