User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 62
  2. Negative: 21 out of 62

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 14, 2013
    0
    I am brand new to the Cities XL franchise. I was interested in the prior iterations but had seen there were some kinks, but when I saw this on Steam I was quite interested and figured that this new version must be a good update.
    This game has SOOOO much potential, but it is broken. i know people have "work arounds" but they don't always help. Sometimes the building descriptions are just a
    code, often times special buildings don't do anything. And it lags up super bad (probably the notorious memory leak). It appears that the new revisions are essentially expansion packs on the old game (i.e. new buildings). To sum it up: great idea, missed potential, broken game. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2013
    1
    The release a new version of XL Cities every year, they done so since it was an MMO and when it failed to take off they turned it in to a single player game and it looks good.. Trouble is it has a serious memory leak which has existed for many years now. It causes the game to crash just as your city starts to grow, often taking your saved games with it so you lose everything. This issue has been in the last 3 versions of the game, probably more and it has never been fixed but affects everybody who owns the game. Typically each new version comes with a few new buildings, which is good, existing users typically get a 50% discount on the upgrade which is also good. But what is the point if you cannot actually build the sort of cities you see in the videos because of an unfixed memory leak...

    This game is only playable for a short time so it gets a 1 from me. I have owned very version of this game since it was first released... but enough is enough.
    Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    0
    It's the same game as XL2012. A couple new addons, hardly worth the money.
    It features the same horrible lag issues as the previous versions.

    I would stay away from this, and treat it like the plague!
  4. X0R
    Feb 14, 2013
    4
    Cities XL Platinum (bought via Steam) is a tough game for me to rate, I don't have any of the crashing or errors I've seen mentioned here at other sites. However, I'm not really impressed with it as a sim-game. Lot of neat details, things to do that improve on SimCity4 yet, it feels half-baked, not very deep, and/or at least kind of indie-ish, despite this being 2nd/3rd iteration of the line. Only played 8-hours so far, but keeps you busy until the next SimCity release Collapse
  5. Feb 16, 2013
    0
    This game is a crap! The mechanics of the cities does not work. The trade system between cities does not work either. It seems that the game was released unfinished.
  6. Feb 18, 2013
    0
    Piece of crap. The sad thing is that the bugs present in this version HAVE NOT BEEN FIXED in 3 different versions 2011, 2012 and Platinum (I owned 2011 and upgraded to platinum for $5 with the hope they made the game more stable). I got it on Steam and their forums for this game are full of complaints about crashes instability. There is also a petition to ban the developer for repeatedly releasing "new" crap versions of this game with the same bugs. For example: Game crashes frequently during saves; game crashes if 'Escape' or other keys are pressed when certain cub-menus are open; many buildings don't have a title or description, but instead will say something like &123_title or &123_desc as if they forgot to replace string placeholders with actual text (wow... QC anyone?); and lots of small issues, like buildings getting randomly disconnected from roads (and having to be rebuilt), road junctions getting messed up completely when new branches are added, and decorations that flatten large sections of the terrain when placed. Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2013
    4
    It's a very fun addicting game am to addicted To it the 4 out 10 was for the HUGE PROBLEM of overheating causing my computer to shut off 2 time due to overheating when I put my hand on the bottom if my PC damn that thing is hot unacceptable
  8. X0R
    Feb 14, 2013
    0
    Cities XL Platinum (bought via Steam) is a tough game for me to rate, I don't have any of the crashing or errors I've seen mentioned here at other sites. However, I'm not really impressed with it as a sim-game. Lot of neat details, things to do that improve on SimCity4 yet, it feels half-baked, not very deep, and/or at least kind of indie-ish, despite this being 2nd/3rd iteration of the line. Only played 8-hours so far, but keeps you busy until the next SimCity release Collapse

There are no critic reviews yet.