Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 364 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Child of Light is a digital download, 2D side-scrolling role-playing game inspired by the art style of Studio Ghibli.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Aug 29, 2014
    93
    Every aspect of Child of Light has an unmistakably artisinal, organic feel to it.
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    85
    Ubisoft has decided to make an experiment, and Child of Light is their first, successful creature. The French developers showed not only knowledge of the basics of the JRPG genre, but also the ability to reshape and merge them into a bewitching and artistically beautiful product.
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    82
    It's a magical 2D RPG you just have to love. The art style and the fitting characters create a visual highlight.
  4. May 15, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is one of the most attractive, beautiful and atmospheric games I have played in recent years. The fairytale script is good enough to travel you back to your childhood, filling you with nostalgia, the art direction can leave you speechless, as well as the amazing soundtrack. If you are willing to ignore the low difficult level, you will enjoy one of the most honest and full of soul games ever. However, if challenge is what you seek, then it is better to look somewhere else.
  5. May 5, 2014
    78
    A game with a tremendous, top notch style but a distinctive lack of depth, Child of Light is a fragile and ephemeral dream.
  6. Apr 29, 2014
    69
    A beautiful game to look at, and wonderfully polished, but a thimble-deep RPG.
  7. Apr 30, 2014
    60
    Child of Light perhaps doesn't shine as bright as it might, but it's nonetheless quite a dazzling sight.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 77
  2. Negative: 10 out of 77
  1. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    At least one perfect game in this year. You + your girlfriend + amazing story + worm, soft design. If you have problem with it, just go pleaseAt least one perfect game in this year. You + your girlfriend + amazing story + worm, soft design. If you have problem with it, just go please and play TitanFall. Brutality awaits you. Collapse
  2. May 6, 2014
    10
    Wonderful Game!
    This game throw me back to my youth but with a dark and deep magical twist
    I can say with confidence that the feelings
    Wonderful Game!
    This game throw me back to my youth but with a dark and deep magical twist
    I can say with confidence that the feelings that i felt while playing are worth more than the 15$ bucks
    Expand
  3. May 2, 2014
    10
    El mejor juego en lo que va del 2014. Como dijo uno por ahí, si no te gusta, volvé a jugar Titanfall. Este juego es como meterte dentro de unEl mejor juego en lo que va del 2014. Como dijo uno por ahí, si no te gusta, volvé a jugar Titanfall. Este juego es como meterte dentro de un cuadro hermoso escuchando música genial y dejarte llevar. Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2014
    9
    In just under 12 hours, Child of Light manages to do what many full price releases still struggle with, it remains entertaining andIn just under 12 hours, Child of Light manages to do what many full price releases still struggle with, it remains entertaining and consistently surprising throughout. It’s hard to describe why, but there is a sense of mystery permeating throughout the entirety of the game, some unexplainable force that keeps you pressing onward. It was hard to put down, knowing that just around the corner was another beautiful vista or interesting companion yet to be discovered.

    + Beautiful and Charming Art Direction
    + Unique Combat System
    + Music

    - So… much… rhyming…

    For the full review go here: http://pentafrag.com/child-light-review/
    Expand
  5. May 7, 2014
    9
    The game is a visual pleasure, one of the most beautiful games I have played in years. True, it’s not a perfect RPG but it does bring someThe game is a visual pleasure, one of the most beautiful games I have played in years. True, it’s not a perfect RPG but it does bring some fresh air to a gender that has lost the beauty of old times.

    Additionally, It is wonderful to see studios trying to produce good and different games. I salute them for trying something different and for not attempting to milk the player: like greedy Blizzard and its dreadful Diablo 3…
    Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2015
    7
    *Graphics* The best part of the game. Everything is smooth and soft, but can also be strong and powerful, creating a nice contrast. The*Graphics* The best part of the game. Everything is smooth and soft, but can also be strong and powerful, creating a nice contrast. The environments are varied and quite polished.
    *Sound* The rhymes in the dialogues create a pleasant musicality, even though they become too solemn at times. The soundtrack is very relaxing, and it plays and important part in the story.
    *Game* Usual cliché of "Good vs Evil", it's not surprising nor unprecedented. The fighting system is nice, being turn-based, and one has to choose the best two characters among many to fight certain enemies. Playing on "Hard" is actually hard only in the very first fights, becoming way too easy as the game progresses. It's possible to play with another person from the same computer, which is nice.
    Overall I think I would recommend this game.
    Expand
  7. May 3, 2014
    0
    HOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one ofHOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one of the best; 5-below score: serious flaws.
    ===========
    Bad PC optimization, cliche story. Gameplay wise... well I didn't get to it 'cus of the bad optimization!
    Expand

See all 77 User Reviews

Trailers