City of Villains PC

  • Publisher: NCSOFT
  • Release Date: Oct 31, 2005
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Peabody
    Nov 1, 2005
    6
    It just doesn't feel ready for prime time. Playing during a relative low period the lag is pretty bad. The PvP is fairly boring thus far.
  2. Rarr
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    This game is great - it is a similar experience to CoH, but there are a lot of little things that are different which make it feel a lot different. I've noticed an awful lot of people saying 'it's just exactly the same as CoH.' What on earth did you expect? It's a stand-alone EXPANSION! It's not really a seperate game, and it's not meant to be. It can This game is great - it is a similar experience to CoH, but there are a lot of little things that are different which make it feel a lot different. I've noticed an awful lot of people saying 'it's just exactly the same as CoH.' What on earth did you expect? It's a stand-alone EXPANSION! It's not really a seperate game, and it's not meant to be. It can stand alone but it is a PART of CoH. That said, there are a lot of things different - I've read reviews saying that the archetypes aren't very different from CoH's. This is untrue - while they may not be technically all that far from the CoH archetypes, they play much differently - more offensively. CoV is not meant to be a lot better than COH! Expand
  3. BlakeT.
    Nov 5, 2005
    1
    I'm a huge City of Heroes fan. It was a monumental game that deserved a 10 rating when it was released in April 2004. And, honestly, it is still a ton of fun to play. However, this "new" game that is being released more than a year later is essentially the same game. This release, at most, should have been a free expasion pack to subscribers. The powers are the same, the archtypes I'm a huge City of Heroes fan. It was a monumental game that deserved a 10 rating when it was released in April 2004. And, honestly, it is still a ton of fun to play. However, this "new" game that is being released more than a year later is essentially the same game. This release, at most, should have been a free expasion pack to subscribers. The powers are the same, the archtypes are the same, the graphics are not updated at all, the sound/music is the same, etc. The addition of lairs is nice; however, like I said, this should have been pushed out to existing users. If you pay $50 for this game, you deserve what you get. Expand
  4. Joe
    Nov 5, 2005
    5
    The game is somewhat slow moving and has no real change from the first- basically it is recycled. The good thing is that your villain can interact with heroes.
  5. JoeB.
    Oct 16, 2005
    1
    Same game as City of Heroes, they just reskinned it.
  6. JoeyM.
    Oct 31, 2005
    8
    City of Villains is basically an expansion on City of Heroes (as opposed to an entirely new game), which is not a bad thing. The "new" character archtypes aren't necessarily all that different from the CoH archtypes, though the Mastermind offers some very interesting new gaming possibilities with its henchmen. I am a little disappointed that characters are so limited in their City of Villains is basically an expansion on City of Heroes (as opposed to an entirely new game), which is not a bad thing. The "new" character archtypes aren't necessarily all that different from the CoH archtypes, though the Mastermind offers some very interesting new gaming possibilities with its henchmen. I am a little disappointed that characters are so limited in their missions at early levels and that one cannot skip over the tutorial. This makes experimenting with new characters rather tiresome. As with CoH, the aspect about this that I enjoy the most is the fact that you can play for 15 minutes or for 15 hours and feel that you've had a satisfying multi-player game experience. Well worth the money! Expand
  7. AnthonyS.
    Apr 30, 2006
    9
    This game is really good. If you like Guildwars then youll like this, its orth the fee all the way the costumes are awesome and just walking around the city is a blast, but its has its bugs with my ati video card but i asked ncsoft and i got the problem cleared fast.
  8. AmyR.
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    CoV and CoH have got to be the best MMP ever. fast paced and not another mee too orc fest. but you already know that. you cant beat the fact this game is a stand alone product, but its also an expansion for CoH. But the best thing I like about CoH is the new archetypes. On the surface they seem familiar, but make no mistake, they play entirely different.
  9. HeatherH.
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    CoV/H is probable one of the BEST games to date. Everything got an update from powers to new areas. I can't see anything wrong with it. CoV is an Expansion if you have CoH. CoV is a standalone if you don't have CoH. FAR better then the other MMORPG's out there. Closest other GOOD game is Everquest II. Well worth the $70 or $50 for the non DVD version.
  10. SeanR.
    Nov 3, 2005
    5
    City of Villains is essentially the same game and same experience that City of Heroes was with a few bells and whistles added like base building. Running a mission in an office building against the Council with a Dark Melee/Invulnerable Brute in Villains is essentially the same experience as running a mission in an office building against the Council with a Dark Melee/invulnerable City of Villains is essentially the same game and same experience that City of Heroes was with a few bells and whistles added like base building. Running a mission in an office building against the Council with a Dark Melee/Invulnerable Brute in Villains is essentially the same experience as running a mission in an office building against the Council with a Dark Melee/invulnerable Scrapper in Heroes. Only this time the carpet is red. The chief failing of the game is that you never get the sense you're playing a villain the way you got the sense you were playing a hero in the original game. If you're new to the series, you probably won't be disappoi nted. But if you're a City of Heroes veteran, save your money. Expand
  11. MarkyT.
    Nov 4, 2005
    9
    Very enjoyable way to while away a couple of hours... it has the same laid-back vibe as COH, which is so much more enjoyable than the irritable paranoia of WOW, graphics are nice, powers are fun. This doesn't blow the lid off gaming, but you will find yourself coming back... and not feeling the frustration of other MMORPS. Good natured fun is the key here; which is about as much as Very enjoyable way to while away a couple of hours... it has the same laid-back vibe as COH, which is so much more enjoyable than the irritable paranoia of WOW, graphics are nice, powers are fun. This doesn't blow the lid off gaming, but you will find yourself coming back... and not feeling the frustration of other MMORPS. Good natured fun is the key here; which is about as much as you can ask of a game. Plus, if you have COH, the only extra cost is the box - and it's worth it for the extra locations, bases and character types. Expand
  12. JJacobs
    Nov 6, 2005
    9
    Absolutely love it. I had/have 4 level 50 characters in CoH and didn't know if I was ready to basically start all over again with CoV, but boy am I glad I did. The storylines and experiences are SO much different than CoH and I truly feel villainous when I am playing. The new classes are mostly unique and the fact that everyone has damage to contribute this time around makes the Absolutely love it. I had/have 4 level 50 characters in CoH and didn't know if I was ready to basically start all over again with CoV, but boy am I glad I did. The storylines and experiences are SO much different than CoH and I truly feel villainous when I am playing. The new classes are mostly unique and the fact that everyone has damage to contribute this time around makes the early game less of a grind. I have also been PvPing in Warburg (PvP zone) quite abit with my hero toons and have to say that PvP is a blast and is very addictive. There is really no penalty for PvPing (maybe some lost pride!) so I don't see why anyone would be upset getting thier toon slaughtered by me = ) I can't wait until there are some level 40 villains to challenge my supremecy! Graphically the game couldn't get much more beautiful. I'm giving it a 10 because I've never felt bored playing CoV despite it's obvious similarity to CoH. Expand
  13. The13th
    Nov 9, 2005
    8
    City of Viillains is easily one of the best MMORG available on the market today, with such a broad range of costume possibilities and character combinations this is what MMORG should be. Picks up on all of WoW's many short fallings. The only downfall to this game is that there is no single player aspect, but obviously I am just being picky.
  14. ArielC.
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    City of Villians manages to be radically different even when doing the same things as City of Heroes. More dynamic city encounters, objective based PvP, Old powers remixed to play completely differently, Missions with a wide variety of objectives and maps. Then there's the new stuff. Better grapics, better physics, bases, crafting, new ways to get missions, new stories, new enemies, City of Villians manages to be radically different even when doing the same things as City of Heroes. More dynamic city encounters, objective based PvP, Old powers remixed to play completely differently, Missions with a wide variety of objectives and maps. Then there's the new stuff. Better grapics, better physics, bases, crafting, new ways to get missions, new stories, new enemies, new locations. City of Villians' delivery is solid and entertaining. Expand
  15. AnonymousMC
    Apr 23, 2009
    10
    Love this game, you can play for as little or much as desired and still fill fulfilled. It is the only game I have experienced where making the character is as much fun as playing. It is a nice break from WoW and the community on my server is great. I would recommend this game to anyone to try :)
  16. LonnieW.
    Nov 22, 2005
    3
    I admire the attempt of coming out with an expansiion but they fell short. Very disappointing...same powers with a few exceptions. Very laggy and very buggy code. If you don't mind jerky graphics, buggy content, and frequent disconnects then this is your game. The content gets just as old as it did in City of Heroes. Very disappointing.
  17. Alodarn
    Nov 25, 2005
    7
    More, but diffrent, a solid addtion to an already sucessful game. However I just don't feel "evil" enough, kidnap missions feel more like a rescue. You always end up stealing from some group of thugs that have already commited the original theft. And apart from a bit of wanton vandalism that seems to be it so far.
  18. JohnIV
    Nov 9, 2005
    8
    Hooray for people who haven't played past level 6, and complain that the game is "recycled". It was an expansion. period. You know it, I know it. You weren't going to get two completely seperate games. If you think the archtypes are the same, just because they have some common powers, then you have not played them for any substantial amount of time. all of the CoV archtypes play Hooray for people who haven't played past level 6, and complain that the game is "recycled". It was an expansion. period. You know it, I know it. You weren't going to get two completely seperate games. If you think the archtypes are the same, just because they have some common powers, then you have not played them for any substantial amount of time. all of the CoV archtypes play VASTLY different from those in CoH, and if you try to play your CoV characters like CoH ones, you will FAIL. though some powersets are identical, slight changes in their orientation make a whole hell of a lot of difference in how the ATs play. Show me a Hero with Thorny Assault or Energy Aura. Show me a Hero with built in stealth and Assassin skills. Show me a Controller with a Melee/Ranged Hybrid Secondary. People who say the graphics are not updated, need to get better video cards. The ragdoll physics ALONE render that claim patently false. a word of advice for those who complain about facing the same enemies. 1. Get off Mercy Island. 2. Level up. Lemme know when heroes start fighting The Legacy Chain, Wyvern, Longbow, and the other Hero Groups that exist in the game, after the beginner island. Lemme know when CoH heroes start collecting bodies for Dr. Vahzilok. Lemme know when CoH heroes manipulate the Children of Paragon City Heroes and make them turn evil. k? Bottom line, the game is fun. If you like CoH, you've Like CoV. It's basically an expansion built on the CoH engine, and if you thought it'd be otherwise you are foolish. and play past Mercy Island before you start spouting off garbage about the game. Expand
  19. Objulen
    Dec 4, 2005
    9
    I liked CoH, but the closest character I could make to my ideal was a dark/dark defender. With CoV I get undead pets and the dark miasma power set as a secondary, along with much different style of game -- CoV supports soloing much more than CoH with the villain archetypes. For example, Dominators (the Controllers of CoV) don't have a buff/debuff secondary power pool, but a damage I liked CoH, but the closest character I could make to my ideal was a dark/dark defender. With CoV I get undead pets and the dark miasma power set as a secondary, along with much different style of game -- CoV supports soloing much more than CoH with the villain archetypes. For example, Dominators (the Controllers of CoV) don't have a buff/debuff secondary power pool, but a damage secondary power pool. All in all, if you like CoH, or got bored with CoH, giving CoV a shot is probably a good idea. If didn't like CoH at all, then you probably want to avoid this game, unless the big turn off was a lack of a pet class -- CoV is a different flavor of CoH with some tweaks. Expand
  20. NickH.
    Nov 11, 2005
    9
    The game City of Heroes should have been to begin with. Whereas CoH became monotonous and banal, City of Villains is fresh and frentic. Never once - so far - have I found myself bored. Maybe it's because I'm getting to be evil. Not evil in a sadistic way, but evil enough to cackle and steal candy from children. It's too much fun - robbing people, kidnapping, all good The game City of Heroes should have been to begin with. Whereas CoH became monotonous and banal, City of Villains is fresh and frentic. Never once - so far - have I found myself bored. Maybe it's because I'm getting to be evil. Not evil in a sadistic way, but evil enough to cackle and steal candy from children. It's too much fun - robbing people, kidnapping, all good times... beating up cops, yeah. This game is also relentlessly addictive - my first night where I could play the game freely I found myself still playing at 2:30 in the morning. Did I mention the fact that this game looks great, sounds great, AND handles great? I'm sure you could have infered that by now. Sadly, however, upon my casting this vote technical problems have shown their ugly faces. The game's a tad laggier than normal and there's this odd "Mapserver Disconnect" error that shuts you out of the game when you attempt to enter missions (you'll have to restart your computer if you encounter it - there's about a 50% chance of this happening). So currently, this game is a 7.5 (now), but once all these problems are fixed it should be back to a 9.3 (later)! Good times, good times. Expand
  21. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    Another winner from NCSoft. They've taken a brilliant game and made it better. Whilst I still prefer to be a hero, this game offers a whole new range of missions and characters.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. All in all, I’m very impressed so far – City of Villains is fun, there’s consentual PvP and there’s base construction, but the best bit is that if you already have "City of Heroes," the monthly fee will also cover you for City of Villains.
  2. Good changes to graphics engine, interesting play on the CoH world, welcome emphasis on SGs and new focus on inter-game PvP.
  3. 100
    This is the game we've been waiting for since the day we learned we could pull on tights, don a mask and fight crime with powers we could only dream of! Now, we get to finally let our dark side run rampant through the streets!