Chaos on Deponia PC

Chaos on Deponia Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 169 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Embark on round 2. CoD promises to be even crazier than the first game and quickly puts the player under its spell. After the events on Deponia, it appears that Rufus came to his senses.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    91
    Chaos on Deponia continues the beautiful story of Deponia. The game brings nothing new to the genre, however it has great and funny characters, nice riddles and a fantastic atmosphere. Chaos on Deponia shows how an adventure game should be made.
  2. Jan 29, 2013
    88
    Chaos on Deponia is not an ideal adventure game, but it is totally worthy of being called a true successor to Monkey Island.
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    85
    Chaos on Deponia is indeed an exciting adventure, full of idiotic dialogues and situations, long running and with great graphics.
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    Chaos on Deponia is so much better than its predecessor in almost every aspect. The story starts to be really intriguing, the main character has grown and puzzles are well thought and a lot of fun to solve.
  5. Dec 24, 2012
    80
    The puzzles are tough enough that you probably won't figure them out right away, but they're not so tough that they'll stump you for days at a time, either. For me, that's exactly where I want the difficulty of an adventure to be, and combined with the humor of the game, it makes Chaos on Deponia an easy game to recommend.
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    78
    It's guaranteed to provide you with a few good belly laughs, plus some genuine brain teasers as well.
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    60
    It's not bad, but compared to its predecessor, and to other Daedalic adventures in general, it's not really all that good, either.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Well, I really liked this game, even more than Deponia. The storyline is great, and the writing is fantastic. The puzzles are also muchWell, I really liked this game, even more than Deponia. The storyline is great, and the writing is fantastic. The puzzles are also much better than Deponia, which had a few puzzles that were basically impossible without a walkthrough - there was still a few ridiculous puzzles, but not nearly as many. My only other complaint is that, like Deponia, the ending feels rushed and unresolved. Hopefully the final game in the trilogy will not be like that. I don't think I'd have paid $20 for this, but I don't regret paying $10 for it, and at $5 it would be a must-buy. Expand
  2. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    The sequal to the first game (Deponia). I recommend that you play the first game, and if you already have and you're reading this, what theThe sequal to the first game (Deponia). I recommend that you play the first game, and if you already have and you're reading this, what the hell are you waiting for? Go play Chaos on Deponia! :) Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Chaos on Deponia is definitely the best point and click game I've ever played, going above Monkey Island and Broken Sword games which haveChaos on Deponia is definitely the best point and click game I've ever played, going above Monkey Island and Broken Sword games which have been my favorites for a long time.
    Chaos on Deponia is the second game in 3 part series. The first game was amazing too, but not nearly at this level
    Not spoiling too much,(just don't read if you haven't played the first Deponia) star of Deponia 2 is once again Rufus, egoistical jerk who always has some scatter brained plan for everything and of course people get hurt in the process. He lives in a planet called Deponia, this giant garbarge pile where humans, or human like creatures live. Rufus is trying to get to Elysium, this place high above in the sky. Another big character is Goal, the love interest, and unlike in first game, this time she's not asleep for the majority of the game, only in the beginning as you try to assemble her mind back together. Both are great characters and really funny in their own way. Rufus is always trying to hit on Goal but she doesn't seem to be responsive, and Goal's mind is split in 3 parts and all of the parts have great personalities and you get to know her better as a whole when you try to persuade all of the parts and get to Elysium to tell them that Deponia is inhabitent and not to blow it up.
    Story takes couple of nice turns and leaves in a nice cliffhanger while giving satisfying ending. At some point you learn something aboyt Elysium, which might make you question a bit is Rufus really trying to do the right thing when he's trying to stop the supposedly bad guy and stop Deponia from exploding, and what does Rufus himself really want?
    Gameplay is standard, if you've played point & click games you'll know and if you haven't, it's not that hard to catch on. You talk to lots of colorful characters to gain information, and collect and combine all sorts of weird stuff from your inventory to progress forward.
    Puzzles in this game are top notch, best I've ever played. They're logical, they're challenging but not on impossible level but you still need to think and really listen to the characters. Sometimes there aren't even any hints to what you should do, not at least verbally because those puzzles are explained a little differently and they can get challenging.
    Humor is also one of the best in any game I've ever played. There's constantly coming real laugh out loud moments (Mc Thulhu restaurant was the best part).
    I played the game with English voice acting which was superb. I've heard that some previous Daedalic games haven't had that great English translation and many jokes have been lost from German version, but I don't think that's the case here, about every joke hits the mark and everything is completely understandable.
    Only bad thing I can say are the typo's, there aren't that much of them but they're noticeable. Now, I probably misspelled something in this review too as my native language isn't English, and neither is for the guys who made the game, Daedalic Entertainment, but those typo's still give away a bit unprofessional feeling and remind me that this is indeed an indie game. This doesn't make the game worse in any way and if you play it with English voice over and your first language is English, you most likely won't even read subtitles and the typo's are just a letter here and there, just pointing out.
    All and all, awesome game. This is definitely the best game in 2012 that I've played and new king of point & click games in my list. Can't wait for Deponia 3.
    Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    An amazing sequel to Deponia. Game is long and everything that I ever liked in original is improved. More characters, more locations, moreAn amazing sequel to Deponia. Game is long and everything that I ever liked in original is improved. More characters, more locations, more puzzles, more humor, and ofcourse, even more junk. Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2016
    8
    "Chaos on Deponia" is the second point-and-click game in Deponia series. It features a goofy protagonist, Rufus. He still lives on a garbage"Chaos on Deponia" is the second point-and-click game in Deponia series. It features a goofy protagonist, Rufus. He still lives on a garbage filled planet Deponia, from which he always plans to escape. Rufus is a walking disaster. You can expect water to catch fire when Rufus is around. There is something about smart mouthed Rufus that reminds us of Guybrush Threepwood, classic point-and-click hero.

    PROS:
    - Pretty and colorful cartoon graphics.
    - Humour: edgy, sarcastic, sometimes dark.
    - Good voice acting.
    - Decent story: with love, deception, mystery and revolution.
    - Balanced difficulty.
    - Cool locations.
    - Interesting characters (Bozo, Toni, Goal, The Revolutionists).
    - Classic point-and-click feel.

    MEH:
    - You get to visit some locations quite often, which makes background music somewhat annoying.
    - Some animations are sort of lazy. But that's to be expected from an Indie game with limited budget.

    CONS:
    - Some puzzles are not so intuitive, you may require walkthrough (I had to use it about 4 times).

    If you enjoy classic adventure games, "Chaos on Deponia" is just for you. It's not a masterpiece, but is good and you won't regret spending 10 hours to complete it.

    GAMEPLAY 8/10
    GRAPHICS 8/10
    AUDIO 8/10
    STORY 8/10
    Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2015
    8
    Good game. Reminds me of Monkey Island. Brings back memories. Good puns, jokes, insults.

    The last third of the game had unintuitive puzzles
    Good game. Reminds me of Monkey Island. Brings back memories. Good puns, jokes, insults.

    The last third of the game had unintuitive puzzles but I would still say that it was worth it.
    Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2013
    5
    Chaos on Deponia has great drawings, an interesting, appealing atmosphere, and an epic score, which livens up the start menu section.Chaos on Deponia has great drawings, an interesting, appealing atmosphere, and an epic score, which livens up the start menu section.
    Unfortunately, under the pretty facade, both on its own, and in comparison with its predecessor, this adventure game is severely lacking in actual content. Yes, there are more areas to explore, more scenes to play out, and more videos to watch, but the jokes are fit for little children (which is out of place in a game with a mature setting), are devoid of wit, intelligence, or class (oh, this guy speaks in a funny way, let's laugh about it for the entire game, because it's obviously such a riot) not to mention the completely needless and tasteless parts with cruelty to animals.
    Supplementing the vapid, hollow humor are unlikable, skin-deep characters that do not evoke the tiniest bit of emotional attachment.
    All except the protagonist, of course who is a loathsome with no redeeming qualities, which I found repeatedly wanting to see fail. The fact that he is an oblivious, rude, shallow, mean-spirited, self-centered, charmless, immature idiot (and yes, this is how the game itself portrays him) might have been (almost) cute in the first game, but his behavior is simply insufferable this time around. In effect, he does not serve as a hero, anti-hero (Guybrush Threepwood has that part done correctly), or even as comic relief.

    In short, this is an average adventure game, that falls short of the classics it tries to imitate (there are a few homages too, not that they help much). Despite wanting to like it, I became more and more disappointed as the story progressed. Perhaps this trilogy (why?) can still be saved in its third installment, when that is available, but my advice is to think three times before handing over your money.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings