Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Aug 24, 2011
    91
    Realistically, mistakes will be made, some boss battles will be more challenging than others, and a secret treasure or two will be missed that will add more time to your adventure. But whether you play for 10 or 40 hours, Chantelise is a delightful, whimsical action role-playing game.
  2. Aug 2, 2011
    80
    The long answer is that Chantelise is a fun indie RPG that just needs a good polish.
  3. Aug 4, 2011
    72
    Chantelise: A Tale of Two Sisters is an unpolished but solid and very difficult action JRPG. Only for hardcore gamers.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    70
    Obtuse, ancient design and infuriating difficulty hides an addictive, oddly satisfying, well-translated hack-and-slash. [Nov 2011, p.66]
  5. Aug 5, 2011
    70
    Chantelise doesn't have the epic adventure of Secret of Mana, but its unique magic system, challenging bosses and pleasant aesthetic will hook you.
  6. Aug 28, 2011
    67
    It's a disappointing second effort by the translation team behind delightful indie darling Recettear: An Item Shop's Tale. But while Chantelise is a disappointment on those terms, it still has its own charms.
  7. Aug 16, 2011
    65
    Chantelise is a flawed but fun action role-playing game that's charming and challenging in equal doses.
  8. Aug 10, 2011
    65
    Chantelise is a funny little game that will be liked by people who are into anime or manga. The graphics aren't good and there are not enough checkpoints to keep the game going smoothly, but overall Chantelise offers a nice experience for only 7,99 euro.
  9. Oct 8, 2011
    64
    Not as clever as Recettear, but just as cute, and a strong second outing for the translation team behind it. [Nov 2011, p.130]
  10. Aug 5, 2011
    60
    Overall, if you have a gamepad, and you like action RPGs with a bit of bite to them, at least give Chantelise a try, because it's fairly cheap, and, thanks to a time attack level feature, it's got some replay value. But if you don't have a gamepad, keep in mind that it's going to be hella difficult until you get one.
  11. Aug 12, 2011
    50
    Chantelise could have been a tight little RPG were it better balanced and not so keenly intent on punishing the player. With more grind than game, it quickly devolves into a pointless, repetitive drill that would test the patience of all but the most determined gamer.
  12. Aug 5, 2011
    50
    Overall, Chantelise will tickle those who are gluttons for punishment, but with its unfriendly game design, it'll leave many newcomers starving for something more approachable.
  13. Aug 4, 2011
    40
    Even without the camera and control problems, Chantelise struggles to stand out amidst other similar games. It's disappointing, because you can tell there's a lot of heart and personality poured into the game, but it's just not that enjoyable to play.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    Unlike your average game this generation Chantelise is actually difficult. When I beat this game I actually felt a sense of accomplishment. I never had trouble personally with the controls but I used an xbox gamepad which they were very kind to have made sure worked for this game. I felt the best parts of this game were the dialogue and the magic system. The magic system lets you combine different gems of various colors in anyway you want and depending on which you use and how they're ordered they can do very different things, experimenting with this and finding an awesome spell (protip: try equipping two good gauntlets then use two earth and two fire to deal 300+ damage and take half damage yourself) was incredibly fun. The bosses were amazingly fun, each was a challenge but not an unfair one. They felt like bossfights should, a difficult puzzle where dying is actually somewhat of a problem because you have to run all the way through the dungeon again. I'd recommend this game to anybody who enjoys a challenge, but to those out there who just want to play it for the dialogue I'd take a pass because this game won't hold your hand. Full Review »
  2. Aug 2, 2011
    8
    A good game for those who enjoy hack n slash with a mix of puzzles. The core game is a good action rpg but my favorite part was looking for the hidden treasures. Every level has a hidden chest that is often difficult to find or near impossible unless you get a clue from the priest in town. I've read some previews that say it's too hard but I thought it was a good fit, assuming you stop to find at least some of the chests along the way. If you try to bum rush thru it I can see being a bit undergeared. The boss battles can be a bit tricky until you figure them out but the nice thing is that you can practice every level, even boss ones, without having to go thru everything up to that point again. The story is fun and light hearted, but nothing amazing. The controls are pretty tight with a game pad, but I couldn't do it with a keyboard. Combat isn't varied much but it's done well and there's a good bit of strategy involved in choosing equipment for a given area. The voice acting is in Japanese and the translation is top notch. Music and sound are pretty run of the mill but my god, the low health beeping will drive you insane. It's 9-10$ off of most online distributors and there's even a demo that lets you go thru the first dungeon so you can get a feel for it first. It's not a must have but definitely enjoyable and well worth 10$. Full Review »
  3. Jan 8, 2012
    4
    The game has a lot of heart, and is charming. Unfortunately it's marred by a very problematic camera-control system, and unwelcome difficulty spikes. I wouldn't recommend it to any but the accomplished gamer very into the subgenre. Full Review »