Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 481 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow takes place at the end of days. The Earth's alliance with the Heavens has been threatened by a dark and malevolent force - the mysterious Lords of Shadow - darkness reins the world. Across this shattered land, the souls of the dead wander unable to find peace, whilst creatures of evil roam free wreaking chaos and death upon the living. Gabriel is a member of the Brotherhood of Light, an elite group of holy knights who protect and defend the innocent against the supernatural. His beloved wife was brutally murdered by the evil forces of darkness and her soul trapped for eternity. Neither living nor dead she realizes the horrific truth of what is at stake and guides Gabriel to his destiny - and hopefully salvation for the world... but at what cost? Thus, Gabriel must travel the destroyed world, defeating the evil tyrants in order to use their powers to bring balance back to the world. Armed with the versatile Combat Cross - the world's last hope must encounter the three factions of the Lords of Shadow and end their unholy rule. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    90
    It is not the most cutting edge conversion, but the lavish art manages to shine even more in this sharper, prettier and more fluid version of Lords of Shadow. So, in our book, the game still holds the same appeal as the console versions back in fall 2010, especially seeing that PC users don't get this brand of bombastic brawler all too often. This game won't get any better, at least not until Lords of Shadow 2 rolls around.
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    89
    A game you cannot miss now if you missed it the first time. The visual evolution is worth highlighting, but it still is an outstanding title in every other aspect.
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    87
    Lords of Shadow is the best action-adventure game in recent years.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    81
    A solid port that looks sharp and runs smoothly on modern PCs. Aside from the DLCs, which are already included in this version, the original game remains mostly untouched. It's no Symphony of the Night by any means, but a fun experience nonetheless, with diverse levels, incredible atmosphere and challenging combat. The awkward camera positioning, inaccurate platforming and pacing issues may turn some people off though.
  5. Aug 29, 2013
    80
    Maybe a little in late, but Castlevania: Lord of Shadow has finally arrived on PC in all its awesomeness. A must buy if you consider how much does it costs.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    80
    It may not be the Castlevania as fans know it, but MercurySteam has taken successful mechanics from combat-focused, character action games and blended it with Castlevania’s lore.
  7. Sep 10, 2013
    66
    Clearly, Lord of Shadows wants to feel “cinematic” but it goes too far by sacrificing gameplay on the altar of visual splendor.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 87
  2. Negative: 19 out of 87
  1. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    this instalment of Castlevania is one of the greatest games i have ever played. it is challenging, the controls are brilliant, and the story is something else. the best thing about it, in my opinion, are the puzzles that you must complete to get to different areas- something i have noticed bothers many gamers, but what is a good game if there are no proper challenges. the little things also impress me: the endless amount of combos, the fact you need to press keys to absorb energy is quite a good feature (so its not too easy to overpower everything), and the main character is quite fantastic. so all in all it is a perfect score from me. Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    One of the best hack and slash game a have ever play. Five days ago a played last DMC and it was terrible. However Castlevania is perfect game and PC port is really good. Graphic is amazing and fight system is much better then DMC or GoW fight systems. Best part of game is story. This game is master piece. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Castlevania: Lords of Shadow (in my opinion) is one of the best games released in the past ten years. Some may criticize, that it isn't an oldschool Castlevania. Well, it isnt. But it simply is not intended as a classical Castlevania. It is meant as a kind of reboot: A whole new game with a whole new story. That is exactly, what ist so great in this game: Fantastic storytelling, a overwhelming soundtrack, great environment- and monsterdesign. If you want to experience a 20-hour-long well-told story and to immerse into a great fantasy-world, then this game is exactly the right one for you! Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    I never write any reviews but DAMN I MUST defend this game. What are you talking about? Am I playing some other game? It's ten times better than any of God of War games. Better boss fights, better script, better everything. One of the best hack'n'slash games out there. It has really nice graphics too. Don't know why people are whining so much. For me it's not only about texture resolution but also about the overall design and presentation. It's not perfect of course but it absolutely deserves 8. Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2013
    7
    OK let me point this out FIRST of all...most of the idiots on here have no idea what they're talking about. People complaining about bad graphics? PLEASE...this game has pretty good graphics with steady FPS...they must have a ancient computer. Now the flaws of this game ARE inherent in that the graphics do appear to be slightly worse in cut scenes but game play wise is pretty much the same as the console. The game does bear flaws that could've been improved such as the silly energy absorbing should have been automatic and its true the controls could have been done better but they are workable. Overall this game is decent, the fixed camera is there for a reason but is also one of the inherent flaws of the game and can annoy your experience. I do like this game but it does not deserve a empty score or a perfect one. All things considered, it is a mediocre game with a frustrating camera, decent kb/m controls for a port, and slightly reduced graphics which are STILL pretty high end.

    ALSO please..people...stop creating accounts just to bag on a game with a 0 score or pour praise on it with a 10 I had to bother writing this to point out all the crazy people doing this
    Expand
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    6
    I'm trying really hard to finish this game, because the history looks amazing, the graphics and lights are really fantastic, but sometimes when you're playing it becomes annoying. The puzzles are very simple to solve, and the stages are only more of the same.
    In this game you will climb our down the walls, use your chain in some type of movements who looks like God of War, kill and ride some monsters, and when you fight some bosses, had to climb in then and pressing some buttons at time.
    I really liked the story, stage art and sound track, but looks like they wanted to extended the good ideas for making some hours of more gameplay, just to make you felling how long is to end this games.
    Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2014
    0
    This garbage is the worst game of this generation. The controls sucks,the camera sucks,the combat sucks,the platforming is atrocious, and the music box level is the most frustrating thing i have ever played in my entire gaming life. Even more than the old NES games!!!!!! for the good of all don't buy this trash. Expand

See all 87 User Reviews