Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. May 16, 2013
    70
    Cognition – An Erica Reed Thriller – Episode 3: The Oracle, is mostly an entertaining experience. You may miss some of the features that showed up in the first two episodes, like the forensics/murder investigation elements and the variety of locations.
  2. May 16, 2013
    82
    In The Oracle, what appears to be a new episode in the cat and mouse game chasing a murderer becomes something different and refreshing. Do not be fooled by the who is the murderer? Promo: There is so much more to reveal through this third episode.
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    60
    The Oracle continues Cognition's pattern of uneven episodes. It cleverly uses Erica's powers to get around a major storytelling problem, and in that respect it's a great success. On the other hand, the tight quarters and indifferent puzzles make the game less interesting to play than its predecessors, while the dumb, unpleasant characters make it a less enjoyable story.
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    80
    There's a lot of revelations in this episode of Cognition. I've been caught off guard and enticed right up until the end of it. It's enough to overlook the still weak production values, and the easy gameplay. Can't wait for the conclusion of this story!
  5. May 17, 2013
    72
    An entertaining thriller adventure with supernatural puzzles that is overshadowed by technical flaws.
  6. May 19, 2013
    80
    This series in growing with time and The Oracle is the best episode so far, fresh and even bold in the way it approaches narration and puzzles. If you liked the first two episodes, you definitely should get this one.
  7. May 24, 2013
    70
    Cognition Ep 3 is smaller, easier and more linear than its predecessors, a point that shows the problems of episodic gaming. Thank God it manages to overcome these problems with its brilliant storytelling, intriguing twists and great new gameplay additions.
  8. Jun 5, 2013
    80
    The Cognition series is nothing if not consistent. Thus far, all three chapters have delivered bizarre-looking characters and laughable dialog, but more importantly, they've delivered seductively gruesome murder cases and an impressively comprehensive story arc.
  9. May 20, 2013
    85
    The Oracle has shown me that Phoenix Online is in it to win it, and is working to make this series something special. Therefore, I feel no compunction whatsoever in recommending it to any discerning adventure fan.
  10. May 21, 2013
    80
    The third Cognition episode dramatically raises the intensity bar, and ends on a stellar cliffhanger that should leave everyone excited for the conclusion.
  11. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    This is a great adventure series which has chosen to focus on the narrative side of things and is all the better for it. This third chapter is the best so far.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    Wow, no user reviews for this masterpiece yet I can't give my opinion on episode 3 without mentioning episode 1 and 2 they were fine,butWow, no user reviews for this masterpiece yet I can't give my opinion on episode 3 without mentioning episode 1 and 2 they were fine,but only after episode 3 one can see the greatness of the storyline and character writing presented here.

    It's true that game sometimes got a problems with a gameplay and story elements, and unfortunately they happen in episode 1 most often which can turn off some players, but everything gets better and better and when i reached ending of episode 3 i was sitting with my jaw open with only one thing coming to my mind amazing !

    *Very small spoiler ahead*

    Both main characters are very well written and voice acted and i will keep remember them as i do remember for example Lee Everett from The Walking Dead they are that good.However side characters are just so so,they are interesting but too often game miss an opportunity to give them a bit more depth which makes them a bit forgettable.

    Both graphic and soundtrack is amazing.Art style is nice and it's keep consistency all the time and i really like how this game looks.For soundtrack just do your self a pleasure and search for "Life or Death" on youtube it's gets even better then that !.Last 15min of episode 3 are very strong and emotional, and one of the reasons for that is the soundtrack and voice acting.

    Cognition is one of these games i always wanted to play, and i wish more peoples give it a try (there is a demo version).If you are here looking for a great game and you don't care how popular it is then give Cognition a try, it's worth it.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    0
    Horrible animation and production values. Don't believe the positive reviews. It's as bad as everything else from Phoenix Online Studios.Horrible animation and production values. Don't believe the positive reviews. It's as bad as everything else from Phoenix Online Studios.

    Save your money.
    Full Review »