Cave Story Plus PC

  • Publisher: Nicalis
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2011
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    90
    An indie classic on par with Braid or Limbo. [March 2012, p.50]
  2. Jan 24, 2012
    88
    Enhanced with hi-res sprites and a spiffier soundtrack, this indie success story has received the update it deserves.
  3. Jan 18, 2012
    81
    A solid update that brings the slightly better visuals from the WiiWare version back to the PC. While it's not as pretty as the 3DS version, the challenging gameplay remains intact: Cave Story+ is a successful tribute to console classics like Metroid and Castlevania.
  4. Feb 8, 2012
    80
    Cave Story+ is quite an engaging, an entertaining, even nostalgic experience if you are inclined to be swept over by a wave of nostalgia. An ideal game for everyone, who is longing for classical times of video games, and who is not ashamed of it.
  5. Dec 21, 2011
    80
    Packed with some excellent shooter dynamics, perhaps a little less elegant in the platformer ones, Cave Story is awesomely directed, both in terms of story and gameplay. However, this "plus" edition is disappointing, since it comes with the same lo-res graphics of the WiiWare version and some minor changes.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
  1. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Cave Story is a return to a simple time of simple pleasures in all it's pixelated beauty. Very reminiscent of NES platformers like Metroid andCave Story is a return to a simple time of simple pleasures in all it's pixelated beauty. Very reminiscent of NES platformers like Metroid and Megaman, it is exemplary proof that adventure platformers can still hold up in a world where games are populated with chest-high walls and health regeneration. set on an island in the sky, the player controls Quote, an exploration robot who has lost his memory. Upon meeting the Mimiga, a race of small humanoid-bunny-like creatures, he soon learns of an evil scientist's plot to harness the power of the Mimiga to build his own personal army. Each stage has fantastic music sure to stick in your head long after you've completed the game. With different difficulty settings, hidden weapons and powerups, Cave Story Plus will keep you coming back for more. Full Review »
  2. Mar 3, 2012
    5
    Cave Story was one of my favorite games of all time. This, however, is an insult. The original Cave Story is free and provided a completeCave Story was one of my favorite games of all time. This, however, is an insult. The original Cave Story is free and provided a complete experience. This version adds BARELY anything new to the game, and what it does add is mostly garbage. A graphical overhaul that does absolutely nothing to help the experience and basically attempts to remove the nostalgia factor the original had, as well as a new soundtrack that nearly made me quit the game immediately. There ARE options to switch back to the old graphics and soundtrack, but at that point you'd be removing almost all of what makes this "Plus". I should also mention that whereas the translation work done in the most popular English translation patch is great, the translation here feels like it was made by a bunch of 6th graders. Not in the sense that it is poorly translated, but the dialogue just seems stale. I would have GLADLY payed for the original. However, since the original is free and has been for years, it really feels greedy to make me pay money for a version with inferior music and uselessly refined graphics. Just go download the freeware version and a translation patch, you'll have the same experience for free. Full Review »
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    Well, here it is. The king of Indie Games. A classic game with an amazing story, fun gameplay, and a good level of difficulty. So what exactlyWell, here it is. The king of Indie Games. A classic game with an amazing story, fun gameplay, and a good level of difficulty. So what exactly does the + version add? Sadly, not as much as $10 would be worth considering the original was free, but I got the game for $2.50 via Steam sale so I'm willing to let it slide. After all, this is still the Cave Story we've all come to know and love. Considering what they've added, I suppose the extra modes and the game itself gives it what seems like an amazing amount of replay value than your average game. However, left alone the additions seem like you're getting less bang for your buck if you buy it for the price it asks for. Then again, the game is still there. All its wondrous secrets, all its sublime gameplay, all its charm, all its great story and the price is easy to look away from due to the quality of the game itself. I highly recommend this game, despite its asking price for not many additions. Full Review »