Chris Sawyer's Locomotion PC

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 79
  2. Negative: 34 out of 79
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattG.
    Jul 19, 2004
    9
    Although the graphics are slightly lumpy and outdated the gameplay far exceeds a great deal of other management titles. And it prooves a point that gameplay is still the overall winner.
  2. BobG.
    Sep 9, 2004
    9
    Crappy graphics, crappy interface, but best game i played this year
  3. EviLAnGeL
    Sep 10, 2004
    9
    This game is just about one of the best examples I could give of gameplay over graphics. So, so much fun to play (if you like these type of games anyway) and very addictive. Now bring on Rollercoaster Tycoon 3 with the great gameplay AND the graphics to match. Woo-Hoo!
  4. TonyK.
    Sep 10, 2004
    7
    The interface is barely adequate - similar to Roller Coaster Tycoon - but more difficult to use. The install checks for drive space on the active partition regardless of how much space you have on your other drives forcing me to do a minimum install (I have 2GB partitions for my OS's for simple re-installs) so I'm stuck streaming music off of the CD. The game is similar to the The interface is barely adequate - similar to Roller Coaster Tycoon - but more difficult to use. The install checks for drive space on the active partition regardless of how much space you have on your other drives forcing me to do a minimum install (I have 2GB partitions for my OS's for simple re-installs) so I'm stuck streaming music off of the CD. The game is similar to the classic Transport Tycoon which is great. Rated on gameplay, it's a 9 - but I can't disregard the negatives. Expand
  5. [Anonymous]
    Sep 2, 2004
    10
    Great! Great! Great!
  6. Dan
    Sep 11, 2004
    8
    "you don't care about graphics and music at all, just care about gameplay." I'm sorry, but that's just retarded. Anyone who rates games just for graphics and music is just ... I'd say you get good gameplay, then if there's time you can toss in better graphics, and if there's even more time.. some good music too. That's become all backwards though, now "you don't care about graphics and music at all, just care about gameplay." I'm sorry, but that's just retarded. Anyone who rates games just for graphics and music is just ... I'd say you get good gameplay, then if there's time you can toss in better graphics, and if there's even more time.. some good music too. That's become all backwards though, now no-one cares about gameplay just as long as they can shoot high-detailed zombies in a dark room. An 8 for me, good graphics (yeppers, only a nut needs better gfx for a strategy game), great gameplay.. A couple points removed for the active partition thing and that it took so long after TTD... well, really I only finally got tired of TTD a few months ago... :) Expand
  7. JackK.
    Sep 12, 2004
    0
    Yet another rip-off from the creators of the Rollercoaster Tycoon series demonstrating that the very same thing can be sold over and over forever.
  8. Edo
    Sep 12, 2004
    6
    I don't see any reason to play this game over TTD. Can anyone give me a good reason?
  9. MarkH.
    Sep 12, 2004
    7
    Hmmmm..the question is how to approach the game. I would almost like to do two separate reviews, so here goes. If you are a lover of the old Transport Tycoon games then you will love this. Basically because it is almost the same game and of course that can be the negative as well. Can this really be justified for a new release game. By Chris Sawyer's own admission in his intro in the Hmmmm..the question is how to approach the game. I would almost like to do two separate reviews, so here goes. If you are a lover of the old Transport Tycoon games then you will love this. Basically because it is almost the same game and of course that can be the negative as well. Can this really be justified for a new release game. By Chris Sawyer's own admission in his intro in the manual - LOCOMOTION is only an update to the original Transport Tycoon game. In fact he admits the game was in development BEFORE Rollercoaster Tycoon 2 and that RT 2 uses the engine and interface he wrote for Locomotion. But like he says - if it ain't broke don't fix it. There are slight improvements graphically over the original Transport game, slightly more frames used in the animations, but that's about it. What is important is that somehow all the fun of the original Transport Tycoon game is still there. If you are looking for an update on the Transport Tycoon game with all the bells and whistle your modern PC can offer then forget this. But if you would like a stroll down memory lane (a memory that hasn't gone stale unlike a lot of other games) then you will love this game. Gameplay it has in buckets. If you are wanting innovative ideas, graphics or sound then you will find the bucket is rather empty (the reason for the 7 score, not the 8 or 9 I want to give it!) Take your pick - is the bucket half full - or half empty? Expand
  10. DahM.
    Sep 13, 2004
    3
    When first playing i thought the game was better than TTD. But after a while i realized it has serious defects. The track laying system is ideal to get RSI (i want to drag tracks just like railroad tycoon 3 or TTD), cargo trains that are capable of carrying multiple types of cargo (like coal or iron ore) only allow full load for the first type. If the cargo train is used for the second When first playing i thought the game was better than TTD. But after a while i realized it has serious defects. The track laying system is ideal to get RSI (i want to drag tracks just like railroad tycoon 3 or TTD), cargo trains that are capable of carrying multiple types of cargo (like coal or iron ore) only allow full load for the first type. If the cargo train is used for the second type it will never fully load. Basically, as soon as things get larger and more serious, locomotion lacks user-friendliness above all other things. Expand
  11. Jeff
    Sep 14, 2004
    1
    Old game for new money.
  12. PepeN.
    Sep 15, 2004
    2
    Only watched the tutorials and just a friendly word of advice to Mr. Sawyer: the audience that worshipped you for the TT series is not the bunch of commercial hoes that knew you from the RCT series. To everyone considering buying it, a serious word: DON'T! ..Now I know why it didn't get the TT label, it's got nothing to do with the TT series. No more dual tracks, no more Only watched the tutorials and just a friendly word of advice to Mr. Sawyer: the audience that worshipped you for the TT series is not the bunch of commercial hoes that knew you from the RCT series. To everyone considering buying it, a serious word: DON'T! ..Now I know why it didn't get the TT label, it's got nothing to do with the TT series. No more dual tracks, no more ro-ro stations, no more clover crossings, no more complex signaling, no more continuous 100 years of playing(except for an expert scenario which has an objective just like every damn scenario in this stupid game or any one in the RCT series), no more fun. I want...no..I demand continuous non-objective oriented gameplay, I demand a complex construction engine, I demand more than purely graphical "sugar-coating"...I was going to rate it 3...but I'll just rate it 2 'coz I just figured out that this must only be a test for RCT3...either that or mocking the TT series' fans like myself...To put it clearly: EVERYONE STICK WITH TTD(Transport Tycoon Deluxe for the layman) AND LEAVE THIS ONE ON THE STORE SHELVES! Ditto. Cheers. Expand
  13. Blutetooth
    Sep 19, 2004
    10
    This is a great game. The best game for many years. And Elliot, you can run multiple trains and you can build Ro-Ro stations and that make Locomotion a unik game, in no other game you have so many building options. A few of the new options are underground stations and Trams. Fun, fun, fun.
  14. KoenL.
    Sep 19, 2004
    9
    I am amazed what the users have to sayabout this game. No Ro-Ro stations? Come on, its all i build in this game, on the ground on a bridge or in a tunnel, wherever. No complex junctions? I must admit i havn't build a cloverleave yet, but that's just because i'm having fun trying out the new sh.t, like multiple level bridges and fly-overs. I would say: If you like TTD spend I am amazed what the users have to sayabout this game. No Ro-Ro stations? Come on, its all i build in this game, on the ground on a bridge or in a tunnel, wherever. No complex junctions? I must admit i havn't build a cloverleave yet, but that's just because i'm having fun trying out the new sh.t, like multiple level bridges and fly-overs. I would say: If you like TTD spend half an hour to get used to the interface of locomotion (i never played RCT and got used to the interface with only little problems) and you're rollin'! Expand
  15. JerryM.
    Sep 19, 2004
    10
    Amazing
  16. A5
    Sep 10, 2004
    10
    Best ever.
  17. RyanC.
    Sep 12, 2004
    9
    Woot! Finally a game with GAMEPLAY. I dropped the score by one for bad graphics..
  18. GE
    Sep 13, 2004
    10
    Greatest game ever, and for the less informed, ROLLER COASTER tycoon is a "rip-off" of the original Transport Tycoon, Locomotion is TT2 for all intent and purposes.
  19. JohnathanM.
    Aug 27, 2004
    10
    ITS ACE!
  20. BartB.
    Sep 21, 2004
    9
    Great game, very good work from Mr. Sawyer here. A little bit hard to get used to the interface (played TTD for so long), but overall a lot of improvements and extra details (notice the switches actually switch, and the little braking lights on trucks and busses). Have to agree on the graphics and the sound quality, but hey, the rail curves and signals make up for almost everything. There Great game, very good work from Mr. Sawyer here. A little bit hard to get used to the interface (played TTD for so long), but overall a lot of improvements and extra details (notice the switches actually switch, and the little braking lights on trucks and busses). Have to agree on the graphics and the sound quality, but hey, the rail curves and signals make up for almost everything. There are some bugs and issues though, such as the ridiculous reliability rates and not being able to prevent brakedowns. Now, if just Jowood and Chris Sawyer work together on a Locomotion follow-up (that is; Jowood makes the graphics :D), it will be a killer game. But this game is great fun, and extremely good value (Locomotion for 18 euro while Doom 3 for 60 euro :P) Expand
  21. S.S.
    Sep 21, 2004
    0
    Chris Sawyer should be ashamed of himself. This game can?t compete with the original game Transport Tycoon. Building a large train network is impossible because trains don?t bother going to there destination and just keep driving around for ages. The building method maybe fine for Rollercoaster Tycoon, but for a game like this it?s very frustrating. What happened to new train types? Where Chris Sawyer should be ashamed of himself. This game can?t compete with the original game Transport Tycoon. Building a large train network is impossible because trains don?t bother going to there destination and just keep driving around for ages. The building method maybe fine for Rollercoaster Tycoon, but for a game like this it?s very frustrating. What happened to new train types? Where are my monorail and maglev trains? Sorry Mr. Sawyer, but you really have thrown all your credits by releasing this game!! Expand
  22. SuzyR.
    Sep 20, 2004
    0
    Horrible.
  23. KenH.
    Sep 23, 2004
    1
    1 for effort I agree with most, I don't see any major reason to play this over TTD... I had my heart set on a new and improve game, but what a disappoinment. And what's up with the trains and waiting for full load? (eg Try waiting for coal) The multi use cars suck royally since they can't figure out what your waiting for.
  24. HeikkiH.
    Sep 25, 2004
    8
    Im big fan of TTD and I have played it for at least 100 hours. This Locomotion sure is very much the same as TT, it means its great. But the RCT like road and railroad building techingue sure is frustrating at long. And you cannot delete some roads you have built. Usually one way roads because public authority refuses! When you are totally used with RCT style of road buildin, this will be Im big fan of TTD and I have played it for at least 100 hours. This Locomotion sure is very much the same as TT, it means its great. But the RCT like road and railroad building techingue sure is frustrating at long. And you cannot delete some roads you have built. Usually one way roads because public authority refuses! When you are totally used with RCT style of road buildin, this will be lots of fun! Expand
  25. VincentG.
    Sep 27, 2004
    0
    A new coaster for my coffee table .. Both Chris Sawyer & Atari should be ashamed .. I can't believe they had the nerve to sell this for more than $10!
  26. LukeC.
    Sep 11, 2004
    1
    Well, I loved TTD and I played it a lot, it was a great and totally brilliant game in 1995. But now it's 2004 and Locomotion is more like a data disc to TTD that was created a long time ago but released now. When I ran Locomotion for the first time I experienced a shock and great disappointment. "Am I 10 years younger, Am I again in 1995 ?". No! Chris Sawyer probably just hasn't Well, I loved TTD and I played it a lot, it was a great and totally brilliant game in 1995. But now it's 2004 and Locomotion is more like a data disc to TTD that was created a long time ago but released now. When I ran Locomotion for the first time I experienced a shock and great disappointment. "Am I 10 years younger, Am I again in 1995 ?". No! Chris Sawyer probably just hasn't noticed that technology advanced "a bit" over years. The game is very poor, don't get me wrong I like 2D graphics more than 3D in strategy games - actually I play only strategy games, but the graphics used in this game is absolutelly appalling, moreover I think there is only 256 colors used in the game. Would you believe it? One could think it's a joke. But it's not, it's the harsh reality. I wanted to switch to more colors --> not possible, you can change just resolution. The music is terrible as well (incomparable with TTD tunes) that reminds of some fould cheap music from freeware games. I heard there should be large maps. Where are they? Nowhere! Locomotion is not any better than TTD, it's just different and 10 younger. My advice is: don't buy it unless you want to get rid of money, you're a lover of repellent graphics of games from first half of 90's and meserable music or you don't care about graphics and music at all, just care about gameplay. Expand
  27. AB
    Sep 8, 2004
    10
    COOOOOOOL. Finally it has come. Time to take that 3 week vaction I've been saving up.
  28. ThomesW.
    Oct 4, 2004
    0
    Easy money for the lazy Chris. :o(
  29. HalvorK.
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    The best game ever!
  30. Mr.Bleurgh
    Sep 13, 2004
    4
    This is a very nice (the graphics are adequate) trainset simulator, but little else. The AI is very stupid - it never builds fast routes with lots of long straight sections connected by a few ninety degree curves, but builds awful (and slow) zig zag routes instead. It never builds very large trains. It never landscapes and monopolises small towns so that they become profitable cities This is a very nice (the graphics are adequate) trainset simulator, but little else. The AI is very stupid - it never builds fast routes with lots of long straight sections connected by a few ninety degree curves, but builds awful (and slow) zig zag routes instead. It never builds very large trains. It never landscapes and monopolises small towns so that they become profitable cities later on. It hasn't got a clue. The economics/management of the game are easy/non-existent, with some routes paying for the cost of a train in one trip. The only tough part is building from scratch when you can't borrow much, but the money rolls in after that and its like playing with a trainer... It's pretty enough; playing with a large virtual trainset can be quite hynoptic, but there is no game here... Expand
  31. MartinW.
    Sep 13, 2004
    4
    Old good TTD with not much updated "coat". Yes, gameplay is ok but graphic is absolutelly crappy that I would be ashamed of if I was the creator. I expected much more of the game. :( Several years ago I'd give a higher score.
  32. DonDarko
    Sep 13, 2004
    8
    Holy retro graphics batman! In their day these would have been state of the art, but now it just looks like they were beat mercilessly with the ugly stick. Trains can sometimes be a bit tricky to route properly, but there's a ton of fun to be had in this value priced title. I just upgraded my system with a 6800 GT and I'm playing this game about 10x as much as Doom 3.
  33. ArturJ.
    Sep 14, 2004
    10
    It's absolutely stupid to call this game "Yet another rip-off from the creators of the Rollercoaster Tycoon series". It's so great that i can't believe i'm finally playing it.
  34. LarryF.
    Oct 6, 2004
    4
    This is a game of substance, it does not need fancy graphics. I can take that. But at least the substance should be there, otherwise I keep playing TTD with the patch! Ideas: improve train signalling, train timeouts when waiting at signals, vehicle breakdowns; make it quicker to replace vehicles; restore the stock market; add a way of customizing the gameplay, which is far too unflexible.
  35. LarryF.
    Oct 6, 2004
    3
    This is a game of substance, it does not need fancy graphics. I can take that. But at least the substance should be there, otherwise I keep playing TTD with the patch! Ideas: improve train signalling, train timeouts when waiting at signals, vehicle breakdowns; make it quicker to replace vehicles; restore the stock market; add a way of customizing the gameplay, which is far too unflexible.
  36. ElliotE.
    Sep 17, 2004
    1
    This game was a huge disapointment. The fact that you can't run multiple trains on a track efficiently sucks. That you can't build the roll-in roll-out stations sucks. The signaling is terrible. This game might be ok for someone who has never played the origonal, and I only mean ok, but otherwise do not waste your money. Just go buy transport tycoon deluxe online and download This game was a huge disapointment. The fact that you can't run multiple trains on a track efficiently sucks. That you can't build the roll-in roll-out stations sucks. The signaling is terrible. This game might be ok for someone who has never played the origonal, and I only mean ok, but otherwise do not waste your money. Just go buy transport tycoon deluxe online and download the patch from www.ttdpatch.net which allows it to run on windows xp. TTD with the patch will change your life. Expand
  37. Victor
    Sep 14, 2004
    0
    An ancient game pretending to be a new one. I dont see much effort of Chris Sawyer to make a good game but a lot of hunger for earning money.
  38. MarcusG.
    Sep 14, 2004
    1
    This game isn't fit to wipe TTD's a**. Seriously. Arguably TTD still looks better than this game, surely a pretty bad state of affairs anyway, but... but... the game is worse than TTD! Track building is a joke in this game and it seems that the only stations and junctions you can build are very simple. The beautiful and complex junctions and stations you could build before are This game isn't fit to wipe TTD's a**. Seriously. Arguably TTD still looks better than this game, surely a pretty bad state of affairs anyway, but... but... the game is worse than TTD! Track building is a joke in this game and it seems that the only stations and junctions you can build are very simple. The beautiful and complex junctions and stations you could build before are reduced to very simple junctions - I defy you to build anything like the complex roll-in, roll-out stations from TTD. Stick with TTD, or download OpenTTD instead to be honest. Put it this way - I bought it excitedly the first day it was available. 2 days later, I've uninstalled it and stuck TTD back on my laptop. Expand
  39. William
    Sep 17, 2004
    0
    What to say about such game... I can't find words. Mr. Sawyer obviously likes to earn money for no work. I agree completely with Marcus G. and Pepe N. I'm surprised there are some lovers (like Artur J.) of Sawyer that don't give the game points for being good but for being created by their adored and loved "Chris" . In conclusion, TTD was a great game, Locomotion is What to say about such game... I can't find words. Mr. Sawyer obviously likes to earn money for no work. I agree completely with Marcus G. and Pepe N. I'm surprised there are some lovers (like Artur J.) of Sawyer that don't give the game points for being good but for being created by their adored and loved "Chris" . In conclusion, TTD was a great game, Locomotion is something that cannot be called a game. Expand
  40. LindaP.
    Oct 8, 2004
    0
    The worst game ever!
  41. JamesK.
    Sep 20, 2004
    7
    While not quite as unique as Transport Tycoon was back then, it does have a nice little personality, yet it could have been better. With a patch or an expantion, this game could be great. At least it's only $25-$30.
  42. AlphaGamma
    Sep 21, 2004
    10
    Clearly the best transport sim ever!
  43. Bluetooth
    Sep 20, 2004
    9
    This is a great game... and Elliot E you can run multiple trains efficiently and you can build RoRo stations. New interesting features are underground stations and trams. To Michael R I want to say: Take a good look next time you load Locomotion and you'll find a very good scenario editor.
  44. BenG.
    Sep 13, 2004
    5
    I played the original TT in 1995 and while it had i'ts flaws I loved it. Then a couple of years later TTD came out and I loved it all over again, even more so. Now it is almost a decade since the original TT came out and we get this sequel. Except this sequel doesn't really offer anything new, other then minor enhancements to the game play. Gameplay is great and all, but I am I played the original TT in 1995 and while it had i'ts flaws I loved it. Then a couple of years later TTD came out and I loved it all over again, even more so. Now it is almost a decade since the original TT came out and we get this sequel. Except this sequel doesn't really offer anything new, other then minor enhancements to the game play. Gameplay is great and all, but I am disappointed paying full price for a game that has literally not changed since it's last release 7 years ago. Could you imagine the uproar if say Maxis did this kind of thing with it's release of SimCity 4000 from last year. Imagine if they just basically made it a tweaked Windows version of SimCity 2000? Well thats what Chris Sawyer has basically done with Locomotion, and there are all these people who are loving him for it. I don't get it! Expand
  45. Teeone
    Sep 27, 2004
    6
    Not without flaws; still very addictive but needs critical fixes to flaws in the game. You can easily waste hours on this game.
  46. CharlesA.
    Oct 22, 2004
    2
    I paid $29.00 for this? Hey Atari and Chris Sawyer Join us in the year 2004 and leave the dated graphics behind. This was a substandard title full of AI bugs. A agree with an earlier post, Chris Sawyer should be ashamed of this release...It has tarnished my opinion of what I thought was a superior game designer. Enjoy the $29.00 it will be the last you get from me.
  47. DVH
    Oct 31, 2004
    0
    Really this games deserves an F. CS added some cool features that were requested a very long time ago, but forgot to implement what made TT such a magic game...
  48. MichaelR
    Sep 17, 2004
    8
    Having never played the original Transport Tycoon, I cannot pass any comment on others' opinions or disappointments on what was or was not included in this so-called 'upgrade'. Transport Tycoon must have been a hell of game for some of the reviewers here to post 1/10 scores for Locomotion! What I can say is, if you can overlook the antiquated graphics you will find a fun Having never played the original Transport Tycoon, I cannot pass any comment on others' opinions or disappointments on what was or was not included in this so-called 'upgrade'. Transport Tycoon must have been a hell of game for some of the reviewers here to post 1/10 scores for Locomotion! What I can say is, if you can overlook the antiquated graphics you will find a fun and addictive game underneath. It really is quite fun planning new routes and watching your little cars and trucks buzz around over the the landscape, as you slowly build up your transport empire. Sound is nothing special either, but we're talking about a strategy game here and it's gameplay that's king at the end of the day. The user interface is the same as in Rollercoaster Tycoon 1 & 2; nothing special but useable and familiar. The 40 included scenarios, which include difficulty levels to challenge all players, will certainly keep me busy long enough to justify the purchase price. Throw in a scenario editor and that's more than enough to make me happy. To sum up, if you've never played the original, don't mind old fashioned graphics and mediocre sound, it's well worth the budget price tag. It's cheap and good entertainment. If not, go out and watch a movie with a friend, grab a bite to eat and you'll have spent about the same. Expand
  49. Frederick
    Sep 18, 2004
    1
    Yeah, the game is a nightmare - of course, I mean the graphics and music from early 90's. Mr. Sawyer probably thinks he can use the same strategies like in the fashion industry. In my opinion he's not right. ;)
  50. Tosty_82
    Nov 22, 2004
    2
    IF they had upgraded TransportTycoon (Deluxe) with better graphics and some small other features a good game was born. Now we are building our own OpenSourceTransport Tyccon. Sorry Sawyer, bye bye to this CD-ROM for me.
  51. BC
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    Yes, there are elements of the original Transport Tycoon that still exist in this version... but if there weren't I wouldn't have bought it! Are you looking for a "shoot-em-up" or action game, then don't buy this one. If you enjoy managing a company and making huge profits then this is your game. I agree with Bart B. about the ability to delete road but still love it.
  52. RayM.
    Jan 2, 2005
    2
    I may be a poor gamer,this game gets very frustrating.I thought i had the principles down,then new scenarios seemed to be imposible to progress in. I am disapointed that no matter, i fail at the scenario,dispite trying all different plans of attack.Am i Just wasting my money?? Is everyone just as frustrated??
  53. MikeS.
    Mar 28, 2005
    2
    I was thrilled to hear about Transport Tycoon's sucessor, Locomotion, was to be released for XP, but after purchasing and playing it the game leave you yearning for the old TT back. Laying the track and managing the game is much more difficult and much less intuitive then Loco's predecessor. The simplistic fun has been replaced with tedious complexity which makes playing the I was thrilled to hear about Transport Tycoon's sucessor, Locomotion, was to be released for XP, but after purchasing and playing it the game leave you yearning for the old TT back. Laying the track and managing the game is much more difficult and much less intuitive then Loco's predecessor. The simplistic fun has been replaced with tedious complexity which makes playing the game very frusterating. Anyone wanting to play a current Transport Tycoon should look elseware, this game just leaves you feeling frustrated. Expand
  54. AsaT.
    Jul 19, 2005
    1
    Not happy Chris! In 1994, I recieved a games mag with a CD full of demo games. Somewhere on this CD, hidden amoungst the Doom clones and flight simulators, was a wonderful, little unknown game called "Transport Tycoon". The demo only allowed you to build trains and finished after 3 years of play but was so addictive and fun that I spent countless nights up playing the DEMO! Finally I Not happy Chris! In 1994, I recieved a games mag with a CD full of demo games. Somewhere on this CD, hidden amoungst the Doom clones and flight simulators, was a wonderful, little unknown game called "Transport Tycoon". The demo only allowed you to build trains and finished after 3 years of play but was so addictive and fun that I spent countless nights up playing the DEMO! Finally I saved up enough pocket money to buy the full version and boy, I was not disappointed. I wasted my entire summer hoildays commandiing my fleets of trains, trucks, buses, planes and ships and building up my transporting empire. It was just so much fun. Finally, after many months of use, I put "Transport Tycoon" away and moved on to other things and then, somehow, managed to lose my CD. Then a few years later, I saw TTD for sale and I thought "Why not? It should be good for a laugh", so I bought it. I was surprised to find it just as addictive and resposable for lack of sleep as the first time round. Eventually I tired of it once again and put it aside for other games although I still returned to it occansially for a little muck around. Then one day early last year, I discovered the TTD patch and I was once again hooked. I explain all this to show that I have always been a BIG TT fan and was still happy to play the game, despite it's older graphcs and not-so-great sound. With locomotion however, I was extremely disappointed. It's 2004. Why couldn't the game have been made to allow you to zoom in closer to your units, to see the little drivers on the trains, or may be see passengers boarding your buses. Pointless I know, but fun and surely easy to do, given the level of detail that is avaiable in other games. I could proabley forgive chris for not updating the graphics in the last ten years if the game play was greatly improved but I personally think it has gotten worse. Sure, there are some cool new point about the game (the underground stations, the trams and the raised rails) but I still alot of sore points that could/should have been thought about (why can't large airports have two runways!?! There should be cars/traffic driving around in the cities). This lack of real imagition or significant improvement from Chris, coupled with clumsy interface, difficalt line/road laying and seeming disapperance of a useable railway junctions has left me bitterly disappointed. For anyone considering buying the game, I would recomded getting TTD and downloading the patch instead. A wasted oppertunity. :-( Expand
  55. Lomtik
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    Super Game!!!
  56. TransPorter
    Oct 11, 2005
    3
    This game blows compared to TT and TTD. It has been made horribly to build and building is what you need to do a lot. And there are only scenarios, and the AI is a cheating competitor. They have so much money and build huge bridges straight away. You can delete things easily. This is like TT, slapped on some Rollercoaster Tycoon interface and nobody gave it some real testing if it works This game blows compared to TT and TTD. It has been made horribly to build and building is what you need to do a lot. And there are only scenarios, and the AI is a cheating competitor. They have so much money and build huge bridges straight away. You can delete things easily. This is like TT, slapped on some Rollercoaster Tycoon interface and nobody gave it some real testing if it works together. Because it doesn't. If you made the mistake in getting this game, just play some missions, see how bad it is yourself and sell it again, quickly. I highly doubt you will ever play the expert missions, and the easy ones won't give you much to play with at all. Besides, the mission objectives are frustrating. Expand
  57. Apr 14, 2012
    7
    This game is fine. The music is annoying as hell. AI too much hard.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. 58
    With a lack of presentation values, an engine that not only looks bad but also is the main cause of serious construction problems, and AI that could use a serious overhaul, Locomotion has too many problems for any serious recommendation.
  2. I love the depth of play, I feel challenged by the game's AI, and I feel a real sense of accomplishment when I complete a scenario. On the other hand, I think the game should represent the advances the gaming industry has made in the past five years.
  3. It's unfortunate to see that the graphics in game hasn't appeared to change too much either. Viewed from a isometric viewpoint, the game appears drab and just astonishingly unattractive.