Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    Generals has a rock-solid single-player game and the most addictive multiplayer skirmishes of the year... A gaming masterpiece.
  2. With amazing visuals and an arsenal that would make Saddam Hussein soil his prayer mat, C&C Generals is war at its flashiest.
  3. Despite the game's stunning, high-end graphics, Generals loads quickly and plays smoothly.
  4. Not only a blast to play, it is the best looking real-time strategy game to date. [May 2003, p.60]
  5. 100
    One of the biggest improvements to the game is the full-fledged air battles.
  6. The fact that this so closely mirrors the world we find ourselves in today and the dangers we face, both in the Middle East and North Korea, instills both a sense of horror to the game and grudging respect for EA.
  7. Generals will serve to entertain you for months on end, what with its robust multiplayer segment that adequately supplements the game's addictive single-player portion. [Apr 2003, p.94]
  8. 93
    But almost more impressive than the actual gameplay in many ways are the graphics. When the settings are turned up to high and you pump up the resolution from the lowest option of 800x600, you're in for the first real visual feast of this year.
  9. The 3D graphics is exceptional, the units, the buildings, their animations also and the visual effects are very detailed and very well done for such a game.
  10. Games like these not only lift the bar, they annihilate it!
  11. 91
    In general, Generals is "Command & Conquer," just a lot more of it. [Apr 2003, p.45]
  12. All in all any fan of RTS would be foolish if they did not run to the local game store and pick up a copy of Generals immediately.
  13. Combine top-notch graphics with an overhauled gaming system, and you have a winner. Not to mention it's addictive as hell.
  14. 89
    The graphics and animations are the best I have yet to see in a RTS, and the in-game effects are powerful. Just get ready to laugh like a maniac at what the units say during the game.
  15. Exciting and great looking real-time strategy action. But what happened to the single player campaign?
  16. It's totally first-rate from a technical standpoint, and it's an all-around fun game to play on top of that, with excellent pacing, great explosions, clever strategic twists, a variety of units, and a fair amount of humor.
  17. It graphically depicts some very horrid things, and on a fundamental level, trivialises the kinds of international, cultural and religious issues which affect us all. Apart from that, it’s ace.
  18. 86
    It’s these little details and the wide array of units for each side that makes Command & Conquer Generals a very entertaining title and the included skirmish mode will keep you entertained for a long while.
  19. Wicked fun gameplay, and a stellar variety of excellently balanced units... Not as "all-around" as it hoped it would be and it's a bit of hardware hog, but it's still immensely fun.
  20. Gone are those enjoyably awful interstitial video segments--and still remaining are those... maddeningly difficult controls! [28 Feb 2003, p.87]
  21. Just different enough to separate it from the RTS pack, if only a little. It’s reasonably polished, fun to play, and a solid addition to the C&C dynasty.
  22. 82
    Like Westwood's real-time strategy games, there's a lot of flash here, some of the same old interface problems, and more than enough "yee-haw!" enthusiasm to make up for any shortcomings. Well, almost.
  23. At its core, this is a title with enough flash and bang, with a high replay value in both single and multiplayer, and enough strategy that it’s hard not to recommend.
  24. 80
    An addictive and enjoyable warfare simulation. While not entirely groundbreaking, Command & Conquer: Generals is one excellent game.
  25. The designers at EA Pacific were able to bring us the contemporarily relevant content of C&C: Generals, with the fluidity and immersion-level we always hope to expect... and all this without any of the pansy-assed 'political correction' that dominates these days.
  26. Although Command & Conquer: Generals has many points that has made the franchise so popular over the years, it has been “vanillafied” – it’s been molded to play and appear like every other real-time strategy (RTS) game out there.
  27. If Generals had shipped with a more compelling story and more skirmish/multiplayer options, I'd be calling it one of the greatest RTS games ever made. [May 2003, p.56]
  28. The interface problems, with the help of poor unit AI and netcode, are the key reasons for our frustration with Generals otherwise outstanding gameplay.
  29. It's a much slower-paced affair than most other recent RTS games like "WarCraft 3" and "Impossible Creatures," but the slower movement makes for a more strategic game.
  30. It's a big dumb completely over-the-top cartoon, the game equivalent of "Red Dawn." Shut off your brain and enjoy the explosive ride. [May 2003, p.70]
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 201 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36
  1. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    Whilst not the deepest, most hardcore RTS ever made, C&C Generals still sits on my hard drive ever since it was released around 10 years ago.Whilst not the deepest, most hardcore RTS ever made, C&C Generals still sits on my hard drive ever since it was released around 10 years ago. Why? Simple - it's just so much fun, and isn't that the whole point of gaming?

    When Westwood were bought by EA, and me being a longstanding fan of the C&C series from the days of the very first C&C, I thought the series was doomed. But I was so surprised to see what a great job EA had done with it and brought C&C forward into the 21st century. EA have moved the series forward whilst keeping the classic C&C formula. For example, you still have the classic rock-paper-scissors formula i.e. tanks kill tanks but are vulnerable to rocket men, who in turn are vulnerable to the basic infantry units. But the resource system is now much better. In the past, whoever owned all the tiberium / ore, etc won the game. Strategy would usually involve annihilating your opponents harvesters / ore trucks, etc and starve them of cash. With the introduction of buildings / units that can generate an infinite amount of resources, players can no longer adopt this strategy. This means that more emphasis is placed on combat rather than waiting for your harvester to deliver a load of tiberium so you can build a tank and a man!
    This may not be to everyone's taste, but I think it works well. Tank rushes are still possible, but the AI opponents can opt for this strategy too (and frequently do).

    I don't generally enjoy playing RTS games online against players, and so spend most of my time playing C&C against AI opponents with or without mates. I always feel that the difficulty of this game is about right for me - it's challenging without being ridiculously impossible on the easiest difficulty setting (take note CoH2!) . Perhaps I'm just hopeless at RTS games, but "hard" really means hard, and "easy" really means easy in C&C Generals.

    At time of release, the graphics were impressive but although now clearly dated, they aren't laughable. I expect this game is cheap to pick up now and any RTS fan should pick this game up. Judging by the number of positive reviews on here, as opposed to negative ones suggests that this game is a must.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    C&C Generals is in my opinion one of the best strategy games ever released. Unlike many other games that call themselves "strategy" games,C&C Generals is in my opinion one of the best strategy games ever released. Unlike many other games that call themselves "strategy" games, Generals really requires a good strategy to play well. It is very well balanced and very entertaining while it isn't as needlessly complex as many other strategy games are. Even though the game was release quite a few years before I write this review, I still consider it a must-buy for people who enjoy strategy games. Full Review »
  3. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    Boy, is this game fun! This is the only C&C game that I've ever played. I haven't played the others because the futuristic (Tiberium series)Boy, is this game fun! This is the only C&C game that I've ever played. I haven't played the others because the futuristic (Tiberium series) and the alternate history (Red Alert series) themes somehow don't excite me. This is the only game in the franchise that has the modern warfare theme. You play as either the USA, China or the antagonist, the GLA (Global Liberation Army). AI is very challenging and even frustrating, but frustrating enough that will make you come back. Have never played online, but you can play with bots in skirmish modes and that alone is fun, so imagine online play (which is still possible thanks to GameRanger). My only complaint is that sometimes your units don't defend themselves when attacked. Nevertheless, play this game. Right now, it's only available with the C&C Collection. And despite what I said about not liking the themes of Red Alert and Tiberium, I might give them a chance one day, if the gameplay is like Generals. Full Review »