Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 462 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 brings the conclusion to the Lords of Shadow saga as Gabriel Belmont returns to face off against the forces of darkness.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    80
    It is this element of exploration and free moving that I sorely missed in the first part.
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    78
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 is a solid entry for the series, delivering an intense, visually stunning adventure that is best experienced on PC.
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    70
    When Mercury Steam seemed to be about to produce a new successful title with very little effort, something went wrong and what we've got is not even the shadow of what we've been expecting in all these years. A conclusion that well-deserved another fate.
  4. Mar 3, 2014
    60
    Underneath the unfocused, ramshackle design decisions and incomprehensible story there's a decent action game - but how much of it you're willing to endure for closure depends on how deeply entrenched you are into Lords of Shadow's lore.
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    50
    The creators have looked everywhere and were inspired by everything, but unlike the competition there's no quality in their endeavours. Instead of a great hack and slash title they serve us a merely stereotypically dull piece without brains. On top of that, the game looks off colour.
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    40
    A massive disappointment. It tells a confusing and uninteresting story in a bloated game that works against you at every angle. The combat can be fun at times, and reaches its high points during the various boss fights.
  7. 40
    A mediocre button masher at best, brought down by absurd design choices and low production values. [Issue #240]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 108
  2. Negative: 15 out of 108
  1. Sep 12, 2014
    10
    This game is awesome if you liked the first game you will enjoy this one. Game play wise its very familiar with some more variation. GraphicsThis game is awesome if you liked the first game you will enjoy this one. Game play wise its very familiar with some more variation. Graphics are great. I really got into the story of the 1st game, and as a continuation this one is great. Give it a chance but play the 1st game first so you can get the most out of it, I feel that you wouldn't know whats going on without it. and that's exactly what i wanted. Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    I really have enjoyed this game. I think the environment and combat are even better than the first, the characters lack some interaction butI really have enjoyed this game. I think the environment and combat are even better than the first, the characters lack some interaction but the story is still engaging. I would recommend this game to anyone who likes action rpg games. Going to give it a 10 just to offset the 0s. I would rate it a 9/10. Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    I liked the first one and I like this one too. I don't care to give a full review right now just had to state that I would score it 8 out ofI liked the first one and I like this one too. I don't care to give a full review right now just had to state that I would score it 8 out of 10 normally but because there are morons who give games 0's only because it's not as good as the original, I had to rate it 10 to make up for this stupidity. 0 means the game is completely broken and unplayable and enjoyment was impossible. When you give 0's to games that are clearly not even close to being that bad, your just showing that your either under the age of 18 and still rather stupid or your just rather stupid altogether. Expand
  4. May 1, 2014
    9
    The very start of this game is fantastic and I loved the scene thats been duped the "family" scene - it really paints the picture of whatThe very start of this game is fantastic and I loved the scene thats been duped the "family" scene - it really paints the picture of what vampires are and should be ("cough" no sparkles). But then you got this random strech of boring, some nice battles during this time, but for some players this will be enough to make them want to quit. When you reach the Toy maker for me that was like a new leaf was turned over - I just became addicted with the story, the combat mechanics and boy are they smooth, just seemed liked the boring disappeared.

    This game has a great story, great voice acting, really nice graphics (upgrade to nr 1), you can set the keys to your liking and nice music.

    Now for the bad points is that strech of boring - when I say this, it just feels like your constantly jumping with really little to no fighting and no brain power is being used whatsoever. This is the time when you will feel that "hated" stealth system too many times and you feel so limited. But then later that all changes and even the stealth parts are very few and far, and you actually start to feel powerfull and get to fight more often than before.

    Now they were lazy with the "toturial" key displays and turning off quick time events are rather a must unless you know all the keys off by heart which will give you an extra added difficulty to boss battles if you want that (but luckily if you hate QTE - you can turn them off)
    Expand
  5. May 23, 2014
    8
    A sequel that's been done an injustice by many reviews, Lords of Shadow 2 is better balanced, richer and more polished than the original, muchA sequel that's been done an injustice by many reviews, Lords of Shadow 2 is better balanced, richer and more polished than the original, much higher scoring game. The game world is more intricate and complex, the gameplay more varied, and the story better presented. A solid 8, a great modern Metroidvania whose flaws pale besides the large amounts of quality content delivered. A fun, bigger than life and often amusing ride. Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    8
    The true about this game is that is doesn't the same exploration feeling tlike the first, but the character improves so much.
    It doesn't
    The true about this game is that is doesn't the same exploration feeling tlike the first, but the character improves so much.
    It doesn't deserve the bad critics, I have finished it and it's awesome, although the ending can be dissapointing.
    Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2014
    0
    This game is really silly .The control sucks, game-play is like DMC but dmc is better,faster and More fun. I give the game 0 because This gameThis game is really silly .The control sucks, game-play is like DMC but dmc is better,faster and More fun. I give the game 0 because This game does not have any positive thing . Expand

See all 108 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.