Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 391 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Child of Light is a digital download, 2D side-scrolling role-playing game inspired by the art style of Studio Ghibli.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Aug 29, 2014
    93
    Every aspect of Child of Light has an unmistakably artisinal, organic feel to it.
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    85
    Ubisoft has decided to make an experiment, and Child of Light is their first, successful creature. The French developers showed not only knowledge of the basics of the JRPG genre, but also the ability to reshape and merge them into a bewitching and artistically beautiful product.
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    82
    It's a magical 2D RPG you just have to love. The art style and the fitting characters create a visual highlight.
  4. May 15, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is one of the most attractive, beautiful and atmospheric games I have played in recent years. The fairytale script is good enough to travel you back to your childhood, filling you with nostalgia, the art direction can leave you speechless, as well as the amazing soundtrack. If you are willing to ignore the low difficult level, you will enjoy one of the most honest and full of soul games ever. However, if challenge is what you seek, then it is better to look somewhere else.
  5. May 5, 2014
    78
    A game with a tremendous, top notch style but a distinctive lack of depth, Child of Light is a fragile and ephemeral dream.
  6. Apr 29, 2014
    69
    A beautiful game to look at, and wonderfully polished, but a thimble-deep RPG.
  7. Apr 30, 2014
    60
    Child of Light perhaps doesn't shine as bright as it might, but it's nonetheless quite a dazzling sight.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 80
  2. Negative: 10 out of 80
  1. May 6, 2014
    10
    Child of Light far exceeded my expectations and has now become one of my favorite games of all time. There is no better RPG on the market whatChild of Light far exceeded my expectations and has now become one of my favorite games of all time. There is no better RPG on the market what this game offers for the price ($14.99) . This easily could have retailed for $49.99 and would be worth every penny still. The environment is lush , beautiful and the game play is seamless. I clocked in about 30 hours into the game making sure I was lv 50 by the end of the game, completed all side missions, found all the chests etc. The game is superbly scripted and for purists there is new game +. GOTY contender ! Expand
  2. May 2, 2014
    10
    El mejor juego en lo que va del 2014. Como dijo uno por ahí, si no te gusta, volvé a jugar Titanfall. Este juego es como meterte dentro de unEl mejor juego en lo que va del 2014. Como dijo uno por ahí, si no te gusta, volvé a jugar Titanfall. Este juego es como meterte dentro de un cuadro hermoso escuchando música genial y dejarte llevar. Expand
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    At least one perfect game in this year. You + your girlfriend + amazing story + worm, soft design. If you have problem with it, just go pleaseAt least one perfect game in this year. You + your girlfriend + amazing story + worm, soft design. If you have problem with it, just go please and play TitanFall. Brutality awaits you. Expand
  4. May 7, 2014
    9
    The game is a visual pleasure, one of the most beautiful games I have played in years. True, it’s not a perfect RPG but it does bring someThe game is a visual pleasure, one of the most beautiful games I have played in years. True, it’s not a perfect RPG but it does bring some fresh air to a gender that has lost the beauty of old times.

    Additionally, It is wonderful to see studios trying to produce good and different games. I salute them for trying something different and for not attempting to milk the player: like greedy Blizzard and its dreadful Diablo 3…
    Expand
  5. May 11, 2014
    8
    Great game. Took me some time to get into it but it was worth it. Interesting story, its like one of those fairy-tails told to kids. YourGreat game. Took me some time to get into it but it was worth it. Interesting story, its like one of those fairy-tails told to kids. Your companions are great and there are many of them to chose from. Combat can get annoying at times. Bit on the short side for an rpg. Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2015
    7
    *Graphics* The best part of the game. Everything is smooth and soft, but can also be strong and powerful, creating a nice contrast. The*Graphics* The best part of the game. Everything is smooth and soft, but can also be strong and powerful, creating a nice contrast. The environments are varied and quite polished.
    *Sound* The rhymes in the dialogues create a pleasant musicality, even though they become too solemn at times. The soundtrack is very relaxing, and it plays and important part in the story.
    *Game* Usual cliché of "Good vs Evil", it's not surprising nor unprecedented. The fighting system is nice, being turn-based, and one has to choose the best two characters among many to fight certain enemies. Playing on "Hard" is actually hard only in the very first fights, becoming way too easy as the game progresses. It's possible to play with another person from the same computer, which is nice.
    Overall I think I would recommend this game.
    Expand
  7. May 3, 2014
    0
    HOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one ofHOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one of the best; 5-below score: serious flaws.
    ===========
    Bad PC optimization, cliche story. Gameplay wise... well I didn't get to it 'cus of the bad optimization!
    Collapse

See all 80 User Reviews

Trailers