• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Nov 8, 2012
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2012
    5
    I buy pretty much any game with anime graphics so naturally a Japanese sim game is right up my street. Firstly, the game is very short. It took me 3 hours for my first playthrough. Admittedly, though, there are 6 characters to 'complete' by the end of the game and I only managed 3, and hadn't even met one of the characters, so I imagine there's some replayability there (though I'm notI buy pretty much any game with anime graphics so naturally a Japanese sim game is right up my street. Firstly, the game is very short. It took me 3 hours for my first playthrough. Admittedly, though, there are 6 characters to 'complete' by the end of the game and I only managed 3, and hadn't even met one of the characters, so I imagine there's some replayability there (though I'm not really willing to sit through tonnes of cutscenes I've already seen just to unlock a few pieces of content that I missed the first time). My biggest issue with this game is that many mechanics are used poorly. You can work to earn money but there isn't really all that much need to buy anything as you can generally just use a free version of it (though probably less effective/more random). There's also a fatigue system in place but it never really seemed to affect my gameplay. Overall, it's an okay game. It's biggest selling point is that proper Japanese sim games with good translations like this are fairly rare so it has some novelty. There's a nice 'social' aspect and you find out about the personalities and backstories of 7 relatively interesting characters (including the one you play). The gameplay isn't that amazing as you essentially just build up some skills and spam talk to people until you max out their friendship. It's cheap, but probably not cheap enough to buy unless you're really into this sort of thing. Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2013
    6
    The goal of CTHCC is to befriend the game's characters well enough to join the school club. If you've played Persona 4, the gameplay of CTHCC tries very hard to be the town segments of that game. You train certain skills to relate to people better, then talk to them as much as possible in order to become friends with them, see their stories, and finally convice them to join. Oddly, youThe goal of CTHCC is to befriend the game's characters well enough to join the school club. If you've played Persona 4, the gameplay of CTHCC tries very hard to be the town segments of that game. You train certain skills to relate to people better, then talk to them as much as possible in order to become friends with them, see their stories, and finally convice them to join. Oddly, you never actually perform any comedy in the game, because it ends on the club registration deadline.

    CTHCC is definitely not anywhere near Persona 4, but most games aren't. Unfortunately, this game has the weaknesses of P4's town gameplay as well. It's very repetitive. The music would be decent for this game if it wasn't repeated over and pver ad nauseum. But, this game's strength is the character-driven story. While the characters are not near the level of P4, they were better than I expected them to be, though I wish they had more chit-chat dialogue.

    This game has some display issues. Alt+Enter is the only way to make it fullscreen, and even then it doesn't work well. The art is decent otherwise, for being 2D still images. CTHCC controls well enough.

    CTHCC is an okay way to kill an hour or two, but I was getting bored by the end of my three hour playthrough. I wouldn't pay much for it, though. Wait for a 75% off sale if this sounds interesting to you. If not, you're not missing too much by choosing to skip this game.
    Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2012
    8
    I took a look at this game a few times and thought "Oh, why not, it looks quite fun so I'll give it a try," and it really didn't disappoint me in many ways, and in several aspects is probably one of the better titles I've played this year. First of all, the story centers on Miley Verisse who is trying to establish a Comedy Club in her School and requires five people to set it up, allI took a look at this game a few times and thought "Oh, why not, it looks quite fun so I'll give it a try," and it really didn't disappoint me in many ways, and in several aspects is probably one of the better titles I've played this year. First of all, the story centers on Miley Verisse who is trying to establish a Comedy Club in her School and requires five people to set it up, all within an in game time limit, it felt like a very fun story as you go around town talking to the candidates which Miley has picked and getting to know them and chat to them was pretty interesting and each character feels unique in their own way, the game also features multiple endings by how many people you convince in the end of the game to join the Comedy Club, allowing some re-playability of the title in order to see what happens if for example she didn't get enough to establish the club, or if she recruited everyone. The gameplay is essentially walking around a town and talking to people, you can do things, earn money or study on different conversation topics in order to allow you to talk to people about what they like better. For example, if you watch a sports movie at the cinema for $15 you gain some skill in sports conversations, this makes time management a bit more important, because you have to structure when you are going to do different things in order to convince people before the time limit ends. The only issue I had with the game was the overall length, I completed my first run of the game in around three hours, which was fine to pass an evening, but for the full price tag may be a little short for some people, although if you wanted to try to get another ending you could easily clock another two/three hours. In conclusion, if you like games with good stories and some aspects of time management, you may enjoy this, however for a three hour game I'd say wait until you can get it perhaps half price. The Collapse
  4. AWG
    Aug 9, 2013
    3
    It looks like a Game Boy Color game, and it's boring like hell. Would not recommend to any of my friends.
  5. Feb 6, 2014
    4
    I only bought this game because it's a japanese simulation game, and I'm a real fan of the genre.

    The idea is cute, pretty much like in Magical Diary - you make friends in order to recruit members for your club. The problem is, this game seems dull and boring. After playing more complex games, such as Long Live The Queen, Recettear and even Magical Diary, this game simply pales in
    I only bought this game because it's a japanese simulation game, and I'm a real fan of the genre.

    The idea is cute, pretty much like in Magical Diary - you make friends in order to recruit members for your club. The problem is, this game seems dull and boring. After playing more complex games, such as Long Live The Queen, Recettear and even Magical Diary, this game simply pales in comparison - *big time*!

    I'm not completely sure, I'm only been playing for an hour or so, so I'm probably going to give it some more time, hoping it'll surprise me. I promise to update this review if I ever change my mind about this game, but so far, I don't like it at all. If you like games like that, better go for a better one, such as the examples I mentioned above.
    Expand
  6. Mar 4, 2014
    9
    I walk into this game with little expectations. (I mean what do you expect from a game called Cherry Tree High Comedy Club.) And It put in this Cheery Mood.

    The music was upbeat and rocking, the dialogue was hilarious, and the characters were colorful and likable. I will confess the Game only has two playthough if you know what your doing. Also it's a visual novel meaning you have to
    I walk into this game with little expectations. (I mean what do you expect from a game called Cherry Tree High Comedy Club.) And It put in this Cheery Mood.

    The music was upbeat and rocking, the dialogue was hilarious, and the characters were colorful and likable.

    I will confess the Game only has two playthough if you know what your doing. Also it's a visual novel meaning you have to read a bunch of text, which is a bit of a turn off.

    But even with those complaints I would love to see a sequel.
    Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2012
    0
    I took a look at this game a few times and thought "Oh, why not, it looks quite fun so I'll give it a try," and it really didn't disappoint me in many ways, and in several aspects is probably one of the better titles I've played this year. First of all, the story centers on Miley Verisse who is trying to establish a Comedy Club in her School and requires five people to set it up, allI took a look at this game a few times and thought "Oh, why not, it looks quite fun so I'll give it a try," and it really didn't disappoint me in many ways, and in several aspects is probably one of the better titles I've played this year. First of all, the story centers on Miley Verisse who is trying to establish a Comedy Club in her School and requires five people to set it up, all within an in game time limit, it felt like a very fun story as you go around town talking to the candidates which Miley has picked and getting to know them and chat to them was pretty interesting and each character feels unique in their own way, the game also features multiple endings by how many people you convince in the end of the game to join the Comedy Club, allowing some re-playability of the title in order to see what happens if for example she didn't get enough to establish the club, or if she recruited everyone. The gameplay is essentially walking around a town and talking to people, you can do things, earn money or study on different conversation topics in order to allow you to talk to people about what they like better. For example, if you watch a sports movie at the cinema for $15 you gain some skill in sports conversations, this makes time management a bit more important, because you have to structure when you are going to do different things in order to convince people before the time limit ends. The only issue I had with the game was the overall length, I completed my first run of the game in around three hours, which was fine to pass an evening, but for the full price tag may be a little short for some people, although if you wanted to try to get another ending you could easily clock another two/three hours. In conclusion, if you like games with good stories and some aspects of time management, you may enjoy this, however for a three hour game I'd say wait until you can get it perhaps half price. The Collapse
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 1 Critic

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jul 24, 2012
    75
    It may be short, but Cherry Tree High Comedy Club is a nice change of pace from other games and offers something unique.