Command & Conquer: Generals PC

Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
Buy On
  1. Computer Games Magazine
    70
    It's a big dumb completely over-the-top cartoon, the game equivalent of "Red Dawn." Shut off your brain and enjoy the explosive ride. [May 2003, p.70]
  2. The look of C&C: Generals is uninspiring, tired and lacking spirit, miles behind the charismatic approach employed by Blizzard with "Warcraft III."
  3. Computer Gaming World
    60
    Despite a spectacular-looking engine, intriguing units, and some original gameplay, Generals doesn't capitalize on opportunties to be a shining light in the genre, and instead ends up as just decent. [Apr 2003, p.74]
  4. The dull gameplay, horrible interface flaws and cringe-worthy political message of the game mark it out as a wasted opportunity, and a very black mark on the copybook of the C&C franchise.
  5. GMR Magazine
    60
    The glossy graphics can't shine off the mediocrity of the Westwood formula. [Apr 2003, p.67]
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 261 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36
  1. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    C&C Generals is in my opinion one of the best strategy games ever released. Unlike many other games that call themselves "strategy" games,C&C Generals is in my opinion one of the best strategy games ever released. Unlike many other games that call themselves "strategy" games, Generals really requires a good strategy to play well. It is very well balanced and very entertaining while it isn't as needlessly complex as many other strategy games are. Even though the game was release quite a few years before I write this review, I still consider it a must-buy for people who enjoy strategy games. Full Review »
  2. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    Whilst not the deepest, most hardcore RTS ever made, C&C Generals still sits on my hard drive ever since it was released around 10 years ago.Whilst not the deepest, most hardcore RTS ever made, C&C Generals still sits on my hard drive ever since it was released around 10 years ago. Why? Simple - it's just so much fun, and isn't that the whole point of gaming?

    When Westwood were bought by EA, and me being a longstanding fan of the C&C series from the days of the very first C&C, I thought the series was doomed. But I was so surprised to see what a great job EA had done with it and brought C&C forward into the 21st century. EA have moved the series forward whilst keeping the classic C&C formula. For example, you still have the classic rock-paper-scissors formula i.e. tanks kill tanks but are vulnerable to rocket men, who in turn are vulnerable to the basic infantry units. But the resource system is now much better. In the past, whoever owned all the tiberium / ore, etc won the game. Strategy would usually involve annihilating your opponents harvesters / ore trucks, etc and starve them of cash. With the introduction of buildings / units that can generate an infinite amount of resources, players can no longer adopt this strategy. This means that more emphasis is placed on combat rather than waiting for your harvester to deliver a load of tiberium so you can build a tank and a man!
    This may not be to everyone's taste, but I think it works well. Tank rushes are still possible, but the AI opponents can opt for this strategy too (and frequently do).

    I don't generally enjoy playing RTS games online against players, and so spend most of my time playing C&C against AI opponents with or without mates. I always feel that the difficulty of this game is about right for me - it's challenging without being ridiculously impossible on the easiest difficulty setting (take note CoH2!) . Perhaps I'm just hopeless at RTS games, but "hard" really means hard, and "easy" really means easy in C&C Generals.

    At time of release, the graphics were impressive but although now clearly dated, they aren't laughable. I expect this game is cheap to pick up now and any RTS fan should pick this game up. Judging by the number of positive reviews on here, as opposed to negative ones suggests that this game is a must.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    Boy, is this game fun! This is the only C&C game that I've ever played. I haven't played the others because the futuristic (Tiberium series)Boy, is this game fun! This is the only C&C game that I've ever played. I haven't played the others because the futuristic (Tiberium series) and the alternate history (Red Alert series) themes somehow don't excite me. This is the only game in the franchise that has the modern warfare theme. You play as either the USA, China or the antagonist, the GLA (Global Liberation Army). AI is very challenging and even frustrating, but frustrating enough that will make you come back. Have never played online, but you can play with bots in skirmish modes and that alone is fun, so imagine online play (which is still possible thanks to GameRanger). My only complaint is that sometimes your units don't defend themselves when attacked. Nevertheless, play this game. Right now, it's only available with the C&C Collection. And despite what I said about not liking the themes of Red Alert and Tiberium, I might give them a chance one day, if the gameplay is like Generals. Full Review »