Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 761 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: CHIVALRY: Medieval Warfare is a first-person medieval combat game that seeks to deliver the intensity of epic hollywood medieval block busters to the hands of a gamer. CHIVALRY hurls the player into a fictional yet realistic medieval world where the Agathian Knights are battling against the newly formed Mason Order for control of the lands of Agatha. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    90
    I'm rather enamoured by the unique flavour of online combat presented by Chivalry. It's fresh and fun, and like the very best games is easy to get into yet incredibly hard to master. I've honestly not had this much competitive online joy since Battlefield 3, and to think a $25 indie title can provide a level of enjoyment up there with a $100 million game like Battlefield is testimony to the skill of the developer.
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    85
    Excellent multiplayer slasher, full of sound, fury and blood. More object maps, please. [Dec 2012]
  3. Feb 1, 2013
    81
    Chivalry is Quake to War of the Roses' Battlefield, and those seeking a faster-paced bloodier experience will undoubtedly prefer Chivalry's type of steel. [March 2013, p.65]
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is up to a better start than War of the Roses. Torn Banner Studios have shunned any historical accuracy or character editing options, but their fighting system is easier to learn, while at the same time offering a surprising amount of depth. Dynamic rather than authentic, these skirmishes are much easier to enjoy.
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    78
    It offers loads of fun and a simple but deep at the same time fighting system. Still far from perfect, but it could get closer to it with a few patches or updates.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    75
    Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is an interesting first person melee combat simulation, quite similar to the Mount & Blade series. The game made by Torn Banner Studios is funny and beautiful but doesn't have its own identity.
  7. Nov 9, 2012
    59
    Compared to the similar War of the Roses you get tighter controls and more game modes, but it lacks in entertainment value.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 280
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Buy this game! The combat is better than any other melee game I've played. its hard to believe this is from an indie studio. If you like fast paced, smart, melee combat, this game is for you. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Easy to learn, tough to master. It's addictive like old school Counter Strike was! The objective maps are pretty fun, and there is nothing more satisfying then throwing a javalin through someone's head! Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    haha so much fun!! so addictive. get it!! i didnt really like war of the roses because it took itself way to seriously. this on the other has perfected the balance between fun and too silly Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2012
    8
    good game, the reason why 8/10 because the community is so bad, everyone thinks he is a hero with clicking only the left button of his mouse and the reason of this = too many teamkills but no punishment for left-clicking heroes Expand
  5. Oct 16, 2012
    8
    Now as an alpha tester for the game, I'd love to give it a ten, but I simply cannot. As of today, Tuesday October 16, 2012, there remains the issue of balancing and polishing the game. For the past 4 months I saw the game go from a fun, but hardly playable game, to a mostly well polished game. All in all, I recommend buying it now, but expect there to be much more work done to the game, and a lot of time you would have thought you would have done something productive with stolen by Chivalry. Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2012
    7
    At first I thought this game was not that great, I wasn't a fan of the strange pov and it seemed like combat was random, but after playing it a bit I have come to appreciate it and it is actually a lot of fun. Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2014
    0
    0 new contend from the developer (instead of adding new conted the just sell a new game).
    The comunity is a joke if 1 team is losing EVERYONE
    tries to go to the other team. And it should be called "game of lames". Really do NOT buy this **** Expand

See all 280 User Reviews