Command & Conquer 4: Tiberian Twilight Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 645 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The story of Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight takes place after the events of the critically acclaimed Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars. The year is 2062 and humanity is at the brink of extinction. With only six years left until the mysterious crystalline structure Tiberium rendersThe story of Command & Conquer 4 Tiberian Twilight takes place after the events of the critically acclaimed Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars. The year is 2062 and humanity is at the brink of extinction. With only six years left until the mysterious crystalline structure Tiberium renders the earth entirely uninhabitable, the two opposing factions - Global Defense Initiative (GDI) and the Brotherhood of Nod - inevitably find themselves in desperation for the same cause: to stop Tiberium from extinguishing mankind. The unthinkable becomes reality and Nod’s enigmatic leader Kane takes off for GDI headquarters. What is Kane planning in the heart of his enemies’ base? Command & Conquer 4 draws the epic conclusion to the beloved Tiberium universe, where fans learn the fate of Earth, Nod, Tiberium, GDI and most importantly, Kane’s motivations behind his decade-long plan. In addition to the two campaigns on the epic battles of GDI and Nod, which players will get to conquer alone or in a cooperative mode, Command & Conquer 4 also features a new 5v5 objective-based multiplayer mode, promoting teamwork and cooperation and delivering a social real-time-strategy experience never seen before in a Command & Conquer game. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 71
  2. Negative: 11 out of 71
  1. Games Master UK
    88
    C&C4 feels much more refined as a result of these changes - as though great pains have been made to nudge the series into new territory. It's all the better for it, feeling like a breath of fresh air. [May 2010, p.77]
  2. In the fourth and presumed final entry in the Command & Conquer saga EA chose to stir things up a bit. We're still treated to the cheesy tongue in cheek full motion video of series fame, but everything related to the actual gameplay has been modified into a much more action oriented formula. The simplified nature of the campaign is no home run, and only one multiplayer mode feels a bit on the cheap side, but co-op support in the main campaign makes this a thoroughly enjoyable experience.
  3. 74
    But the inconsistent and ultimately disappointing campaign and awkward unlock system restricts the game to the realm of the good but non-essential.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    70
    The last of legendary series and offers an ending that is truly epic. Epic fail. Redesign for the sake of redesign is stupid and lobotomizing is triple stupid. [Apr 2010]
  5. It's nothing at all like Command & Conquer, but - eventually - it's a thoughtful and bombastic multiplayer RTS that's welcoming to everyone.
  6. 50
    Straight fights in C&C4 play a lot like a boxing match between two guys with iron jaws and teensy weensy hands. You and your opponent can pound away at each other till you're both spent like an addict's last dollar, but nobody's knocking anybody out.
  7. Command & Conquer 4 is atrocious, end of story.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 165
  1. SamuelK
    Mar 23, 2010
    10
    Despite what other users said I think that this game is completly worth your time and money. It is indeeed not like her ancestors. But all Despite what other users said I think that this game is completly worth your time and money. It is indeeed not like her ancestors. But all the action gameplay, crawlers, cooperation between players needed, balanced units... This game isn't bad it's DIFFERENT. You either move along and enjoy epic battles or if you don't like it go and play something else. Would you like to rather have copy of previous CnC games (which were copied by almost all of RTS) with new graphics? Or you prefer something new, something you could explore, something fast but tactical, something different? Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2013
    5
    Yeah, way to throw the baby out with the bath water here. The concept of the moving changeable base is ok enough but it's sadly not as good asYeah, way to throw the baby out with the bath water here. The concept of the moving changeable base is ok enough but it's sadly not as good as the original base build structure. It wasn't broke, it didn't need fixing. Add to this the FMV which is sadly not as well acted or starred as the original games. It basically comes off like this... Imagine Star Wars VII came out and it was a made for TV movie by the sci-fi channel. Pretty much like that. Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2011
    3
    I don't know if I even want to finish this. This was a giant waste of my 5$ off of a steam deal. It feels like something some no-nameI don't know if I even want to finish this. This was a giant waste of my 5$ off of a steam deal. It feels like something some no-name developer puts out, but with decent graphics. There's no resource management. All it is is rock/paper/scissors, but with 3 or 4 different people putting their hands in. As everyone else has stated, this is not C&C. It doesn't deserve to be anywhere near the same shelf as the C&C franchise. This is one of those games that you find in a bargain bin at Menards or Fleet Farm. Expand
  4. AndrewH.
    Mar 23, 2010
    1
    It is astounding that a sequel can have worse graphics, worse animation, worse visual interface and worse gameplay mechanic. Tiberian It is astounding that a sequel can have worse graphics, worse animation, worse visual interface and worse gameplay mechanic. Tiberian Twilight feels like and looks like a game made 3 years before Tiberium Wars. The new gameplay mechanic becomes increasingly tedious and unsatisfying, it just screams "dumbed down". Also I don't understand the awful visual baggage of green outlying of selected units, it makes the entire game even look uglier. Tiberian Twilight fails at the basic level of lacking high production values, and it tops it of with failed gameplay mechanic. A truly bizarre sequel. Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2015
    0
    Brilliant story of Tiberium Wars has been ruined. Gameplay is nothing like it was before, it is complete cr@p in fact. Online only mode isBrilliant story of Tiberium Wars has been ruined. Gameplay is nothing like it was before, it is complete cr@p in fact. Online only mode is also an annoying issue. I was hoping for great story continuation and epic/reasonable ending, but there was nothing like that. Super disappointing game for C&C Tiberium Wars fans, don't even bother watching youtube walkthroughs. I don't understand how EA have messed up so bad, although I should not be surprised about that. Expand
  6. ShaneF
    Mar 17, 2010
    0
    I've played every C&C game ever made and was brought into the RTS world by Command & Conquer on the Sega and, as most others probably I've played every C&C game ever made and was brought into the RTS world by Command & Conquer on the Sega and, as most others probably were, was glad beyond believe that the fourth and final installment in the long lasting Tiberium series was coming, but when I finally got the game... well simply enough this isn't C&C, It's a horrid waste of money and time with practically nothing in common with past installments and answers almost none of the questions we were told it would answer and as such this "Epic conclusion of the Tiberium saga" as EA calls it, doesn't deserve to be honored with the title of C&C 4. Expand
  7. nothappy
    Mar 28, 2010
    0
    This game somehow tried to force Fawn of War's gameplay mechanic of capturing points and holding them in a tug of war (which even Dawn This game somehow tried to force Fawn of War's gameplay mechanic of capturing points and holding them in a tug of war (which even Dawn of war has an annihilation game mode where there are no tug of war and you just kill the other guy) i wouldn't even torrent this game. i'm saying that if this game was FREE i would turn it down. and then on top of it the Draconian DRM which means you have to be connected to the internet at all times to play it only means you are renting this game. when a pirated version works better than the legit one, you have a problem. Expand

See all 165 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.