Command & Conquer 4: Tiberian Twilight Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 631 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The story of Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight takes place after the events of the critically acclaimed Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars. The year is 2062 and humanity is at the brink of extinction. With only six years left until the mysterious crystalline structure Tiberium rendersThe story of Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight takes place after the events of the critically acclaimed Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars. The year is 2062 and humanity is at the brink of extinction. With only six years left until the mysterious crystalline structure Tiberium renders the earth entirely uninhabitable, the two opposing factions - Global Defense Initiative (GDI) and the Brotherhood of Nod - inevitably find themselves in desperation for the same cause: to stop Tiberium from extinguishing mankind. The unthinkable becomes reality and Nod’s enigmatic leader Kane takes off for GDI headquarters. What is Kane planning in the heart of his enemies’ base? Command & Conquer 4 draws the epic conclusion to the beloved Tiberium universe, where fans learn the fate of Earth, Nod, Tiberium, GDI and most importantly, Kane’s motivations behind his decade-long plan. In addition to the two campaigns on the epic battles of GDI and Nod, which players will get to conquer alone or in a cooperative mode, Command & Conquer 4 also features a new 5v5 objective-based multiplayer mode, promoting teamwork and cooperation and delivering a social real-time-strategy experience never seen before in a Command & Conquer game. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 71
  2. Negative: 11 out of 71
  1. C&C4 feels much more refined as a result of these changes - as though great pains have been made to nudge the series into new territory. It's all the better for it, feeling like a breath of fresh air. [May 2010, p.77]
  2. In the fourth and presumed final entry in the Command & Conquer saga EA chose to stir things up a bit. We're still treated to the cheesy tongue in cheek full motion video of series fame, but everything related to the actual gameplay has been modified into a much more action oriented formula. The simplified nature of the campaign is no home run, and only one multiplayer mode feels a bit on the cheap side, but co-op support in the main campaign makes this a thoroughly enjoyable experience.
  3. 74
    But the inconsistent and ultimately disappointing campaign and awkward unlock system restricts the game to the realm of the good but non-essential.
  4. The last of legendary series and offers an ending that is truly epic. Epic fail. Redesign for the sake of redesign is stupid and lobotomizing is triple stupid. [Apr 2010]
  5. It's nothing at all like Command & Conquer, but - eventually - it's a thoughtful and bombastic multiplayer RTS that's welcoming to everyone.
  6. 50
    Straight fights in C&C4 play a lot like a boxing match between two guys with iron jaws and teensy weensy hands. You and your opponent can pound away at each other till you're both spent like an addict's last dollar, but nobody's knocking anybody out.
  7. Command & Conquer 4 is atrocious, end of story.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 160
  1. SamuelK
    Mar 23, 2010
    10
    Despite what other users said I think that this game is completly worth your time and money. It is indeeed not like her ancestors. But all Despite what other users said I think that this game is completly worth your time and money. It is indeeed not like her ancestors. But all the action gameplay, crawlers, cooperation between players needed, balanced units... This game isn't bad it's DIFFERENT. You either move along and enjoy epic battles or if you don't like it go and play something else. Would you like to rather have copy of previous CnC games (which were copied by almost all of RTS) with new graphics? Or you prefer something new, something you could explore, something fast but tactical, something different? Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2013
    5
    Yeah, way to throw the baby out with the bath water here. The concept of the moving changeable base is ok enough but it's sadly not as good asYeah, way to throw the baby out with the bath water here. The concept of the moving changeable base is ok enough but it's sadly not as good as the original base build structure. It wasn't broke, it didn't need fixing. Add to this the FMV which is sadly not as well acted or starred as the original games. It basically comes off like this... Imagine Star Wars VII came out and it was a made for TV movie by the sci-fi channel. Pretty much like that. Expand
  3. May 17, 2013
    3
    Where do I begin. The worse always-online DRM? Maybe. The lack of any resource management? Also a good point. But the worst thing remains thatWhere do I begin. The worse always-online DRM? Maybe. The lack of any resource management? Also a good point. But the worst thing remains that the completely messed up a story that was so interesting to follow in the previous installment of the C&C series. Also, the units look worse and less realistic than they used to. The strategic element of the game that made C&C3 great is also mostly gone. It is so sad that a game with so much potential is completely messed up by a incompetent development team. C&C4 had some good ideas, but they are just implemented in a very wrong way. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2012
    1
    I am incredibly disappointed in this game... Definitely not the Command and Conquer that I used to play. If Westwood sees this utter garbage.I am incredibly disappointed in this game... Definitely not the Command and Conquer that I used to play. If Westwood sees this utter garbage. They should definitely sue EA for this nonsense that they have created. Expand
  5. ThirlW
    Mar 26, 2010
    1
    C&C game check. fun.... nope.. command point system: not as much fun as resource management.. crawler stance choice (IE offense, defense , C&C game check. fun.... nope.. command point system: not as much fun as resource management.. crawler stance choice (IE offense, defense , support) fails to be anything but annoying solo game play: what a joke its bad enough to force us to log in to ea to play solo .. but the campaign almost forces you to play mulit player,,, epic fail end result last EA rts i buy with out a hard look.. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2014
    0
    Burn in hell with this **** game! What is this? Wonderfull game Tiberium Wars+expansion Kane´s Wrath and you do this...Terrible, horrible andBurn in hell with this **** game! What is this? Wonderfull game Tiberium Wars+expansion Kane´s Wrath and you do this...Terrible, horrible and other terrible words for this repulsiveness...Dont buy it!! It isnt classic C&C RTS game, it is **** Expand
  7. Jason
    Mar 23, 2010
    0
    When i heard about C + C 4 i was really excited to see what it holds! When i saw the trailier it made it gave false hope and even the When i heard about C + C 4 i was really excited to see what it holds! When i saw the trailier it made it gave false hope and even the trailers made the game look ok. Anyway! after playing through the first 3 missions.. i hounestly cant bring myself to even play the game anymore.. one of my most fav games.. gone down the drain in something i was expecting to be the best game of 2010! Expand

See all 160 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.