Chivalry: Medieval Warfare Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 875 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: CHIVALRY: Medieval Warfare is a first-person medieval combat game that seeks to deliver the intensity of epic hollywood medieval block busters to the hands of a gamer. CHIVALRY hurls the player into a fictional yet realistic medieval world where the Agathian Knights are battling against theCHIVALRY: Medieval Warfare is a first-person medieval combat game that seeks to deliver the intensity of epic hollywood medieval block busters to the hands of a gamer. CHIVALRY hurls the player into a fictional yet realistic medieval world where the Agathian Knights are battling against the newly formed Mason Order for control of the lands of Agatha. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    90
    I'm rather enamoured by the unique flavour of online combat presented by Chivalry. It's fresh and fun, and like the very best games is easy to get into yet incredibly hard to master. I've honestly not had this much competitive online joy since Battlefield 3, and to think a $25 indie title can provide a level of enjoyment up there with a $100 million game like Battlefield is testimony to the skill of the developer.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Dec 12, 2012
    85
    Excellent multiplayer slasher, full of sound, fury and blood. More object maps, please. [Dec 2012]
  3. PC Gamer
    Feb 1, 2013
    81
    Chivalry is Quake to War of the Roses' Battlefield, and those seeking a faster-paced bloodier experience will undoubtedly prefer Chivalry's type of steel. [March 2013, p.65]
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is up to a better start than War of the Roses. Torn Banner Studios have shunned any historical accuracy or character editing options, but their fighting system is easier to learn, while at the same time offering a surprising amount of depth. Dynamic rather than authentic, these skirmishes are much easier to enjoy.
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    78
    It offers loads of fun and a simple but deep at the same time fighting system. Still far from perfect, but it could get closer to it with a few patches or updates.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    75
    Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is an interesting first person melee combat simulation, quite similar to the Mount & Blade series. The game made by Torn Banner Studios is funny and beautiful but doesn't have its own identity.
  7. Nov 9, 2012
    59
    Compared to the similar War of the Roses you get tighter controls and more game modes, but it lacks in entertainment value.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 302
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Buy this game! The combat is better than any other melee game I've played. its hard to believe this is from an indie studio. If you like fastBuy this game! The combat is better than any other melee game I've played. its hard to believe this is from an indie studio. If you like fast paced, smart, melee combat, this game is for you. Expand
  2. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is awesome if you like the genre, buy it! This game make me laugh to death every times I play it! In my opinion,Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is awesome if you like the genre, buy it! This game make me laugh to death every times I play it! In my opinion, this game is a bomb of fun and laughing! I bought it one year ago and still play it, what to say more... FORR AGATHAAAA!!! (charge and chop a head off with your sword) LOL :) Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    Great and epic game. This is one of my favorite games. I'm a freak when it comes to medieval, but when its in first person........ I EXPLODEGreat and epic game. This is one of my favorite games. I'm a freak when it comes to medieval, but when its in first person........ I EXPLODE IN JOY!!!!! This is worth every penny and you will not regret it. Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    How do I describe such a seemingly incredible title? Well, I'll start with one word; infuriating. Here's the thing about class-basedHow do I describe such a seemingly incredible title? Well, I'll start with one word; infuriating. Here's the thing about class-based multiplayer: IT MUST BE BALANCED. In Chivalry, balance is non-existent, each class can be triumphed so easily, even by their own counterpart, as long as that player is vigorously pressing the Swing button. And that's another thing: blocking is pointless if someone just keeps using the "strategy" I mentioned before, since none of the shields can offer enough protection to block anything other than the typical default Swing; Stabbing and Overhand Swings will ALWAYS breach your defenses. But what's even worse is the Stamina system, probably the most poorly implemented feature that would've worked in its favor. Jumping drains your Stamina, successful blocks drain your stamina, normal swings drain your stamina, Sprinting halts your Stamina regeneration (not to mention its rate of regeneration being slower than it needs to be; if you lose even half, you're pretty much dead), these elements were a great concept, but because each action uses such a large portion of your Stamina, it becomes a struggle to even run away from the battle. Health can also regenerate, but will also halt while Sprinting, and does so at a rate slower than that of Stamina's. Classes: Archers kill everything from hiding spots, and Vanguards have too much reach and dexterity with their Spears. If you're not one of them, you will die every time you get within their range. The other too are what you'd probably expect in a game with class-based multiplayer: one is a fast, slightly-armored swordsman, and the other is a heavily-armored, slow-moving "tank." There's nothing much more to these other two classes. But despite the holes still left open in its gameplay, there are some moments where the game does shine. The story; well, there is nothing to it, just that you are a warrior in one of the two opposing factions. The tutorial level, or short single-player introduction of the game's key elements, introduces you to the game's key components, namely the combat system, so that you don't start flailing about like an idiot. The graphics, however, are stunning, and can draw you away from the major issues that most people tend to neglect and tolerate, even I was awe-struck by the amount of detail put into every environment, weapon, and piece of armor. Looking up at the beautiful blue sky with a natural glare out of the corner of your eye, whilst standing in the middle of a breath-taking landscape, is an experience that many games don't often simulate. And it can only be triumphed by taking a moment to step outside on a bright, sunny day. The music that accompanies each a brutal an unforgiving battle, can seem a bit out of place at times; hearing a soothing melody alongside a poor soul's head being smashed to bits, is not very pleasant, when you think about it. The sound effects are also well implemented, despite there being no sound from your armor itself when you are hit. From swords clanking, to raising shields; it all sounds superb, yet eerily realistic. Voice acting also played a part here, and for the most part, it is very well executed. Your instructor in the single-player tutorial gives off each line of dialogue with great emotion, but some of the NPC's which you may hardly hear, much less even see, don't fill their roles with the same amount of effort. Each player can also speak with several pre-determined words and phrases, such as a "Battle Cry," or even a "Thanks," which are all given with strong strong emotion as well, making it seem even more plausible that these could have been real people going to war in medieval times. All in all, this was a great game, but some of its potential was wasted when it came to the actual combat mechanics, making precise and carefully thought-out strategies seem unnecessary, and render button-mashing newcomers the dominant race. Still, I enjoyed this title to the degree of wanting to play it again, and I will continue to do so. I recommend this game to anyone who wants to enjoy something more than just guns and realism, rather, something with beauty and ambition. Expand
  5. Oct 16, 2012
    8
    What a great fun melee game this is. I came from playing mount blade and this definitely hit the spot some things do need fixing and tweakingWhat a great fun melee game this is. I came from playing mount blade and this definitely hit the spot some things do need fixing and tweaking but overall great experience and for the price definitely worth it. Graphics are very nice and the sounds are well.. Epic! maps are very well done with plenty of detail to keep you coming back for more. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2015
    6
    The gameplay is an 8, the biggest downside it the "pro players" that do crazy drags and "rainbows". The game can be frustrating at times, butThe gameplay is an 8, the biggest downside it the "pro players" that do crazy drags and "rainbows". The game can be frustrating at times, but when you get the hang of it it is quite fun. However, the technical bugs lower this game's value; expect alt-tabbing to always crash the game or even your computer, also expect video/control setting to reset most time the game updates. Still though, this game is great fun, especially with friends. Expand
  7. May 1, 2016
    0
    What started off as 'counterstrike with swords' quickly turned into a total **** disaster. The game has been utterly destroyed by a horrible,What started off as 'counterstrike with swords' quickly turned into a total **** disaster. The game has been utterly destroyed by a horrible, HORRIBLE developer after many destructive patches, and is functionally dead today, existing only to sell skins and scam the few people who don't read steam reviews. It's a real pity, because at one point this game was VERY fun. And who can forget the "TO ME!!!!" spam?

    Oh well. Another day, another cashgrab sellout **** you' to the customers and fans. Each time it happens I'm becoming less and less surprised.
    Expand

See all 302 User Reviews