Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 729 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: CHIVALRY: Medieval Warfare is a first-person medieval combat game that seeks to deliver the intensity of epic hollywood medieval block busters to the hands of a gamer. CHIVALRY hurls the player into a fictional yet realistic medieval world where the Agathian Knights are battling against the newly formed Mason Order for control of the lands of Agatha. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    90
    I'm rather enamoured by the unique flavour of online combat presented by Chivalry. It's fresh and fun, and like the very best games is easy to get into yet incredibly hard to master. I've honestly not had this much competitive online joy since Battlefield 3, and to think a $25 indie title can provide a level of enjoyment up there with a $100 million game like Battlefield is testimony to the skill of the developer.
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    85
    Excellent multiplayer slasher, full of sound, fury and blood. More object maps, please. [Dec 2012]
  3. Feb 1, 2013
    81
    Chivalry is Quake to War of the Roses' Battlefield, and those seeking a faster-paced bloodier experience will undoubtedly prefer Chivalry's type of steel. [March 2013, p.65]
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is up to a better start than War of the Roses. Torn Banner Studios have shunned any historical accuracy or character editing options, but their fighting system is easier to learn, while at the same time offering a surprising amount of depth. Dynamic rather than authentic, these skirmishes are much easier to enjoy.
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    78
    It offers loads of fun and a simple but deep at the same time fighting system. Still far from perfect, but it could get closer to it with a few patches or updates.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    75
    Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is an interesting first person melee combat simulation, quite similar to the Mount & Blade series. The game made by Torn Banner Studios is funny and beautiful but doesn't have its own identity.
  7. Nov 9, 2012
    59
    Compared to the similar War of the Roses you get tighter controls and more game modes, but it lacks in entertainment value.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 271
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    Great game, never expected it to be so good. It is a bit frustrating to get the hang of at first, but then you get used to it and the game is really fun. I bought black ops too but haven't even touched it since I got this game, this is obviously the winner in my book. Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    I dove into this game expecting a third person MMO PvP experience and got just that. As long as the dev's come out with what they're promising this game will deserve it's 10/10. Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Buy this game! The combat is better than any other melee game I've played. its hard to believe this is from an indie studio. If you like fast paced, smart, melee combat, this game is for you. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    What, a game is supposed to be fun, right? So, here goes a 9. It has the action, the good and bad emotions that are necessary to make you laugh and cry like a baby.

    It does need improvements, but the dev team seems reasonable and eager to improve the game (that is an indie, recently launched).
    Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    It's definitely worth a look. The gameplay is satisfying and (I think) pretty realistic. I haven't been in that many sword fights, but when an enemy knight swings his great sword at me ingame, I am aware of its edge. The controls are fairly intuitive and fun to use. The ranged classes could use a bit of retooling. Archers pretty much just run into combat and take pot-shots instead of hanging back. I really wish the servers were a little more full. I think this is a game that was really designed for 32 person teams and up, but is hampered by technological limitations and a lack of a player base. Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2012
    7
    I haven't played WoR or Mount & Blade so I have no prior experience with medieval melee combat games. I bought this game because it looked hilarious and it was on sale for 13 bucks. Even at 13 bucks its not really worth it but I still enjoy the game for what it is. It's just a casual game where you can split skulls for 30 minutes. If I were reviewing this game at the $30 dollar retail price I would say its not worth it. The graphics are dated, the performance optimization is questionable and I couldn't see myself playing this for more than an hour every couple of days because the game lacks depth. Also, the music is disgusting.

    Even with all its problems Chivalry is still fun and worth trying out if you can get it at a discount. The game modes are fun and sometimes if you get on a roll you can take out a large portion of the enemy team without dying. It's a decent game but I feel there is still a lot more work to be done. I hope this game sells well because it might mean more developers attempt to improve this style of multiplayer combat.
    Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2014
    0
    Extremely high amount of glitches, terrible community and exploits make this game terrible. It has very little depth, terrible balance, and fights are won by the person who have the highest mouse sensitivity and can drag their overhead downwards faster than the other or are fine with feinting, or extreme dragging. Hit detection is awful and clunky. You can stab past someone and then slowly move your weapon into them after they blocked and deal the full damage, while they have no way of knowing you were going to miss or have any way of blocking, because instead of using a Pirates Vikings & Knights/Mount & Blade-type blocking system, they decided to make a boring 1-button system, where you RMB to block any and all attacks, but can only do it for a small amount of time. Knights can just sprint around, not even looking at you and feint attack you or do extreme drags/reverse overheads hitting you instantly, regardless of being out of stamina. They will only become staggered if they need to parry, which they don't really have to when they're sprinting and have a faster or more powerful weapon than you and can either kill you in one hit (the Maul can kill you instantly) or just hit you a bunch of times with a spammy facehug weapon. As a side note, the reverse overhead is an attack where you face away from your enemy, do an ordinary overhead attack, and before the weapon goes over your head you hit them, and they take full damage, as they would with an ordinary overhead attack. The effects of getting hit are terrible as well. They don't seem like an actual attack, more like just poking a naked man with a somewhat sharp stick. Any methodical combat is completely ruined by the ability of just feinting or dragging your attacks, completely ruining any fight. I tried to give the game a few more tries, but I just couldn't after they released the "Elite knight pack," which adds new armor for $9 (per team, so it becomes $18 if you want to have your DLC more than half the time in a team battle), which makes sense to release now, especially because the game is so complete, with the quarterstaff and pole hammer not having its range parameter specified, and the occasional bug that causes people to literally be immortal, and completely unable to die (happened on several occasions). So, of course the first thing you should do is pay for customization. This game should have been in development for a much longer time, as it's clearly not finished. I lost all the respect for Torn Banner I ever had. Expand

See all 271 User Reviews