Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 330 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Child of Light is a digital download, 2D side-scrolling role-playing game inspired by the art style of Studio Ghibli.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Aug 29, 2014
    93
    Every aspect of Child of Light has an unmistakably artisinal, organic feel to it.
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    85
    Ubisoft has decided to make an experiment, and Child of Light is their first, successful creature. The French developers showed not only knowledge of the basics of the JRPG genre, but also the ability to reshape and merge them into a bewitching and artistically beautiful product.
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    82
    It's a magical 2D RPG you just have to love. The art style and the fitting characters create a visual highlight.
  4. May 15, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is one of the most attractive, beautiful and atmospheric games I have played in recent years. The fairytale script is good enough to travel you back to your childhood, filling you with nostalgia, the art direction can leave you speechless, as well as the amazing soundtrack. If you are willing to ignore the low difficult level, you will enjoy one of the most honest and full of soul games ever. However, if challenge is what you seek, then it is better to look somewhere else.
  5. May 5, 2014
    78
    A game with a tremendous, top notch style but a distinctive lack of depth, Child of Light is a fragile and ephemeral dream.
  6. Apr 29, 2014
    69
    A beautiful game to look at, and wonderfully polished, but a thimble-deep RPG.
  7. Apr 30, 2014
    60
    Child of Light perhaps doesn't shine as bright as it might, but it's nonetheless quite a dazzling sight.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 66
  2. Negative: 9 out of 66
  1. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    At least one perfect game in this year. You + your girlfriend + amazing story + worm, soft design. If you have problem with it, just go please and play TitanFall. Brutality awaits you. Expand
  2. May 7, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Un Faro nell'oscurita : questo videogame merita di essere giocato e amato, il gameplay è semplice e intuitivo, la storia non ha lacune di nessun'genere e ho trovato meravigliosi dialoghi in rima e gli scenari molto onirici e la caratterizzazione dei personaggi non è stata tanto superficiale, per questo do 10 e mi piacerebbe che molti prendessero spunto da questo videogioco per migliorare perchè ultimamente il livello dei videogame è calato rasentando la noia!!!

    A Lighthouse in the dark: this game deserves to be played and loved, the gameplay is simple and intuitive, the story has no gaps of any kind and I found wonderful rhyming dialogues and scenarios very dreamlike and the characterization was not so shallow, why do 10 and I'd vote that many would take a cue from this game because lately to improve the level of video games has dropped verging on boredom!
    Expand
  3. May 3, 2014
    10
    The first great thing about this game is the artistic aspect. It was pretty obvious how amazing this was going to be even before this game came out and Ubisoft definitely lived up to my expectations. The artwork is very beautiful and very pleasing to the eye. You don't want to rush through but take time to enjoy the visual aspect of the game. The aesthetic side also extends into every part of the game, from the way the main character moves to the beautiful orchestral music. I definitely plan on getting the OST if/when they release it.

    The story is another amazing part of the game. I've read a few reviews that try to knock it because "its just a fairytale". While this is obviously true, it doesn't detract from the game in the slightest. Ubisoft does a brilliant job of telling a story that, yes, in its simplest, most watered-down form, is just your typical fairytale. There are no real plot-twists, or at least, there are none they try to hide from you. It does have the "evil stepmother" trope and magic and princesses and all the things fairy tales do have. The game, however, fleshes out the story so thoroughly and beautifully that the result is more than satisfactory. The characters are all developed as far as could be expected for the format of the game, and poetic telling of the story just adds to the overall effect. The only other game that is really similar is Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons, another fairy tale beautifully told. In the end, the story is as satisfying as the artwork.

    The only thing I was worried about going into the game was the combat. I am not a fan of JRPGs or turn-based combat but I was pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed the combat immensely. If I played it again, however, I would have played on the hard difficulty since the combat is rather easy and I only found it challenging once or twice. I never lost a fight and I only had a few characters die during a battle and that was only towards the end of the game during boss fights. If you dislike JRPG combat, don't let that stop you from enjoying the game...putting it on normal difficulty will allow you to enjoy the story without worrying about the combat. But if you like JRPG's or just want a challenge, definitely play on hard. You'll have to make more use of all the powers your characters have, especially their defensive and buff abilities. In addition, on a harder difficulty you will have to make more use of the gem system in the game, which provide passive abilities for each one of your characters.

    Overall, this game was well worth playing. It took longer than expected (10 hours) and was a beautiful and relaxing experience. It rivals Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons for the most beautiful indie game (yes, I know its Ubisoft, not technically indie) as well as my favorite indie game. It also shows what big gaming studios can produce when they try and hopefully points to a better future for gaming.

    And to anyone who decided not to get this game because of UPlay or because of "first day DLC". The only DLC in my opinion worth getting is the $2.99 one that unlocks the Golum character. His powers are unique and helpful so he is worth getting. Everything else is aesthetic or unnecessary, including all the little DLC's that give you gems...you find so many of them in-game, they're unnecessary. The experience of the game is complete even without the Golum so they didn't chop out a huge part of the game and then sell it to you as extra. Don't let it stop you from getting the game. And if you don't want to play it because of Uplay, I don't know what to say to you. You're just losing out on an amazing game because you don't want to deal with a piece of software that works pretty much smoothly and really causes no problems at all. At least, I've never had a single problem with them and I enjoy the rewards you can earn as you progress through whatever game you're playing.
    Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2014
    9
    One of the best classic Rpg style games i have played in a long time, With an amazing artistic style strong story, and catchy rhetoric story telling, this game hits all the right notes. Unique while being classically reminiscent. Collapse
  5. May 4, 2014
    9
    Fantastic game for all ages. Well balanced game play, interesting graphics, and a sturdy plot.

    My 8 year old daughter and I play this game
    together. She plays all the main characters and I play the helpful faery(blinding and healing).

    Worth the $15 price tag? ABSOLUTELY!
    Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2014
    7
    The game is about a princess that saves her dad from her evil sisters and her evil step-mother, and is made by a French-Canadian studio.

    The story is a little boring, because is too melodramatic. And the rhyming is terrible! Battles sometimes could become too repetitive…

    The game looks like a water painting which is amazing.

    The game is made for those that love nursery rhymes, and I give it 7.5.
    Expand
  7. May 3, 2014
    0
    HOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one of the best; 5-below score: serious flaws.
    ===========
    Bad PC optimization, cliche story. Gameplay wise... well I didn't get to it 'cus of the bad optimization!
    Expand

See all 66 User Reviews

Trailers