Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Three years ago, FBI agent Erica Reed lost her brother to a serial killer who was never caught. During this desperate investigation, she developed the strange and unpredictable power of post-cognition: by touching an object, she can see its past and the events that happened on, to, or around it. Though undeniably useful in her line of work, this skill makes her uneasy and has caused her problems professionally and personally. Now a new serial killer is on the move—one who leaves behind clues perfectly suited to Agent Reed's unique abilities. Has someone learned her secret? What do they want from her? More importantly: by working this case, will Erica finally uncover enough evidence to bring her brother's killer to justice? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Jan 12, 2013
    89
    Gabriel Knight is a prime example of an excellent adventure game. This tribute is almost as good as the Jane Jensen's work and it's just the first episode of the game.
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    Ultimately, Cognition is a good start, and at its core, a quality adventure game.
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    75
    As a first episode, The Hangman does more right than it does wrong.
  4. Jan 30, 2013
    70
    While it shares lots of flaws with its brethren of the genre, this point-and-click adventure game has enough going for it with its story and cognition mechanics to make it worth playing.
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    70
    The game opening is especially powerful and it manages to keep that momentum for a while before feeling like it's slowed down too much. It ramps things up for a fun interrogation sequence and an exciting ending.
  6. Jan 7, 2013
    68
    The Hangman gets Cognition off to a promising start despite a few design and technical flaws. Genre aficionados should take note.
  7. Mar 4, 2013
    45
    Cognition fails not from a lack of execution, but from a lack of imagination.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This game is a great throw-back to adventure game thrillers from the 90s, but with upgraded graphics and a fresh new game dynamic. The story is really what makes me marking the calendar for future episode releases. No spoilers, but Erika's use of paranormal abilities is awesome. Game consultant Jane Jensen makes this a real treat because you can see her influence throughout. Jane created Sierra classic, Gabriel Knight and newer games like Gray Matter. Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    Cognition was a breath of fresh air during a time of monotonous stories, mediocre storytelling, and games just overall lacking in any sort of human qualities. You will be taken back to a time in gaming where immersion was attained simply through your own curiosity. The beautiful musical scores and some of the best voice acting you'll ever hear only help to take your experience a step further. Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    I love the concept behind Cognition, one of the things I enjoyed the most have got to be the music and the voice acting, hands down amazing. Some puzzles seemed a bit more impossible than others but, overall loved how dark it is and I can't wait for Episode 2 :) Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2012
    8
    I played this game on the recommendation of a friend. I hadn't heard of it before that nor had I much experience with the games type of play style. However, despite my ignorance, I found the game to be very interesting. It was dark and thrilling. It's atmosphere was reminiscent of a good novel. I was easily lost in the story and wanted to play more. I also have a very soft spot for hot redheads with green eyes. I gave an 8 out of 10. It lost 2 points for long(ish) load times. Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2013
    7
    A really great game for a little money. FBI agent versus the serial killer sounds cliche? Don't worry, the story will surprise you a few times. Especially the first two episodes are very enjoyable and worth playing. The story is like the mixture of two famous film thrillers: Seven and Silence of the Lambs.
    Advantages:
    +An interesting plot and characters
    +Story twists
    +Nicely written dialogues
    +Mechanics: typical adventure with some puzzles and action elements
    +Music
    +Voice acting
    +2D graphics (great comic stylised drawings )
    Disadvantages:
    -Initially great story slows down at the end
    -Towards the end of the game the characters' choices become unreasonable and ridiculous
    -Bugs
    -3D graphics
    However, try it if you like point-and-click thriller style adventure games.
    Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2013
    4
    Enjoyable at times, but lacking in fluidity. Animations and transitions were also slow to the point of frustration. How I wish I could only click a map button, then a destination... rather than clumsily navigate my character to the level exit, click the wider map twice, then finally my destination twice. Expand
  7. Apr 15, 2014
    0
    Are these other reviewers playing the same game? This game borders on trashware. It feels like an amateur fan game with the horrible graphics and writing.

    Games like this are why many customers wish refunds were always available.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews