Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 792 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: CHIVALRY: Medieval Warfare is a first-person medieval combat game that seeks to deliver the intensity of epic hollywood medieval block busters to the hands of a gamer. CHIVALRY hurls the player into a fictional yet realistic medieval world where the Agathian Knights are battling against the newly formed Mason Order for control of the lands of Agatha. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    90
    I'm rather enamoured by the unique flavour of online combat presented by Chivalry. It's fresh and fun, and like the very best games is easy to get into yet incredibly hard to master. I've honestly not had this much competitive online joy since Battlefield 3, and to think a $25 indie title can provide a level of enjoyment up there with a $100 million game like Battlefield is testimony to the skill of the developer.
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    85
    Excellent multiplayer slasher, full of sound, fury and blood. More object maps, please. [Dec 2012]
  3. Feb 1, 2013
    81
    Chivalry is Quake to War of the Roses' Battlefield, and those seeking a faster-paced bloodier experience will undoubtedly prefer Chivalry's type of steel. [March 2013, p.65]
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is up to a better start than War of the Roses. Torn Banner Studios have shunned any historical accuracy or character editing options, but their fighting system is easier to learn, while at the same time offering a surprising amount of depth. Dynamic rather than authentic, these skirmishes are much easier to enjoy.
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    78
    It offers loads of fun and a simple but deep at the same time fighting system. Still far from perfect, but it could get closer to it with a few patches or updates.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    75
    Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is an interesting first person melee combat simulation, quite similar to the Mount & Blade series. The game made by Torn Banner Studios is funny and beautiful but doesn't have its own identity.
  7. Nov 9, 2012
    59
    Compared to the similar War of the Roses you get tighter controls and more game modes, but it lacks in entertainment value.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 285
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Buy this game! The combat is better than any other melee game I've played. its hard to believe this is from an indie studio. If you like fast paced, smart, melee combat, this game is for you. Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    This game gets an easy 10. Why? Because no company in the right mind would attempt a game like this unless you are crazy indie developer. 1. This game is difficult to make period. No big company wants to take that kind of risk they would rather give you the same FPS they have been giving you for last 10 years. Again why? Because we morons keep giving them the money to continue the insanity and I include myself in supporting this stupidity. 2.. Gameplay is 1st to these developers everything else is secondary. Wild thought process having fun is the main focus of a game. 3. They listen to their community and keep us updated on all game progress. Say what? That Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    I dove into this game expecting a third person MMO PvP experience and got just that. As long as the dev's come out with what they're promising this game will deserve it's 10/10. Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    It's definitely worth a look. The gameplay is satisfying and (I think) pretty realistic. I haven't been in that many sword fights, but when an enemy knight swings his great sword at me ingame, I am aware of its edge. The controls are fairly intuitive and fun to use. The ranged classes could use a bit of retooling. Archers pretty much just run into combat and take pot-shots instead of hanging back. I really wish the servers were a little more full. I think this is a game that was really designed for 32 person teams and up, but is hampered by technological limitations and a lack of a player base. Expand
  5. Oct 16, 2012
    8
    Now as an alpha tester for the game, I'd love to give it a ten, but I simply cannot. As of today, Tuesday October 16, 2012, there remains the issue of balancing and polishing the game. For the past 4 months I saw the game go from a fun, but hardly playable game, to a mostly well polished game. All in all, I recommend buying it now, but expect there to be much more work done to the game, and a lot of time you would have thought you would have done something productive with stolen by Chivalry. Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2012
    7
    I haven't played WoR or Mount & Blade so I have no prior experience with medieval melee combat games. I bought this game because it looked hilarious and it was on sale for 13 bucks. Even at 13 bucks its not really worth it but I still enjoy the game for what it is. It's just a casual game where you can split skulls for 30 minutes. If I were reviewing this game at the $30 dollar retail price I would say its not worth it. The graphics are dated, the performance optimization is questionable and I couldn't see myself playing this for more than an hour every couple of days because the game lacks depth. Also, the music is disgusting.

    Even with all its problems Chivalry is still fun and worth trying out if you can get it at a discount. The game modes are fun and sometimes if you get on a roll you can take out a large portion of the enemy team without dying. It's a decent game but I feel there is still a lot more work to be done. I hope this game sells well because it might mean more developers attempt to improve this style of multiplayer combat.
    Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2014
    0
    Can you believe that after four years of beta, this game might actually be worse than what they started with? If you didn't like what consoles did to Call of Duty, you can find more of the same in this game. This game STILL has bugs galore, and it is now being altered to drastically in time for an Xbox/Playstation release. They have nerfed the archer class to the point of complete uselessness, and the death knell for the class came over two patches AFTER they released data showing the archer class was already by far the least played class in the game. Presumably all in an attempt to create a fair environment for consoles and "auto-aim". Amazing concept marred by inept, amateur developer that lacks the resources to create a separate gaming experience on console and pc. Expand

See all 285 User Reviews