Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 606 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The story of Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight takes place after the events of the critically acclaimed Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars. The year is 2062 and humanity is at the brink of extinction. With only six years left until the mysterious crystalline structure Tiberium renders the earth entirely uninhabitable, the two opposing factions - Global Defense Initiative (GDI) and the Brotherhood of Nod - inevitably find themselves in desperation for the same cause: to stop Tiberium from extinguishing mankind. The unthinkable becomes reality and Nod’s enigmatic leader Kane takes off for GDI headquarters. What is Kane planning in the heart of his enemies’ base? Command & Conquer 4 draws the epic conclusion to the beloved Tiberium universe, where fans learn the fate of Earth, Nod, Tiberium, GDI and most importantly, Kane’s motivations behind his decade-long plan. In addition to the two campaigns on the epic battles of GDI and Nod, which players will get to conquer alone or in a cooperative mode, Command & Conquer 4 also features a new 5v5 objective-based multiplayer mode, promoting teamwork and cooperation and delivering a social real-time-strategy experience never seen before in a Command & Conquer game. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 71
  2. Negative: 11 out of 71
  1. C&C4 feels much more refined as a result of these changes - as though great pains have been made to nudge the series into new territory. It's all the better for it, feeling like a breath of fresh air. [May 2010, p.77]
  2. 80
    The developers are trying to take the franchise in an interesting new direction, and the fruit of their labor is worth checking out.
  3. 74
    But the inconsistent and ultimately disappointing campaign and awkward unlock system restricts the game to the realm of the good but non-essential.
  4. All C&C fans can be upset by rights. In spite of some interesting changes involving both the gameplay and the story, Command & Conquer 4 ends up being too much arcade and shallow, having focused so much of its structure only on combats.
  5. It's nothing at all like Command & Conquer, but - eventually - it's a thoughtful and bombastic multiplayer RTS that's welcoming to everyone.
  6. Tiberian Twilight finds the series at a crossroads, with its glory days gone and its future uncertain. [May 2010, p.100]
  7. Command & Conquer 4 is atrocious, end of story.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 153
  1. SamuelK
    Mar 23, 2010
    10
    Despite what other users said I think that this game is completly worth your time and money. It is indeeed not like her ancestors. But all the action gameplay, crawlers, cooperation between players needed, balanced units... This game isn't bad it's DIFFERENT. You either move along and enjoy epic battles or if you don't like it go and play something else. Would you like to rather have copy of previous CnC games (which were copied by almost all of RTS) with new graphics? Or you prefer something new, something you could explore, something fast but tactical, something different? Expand
  2. LeccerL
    Mar 19, 2010
    5
    They shouldn't try to follow in the same direction relic did with Dawn of war. The concept that made me play previous C&C game was the strategic you would get into establishing a base and showed your enemy who's boss.... I presonally think this game won't be able to compete with these years realeses such as Starcraft 2 and Dawn of War; Chaos Rising. Expand
  3. Dec 19, 2012
    3
    What the hell were EA thinking? This was supposed to be epic ending for beloved game series and what did we got? No base-building, **** multiplayer, **** plot and hideous DRM! I know Westwood made SOME **** C&C games too but at least they were just spin-offs, not sequels. Expand
  4. May 16, 2011
    1
    This game is mournful. As of the time of this writing, it's available from Steam for twenty dollars. I passed C&C4 by when it came out last year, wary from the reviews and videos I had seen, and only picked it up now while the RTS genre is fairly dry.

    It is absolutely not worth it. If this game were being given away it would still cost too much in hard-drive space alone to justify owning it. This is the worst RTS I can remember owning in over a decade. It is a betrayal, a betrayal of the franchise, of the fans, and of EA's customers in general.

    The Command and Conquer franchise has always had some common traits constant between all its games, from the original to the Red Alert series and even the short-lived Generals spin off. You build a base, you build structures along a tech-tree, you unlock more advanced units by building the corresponding buildings, you amass a force free of any arbitrary population cap, and you wage quick, brutal, and often unforgiving war. Command and Conquer 4 has none of that. Not a single defining point of the franchise is present. Not. A. One. Resource gathering is gone. Base building is replaced by a single 'crawler' mobile facility that builds all available units once its deployed. Your army is limited by an infuriatingly low population cap since actual units are produced without any sort of resource cost. The closest thing to a tech-tree is a list of upgrades you can purchase at your crawler if you capture special tiberium crystals and return them to your base, almost like a capture the flag mini-game. Since there are no bases and units (including the crawlers) are produced neigh instantly and freely, victory depends on capture points which are won over by standing near them until a sliding bar swings to your faction. The only analogue I can think of is a rather despised mechanic Blizzard has incorporated into one of its World of Warcraft multiplayer battlegrounds. Indeed, the entire affair feels more like haphazardly managing an MMO than playing an actual real time strategy game. The more I think of it, the more like an MMO this game feels. The campaign is available in single-player but its clearly balanced around a poorly implemented co-op approach, to the extent that you can't start a mission without being put into a chat-room of C&C4 players. Most disturbingly, you'll see people advertise games to grind experience in these channels, since higher tech-units are now dependent on experienced gathered from your playing account. You have to grind experience to build units. Let that sink in. It is exactly as awful as it sounds. Its myriad technical and mechanical problems aside, what I object to the most is its presentation. I was replaying C&C 3 out of nostalgia before I decided to buy this game, and I firmly believe C&C 3 had better graphics, despite coming out four years before hand. C&C4 may have higher polygon counts and better lighting, but there was a baffling aesthetic change in the transition that makes everything look like building blocks. Gone are the sleek and hard lines, the fascinating alien bio-mechanical fusion, the gleam of light off tanks, and any sort of attempt at a realistic presentation. Now every unit looks like a child cobbled it together out of building blocks. It's almost cartoonish. And you'll have plenty of time to savor that, as it takes forever for anything to kill anything else now, vastly slowing down C&C's famous fast tempo. And the story... Merciful gods the story... C&C 3 had an extensive world-building side to it. It detailed the ravages of a tiberium future. It spun a cohesive narrative and had players scrambling for hidden objectives that unlocked intelligence notes, entries on units, events, and background that gave no other reward than simply learning about the setting. And they were fascinating enough that many players spent a lot of time hunting them down (just look at the number of online intel guides for proof). C&C 4 does none of that. It actively tries to get you to forget plot points from its predecessor. It erases the setting earlier games masterfully erected. The actual story is irrelevant because you won't be able to follow it; cut-scenes and briefings are overly melodramatic yet carry no real information. You'll be wondering 'why?' at the start of almost every mission. It's like reading a comic where half the panels were blacked out.

    Five thousand characters isn't enough to bemoan this wretched travesty. Command and Conquer deserved better than this. There isn't a single redeeming quality to this game. It is pathetic. EA knows this; it retails for half the price of its predecessor, despite being four years younger. I give it one point because it exists and doesn't actively give you cancer. That's really the best that can be said about it.
    Expand
  5. ThirlW
    Mar 26, 2010
    1
    C&C game check. fun.... nope.. command point system: not as much fun as resource management.. crawler stance choice (IE offense, defense , support) fails to be anything but annoying solo game play: what a joke its bad enough to force us to log in to ea to play solo .. but the campaign almost forces you to play mulit player,,, epic fail end result last EA rts i buy with out a hard look.. Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2014
    0
    Once upon a time, a friend an I made a very bad uninformed purchase. We bought C&C4 thinking it would be a better C&C3. The first and last time we played this, an inside joke was born. The only thing I remember about this game was that horribly laggy cutscene.. OMG A MISISLE!1!11111111!! Expand
  7. SeanW.
    Mar 24, 2010
    0
    I'll start this review off with a delve into the story of the game. For me, the story of the C&C (Tiberian Universe) has been one of the more involving and high draw factors for the series. Given that the acting tends to be on the soap opera side of the spectrum it would take a significant amount of effort from the developers to actually make me want to skip the cut scenes. Enter Command And Conquer 4, stage left. In the previous title(s) C&C3 (and the expansion Kane's Wrath) the story arc builds towards a climax hinted at coming into it's full glory in the next (read: this) title. To be honest, NONE of the back story in the previous title(s) has ANYTHING to do with this game. At all. Where they could have picked up an actually interesting plot line and fleshed it out, building on and improving where it was leading towards, all that was accomplished was what seems like an afterthought to an already afterthought game. To say that this title makes the characters from the previous EA C&C amazingly enthralling and exciting is just an example of how horribly bad the writers did on this title. They dump you into the middle of a series of events that are NEVER EXPLAINED, offer you questions that shouldn't have even been introduced in the first place, and COMPLETELY REMOVE any tie-in to the previous title. This game was marketed, presented, and wrapped with a single message given to us, the gamers and loyal fans of the series: This is the endgame for the Tiberian story line. We did not need much in terms of story. Nor did we demand anything but at least meeting the bar set by the last title in the series RELEASED BY EA GAMES. This game is not a Command And Conquer title as I view them, and I can not rate it above a 0 for the absolute failure on EA's part to even remotely represent the spirit of the franchise. Come on EA. Expand

See all 153 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.