Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 5, 2014
    85
    Erica Reed is an engaging character: flawed but good-hearted, and learning as she goes along — much like the game named for her. This was a trip I'm glad I went on, and one I advise any fan of adventure games to take for a spin.
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    80
    Although the fourth episode of the Cognition series is the shortest one, there's no need for thrilling and heartbreaking moments. Altogether with the three previous pieces they form an excellent mysterious thriller no adventure games fan should pass.
  3. Oct 18, 2013
    80
    All we can say is that if you enjoyed The Walking Dead then you really owe it to yourself to check this out. While that game is a lot more polished and certainly more emotionally involving, Cognition doesn't fall too far short and certainly has much more impressive puzzle design.
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    All the highs and lows of the series are still there, for a final chapter that doesn't disappoint and introduces a couple of very nice new ideas. Puzzles are strong, narration is a bit cheesy, but generally speaking Cognition is worth playing.
  5. Sep 27, 2013
    77
    With the arrival of The Cain Killer, ends the first season of Cognition: An Erica Reed Thriller, and the weaknesses of this latest installment should not hide the superb adventure as a whole. A game that adventure lovers cannot miss.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    70
    This fourth episode is a little short, but it concludes very well a series in which the script, dialogues and atmosphere are the highest qualities.
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    60
    A somewhat disappointing ending for a great game. Ep.4 loses all the momentum that was built in the previous installment and is mostly reduced into a puzzle hunt.
  8. Oct 18, 2013
    60
    Cognition's take on a psychic FBI agent is far from perfect, but worth investigating.
  9. Sep 25, 2013
    60
    Although Episodes 1-3 had flaws, they also had spirit, creativity, and the ability to grab your emotions by the throat. By contrast, Episode 4: The Cain Killer lacks tension, feels sloppily conceived, hastily made, and worst of all, lets its narrative weaknesses set it up for equally damning gameplay shortcomings.
  10. Sep 20, 2013
    60
    Overall, this series is worth starting if you have yet to jump in, and it was more than good enough to have me looking forward to what I hope will be Season Two.
  11. Sep 27, 2013
    50
    Definitely the low point of the series, The Cain Killer is obviously still a must-play if you’re invested in the Cognition series thus far, though it reminds us that Phoenix Online has a lot of room to grow.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    It's obvious that PO Studios had learned a lot from the first three episodes Episode 4 is by far the most polished, most cohesive story-wise and with the best pacing between all four episodes. Unfortunately, it's also the shortest (took me around 4 hours from start to finish, without accessing any hints). It also feels less like an adventure and more like that "interactive movie" game, where you're mostly watching cinematics, but occasionally have to solve a puzzle or two.

    Still, it's a very nice conclusion to the, overall, great adventure series.

    P.S. Raleigh Holmes absolutely should do more voice work.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    6
    I just finished episode 4 and I am torn. While I absolutely loved episode 1+2 and though ep3 was somewhat good I have to say that episode 4 is by far the weakest part of the game. In the early Episodes you get a lot of freedom, you can roam around, discover stuff on your own, use your phone, PC and files to solve your own cases. The use of your special powers is fun but limited. Episode 4 on the other hand feels rather weak. There is no more real investigation (apart from 1 part), absolutely no freedom, you are on rails the entire time. There is literally 90% story and 10% gameplay in the last episode, to me it felt like cutscenes after cutscene with you making some clicks inbetween. There are also very awkward and illogical personal relationships revealed. Another change in the final episode is the addition of a trust-meter where you can either side with someone or against them. What I didn't like is the fact that the character, despite of my choices, tended to say the exact opposite of what I actually thought (in terms of who to support, who to blame etc). The ending was alright, it wasn't the most satisfying closure to a story I have ever experienced but I have seen worse. It is pretty cliché. There is also far too much focus on your powers as the story progresses, it get's repetitive and dull and isn't nearly as fun as the investigative style of the first episodes. Still a good game just not anywhere near as good as it started of.

    Beware of minor bugs, I ran into many clipping and animation bugs. Episode 2 was bugged as every action would have a several second delay between them. Ep3+4 seem to have less bugs.
    Full Review »