Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. You are actually able to feel what it’s like to be a Marine overseas, and because the game is based on the actual training tool that was developed for our soldiers, you get to have an inside look at how they operate in hostile environments.
  2. The best modern military tactical shooter available right now. [July 2005, p.49]
  3. I want to have fun when playing a game and that’s just what First to Fight delivers: an action-packed FPS with all the adrenaline-pumping intensity you can ask for.
  4. A mediocre tactical FPS that falls a little short on most categories. A more polished UI, better graphics and enemy AI would have done this game a world of good. [Aug. 05]
  5. The game is a competent squad-based shooter that offers a fun cooperative mode and an artificial intelligence that is at times quite impressive and at other times completely boneheaded.
  6. A little more "I" in its "AI" would go a long way towards making this a great game.
  7. An entertaining military FPS game that can be a frustrating and aggravating at times.
  8. First to Fight introduces a few nice features with the realistic squad behavior and easy to use interface, but suffers from an out-dated game engine and annoying sound.
  9. Overall, First to Fight is an entertaining game. The graphics are okay while super-patriotic music is something Hans Zimmer would be proud of. For those who yearn for modern warfare, First Fight is not a bad, if not very original, choice. [July 2005, p.60]
  10. It's only too bad that some of the elements that were only loosely introduced could not have been made more of a focus or an option in the game.
  11. If you're a hardcore military buff, I might recommend it to you for the fun firefights. Other than that, I think you're better off getting "SWAT 4." That one flows much better and has a much nicer feel to it.
  12. While not the most polished title around, Close Combat: First to Fight should give you wannabe jarheads out there enough of a fight for a while, especially in the decent Co-Op mode.
  13. The gameplay is good at times, but buggy, tedious and repetitive at other times.
  14. The enemy AI is slow to react, your character is slow to move. [July 2005, p.98]
  15. I'm crossing my fingers that Close Combat returns to what it was rather than continue with what it is.
  16. While not a universally terrible effort, the tense stand-offs and tight urban combat is let down by the weak interface and poor consistency in your squad's AI.
  17. 60
    An agreeable kind of game so long as you lower your expectations a bit.
  18. Despite its frustrating flaws, there is still an authentic and challenging military games experience to be had.
  19. Positioning yourself for combat is more enjoyable than the actual battles. [July 2005, p.58]
  20. A tedious, tasteless mess. [Aug 2005, p.76]
  21. Ends up feeling like it’s been built by PC game developers obsessed with quick saves. There’s absolutely no creative latitude; it’s a case of remembering where enemies appear and getting them before they get you. [May 2005, p.86]
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. JARHEAD
    Oct 17, 2005
    8
    I'm enjoying it. It's still relitively new, but it is entertaining, and less than 40 bucks always works. It's no Operation I'm enjoying it. It's still relitively new, but it is entertaining, and less than 40 bucks always works. It's no Operation Flashpoint though, then again what is? Full Review »
  2. SphyrionTechnologies,LLC
    Jun 9, 2005
    0
    I have not played this game, so I do not know if it is good or not. But I did install it, and when it rebooted my computer for me, my WindowsI have not played this game, so I do not know if it is good or not. But I did install it, and when it rebooted my computer for me, my Windows login profile WAS DELETED! Even though my profile was gone, I tried to launch the game and it would not run. Told me it "encountered an error and needed to close". I called their Tech Support hotline, which from their accents seems to be in Australia, and they told me "It is just an unfortunate coincidence and there is nothing we can do. We recommend taking it to a repair shop and have it thouroughly looked at." When I asked them if they were going to foot the bill for this, they told me it was not their responsibility. I replied that it was their responsibility to develop a game that ultimately caused my computer to malfunction, so why were they not responsible for fixing it? My next question referred to a refund of the game purchase price. "Take it back"....... Anyone knows that opened software CANNOT be returned.
    Bottom line: Do not buy this game, and do not patronize Destineer Studios, the developer, and 2K Games, the publisher.
    Full Review »
  3. AaronB.
    May 2, 2005
    8
    I don't see why everyone is saying this game stinks - I find it pretty fun. The graphics aren't great, but they're good, and I don't see why everyone is saying this game stinks - I find it pretty fun. The graphics aren't great, but they're good, and the gameplay is pretty tense. Full Review »