Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 819 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: CHIVALRY: Medieval Warfare is a first-person medieval combat game that seeks to deliver the intensity of epic hollywood medieval block busters to the hands of a gamer. CHIVALRY hurls the player into a fictional yet realistic medieval world where the Agathian Knights are battling against theCHIVALRY: Medieval Warfare is a first-person medieval combat game that seeks to deliver the intensity of epic hollywood medieval block busters to the hands of a gamer. CHIVALRY hurls the player into a fictional yet realistic medieval world where the Agathian Knights are battling against the newly formed Mason Order for control of the lands of Agatha. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    90
    I'm rather enamoured by the unique flavour of online combat presented by Chivalry. It's fresh and fun, and like the very best games is easy to get into yet incredibly hard to master. I've honestly not had this much competitive online joy since Battlefield 3, and to think a $25 indie title can provide a level of enjoyment up there with a $100 million game like Battlefield is testimony to the skill of the developer.
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    85
    Excellent multiplayer slasher, full of sound, fury and blood. More object maps, please. [Dec 2012]
  3. Feb 1, 2013
    81
    Chivalry is Quake to War of the Roses' Battlefield, and those seeking a faster-paced bloodier experience will undoubtedly prefer Chivalry's type of steel. [March 2013, p.65]
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is up to a better start than War of the Roses. Torn Banner Studios have shunned any historical accuracy or character editing options, but their fighting system is easier to learn, while at the same time offering a surprising amount of depth. Dynamic rather than authentic, these skirmishes are much easier to enjoy.
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    78
    It offers loads of fun and a simple but deep at the same time fighting system. Still far from perfect, but it could get closer to it with a few patches or updates.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    75
    Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is an interesting first person melee combat simulation, quite similar to the Mount & Blade series. The game made by Torn Banner Studios is funny and beautiful but doesn't have its own identity.
  7. Nov 9, 2012
    59
    Compared to the similar War of the Roses you get tighter controls and more game modes, but it lacks in entertainment value.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 291
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Buy this game! The combat is better than any other melee game I've played. its hard to believe this is from an indie studio. If you like fastBuy this game! The combat is better than any other melee game I've played. its hard to believe this is from an indie studio. If you like fast paced, smart, melee combat, this game is for you. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    This game is epic incarnated, its a must to play with your friends, you will have the time of your life. The only issue i had was when doingThis game is epic incarnated, its a must to play with your friends, you will have the time of your life. The only issue i had was when doing the tutorial, there was a part that was not working, but its not that important. Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    I dove into this game expecting a third person MMO PvP experience and got just that. As long as the dev's come out with what they're promisingI dove into this game expecting a third person MMO PvP experience and got just that. As long as the dev's come out with what they're promising this game will deserve it's 10/10. Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2012
    8
    good game, the reason why 8/10 because the community is so bad, everyone thinks he is a hero with clicking only the left button of his mousegood game, the reason why 8/10 because the community is so bad, everyone thinks he is a hero with clicking only the left button of his mouse and the reason of this = too many teamkills but no punishment for left-clicking heroes Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2012
    8
    Chivalary is one of those games that can be played by mashing buttons, without regard of situation or without even knowing what you are doing.Chivalary is one of those games that can be played by mashing buttons, without regard of situation or without even knowing what you are doing. Same goes for any beat em up game.
    Does that make the game bad? Not at all. When first playing the game, you will die. Often. Mostly because you end up inside the mobfight and there is one guy swinging the biggest and nastiest weapon he could find. Given some time to play this, you will find tons of ways to counter these (as again, with a lot of beat-em-up games). Only at this point, will the game reach is potential. It does lack any visual customization or a way to discern your friends from other teammates, but i'm pretty confident those things will come in the near future.
    The visual style is grim and dark. Just the way it should be.
    Expand
  6. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    I started off with this game only knowing what I had seen in videos, and in those said videos this game looked like a blast. The back-swingI started off with this game only knowing what I had seen in videos, and in those said videos this game looked like a blast. The back-swing mechanic, the way your weapons actually have an arc to them, hit-boxes, etc. were all some of the major things I really looked forward to with this game.
    Within a week I purchased it, and within a week I could already tell that this was just going to be another easily-exploited PvP game. You will find yourself annoyed or even infuriated by this games distinct lack of balance. I understand where the developers were coming from, trying to make a realistic PvP medieval game, and I can respect that. But the lack of balance in this game makes a good portion of your games boring as your constantly slaughtered by Vanguards and Archers. So unless you plan to play as the aforementioned classes, prepare to be murdered over and over again by the same dude with a pole-axe.
    All in all this game is a blast when your allowed to have fun, the design, game-play, and even humor in this game makes it amazing, and when your alive, you will probably be laughing the entire time. But that is only a fraction of the time due to its lack of balance and easy exploits.
    Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2014
    0
    What a pile of Rubbish. During sale this game crashes every 15 mins so all I can do is join a server and see how horrible hte players are andWhat a pile of Rubbish. During sale this game crashes every 15 mins so all I can do is join a server and see how horrible hte players are and the game itself. Just spam left mouse button and right one lmao. Expand

See all 291 User Reviews