Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 411 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Child of Light is a digital download, 2D side-scrolling role-playing game inspired by the art style of Studio Ghibli.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Aug 29, 2014
    93
    Every aspect of Child of Light has an unmistakably artisinal, organic feel to it.
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    85
    Ubisoft has decided to make an experiment, and Child of Light is their first, successful creature. The French developers showed not only knowledge of the basics of the JRPG genre, but also the ability to reshape and merge them into a bewitching and artistically beautiful product.
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    82
    It's a magical 2D RPG you just have to love. The art style and the fitting characters create a visual highlight.
  4. May 15, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is one of the most attractive, beautiful and atmospheric games I have played in recent years. The fairytale script is good enough to travel you back to your childhood, filling you with nostalgia, the art direction can leave you speechless, as well as the amazing soundtrack. If you are willing to ignore the low difficult level, you will enjoy one of the most honest and full of soul games ever. However, if challenge is what you seek, then it is better to look somewhere else.
  5. May 5, 2014
    78
    A game with a tremendous, top notch style but a distinctive lack of depth, Child of Light is a fragile and ephemeral dream.
  6. Apr 29, 2014
    69
    A beautiful game to look at, and wonderfully polished, but a thimble-deep RPG.
  7. Apr 30, 2014
    60
    Child of Light perhaps doesn't shine as bright as it might, but it's nonetheless quite a dazzling sight.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 81
  2. Negative: 10 out of 81
  1. May 6, 2014
    10
    Child of Light far exceeded my expectations and has now become one of my favorite games of all time. There is no better RPG on the market whatChild of Light far exceeded my expectations and has now become one of my favorite games of all time. There is no better RPG on the market what this game offers for the price ($14.99) . This easily could have retailed for $49.99 and would be worth every penny still. The environment is lush , beautiful and the game play is seamless. I clocked in about 30 hours into the game making sure I was lv 50 by the end of the game, completed all side missions, found all the chests etc. The game is superbly scripted and for purists there is new game +. GOTY contender ! Expand
  2. May 2, 2014
    10
    El mejor juego en lo que va del 2014. Como dijo uno por ahí, si no te gusta, volvé a jugar Titanfall. Este juego es como meterte dentro de unEl mejor juego en lo que va del 2014. Como dijo uno por ahí, si no te gusta, volvé a jugar Titanfall. Este juego es como meterte dentro de un cuadro hermoso escuchando música genial y dejarte llevar. Expand
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    At least one perfect game in this year. You + your girlfriend + amazing story + worm, soft design. If you have problem with it, just go pleaseAt least one perfect game in this year. You + your girlfriend + amazing story + worm, soft design. If you have problem with it, just go please and play TitanFall. Brutality awaits you. Expand
  4. May 11, 2014
    9
    I was new to this type of games when i think of buying this game i thought i was wasting my money but after playing for just 2 hours i wasI was new to this type of games when i think of buying this game i thought i was wasting my money but after playing for just 2 hours i was frozen.this is the type of game that i searching for soo long and said it was amazing .one of the best game of this yesr Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2015
    8
    It's like crime how Child of Light can rob you of your time.

    The combination of side-scrolling exploration, challenging turn-based tactical
    It's like crime how Child of Light can rob you of your time.

    The combination of side-scrolling exploration, challenging turn-based tactical gameplay, amusing rhyming dialogues and a wonderful art style makes Child of Light an unusual but enjoyable gem.

    You'll quickly fall in love with the beatifully drawn landscapes of Lemuria as you travel through its dark forests, mountains and even under the sea. They are typically riddled with secret areas you can sniff out for treasure, puzzles or hidden bosses. Often there'll be more than one path to your destination, making exploration more interesting.

    During your travels, you'll meet many fun characters who'll give your quests, join you in your adventure, or both. My favourite was a female jester who couldn't do the dialogues in a proper rhyming fashion, allowing the other characters to jump in and correct her. Her healing abilities were also very welcome in a fight, making her one of my most used characters during combat.

    The combat is turn-based but has a real-time element that lets you delay enemies' turn or slightly heal your party out of turn. Timing this ability is important to winning encounters, as it lets you better use or avoid being the victim of the interrupt mechanic. Interrupting means hitting a character trying to perform an action, resulting in his turn being delayed. If you don't go for the easy difficulty, combat offers good and rewarding challenge that makes you invest time into considering how to specialise your characters.

    Each character has a network of specialisation trees, offering abilities unique to him while giving you a choice between the different paths. For example, there's a wizard who can specialise in lightning, water or fire, allowing him to excel against certain creature types vulnerable to his focused element. Another character can choose between improving his defense, his offense or his ability to direct enemy attacks against him.

    A problem that grows as the size of your party increases, is the frequency of level ups. Very quickly you'll be looking at one or multiple level ups after pretty much every battle as your characters gain levels and extra skill points to spend. It becomes tedious looking at the skill tree menu this often.

    Another part of character customisation is the Oculi system. Oculi are gems you gather and can use kind of like equipment items such as swords and armor in other games. They offer different bonuses depending on color and slot used, and can be combined to form more powerful gems. Oculi juggling gets a little cumbersome, but is nonetheless an important strategic element as you want to equip the right damage and resistance types depending on the opposition of your current area.

    Apart from having trouble with Steam starting the game through Uplay for some reason initially, the only bug I noticed in the actual game was that sometimes when entering combat, Aurora's (the main character) usually flowing hair wasn't drawn.

    If you're not playing on Easy difficulty and like to explore and look for secrets, you should expect around 20 hours of gameplay from Child of Light.

    TIP: While Child of Light offers controller support, I really must recommend using mouse and keyboard. You will need the precision to properly manage the real-time element of the otherwise turn-based combat.

    TIP: If, like me, you have trouble starting the game through Steam, try launching Uplay directly and start the game from there. After doing that, it's been working for me no problem.
    Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2015
    7
    *Graphics* The best part of the game. Everything is smooth and soft, but can also be strong and powerful, creating a nice contrast. The*Graphics* The best part of the game. Everything is smooth and soft, but can also be strong and powerful, creating a nice contrast. The environments are varied and quite polished.
    *Sound* The rhymes in the dialogues create a pleasant musicality, even though they become too solemn at times. The soundtrack is very relaxing, and it plays and important part in the story.
    *Game* Usual cliché of "Good vs Evil", it's not surprising nor unprecedented. The fighting system is nice, being turn-based, and one has to choose the best two characters among many to fight certain enemies. Playing on "Hard" is actually hard only in the very first fights, becoming way too easy as the game progresses. It's possible to play with another person from the same computer, which is nice.
    Overall I think I would recommend this game.
    Expand
  7. May 3, 2014
    0
    HOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one ofHOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one of the best; 5-below score: serious flaws.
    ===========
    Bad PC optimization, cliche story. Gameplay wise... well I didn't get to it 'cus of the bad optimization!
    Expand

See all 81 User Reviews

Trailers