User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 639 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 639
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 27, 2011
    5
    It's not a terrible game standing by itself, but it's barely worth 10 dollars with the C&C title on it. Even when standing on it's own merits, it's still quite a generic game, and the cutscenes are dry and uninteresting. Kane, normally an intimidating and wise character, feels dead in this one. He doesn't have that shroud of mystery that was normally maintained in previous series. If theIt's not a terrible game standing by itself, but it's barely worth 10 dollars with the C&C title on it. Even when standing on it's own merits, it's still quite a generic game, and the cutscenes are dry and uninteresting. Kane, normally an intimidating and wise character, feels dead in this one. He doesn't have that shroud of mystery that was normally maintained in previous series. If the game had a better story and began BEFORE Kane allied with GDI, along with standard RTS elements, it would be worth an 8.5. Get a better engine instead of that crappy generals engine, and it would get a 10. On it's own right now, it get's a 5. Expand
  2. Feb 23, 2014
    7
    C&C 4 is far from the old clasic C&C games. There's barely anything in common with the exception of the characters and story. However it does not mean it's a bad game.

    When playing the game you should not see it as C&C but rather as a new game, another series. Your goal is to combine different types of units to defeat the opponent's army. Pro: Interesting concept and fun leveling
    C&C 4 is far from the old clasic C&C games. There's barely anything in common with the exception of the characters and story. However it does not mean it's a bad game.

    When playing the game you should not see it as C&C but rather as a new game, another series. Your goal is to combine different types of units to defeat the opponent's army.

    Pro: Interesting concept and fun leveling system

    Con: Nothing in common with its previous games, outdated graphics

    Worth buying at sale but I'd hold on to the cash at full price
    Expand
  3. BenM.
    Mar 29, 2010
    5
    Removing the title, and analysing this as a gaming concept in it's own right, CNC4 does have a few new and interesting things to offer. The skirmish mode, while rigid in some areas does allow for some new and interesting tactical decisions with a much greater emphasis on teamwork and larger battles. The crawler idea in itself in interesting and the option are relatively fresh to keep Removing the title, and analysing this as a gaming concept in it's own right, CNC4 does have a few new and interesting things to offer. The skirmish mode, while rigid in some areas does allow for some new and interesting tactical decisions with a much greater emphasis on teamwork and larger battles. The crawler idea in itself in interesting and the option are relatively fresh to keep me interested in playing this. All I have to tell myself is that EA accidentally named this a CNC game instead of a brand new franchise. Taking it as a CNC, the game is riddled with faults. The fact that you have to be online to play is extremely frustrating if you're more of a single player person who's in it for the conclusion of the epic Tiberium arc, which, to be honest was a complete and utter let down. The campaigns for both side are horrendously short and fail to meet the standards set by CNC games past. Even Kane himself seem to only be pulling out a half arsed job. So much for an epic conclusion. In addition, the unlocking mechanic is brutal on newer players, who don't have the arsenal at their disposal to take on two other NPCs with essentially a Tier 1 unit spam, almost to the point of forcing co-op play. Indeed, for Skirmish mission, the lack of level matching means that a completely new player and his lvl 1 GDI offense crawler gets his ass handed to him by the lvl 20 Nod player. The fact that in Skirmish you can no longer be GDI vs GDI etc. is also a major ball ache. While I can appreciate what the devs were trying to pull off, something new and relatively innovative, they should have left the last of the Tiberium saga alone with the old mechanics. The story explains why all the tib is receding, but that doesn't mean you couldn't have used a RA3 style mechanic of having tib mines or something. The lack of a proper harvester in a CNC RTS game? Come on guys, seriously? If you're new to the franchise, I'd suggest giving it a look and renting it, as there are some good ideas, but if you're a die hard, probably best to stay away. As a game: 7 As the ending to an epic story arc or a well established franchise: 2. Expand
  4. JonathanM
    Mar 17, 2010
    5
    I played the Beta and was greatly disappointed with the path they have taken. Like they tried to breed Ground Control and Dawn of War together and failed. I will only be getting it once it is really cheap to play the SP. Rating it 5 because it still good in some peoples' eyes but being a fan of the series as a whole... made me cry.
  5. LeccerL
    Mar 19, 2010
    5
    They shouldn't try to follow in the same direction relic did with Dawn of war. The concept that made me play previous C&C game was the strategic you would get into establishing a base and showed your enemy who's boss.... I presonally think this game won't be able to compete with these years realeses such as Starcraft 2 and Dawn of War; Chaos Rising.
  6. karimS
    Mar 20, 2010
    7
    Been seeing alot of people automaticly dissing the new C&C but you have to wonder how many have actually played it or took part in the beta. Here's my 2 cents: - It isn't a typical static RTS it's dynamic and allows players to play with their strenghts - if you like tank spams offence is good for you - if you like to build defensive structures/infintry spam defence is good Been seeing alot of people automaticly dissing the new C&C but you have to wonder how many have actually played it or took part in the beta. Here's my 2 cents: - It isn't a typical static RTS it's dynamic and allows players to play with their strenghts - if you like tank spams offence is good for you - if you like to build defensive structures/infintry spam defence is good for you - if you like aircraft or support craft then the support craft is good - because your now limited to specific tech you have to think what your doing, and see what other players are building doing - I feel that it's had a sense of the MMO/company of heros genre injected into it (no not a clone of starcraft as I've read a few reviews mentioning) - you won't automatically get all the tech trees, you have to earn them (I like this as it stops people blundering their way with the hi tech, and also makes you feel you've achecived something) - It feels orianted towards the clanwars market Final words: - easy advice if you want to play a static base building game, don't buy this as you'll be disappointed - if you like working with people in team work or like working on a class based play then you'd probally enjoy it. Expand
  7. brandonk
    Apr 13, 2010
    5
    I'm not gana rant about this because what i wana say has already been sed by almost every comment here i will say that if they make a expansion pack i wont buy it if they make cnc5 and they dont go back tah cnc3 style gameplay i wont buy it if they make redalert4 ill wait and see reviews and if it looks good ill buy it and if they come out with generals 2 and its done in the same wayI'm not gana rant about this because what i wana say has already been sed by almost every comment here i will say that if they make a expansion pack i wont buy it if they make cnc5 and they dont go back tah cnc3 style gameplay i wont buy it if they make redalert4 ill wait and see reviews and if it looks good ill buy it and if they come out with generals 2 and its done in the same way the original was but with video or sum thing ill buy it but if they don't abandon this style and they push it into the other universes aswell im just going to abandon cnc forever and as a hardcore fan that fact really saddens me as a random rts game 5/10 as a cnc game ZERO. Expand
  8. Jan 5, 2011
    6
    Tiberium Twilight brings an end to the decade-long Tiberium saga, but why the developers chose the terminal chapter of their iconic Command and Conquer series to attempt a radical new direction is beyond many. In essence, C&C 4 is all flash and little substance. Gorgeous visuals and an excellent soundtrack come at the cost of stripped down gameplay and a less-than-stellar telling of Kane'sTiberium Twilight brings an end to the decade-long Tiberium saga, but why the developers chose the terminal chapter of their iconic Command and Conquer series to attempt a radical new direction is beyond many. In essence, C&C 4 is all flash and little substance. Gorgeous visuals and an excellent soundtrack come at the cost of stripped down gameplay and a less-than-stellar telling of Kane's final gambit in the long struggle between rival factions Nod and GDI. While the new pace of play may be frantic, removal of such things as resource management and base construction serve only to alienate this shell of a game from it's predecessors. Expand
  9. Jan 13, 2011
    7
    For anyone considering this game, don't pay attention to the reviews that claim it's the worst game ever, and that it ruined the C&C series. This game is excellent. The people who are putting it down, are doing so not because it's a bad game, but because they expected another sidebar, billion unit RTS with little interaction with the maps, and little micromanagement, like the rest of theFor anyone considering this game, don't pay attention to the reviews that claim it's the worst game ever, and that it ruined the C&C series. This game is excellent. The people who are putting it down, are doing so not because it's a bad game, but because they expected another sidebar, billion unit RTS with little interaction with the maps, and little micromanagement, like the rest of the Command and Conquer games have been. Truth be told, I actually enjoy this style of game much more than I have the previous C&C games. This is coming from a gamer who has played and owned StarCraft: Brood War, StarCraft 2, Warcraft 3 Frozen Throne, Dawn of War 2, Company of Heroes, and all the Age of Empires games. This game takes the series down a more tactical route. There is more focus on army placement and management, and proper use of focus firing with the correct counter units. It has adopted the DoW style of gameplay with control nodes, which I also like, because it forces you out onto the map to engage in battle, rather than simply camping in your base for 15 minutes until its time to fight. The graphics are simply beautiful, and run smoothly on high settings, even on my par system. I give EA credit, as well, for the originality here. Mobile MCV's are a cool addition, and you'll find a plethora of very interesting unit abilities to micromanage. You'll also find strategically placed capturable turrets and Mutant Hovels, which are similar to mercenary camps in WarCraft 3. placed on most of the multiplayer maps.

    Though the hotkeys are not customizable, you'll find most of them are mapped based on their position on the UI, which makes them easy to remember and get used to. There are a ton of units, all of which have their use, and the game is just plain fun. I actually stopped playing StarCraft 2 since I starting playing this game. It's not so fast paced that have a heart attack during every encounter, hence it gives you time to think about your moves and plan out strategies. The battles are fluent, and the unit pathing is smooth.

    Again, excellent game despite the fanboy criticisms. Easily worth the money for any PC RTS fan.
    Expand
  10. Oct 27, 2013
    5
    Yeah, way to throw the baby out with the bath water here. The concept of the moving changeable base is ok enough but it's sadly not as good as the original base build structure. It wasn't broke, it didn't need fixing. Add to this the FMV which is sadly not as well acted or starred as the original games. It basically comes off like this... Imagine Star Wars VII came out and it was a madeYeah, way to throw the baby out with the bath water here. The concept of the moving changeable base is ok enough but it's sadly not as good as the original base build structure. It wasn't broke, it didn't need fixing. Add to this the FMV which is sadly not as well acted or starred as the original games. It basically comes off like this... Imagine Star Wars VII came out and it was a made for TV movie by the sci-fi channel. Pretty much like that. Expand
  11. Feb 29, 2012
    5
    MAYBE, just maybe if it were not part of the "Command & Conquer TIBERIAN" series it would have done better. From a avid fan of the series since the beginning i can tell you that it is not what the series fans enjoy.
    But that being said, just like C&C Red Alert, this is different, and just like red alert, maybe this idea of no base building should have been used in another C&C series. If
    MAYBE, just maybe if it were not part of the "Command & Conquer TIBERIAN" series it would have done better. From a avid fan of the series since the beginning i can tell you that it is not what the series fans enjoy.
    But that being said, just like C&C Red Alert, this is different, and just like red alert, maybe this idea of no base building should have been used in another C&C series. If you forget about the base building, which is very hard to do because after all C&C is ALL ABOUT BASE BUILDING, than you might have a decent strategy game.
    Expand
  12. Dec 19, 2012
    5
    It was a bad game Command & Conquer series of large kedvencem.A biggest negative is that the material removed from the construction proceeds think it really should not have.
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 71
  2. Negative: 11 out of 71
  1. It's nothing at all like Command & Conquer, but - eventually - it's a thoughtful and bombastic multiplayer RTS that's welcoming to everyone.
  2. Tiberian Twilight's online play and persistent unlocks make for short-term fun, but the mediocre campaign doesn't give Kane the send-off he deserved.
  3. 75
    It's clear that EA are onto something with their new-age C&C formula but, as it stands, the core needs a little work. The series, once the most explosive game of the medium, looks like it's going out with a whimper.