Cogs Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Cogs is a puzzle game where players build machines from sliding tiles. Players can choose from 50 levels and 3 gameplay modes. New puzzles are unlocked by building contraptions quickly and efficiently. Inventor Mode: Starting with simple puzzles, players are introduced to the widgets that are used to build machines - gears, pipes, balloons, chimes, hammers, wheels, props, and more. Time Challenge Mode: If you finish a puzzle in Inventor Mode, it will be unlocked here. This time, it will take fewer moves to reach a solution, but you only have 30 seconds to find it. Move Challenge Mode: Take your time and plan ahead. Every click counts when you only get ten moves to find a solution. [Steam] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Cogs can best be described as kind of cyber punk style meets Leonardo Da vinci. Looks simple enough at first, but you soon find there is some real brain benders involved.
  2. 85
    It's a gorgeous curio, well worth the asking price.
  3. The game has three game modes and 50 levels, so even when you’ve beaten the ever-increasing-in-difficulty Inventor Mode (basic puzzles and mechanics) you can take them all on again in Time Challenge Mode (30 second time limit) and Move Challenge Mode (ten moves only).
  4. A unique but challenging puzzle game that is best left to the patient.
  5. 73
    The extreme difficulty, coupled with the lack of a hint system, makes Cogs more of a diversion that you'll probably move on from quickly than something that you'll sink a lot of time into.
  6. 70
    Overall I had a fun time with Cogs, it's a fresh spin on puzzle games, and while some puzzles are scream-inducing hard, in the end you feel a huge sense of victory when you solve a super hard puzzle, and who out there doesn't like to see a rocket ship take flight, after you've connect a system of pipes to its 6 engines!
  7. If you like slide puzzles, it's disastrously addictive. [July 2009, p.73]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    I had no idea that Cogs, a somewhat random pick up I obtained in the Humble Bundle, would entrap me the way it did. I don't exactly know how to review this title, after all it really is just a sliding puzzle game. All I can tell you is give it a chance, the game is beautifully executed. Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    Take this game for what is, the ultimate sliding block puzzle collection. It's not just about re-building a picture, you have to arrange gears such they they play simple musical tones in the proper order at the proper rhythm, arrange pipe segments to route steam to multiple locations, and more often than not do both at once in a variety of 3D environments. There are planes with pipes and gear shafts running through the board, and you have to simultaneously arrange both sides (while only being able to view one side at a time) perfectly for the system to work. There are cylinders, cubes where each side affects the function of its adjacent side, and other innovative environments. There are also bronze, silver, and gold medal achievements for both time and number of moves to complete, which I found highly addicting. The animation and art are awesome, and the music is perfect, providing a nice contemplative atmosphere without being intrusive. So taken for what it is, this easily scores a 10 in my book. A lot of the criticism I see here seems to stem from the reviewer not liking sliding block puzzles or thinking that the puzzles in Cogs are too hard; which is like criticizing a su-do-ku puzzle for not being a crossword. If you enjoy visual puzzles of any variety, I'd say there's a good chance you'll enjoy Cogs. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    It made me think and it excels in inventing a rich variety on a simple formula. Worth it for the graphics alone, the designers did a wonderful job. I have no idea how to further improve on the genre. Only the gameplay's root in one singly type of puzzle keeps Cogs from a ten in my book. But one could choose to see its focus as a strength. Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2010
    8
    I guess this must be heaven for anyone who's into sliding puzzles. Cogs delivers them in great number and variety. The presentation is very well done, the controls are smooth and if you have the patience for this kind of puzzles, you can spend many hours on it. For the less patient who are rather into puzzles that require less planning ahead this might quickly turn into a tedious shuffling around of pieces. It does come at a very reasonable price though, so there is not really anything to complain about. Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2012
    7
    Great litle puzzle game which combines simple ideas into something quite innovative and ingenious. It takes the age old sliding blocks puzzle and adds a few ideas of it's own to create a fun, addictive puzzler. It starts off easy but becomes something that will make your head hurt! Not the sort of thing you will play for hours on end, but is just right for a quick go...or two. It's cheap price means you can't really go wrong. A game that will appeal even to people who don't normally play computer games, because it's something that anybody can just sit down and know how to play straight away. Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    7
    Wow, lovely puzzle game! .. And believe me, normally i hate puzzles ! Cogs is a perfect game for a 15 minute session.. just to exercise your brain;) Levels are well designed, smart and pleasure to watch. Specially when you finish the task and see the outcome - e.g steam moves a little toy helicopter ;) There's plenty of levels and special challenge mode, so you would not be bored. I can imagine that all puzzle fanatics will really enjoy Cogs, for me it's a nice distraction - so, 7 points out of 10. Very decent game, bravo Lazy8 Studios! Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2013
    5
    This is an average puzzle game that will offer you some fun moments, but nothing spectacular. The graphics are good and the puzzles are challenging in this game, but unless you're a die-hard puzzle game fan, you won't be overly enjoying it. It's fun for about 30 minutes at a time, but anything more than that and it starts to become boring. A well made game that offers nothing new to the genre. Collapse

See all 21 User Reviews