Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 338 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Child of Light is a digital download, 2D side-scrolling role-playing game inspired by the art style of Studio Ghibli.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Aug 29, 2014
    93
    Every aspect of Child of Light has an unmistakably artisinal, organic feel to it.
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    85
    Ubisoft has decided to make an experiment, and Child of Light is their first, successful creature. The French developers showed not only knowledge of the basics of the JRPG genre, but also the ability to reshape and merge them into a bewitching and artistically beautiful product.
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    82
    It's a magical 2D RPG you just have to love. The art style and the fitting characters create a visual highlight.
  4. May 15, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is one of the most attractive, beautiful and atmospheric games I have played in recent years. The fairytale script is good enough to travel you back to your childhood, filling you with nostalgia, the art direction can leave you speechless, as well as the amazing soundtrack. If you are willing to ignore the low difficult level, you will enjoy one of the most honest and full of soul games ever. However, if challenge is what you seek, then it is better to look somewhere else.
  5. May 5, 2014
    78
    A game with a tremendous, top notch style but a distinctive lack of depth, Child of Light is a fragile and ephemeral dream.
  6. Apr 29, 2014
    69
    A beautiful game to look at, and wonderfully polished, but a thimble-deep RPG.
  7. Apr 30, 2014
    60
    Child of Light perhaps doesn't shine as bright as it might, but it's nonetheless quite a dazzling sight.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 68
  2. Negative: 9 out of 68
  1. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    At least one perfect game in this year. You + your girlfriend + amazing story + worm, soft design. If you have problem with it, just go pleaseAt least one perfect game in this year. You + your girlfriend + amazing story + worm, soft design. If you have problem with it, just go please and play TitanFall. Brutality awaits you. Expand
  2. May 7, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Un Faro nell'oscurita : questo videogame merita di essere giocato e amato, il gameplay è semplice e intuitivo, la storia non ha lacune di nessun'genere e ho trovato meravigliosi dialoghi in rima e gli scenari molto onirici e la caratterizzazione dei personaggi non è stata tanto superficiale, per questo do 10 e mi piacerebbe che molti prendessero spunto da questo videogioco per migliorare perchè ultimamente il livello dei videogame è calato rasentando la noia!!!

    A Lighthouse in the dark: this game deserves to be played and loved, the gameplay is simple and intuitive, the story has no gaps of any kind and I found wonderful rhyming dialogues and scenarios very dreamlike and the characterization was not so shallow, why do 10 and I'd vote that many would take a cue from this game because lately to improve the level of video games has dropped verging on boredom!
    Expand
  3. May 13, 2014
    10
    Should you buy this game?
    Are you conflicted in how you feel?
    I think so, yes. At $15 it is a steal. The art style is homey as well as
    Should you buy this game?
    Are you conflicted in how you feel?
    I think so, yes. At $15 it is a steal.

    The art style is homey as well as awing.
    The music, fantastic works of art.
    A fine RPG with interesting platforming.
    And not without story,
    A fight of light and dark.

    Don’t listen to the haters.
    Don’t listen to those bad men.
    Listen to me instead.
    This game is a 10/10.
    Expand
  4. Dec 5, 2014
    9
    A beautiful, immersive RPG/Puzzle game from Ubisoft. Trine meets Final Fantasy, with a few added mechanics tossed in.

    PROS: -Solid
    A beautiful, immersive RPG/Puzzle game from Ubisoft. Trine meets Final Fantasy, with a few added mechanics tossed in.

    PROS: -Solid graphic & sound design
    -Fun combat & puzzle mechanics
    -A blast to play for all ages

    CONS: -Not a deep RPG
    -Requires internet connection
    -Can get repetitive

    Check out my full review here: http://youtu.be/MCPoBmctIsI
    Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2014
    9
    actually, if i were just score it's gameplay it would be 7-8 because there are some flaw, but the beautiful art and ost make up for it. firstactually, if i were just score it's gameplay it would be 7-8 because there are some flaw, but the beautiful art and ost make up for it. first the gameplay, the gameplay looks like a japanese rpg or final fantasy game but there are few addition that make it more western, like the usage of mouse during battle, i think this battle style is very good because this is the first time i have seen in western game. though there are some flaw, like the max number of party in a battle is just 2 parties, it restricts the number of strategy you can do; and the skill tree is too simple i think, if it's more complex it will be more interesting. the art and the ost are very very beautiful, though some say that the optimization on PC is bad, but i'm not playing it on other rig and i think the art is good enough though it can be better Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2014
    7
    The game is about a princess that saves her dad from her evil sisters and her evil step-mother, and is made by a French-Canadian studio.The game is about a princess that saves her dad from her evil sisters and her evil step-mother, and is made by a French-Canadian studio.

    The story is a little boring, because is too melodramatic. And the rhyming is terrible! Battles sometimes could become too repetitive…

    The game looks like a water painting which is amazing.

    The game is made for those that love nursery rhymes, and I give it 7.5.
    Expand
  7. May 3, 2014
    0
    HOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one ofHOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one of the best; 5-below score: serious flaws.
    ===========
    Bad PC optimization, cliche story. Gameplay wise... well I didn't get to it 'cus of the bad optimization!
    Collapse

See all 68 User Reviews

Trailers