• Publisher: NCSOFT
  • Release Date: Apr 27, 2004
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 105
  2. Negative: 10 out of 105

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    with a powerful character creator and a wealth of well written (if slightly repetitive) content, City of Heroes truly is a hidden gem of the MMO Genre.
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    Big thumbs up to one of the best MMOs nobody every played.

    This game includes a lot of features you wish you saw more in games, such as dynamic and settable difficulty, dynamic missions, a crapton of PvE and PvP arena and zones, time traveling pve missions, custom missions designing, heavily upgradable guild bases & associated raids and artifact control, real-time permanent order based
    Big thumbs up to one of the best MMOs nobody every played.

    This game includes a lot of features you wish you saw more in games, such as dynamic and settable difficulty, dynamic missions, a crapton of PvE and PvP arena and zones, time traveling pve missions, custom missions designing, heavily upgradable guild bases & associated raids and artifact control, real-time permanent order based auctions... also.. well, you get it.
    All this in a well made superheroes city environment, neat in-depth costumes customizations, a load of different superpowers, and generally somewhat good music!

    No really. This game is great. The only very big problem is that there's so few people playing it that three quarters of the features are unused, such as pvp arenas, and often the pvp zones... Hopefully you can still find people for some heroic coop action.
    Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2011
    1
    So far this game sucks... although i'm sure itll be worth the wait... it has taken me six hours to get it started.
    first the installation... it crashes every 10 mins, i had to pray to keep it going the whole way through.
    then i had to update the updater (:P) and that took about 4 hours in itsself. after all of that i'm relieved and click the 'play' button, and a popup appears telling me to
    So far this game sucks... although i'm sure itll be worth the wait... it has taken me six hours to get it started.
    first the installation... it crashes every 10 mins, i had to pray to keep it going the whole way through.
    then i had to update the updater (:P) and that took about 4 hours in itsself. after all of that i'm relieved and click the 'play' button, and a popup appears telling me to update my drivers or the game wont play... so now one day of my month of free gameplay is wasted!
    Expand
  4. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    The greatest and most addictive game ever. If you've ever wanted to be part of a hero comic book, if you've ever wanted to fight for truth and justice, or if you've always wanted to be part of a team that is unique and yet the same, then City of Heroes is for you. And if it isn't buy it anyway and give it a try.
  5. Sep 27, 2010
    8
    Most MMOs out there deal with "sword and sorcery" and are fantasy based. Meaning they have elves, orcs, dwarves, dragons etc. But this game is most certainly a breath of fresh air for any jaded MMO Fantasy player, or just any MMO player who wants something different, or taking a break from the former. You start off with character customization. And let me tell you, I have yet to see anyMost MMOs out there deal with "sword and sorcery" and are fantasy based. Meaning they have elves, orcs, dwarves, dragons etc. But this game is most certainly a breath of fresh air for any jaded MMO Fantasy player, or just any MMO player who wants something different, or taking a break from the former. You start off with character customization. And let me tell you, I have yet to see any game out there that can beat the options available for CoH (one could say Champions Online, but it's basically the same type of thing). Create your superhero/supervillain with a magnitude of options. Choose his/her origin, archetype, and powers. You may change the way your avatar looks at any time at the local Tailor/Facemaker when the mood strikes you.There is no "gear" for you to wear in this game. Instead of the clothing and armor pieces to upgrade your character, enhancements take their place. These temporary/permanent boosts to your own abilities make you stronger with a particular power. They are always easily available at any Store or Auction House (known as Wentworth's for Heroes and Black Market for Villains), assuming you have the necessary funds to purchase them. You also gain special Enhancements through completing story arcs, or just picking them up while you fight your way through a mission. There are no "drops" in CoX in the traditional sense. All drops are automatically allocated to each player on the team, or just to you if you play solo. Instead of gold, or cash, currency takes the form in Influence/Infamy. As you progress through missions from your "Contacts" and defeat various enemy groups you gain influence/infamy for each defeat. This may seem slow at first, but let me assure you it adds up rather quickly. Especially when you work with a team. You also have the option of using Inspirations, (temporary boosts to your powers that only last a short time, but can seriously make the difference in a tight situation between dying and living), these are also available for a price but so very much lower than enhancements.Death has a penalty of course, as most MMOs do. It takes the form of experience debt. Seasoned MMO players will be acquainted with this system. It means you will have to continue on playing your missions and hunting villain groups as usual, only that half of the experience you earn will go towards paying off your "debt" until it is settled. Then leveling up will continue on as normal. Fret not though, just like influence/infamy it is paid off quickly enough, especially when on a team.There are many wonderful story arcs to explore throughout the game. You should love almost everyone of them. The bigger story arcs in the game take the form of Task Forces for Heroes, and Strike Forces for Villains. These arcs take hours to complete akin to dungeons from traditional MMOs, and usually require a full team to start. These offer up many chances to earn Influence/Infamy and plenty of experience points. And of course the prestigious badges. Badges are awarded through achieving certain milestones in your character's career as a hero/villain. You get them for defeating a certain amount/type of villains. For defeating titan like monsters that can only be bested by large numbers of characters. Completing Task/Strike Forces, attending special events, logging in during a celebration, exploration, and many others. Badges are not a requirement of the game, but they offer up a chance for something to "go after". Or simply just to one up your friends or show off to the community. There are also certain power boosts and special abilities you can gain from collecting a certain mix of badges. These are referred to as accolades. PvP isn't as strong here as I would like (at least back when I was playing; I've been told it's changed some since then). In my opinion, it's very unbalanced and in drastic need of an overhaul. But there are plenty of people who like it just the way it is. I think mainly because their chosen archetype is more built for PvP and they have the advantage. There are little in the way of rewards for playing PvP anyway. You of course can gain badges, influence/infamy, but no special enhancements to be had. The developers are keen to add new content updates every few months in form of "Issues." These are completely free, and usually offer up more costume creation options, story arcs, new zones to play in, and maybe a few new powers. All in all you will definitely love this game if you're into comics and/or superheroes. Creating your own personal character is very fun, and you will find it is easy to get attached to your favorite avatar. However, in my opinion, it is entirely possible to end up "seeing it all" in this game. Eventually collecting badges becomes boring, the level cap still hasn't been raised since launch, and not enough Task Forces or high end content are added to keep high level players interested. You should have plenty of fun though, but not forever. Expand
  6. scottd
    Jan 1, 2010
    7
    unlimited custamisation and brillaint powers dont make up for horribly unbalnaced solo experience
  7. TerryD
    Nov 30, 2009
    0
    I wouldn't recomend this to anyone. You buy the game then either buy a subscription or loose your money ? I won't loose any more of my money to this company.
  8. MichaelF
    Sep 7, 2009
    10
    I started playing a year ago and I am completely captivated by the gameplay. Exploring the city and finding missions I haven't played yet is very rewarding. Playing the player-generated story arcs created in the AE Building is an absolute blast. Ignore the farms, check out the stories that have been created!
  9. BernardoB
    May 12, 2009
    10
    I Loved this game because just by getting a group of heroes and go kill some mutants you get a HUGE amount of Fun. Best MMO I ever played. Props to Cryptic for the amazing work, well done.
  10. MountainMan
    Apr 25, 2009
    8
    The most customisable online game ther eis on the market. Costumes, powers, missions, maps, all can be altered as you see fit. There is truely no other game on the market that will let your imagination run riot. Combat is hilarious fun. There is no other game I can think of with so much ease of use, yet difficult to master gameplay like this. Combat is laugh out loud funny at best and The most customisable online game ther eis on the market. Costumes, powers, missions, maps, all can be altered as you see fit. There is truely no other game on the market that will let your imagination run riot. Combat is hilarious fun. There is no other game I can think of with so much ease of use, yet difficult to master gameplay like this. Combat is laugh out loud funny at best and mildy grinding at worst. Your graphics card and monitor will love you for the rioutous colours on display at all times as powers and punches zing about. On the downside, the game was never as deep or polished as other MMOS on the market so it must suffer in score for it. To sum up the review, its a flawed masterpiece. The most fun MMO out there tempered with the fact that it cannot expand much more as a game on its limited engine. Expand
  11. CharlesT
    Apr 23, 2009
    10
    I have been playing this game for quite awhile now and I noticed one major thing. All of these reviews are ancient. From what I read these people never even got to super movements. That is like playing the tutorial and giving a review. You haven't even started playing the game yet. There have been 14 major content updates since the game started. My only gripe is that the level cap is I have been playing this game for quite awhile now and I noticed one major thing. All of these reviews are ancient. From what I read these people never even got to super movements. That is like playing the tutorial and giving a review. You haven't even started playing the game yet. There have been 14 major content updates since the game started. My only gripe is that the level cap is the same as it was 3 years ago when I started playing. Good thing I have dozens of amazing characters to keep me coming back. Expand
  12. MikeS
    Apr 22, 2009
    10
    Excellent game from the start and it never stops improving. Now with user-generated content (like Little Big Planet or YouTube), it will have never-ending content also. The development studio has tripled in staffing in the past year and a half and NCSoft is investing heavily to make this one of the best "triple A" mmorpgs in existence.
  13. BrettD.
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    Thrilling, lifelike, intriguing. Hour of non stop action and adventure. The variations of individual hero creation keep you in the game for a long. long, long time. Is there an end? The in game variety leaves you wondering if there is an end to the game. The game itself has regular updates with new action waiting. The official forum is awesome and the people (characters) playing the game Thrilling, lifelike, intriguing. Hour of non stop action and adventure. The variations of individual hero creation keep you in the game for a long. long, long time. Is there an end? The in game variety leaves you wondering if there is an end to the game. The game itself has regular updates with new action waiting. The official forum is awesome and the people (characters) playing the game are first rate, a great mass of great gamers! Expand
  14. SteveS.
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    I've been into super heroes for 4 decades now. For me, this game is a godsend. I'll never forget the first time my character flew. I got giddy. The entire game is that way. If you're a fan of super-heroes, and/or comics, this game will be addictive forever.
  15. Peter
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    Adding variety to a fantasy dominated genre, with a nice atmosphere and relaxed gameplay, this game continues to entertain me even though the gameplay may feature little less than combat and the engine may be old and wonky. Relatively frequent updates of content over the years add new stuff to explore over time.
  16. DanielY.
    May 18, 2006
    10
    This is king of MMOs, despised all online games, but CoH showed me the error of my ways.
  17. JoeyK.
    Aug 15, 2005
    7
    Combat is fun, and quite unique. For example, there is no autoattack, and every ability costs endurance (=Mana). Endurance is a big problem for players though. It's fixed at 100, and people never have enough. But it's still fun. Missions are cool and have a nice feel, the villains are diverse and entertaining, especially within missions. Then there's Task Forces, in which Combat is fun, and quite unique. For example, there is no autoattack, and every ability costs endurance (=Mana). Endurance is a big problem for players though. It's fixed at 100, and people never have enough. But it's still fun. Missions are cool and have a nice feel, the villains are diverse and entertaining, especially within missions. Then there's Task Forces, in which you sit down for hours and get tons of XP. Task Forces are one of the biggest "Pro:"s of this game. Story Arcs are like personaly, soloable task forces. The classes are well defined, but not entirely balanced. The system and setting is unique, making it a good, fun escape for any casual player, or any any MMO player a little tired of fantasy and complexity. The system isn't the best, but it is unique, and that makes the game fun. What eventually made me lose interest was the lack of depth. There's only combat. Whether you're hunting or doing missions, or solo or teamed, whehter your DPS or support, it all makes the game fun, but there's nothign else besides combat. No equipment, no real loot, no crafting, no side professions. This doesn't make the combat any less fun or effective, but for people like me, it makes the game go stale after about a month. I played it for a month, and it got old. 6 months later, I tried again, and played for about another month, before it got old again. It's fun and addictiing, but it's not a significantly long lasting experience. If you're a casual gamer, especially if you like super heroes, play it until you're bored. If you're a player of other MMO's play this for a month, have a blast, then return to your other games with a newfound respect and refreshed enjoyment of it. One more thing, leveling is pretty hard. There are 50 levels, and by the time you're nearing thirty it already gets slow. I hear the last ten are a real pain. I only got to 28 myself, on my highest level character. And it's not even possible to get the penultimate skill in your primary power set unti level 32. Ouch. Expand
  18. Demo_Boy
    Aug 10, 2005
    8
    It all comes down to combat mechanics. And COH with 30-40 enemies against 8 players makes you feel like a hero and there is a lot to keep track of. Now you are either going to like fighting against 40-50 enemies at once all with different powers and attcks or you are going to find that boring after 100 times. Me I find it exciting to see how many enemies the team can handle. Weve been on It all comes down to combat mechanics. And COH with 30-40 enemies against 8 players makes you feel like a hero and there is a lot to keep track of. Now you are either going to like fighting against 40-50 enemies at once all with different powers and attcks or you are going to find that boring after 100 times. Me I find it exciting to see how many enemies the team can handle. Weve been on pulls with over 100. It gets pretty crazy. That is how COH is different than any other MMO. Lots of enemies to deal with at once. Expand
  19. AndrewJ.
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    Without doubt, the most addictive game I've ever played. If you love superheroes, you won't be able to drag yourself away.
  20. KridenK.
    May 29, 2005
    10
    I think it's an amazing game... no doubt one of the best mmorpgs to this point.
  21. AdyB.
    Apr 15, 2005
    8
    Have very much enjoyed playing COH - but I do wonder whether I am going to get rather bored with it fairly soon: there isn't much by way of variety - the core gameplay is simple monster-bashing. But standing round dressed in a crazy costume, chatting to people and larking about (there are some funny preset actions you can do, yoga, dancing, waving etc) is fun - until the novelty Have very much enjoyed playing COH - but I do wonder whether I am going to get rather bored with it fairly soon: there isn't much by way of variety - the core gameplay is simple monster-bashing. But standing round dressed in a crazy costume, chatting to people and larking about (there are some funny preset actions you can do, yoga, dancing, waving etc) is fun - until the novelty wears off! But I reckon I've got my money's worth so far, so I'll give it an 8. Expand
  22. ArtB.
    Mar 10, 2005
    10
    This is a great MMO for a casual player like me. I can login, play a mission, and log off, all within 30 minutes There is no big penalty for dying leveling up hasn't been tedious at all, and its really easy to fight guys when you want to and avoid them otherwise. All in all, its the perfect MMO for a casual gamer like me.
  23. MiikkaK.
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    An excellent game that really makes you feel like a superhero!
  24. JohnK.
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    1) A breath of fresh air in terms of content ( I mean how much more fantasy based titles do we need?), interface (minimal AND user controlled), gameplay (very intense effort on part of the design team to reduce tedium, implement variety), makes the player feel unique AND powerful from the get go ( no getting killed by rats lol, character gen is beyond par), teamplay options are innovative 1) A breath of fresh air in terms of content ( I mean how much more fantasy based titles do we need?), interface (minimal AND user controlled), gameplay (very intense effort on part of the design team to reduce tedium, implement variety), makes the player feel unique AND powerful from the get go ( no getting killed by rats lol, character gen is beyond par), teamplay options are innovative and very community oriented...and i coudl go on...but with the updates..even MORE reasons are coming to why this is the best MMo around ...i like it better even more than WOW Expand
  25. AlbertoF.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    It is the best game period.
  26. BradleyM.
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    Amazing visually, addictive, well planned and executed.... a boy or girl's superhero dream come true.
  27. TimboJ.
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    DUDE this game by far one of the funnest, addictive, and exciting games i ever played....so what it costs 50 dollars...one day of work for the minimum wage worker.
  28. BlakeT.
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    Up to this point and at present, there has never been a better developed and more thought-out game. This games design is amazingly intuitive and incredibly easy to navigate. Unlike a lot of MMOs, the controls and game management don't get in the way of some seriously fun gameplay. And, with each new patch and issue release, you get innovation. Evidence of this masterpiece can be seen Up to this point and at present, there has never been a better developed and more thought-out game. This games design is amazingly intuitive and incredibly easy to navigate. Unlike a lot of MMOs, the controls and game management don't get in the way of some seriously fun gameplay. And, with each new patch and issue release, you get innovation. Evidence of this masterpiece can be seen in current release, who are desperately stealing this game's design and innovation for their own. I've played Everyquest (I and II), Asheron's Call, SWG, and FFXI. This one tops them all. I still can't resist playing this game, long after FFXI got boring and old. Expand
  29. DavidC.
    Sep 8, 2004
    9
    A game not perfected yet but inching closer all the time thanks to a dedicated and intelligent design team willing to admit when they make mistakes.
  30. DaveyDJ
    Aug 4, 2004
    7
    I'd agree with most of the reveiws here. On the one hand, it does rock. Playing a superhero. Get character creation system. Very gratifying pulling out a huge stone mallet and mashing a Mob over the head with it! It's also a great distraction from Star Wars Galaxies, which is broken beyond belief at the moment. However, I've only been playing 2 weeks, and I can begin to see I'd agree with most of the reveiws here. On the one hand, it does rock. Playing a superhero. Get character creation system. Very gratifying pulling out a huge stone mallet and mashing a Mob over the head with it! It's also a great distraction from Star Wars Galaxies, which is broken beyond belief at the moment. However, I've only been playing 2 weeks, and I can begin to see that, once I've played through all the types, there might not be a lot else to do... It is a little light on variation of content. However, it is easy to pick up and put down, so good if your short on time. Feels more like a game, that a life sucking force like most MMORPGS do! On the whole, fun and well worth a look, but if they don't add more varied content, you probably will have moved onto something else in a few months. Expand
  31. JustinJ.
    Jul 5, 2004
    5
    I told myself i wasn't going to rate the game after a month or so playing it.. cause i would of given it in the high 8's.. granted it was a lot of fun at the beginning (character creation, super powers and saving the world) but after awhile i started to lose interest in the game.. it lacks substances and the addictive qualities i found at the beginning are not so addictiveI told myself i wasn't going to rate the game after a month or so playing it.. cause i would of given it in the high 8's.. granted it was a lot of fun at the beginning (character creation, super powers and saving the world) but after awhile i started to lose interest in the game.. it lacks substances and the addictive qualities i found at the beginning are not so addictive anymore.. somehow killing the same baddies over and over and over and over and over just doesn't seem to cut it with me. Expand
  32. SteveL.
    Jul 3, 2004
    4
    It's pretty fun for a few weeks, but after that it becomes quickly repetitive. There are no long term goals aside from a new level. For me, no ph4t l00t = boring. The game lacks a sense of ownership or purpose that other games give me. Killing more bad guys for the sake of killing bad guys is not entertaining. I'm not going to renew once my first month is over.
  33. SvenS.
    Jun 28, 2004
    5
    Ok for a while but not likely to hold my attention for more than a month or two. It lacks the addictive qualities I've found in other MMORPGs. I think it's just too simple for my tastes. I want more than just a very pretty level treadmill.
  34. ChrisD.
    Jun 14, 2004
    9
    I have been playing this game for about a week now and this is the most fun I have had with a game for a very long time. There are a few down sides to this game. There no good story line to the mission. I you are into that sort of thing that might be a problem. The missions can also be a bit vague about where you need to go. Overall I have to give this game a nine because it really just I have been playing this game for about a week now and this is the most fun I have had with a game for a very long time. There are a few down sides to this game. There no good story line to the mission. I you are into that sort of thing that might be a problem. The missions can also be a bit vague about where you need to go. Overall I have to give this game a nine because it really just designed to play with other people or alone and have fun. If that's what you want from a game then I recommend getting this one. Expand
  35. GrahamJ.
    Jun 13, 2004
    10
    Man this game is so awesome i played it at a friends house and now i'm gonna go buy a new comp so i can buy it and play too!!!
  36. GeorgeL.
    Jun 11, 2004
    1
    I bought this game, about a day after it was released. I played it more often than most characters, I leveled my first character from 1 to 12 in a matter of a day. The problem with this game is the repetitive gameplay, and a large hype factor. See what I mean about the "hype factor" is that , in this game, the developers allow newbie characters to have massive super powers at super low I bought this game, about a day after it was released. I played it more often than most characters, I leveled my first character from 1 to 12 in a matter of a day. The problem with this game is the repetitive gameplay, and a large hype factor. See what I mean about the "hype factor" is that , in this game, the developers allow newbie characters to have massive super powers at super low levels. Basically so everyone will think "oh wow this is cool" when they see they can fly at level 6. But the fact of the matter is, the gameplay is hallow. There are no tradeskills, no items, no nothing in the game. The only thing there is, is fame and monsters. You fight monsters continuously and level up, only to find yourself put through the level grind that all MMORPGs have to date. Seriously, when reviews label this as a drastic change from other mmorpgs, the only thing that changed is instead of archers fighters healers and mages, you have blasters defenders .. etc. The point of this is, you will just find this to be another mmorpg without very much change. The most fun in this game is when you create your character and when you are leveling him to lvl 6. The game gets boring after that. I have one positive part of this review, the game's system requirement isn't very high which is good for us lower end PC users. Expand
  37. BradC.
    Jun 2, 2004
    10
    This game absolutely rocks!
  38. RedDragon
    May 18, 2004
    10
    Awesome gameplay/graphics/music Great customization/quests/varation 10/10.. 96% if i could give exacts..
  39. RedKing
    May 18, 2004
    9
    CoH is a solid MMORPG which has boiled away the layers of options and details that crowd so many of the 2nd generation MMORPGs, leaving behind the ones that make the game *fun* rather than an exercise in macroing, muling and inventory management. Very enjoyable, even for newcomers to the massive multi genre.
  40. Lexluthor
    May 16, 2004
    10
    This game is the best, or is it just because i have been obsessed with super heroes all my life?
  41. Kyle
    May 13, 2004
    3
    It's sad to see how popular the whole "super hero" fad has been recently, including tv dramas, over produced films, and now videogames. all of which are mediocre and just feed the national addiction for more heroes and villans. do yourself a favor and wait for world of warcraft, and other great titles appearing this year. dont waste dedicated hours to this lackluster, been there doneIt's sad to see how popular the whole "super hero" fad has been recently, including tv dramas, over produced films, and now videogames. all of which are mediocre and just feed the national addiction for more heroes and villans. do yourself a favor and wait for world of warcraft, and other great titles appearing this year. dont waste dedicated hours to this lackluster, been there done that, value title. Expand
  42. JamesB.
    May 10, 2004
    10
    This is game is one of the best games out there at this point. This game gets a 10 and nothing below.
  43. Lou
    May 10, 2004
    10
    Well worth the monthly fee..and more fun than any other online game i've played...you're sure to enjoy it!
  44. J.D.
    May 9, 2004
    8
    Chris -- that is not a review of City of Heroes; your input is a useless reaffirmation of the fee schedule for *ANY* MMORPG. You would have to try very hard to avoid the notice on the outside of the box in order to feign outrage about subscription fees. Good job. Pros: -Great character customization -Immersive world of NPCs -Graphics fit perfectly with theme Cons: -Lack of variety in Chris -- that is not a review of City of Heroes; your input is a useless reaffirmation of the fee schedule for *ANY* MMORPG. You would have to try very hard to avoid the notice on the outside of the box in order to feign outrage about subscription fees. Good job. Pros: -Great character customization -Immersive world of NPCs -Graphics fit perfectly with theme Cons: -Lack of variety in missions and enemies -Not enough content for subscription-based entertainment -High-level/End-game lacks motivator. Expand
  45. SteveG.
    May 8, 2004
    10
    Crazy cool and polished graphics...not too much lag and the character creation is a killer.....top game of the year....even if its still arepeat og thugs kicking.....
  46. Chris
    May 8, 2004
    0
    You pay for the game, then on top of that pay $15 a month to be online.
  47. HarrisC.
    May 7, 2004
    10
    Right out of the gate let me just say if you rated this game lower then 8 stop what you are doing and open up solitaire in the desktop, this is more your speed. For those of you looking for a new game, look no further. If you have broadband this is the most original, engrossing, and entertaining game out there. I know I have played almost all of the good ones. The only downside to the Right out of the gate let me just say if you rated this game lower then 8 stop what you are doing and open up solitaire in the desktop, this is more your speed. For those of you looking for a new game, look no further. If you have broadband this is the most original, engrossing, and entertaining game out there. I know I have played almost all of the good ones. The only downside to the game is the is that if you have a job, friends, family or significant other you need to put them on notice of the help you will need after impending canceling sessions to fight you newfound addiction. They need to put a worming on the side of the box in bold letters about this. Seriously this game can be all things to all people due to the fact that there are so many ways to play this game and so many side options. If you are not having fun start over and try something different I promise there is something in there for you. Expand
  48. KingSlayer
    May 6, 2004
    9
    George S. and Cory S. have A.D.D. I have played this game since late beta, and I am into my first month of play. Graphics can't be beat. Sound is good. Customazation is GREAT. Game play is very good. Single play is poor. IMO Group play is great. I was a necro in EQ, I loved to solo. I can't stand to solo in this game. When you were a warrior in EQ, just stand there and George S. and Cory S. have A.D.D. I have played this game since late beta, and I am into my first month of play. Graphics can't be beat. Sound is good. Customazation is GREAT. Game play is very good. Single play is poor. IMO Group play is great. I was a necro in EQ, I loved to solo. I can't stand to solo in this game. When you were a warrior in EQ, just stand there and auto-fight... booooring. In CoH, you actually have to earn your exp. You actually have the opprotunity to SUCK at the game. This is great IMO. The super powers are hinkey in that you have to choose powers and alternate powers. If you stick your enhancement slots in the wrong place, it will impact your character for a while. Flight! Wooo! Who never wanted to fly? or Teleport, or run like the wind. Travel powers in this game are great. I will be playing this game for at least a year. I'm looking for more content to arrive. City of Villans, should be cool. and a nice addition to the game. Expand
  49. XZealot
    May 6, 2004
    10
    Having played superhero games in the past this one is definantly the cream of the crop. Easy gameplay, great animations, and a non-inventory based economy. I have to hold myself back from playing it all day long. It is so easy just to get lost in the game, but I have "real-world" obligations that keep me from putting in 4 hour blocks. I generally play about 30 minutes to 1 hour a day and Having played superhero games in the past this one is definantly the cream of the crop. Easy gameplay, great animations, and a non-inventory based economy. I have to hold myself back from playing it all day long. It is so easy just to get lost in the game, but I have "real-world" obligations that keep me from putting in 4 hour blocks. I generally play about 30 minutes to 1 hour a day and it is great! I can pick up where I left off, and if I become frustrated with a mission then I go get one from another contact. I do that one and then come back and complete the one that frustrated me. I LOVE IT! Expand
  50. MackM.
    May 5, 2004
    10
    This game snaps you up right from the get go. Unlike most games where you kill rats for 10 levels, you FEEL like a super hero right away. The insane number of costume options makes you connect to your character right away, no waiting till level 65 to look "unique".
  51. Joesausagehead
    May 5, 2004
    7
    This is a great game and it runs smoothly on a 1ghz pc with 512mb of ram and an ati 9200! Ok, my pc is crap but this game isn't. character creation is a blast, if you've read this far you already know that so im gonna let that go. Graphics wise the comic book flare really stands its ground once you get out in to the city and see heros on every corner launching fireballs and This is a great game and it runs smoothly on a 1ghz pc with 512mb of ram and an ati 9200! Ok, my pc is crap but this game isn't. character creation is a blast, if you've read this far you already know that so im gonna let that go. Graphics wise the comic book flare really stands its ground once you get out in to the city and see heros on every corner launching fireballs and sending badguys flying across the pavment. the controls work great and are easliy costumizible. the only reason i didn't give this game a higher score for one reason and thats combat is tedios at best. press '1' press '2' press'3' rinse repeat 'f1' ect... in one of the early missions i was tasked to clear a warehouse of bad guys it took about an hour and had easliy 50+ bad guys after all this i had only collected about 30% of the xp required to level.. and this is only level 3! I can't imagine what the end game levels would be like. over all its definatly a cool game for anyone whos ever dreamed about being a super-hero or writing their own comics. but be prepared for a lot of level grinding. Expand
  52. [Anonymous]
    Apr 30, 2004
    10
    This game will own you. It is great to be doing cool stuff right away. Definitely no killing rats for the first week of playing.
  53. RichC.
    Apr 28, 2004
    10
    This game is lots of fun! When you customize your costume, every detail you pick is actually shown in the game! It's lost of fun to meet up with others and destroy bad guys. The graphics are excellent as well. If you have any interest in saving the world, you will like this game!
  54. RobertS.
    Apr 28, 2004
    10
    Great game!
  55. RobertS.
    Apr 28, 2004
    10
    Great game!
  56. AnonymousMC
    Apr 27, 2004
    6
    hey, i'm like half the people here and haven't even played the game. but who needs to to write a review? what a waste of my time that would be! since i've been a real superhero ever since i was hit by beta rays, i'll use my psychic powers and predict that this game is a 5.
  57. AndrewA.
    Apr 23, 2004
    9
    This game is a wonderful experience, not to be missed by anyone who is a fan of the superhero comic-book mythos. It isn't perfect, it doesn't have everything, but its core is pure and good. The action is fast, fun, frentic. And thankfully no sign of any PVP rearing its ugly head and forcing ridiculous balance adjustments.
  58. GeorgeS.
    Apr 23, 2004
    3
    This game is a sub par MMORPG at best. So you'll spend lots of time and have lots of fun customizing your character but the gameplay doesn't hold up at all. You'll spend all of your time running to contacts that give you the same missions over and over again, just worded differently or at different locations. I'd say this game has originality but lacks vision.
  59. DrewC.
    Apr 20, 2004
    9
    This is one of the Best MMORPG's that I have ever played. The game is almost worth your 50 bucks just creating a character. But not only do you get to vreate a character, you get to control him (or her) and put his powers to use!
  60. CoryS.
    Apr 19, 2004
    6
    This game, at least the beta, is not all its cracked up to be... unless you were a fan of Everquest. Its a BIG level trademill... you go out, you fight with a boring system, and you get a level. Then you go out, and do the same thing again. The idea is great, the flying is fun, but the game itself gets boring REALLY quick. Another thing... there is no PVP, so whats the point of even This game, at least the beta, is not all its cracked up to be... unless you were a fan of Everquest. Its a BIG level trademill... you go out, you fight with a boring system, and you get a level. Then you go out, and do the same thing again. The idea is great, the flying is fun, but the game itself gets boring REALLY quick. Another thing... there is no PVP, so whats the point of even making a character in this game? I might buy it if they add PVP in an expansion, but until then I wouldn't recommend it. Expand
  61. BayardB.
    Apr 18, 2004
    10
    I'm in beta and I have to say that this game is great. Even if you are only a casual gamer (or an extremely hardcore gamer) you are probably going to have a lot of fun playing this game. Costumes, powers, villains, and missions are all fun and well thought out. I will be extremely surprised if City of Heroes is not recognized as a great game.
  62. GameLord
    Apr 17, 2004
    8
    I dont know what game to get City of Heroes or Worlds of Warcraft. Both these games are going to be huge and excellent.
  63. ArtegK.
    Apr 13, 2004
    9
    This game is da man ... i mean game yeah err the only thing.
  64. HaX
    Apr 13, 2004
    9
    You in Beta?
  65. DeborahP.
    Apr 13, 2004
    9
    This game is nothing but fun! You can easily spend over an hour just designing your character and costume. There are so many options! Then, once in game, the missions are fun and it's easy to find groups to play with. Game-play is smooth, with no noticable lag and few glichtes (though I am playing beta). Even during the busiest play times, there are plenty of things to do or bad-guys This game is nothing but fun! You can easily spend over an hour just designing your character and costume. There are so many options! Then, once in game, the missions are fun and it's easy to find groups to play with. Game-play is smooth, with no noticable lag and few glichtes (though I am playing beta). Even during the busiest play times, there are plenty of things to do or bad-guys to catch; you never feel like the world is too crowded with people stealing each other's glory. When a mission takes place in a building or cave, your group gets its own instance of that location, so there will be no other players interupting your quest. The only downside is a lack of PvP, though the AI of the mobs is amazing. Expand
  66. LeonF.
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    This is the game for 2004 because you can build your own character with their own super powers and even fly!! you can do missions and be on a team!!. If your want to find out more about this game go to www.cityofheroes.com, You wont be sorry.
  67. Oct 4, 2012
    0
    with a powerful character creator and a wealth of well written (if slightly repetitive) content, City of Heroes truly is a hidden gem of the MMO Genre.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Anyone new to the genre can certainly make this a choice without expecting to get in too deep and losing their way, while seasoned MMORPGers can have a blast playing out their superhero dreams.
  2. The overall quality of the game cannot be denied, and if you're a comic book fan, or like MMORPG's, or both, you owe it to yourself to see what City of Heroes is all about.
  3. An original superhero MMORPG that has excellent character creation and a well-designed world. Gameplay is quite combat-intensive and the game lacks sufficient content to stay interesting for longer periods of time. [Feb. 05]