Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Ultimate Edition Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 571 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow takes place at the end of days. The Earth's alliance with the Heavens has been threatened by a dark and malevolent force - the mysterious Lords of Shadow - darkness reins the world. Across this shattered land, the souls of the dead wander unable to find peace,Castlevania: Lords of Shadow takes place at the end of days. The Earth's alliance with the Heavens has been threatened by a dark and malevolent force - the mysterious Lords of Shadow - darkness reins the world. Across this shattered land, the souls of the dead wander unable to find peace, whilst creatures of evil roam free wreaking chaos and death upon the living. Gabriel is a member of the Brotherhood of Light, an elite group of holy knights who protect and defend the innocent against the supernatural. His beloved wife was brutally murdered by the evil forces of darkness and her soul trapped for eternity. Neither living nor dead she realizes the horrific truth of what is at stake and guides Gabriel to his destiny - and hopefully salvation for the world... but at what cost? Thus, Gabriel must travel the destroyed world, defeating the evil tyrants in order to use their powers to bring balance back to the world. Armed with the versatile Combat Cross - the world's last hope must encounter the three factions of the Lords of Shadow and end their unholy rule. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Die Belmont Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    90
    It is not the most cutting edge conversion, but the lavish art manages to shine even more in this sharper, prettier and more fluid version of Lords of Shadow. So, in our book, the game still holds the same appeal as the console versions back in fall 2010, especially seeing that PC users don't get this brand of bombastic brawler all too often. This game won't get any better, at least not until Lords of Shadow 2 rolls around.
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    89
    A game you cannot miss now if you missed it the first time. The visual evolution is worth highlighting, but it still is an outstanding title in every other aspect.
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    87
    Lords of Shadow is the best action-adventure game in recent years.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    81
    A solid port that looks sharp and runs smoothly on modern PCs. Aside from the DLCs, which are already included in this version, the original game remains mostly untouched. It's no Symphony of the Night by any means, but a fun experience nonetheless, with diverse levels, incredible atmosphere and challenging combat. The awkward camera positioning, inaccurate platforming and pacing issues may turn some people off though.
  5. Aug 29, 2013
    80
    Maybe a little in late, but Castlevania: Lord of Shadow has finally arrived on PC in all its awesomeness. A must buy if you consider how much does it costs.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    80
    It may not be the Castlevania as fans know it, but MercurySteam has taken successful mechanics from combat-focused, character action games and blended it with Castlevania’s lore.
  7. Sep 10, 2013
    66
    Clearly, Lord of Shadows wants to feel “cinematic” but it goes too far by sacrificing gameplay on the altar of visual splendor.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 96
  2. Negative: 20 out of 96
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow (in my opinion) is one of the best games released in the past ten years. Some may criticize, that it isn't anCastlevania: Lords of Shadow (in my opinion) is one of the best games released in the past ten years. Some may criticize, that it isn't an oldschool Castlevania. Well, it isnt. But it simply is not intended as a classical Castlevania. It is meant as a kind of reboot: A whole new game with a whole new story. That is exactly, what ist so great in this game: Fantastic storytelling, a overwhelming soundtrack, great environment- and monsterdesign. If you want to experience a 20-hour-long well-told story and to immerse into a great fantasy-world, then this game is exactly the right one for you! Collapse
  2. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    This game is very good port from the consoles. It runs flawless in my pc, the game feel more dynamic thanks to the 60 fps; the game cameraThis game is very good port from the consoles. It runs flawless in my pc, the game feel more dynamic thanks to the 60 fps; the game camera could be an issue for some people but it isn´t for me.
    It have a great gameplay and story, different from the classic games but at the same time it feel like something new that really need the Castlevania series.
    Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    Castlevania...lots of memories with 2D game..never though its gonna be
    awesom in TPS..i never care about this game on consols or even its
    Castlevania...lots of memories with 2D game..never though its gonna be
    awesom in TPS..i never care about this game on consols or even its coming for PC
    ..but here we goes..tried it and loved it..graphics on PC r good..not best but sooo much
    better then consols..so much..i play it with sweetfx tool to maximize the graphics ..game is great
    dont listen to haters ..most of them Darksiders and GOW fans..ppl says this game copy paste
    darksiders...i say darksiders most boaring game ever..Castlevania is fantastic world and gameplay
    just buy it and play it then injoy it as i did
    Expand
  4. Fuz
    Jun 18, 2014
    8
    Pretty good game with some flaws.
    It's fun to play, the combat can be challenging and rewarding and the controls are responsive and easy to
    Pretty good game with some flaws.
    It's fun to play, the combat can be challenging and rewarding and the controls are responsive and easy to learn (maybe one less key to absorb energy would have been nice) and work pretty well on a PC keyboard. The platforming is kinda boring and just a waste of time, there's no challenge in it, you basically just follow a rail The combat has lots of skills and combos, maybe too many, but you'll end up using always the same moves to be on the safe side; you'll almost never use 90% of the combos and skills, there's no incentive to do it and it's just an useless added danger.
    But the biggest, worst, most unforgivable flaw is the camera. It's bad. It's very bad. It keeps switching angle while you're moving, making you go back or toward places you didn't intend to go to. It keeps enemies out of the screen. A few times it kept the main character out of the screen... during a platform puzzle. It's a terrible, terrible camera and I'm amazed at how it could pass the QA testing.

    All in all though, it's a pretty good and fun game.
    Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2017
    7
    Yes, I recommend this games for those who are not fans of Castlevania! :P
    Also I would recommend it for those who can play it without judging
    Yes, I recommend this games for those who are not fans of Castlevania! :P
    Also I would recommend it for those who can play it without judging from its name.

    I you like Narnia, God of War, cliche vampire and creature design play this one!
    Don't waste your money and time with the second one.
    BTW, great port!
    Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2013
    5
    As for me, I didn't like this game. It's just boring. It has interesting enemies, levels and background. But after 4 hours I just felt i can'tAs for me, I didn't like this game. It's just boring. It has interesting enemies, levels and background. But after 4 hours I just felt i can't continue it, the gameplay was really dull. Great game to try, but it's not for everyone. Expand
  7. May 21, 2015
    0
    Too much story, too many cut scenes and QTE's are lazy development. Shoddy controls and unclear cues make moving around levels and fightingToo much story, too many cut scenes and QTE's are lazy development. Shoddy controls and unclear cues make moving around levels and fighting bosses frustrating. The game tries to have in depth combat but it boils down to, whip whip dodge. Frustrating camera angles plague game play as well making boss fights a pain as well.

    Avoid this game.
    Expand

See all 96 User Reviews