Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Jan 9, 2013
    75
    A beautiful and charming point-and-click adventure, despite a few idiosyncratic puzzles.
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    80
    As the second part of a trilogy, Chaos on Deponia does exactly what it needs to do, and it does it well enough. There's some story progression here, as well as character advancement to help flesh things out. It's too bad that the advancement comes very late into the game, leaving the player with a somewhat alternate take on the original tale instead. The presentation holds up very well, and the adventure is humorously entertaining.
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    Chaos on Deponia is so much better than its predecessor in almost every aspect. The story starts to be really intriguing, the main character has grown and puzzles are well thought and a lot of fun to solve.
  4. Dec 12, 2012
    85
    It is exactly what we expected: a classic graphic adventure, continuing the trilogy and improving everything we saw in the first episode. We really miss having it localized –into Spanish in our case– but still is a great choice we're sure you'll enjoy.
  5. Dec 24, 2012
    80
    The puzzles are tough enough that you probably won't figure them out right away, but they're not so tough that they'll stump you for days at a time, either. For me, that's exactly where I want the difficulty of an adventure to be, and combined with the humor of the game, it makes Chaos on Deponia an easy game to recommend.
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    85
    Chaos on Deponia is indeed an exciting adventure, full of idiotic dialogues and situations, long running and with great graphics.
  7. Nov 27, 2012
    82
    If you've never checked out this series before, you should know that there's a demo for the original Deponia up on Steam – so be sure to check that out and judge for yourself whether this kind of game not only appeals to you, but will actually make you laugh. Godspeed, friend, and I hope you enjoy it. This is a game that deserves to be liked. I'll leave someone else to the task of actually enjoying it.
  8. Nov 6, 2012
    75
    In contrast to the first game, Chaos on Deponia leaves me a little less excited for the next entry, but it also leaves me a little more satisfied with the adventure I just had. If you are up for a serious challenge and some hearty laughs, you won't be disappointed.
  9. Nov 19, 2012
    85
    Chaos on Deponia is another great adventure developed by Daedalic Entertainment, who guarantees many hours of fun with its original characters. Crazy people and funny puzzles: a fantastic return of Rufus and company.
  10. Mar 15, 2013
    71
    Chaos on Deponia delivers some laughs, but on the downside the puzzles are illogical and the main character is a total jerk. With better story and some added logic, this extremely beautiful point'n'clicker would've been so much better. If you want challenge, this is your game. For those of who appreciate solid story-telling, you better keep looking. [March 2013]
  11. Oct 2, 2012
    91
    Chaos on Deponia continues the beautiful story of Deponia. The game brings nothing new to the genre, however it has great and funny characters, nice riddles and a fantastic atmosphere. Chaos on Deponia shows how an adventure game should be made.
  12. Dec 21, 2012
    80
    Chaos on Deponia goes on where the beautiful Deponia has left. It brings a very funny story with characters that are just as funny. For a middle child it's still very satisfying to play and the ending even makes you scream for more. Truly a great game for the fans of point-and-click adventures.
  13. Apr 29, 2013
    70
    Chaos on Deponia is too similar to the first episode and too limited to its classic structure to get a better score. A good adventure, but it lacks in pace and brilliance.
  14. Nov 12, 2012
    85
    They said a sequel needs to be bigger, braver and funnier. Well, Chaos on Deponia is all that: It takes everything that works so well in the first game and twisted with hilarious and bizarre -poor bird- sense of humour that multiplies the elysian Goal plus three and an even better visual style. And a more decadent, selfish and irresistible main character Rufus. It's a shame that the location in Spanish its still a doubt
  15. Nov 15, 2012
    78
    It's guaranteed to provide you with a few good belly laughs, plus some genuine brain teasers as well.
  16. Jan 6, 2013
    60
    Chaos on Deponia has enough charm to salve the wounds of its worst design flaws (a delightful quest to hatch a team of platypus guardians is a great example) but there's no getting around its narrative problems.
  17. Nov 7, 2012
    80
    Rufus comes back as the anti-hero we met in Deponia. Its clumsiness and immorality are fun to come back to in this hilarious adventure; one that is better weaved than the previous ones. But it's the third episode that will give us what is required to be satisfied (or not) by the story.
  18. 80
    Humor? Checked. Life span? Pretty long. Story? Interesting. Result: a sequel we've been praying for. [Christmas 2012]
  19. Oct 19, 2012
    79
    Slightly disappointing adventure sequel which doesn't reach the standards set by part 1, but is saved by the bizarre humour.
  20. Dec 3, 2012
    70
    For what it is, Chaos on Deponia is… well… it's an adventure game. If that equals fun to you, then I have no question that you should invest in this series, as there are hours of good times waiting for you.
  21. Jan 6, 2013
    85
    In terms of story, puzzles and length Deponia 2 outmatched its predecessor and the ending raises hopes for an equally great finale. [CD-Action 1/2013, p.69]
  22. Nov 7, 2012
    90
    Compared to the already great predecessor Chaos on Deponia is even more complex, exciting, diverse and even funnier. It's perfect for Monkey Island fans, duckbills haters and Monty Phython disciples who like those subtle tones in dialogues and stories that will make adult gamers roar with laughter.
  23. Nov 10, 2012
    85
    Chaos on Deponia is a great entry in the Deponia trilogy. It manages to address most of the issues of its predecessor while it connects wonderfully with it and brilliantly offers a fresh experience to the player.
  24. Nov 20, 2012
    85
    Chaos on Deponia is exactly what Deponia needed: another Deponia. Enjoy the ride while it lasts, because the trilogy is a mere one game shy of wrapping up. And while I honestly can't tell you where we'll go or if we'll get there, you can bet the skies will be paved with smoke.
  25. Dec 30, 2012
    60
    Not bad, but certainly not essential. [Jan 2013, p.82]
  26. Oct 10, 2012
    90
    Every puzzle, every piece of dialogue, every punchline and every single one of the sprawlingly hand-drawn backgrounds is pervaded by the charming eccentricities we only got a glimpse at in the first game. Where other second games in a trilogy often fail, this middle-part manages to marry the obligatory cliffhanger-ending in the run-up to Episode three with a whole-heartedly satisfying conclusion of its own.
  27. Nov 16, 2012
    60
    It's not bad, but compared to its predecessor, and to other Daedalic adventures in general, it's not really all that good, either.
  28. Nov 26, 2012
    70
    Very similar to its predecessor with a few improvements in pacing and story, Chaos on Deponia is a solid adventure that fans of LucasArts-style comedies will likely enjoy.
  29. Jan 29, 2013
    88
    Chaos on Deponia is not an ideal adventure game, but it is totally worthy of being called a true successor to Monkey Island.
  30. Oct 11, 2012
    85
    A fun sequel with more content, more variety and better puzzles than in the first game. Featuring a great art style, memorable characters and good jokes (at least for the most part), this second chapter of the Deponia series should not be missed by any fan of point-and-click adventure games.
  31. 83
    The attention to detail in the action design, the richness of the puzzles, the colorful nature of the setting and its characters- all those elements have enchanted us while we long for the third chapter. [January 2013]
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    Incredible game with amazing music and graphics. The story is really interesting and I'm rally into it. Can't wait to play the third part.Incredible game with amazing music and graphics. The story is really interesting and I'm rally into it. Can't wait to play the third part. Some puzzles are not logical,but overall it's a great adventure game. Maybe a little bit to short. It maybe a good idea to wait until they finish 3rd episodeand sell all three episodes in one pack. Full Review »
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    Amazing game with lots of personality! Puzzles sometimes have illogical solutions but in hindsight I just needed to be more observant. TheAmazing game with lots of personality! Puzzles sometimes have illogical solutions but in hindsight I just needed to be more observant. The creators are great at adding more and more layers of depth to puzzles so the first solution you come up with is only a part of it. I love how fresh every puzzle is, they never recycle elements. More hilarious moments in this one than the first (lollipop scene is priceless). Rufus seemed like a total ass in the first one but I'm really starting to like him and root for him, even if he's still an ass. Again the only issue with this series is some mismatch between audio and subtitles but it barely takes away from the experience since it only happens once or twice, pretty good for a translated game. A real gem for adventure games. Full Review »
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Chaos on Deponia is definitely the best point and click game I've ever played, going above Monkey Island and Broken Sword games which haveChaos on Deponia is definitely the best point and click game I've ever played, going above Monkey Island and Broken Sword games which have been my favorites for a long time.
    Chaos on Deponia is the second game in 3 part series. The first game was amazing too, but not nearly at this level
    Not spoiling too much,(just don't read if you haven't played the first Deponia) star of Deponia 2 is once again Rufus, egoistical jerk who always has some scatter brained plan for everything and of course people get hurt in the process. He lives in a planet called Deponia, this giant garbarge pile where humans, or human like creatures live. Rufus is trying to get to Elysium, this place high above in the sky. Another big character is Goal, the love interest, and unlike in first game, this time she's not asleep for the majority of the game, only in the beginning as you try to assemble her mind back together. Both are great characters and really funny in their own way. Rufus is always trying to hit on Goal but she doesn't seem to be responsive, and Goal's mind is split in 3 parts and all of the parts have great personalities and you get to know her better as a whole when you try to persuade all of the parts and get to Elysium to tell them that Deponia is inhabitent and not to blow it up.
    Story takes couple of nice turns and leaves in a nice cliffhanger while giving satisfying ending. At some point you learn something aboyt Elysium, which might make you question a bit is Rufus really trying to do the right thing when he's trying to stop the supposedly bad guy and stop Deponia from exploding, and what does Rufus himself really want?
    Gameplay is standard, if you've played point & click games you'll know and if you haven't, it's not that hard to catch on. You talk to lots of colorful characters to gain information, and collect and combine all sorts of weird stuff from your inventory to progress forward.
    Puzzles in this game are top notch, best I've ever played. They're logical, they're challenging but not on impossible level but you still need to think and really listen to the characters. Sometimes there aren't even any hints to what you should do, not at least verbally because those puzzles are explained a little differently and they can get challenging.
    Humor is also one of the best in any game I've ever played. There's constantly coming real laugh out loud moments (Mc Thulhu restaurant was the best part).
    I played the game with English voice acting which was superb. I've heard that some previous Daedalic games haven't had that great English translation and many jokes have been lost from German version, but I don't think that's the case here, about every joke hits the mark and everything is completely understandable.
    Only bad thing I can say are the typo's, there aren't that much of them but they're noticeable. Now, I probably misspelled something in this review too as my native language isn't English, and neither is for the guys who made the game, Daedalic Entertainment, but those typo's still give away a bit unprofessional feeling and remind me that this is indeed an indie game. This doesn't make the game worse in any way and if you play it with English voice over and your first language is English, you most likely won't even read subtitles and the typo's are just a letter here and there, just pointing out.
    All and all, awesome game. This is definitely the best game in 2012 that I've played and new king of point & click games in my list. Can't wait for Deponia 3.
    Full Review »