Command & Conquer: Generals PC

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 240 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 240
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EdS.
    Feb 15, 2003
    5
    Graphics a good game does not make! The AI is weak. The view is not wide enough -- I was frustrated when AOM thought that it was more important to have fancy graphics over the display of a large area of the battlefield -- this game has even less of a view. I have to constantly scroll. Also the controls are not intuitive. Deselecting units is awkward (esc just brings up the game menu Graphics a good game does not make! The AI is weak. The view is not wide enough -- I was frustrated when AOM thought that it was more important to have fancy graphics over the display of a large area of the battlefield -- this game has even less of a view. I have to constantly scroll. Also the controls are not intuitive. Deselecting units is awkward (esc just brings up the game menu leaving units selected). I have to say that I have had some fun, but this is not up to the level of it's predecessors. Expand
  2. IzZO
    Apr 15, 2003
    7
    Fantastic game!! one of da most addictive games i've played!! thot da single missions waz too short( 7 levels each)thot US waz too powerful as well, but this game shines in mutliplaya,n its kinda easy compared to old c&c titles.but still this game rocks, its a must buy!
  3. Keenan715
    Mar 1, 2007
    7
    C&C Generals is a pretty good game. Three sides to the conflict, USA, GLA, and China. Basic strategy game controls (quite similar to C&C 1) make it easy to play. Buuuuut, it carries the C&C title,so where is GDI,NOD,the Aliies,the Soviets,Cabal,or Yuri? This game is a ripoff to Command and Conquer fans everywhere! This is not a true C&C game. An OK game but not a true C&C game. Strategy C&C Generals is a pretty good game. Three sides to the conflict, USA, GLA, and China. Basic strategy game controls (quite similar to C&C 1) make it easy to play. Buuuuut, it carries the C&C title,so where is GDI,NOD,the Aliies,the Soviets,Cabal,or Yuri? This game is a ripoff to Command and Conquer fans everywhere! This is not a true C&C game. An OK game but not a true C&C game. Strategy game fans, there are better games out there. True C&C fans, stay far away. Expand
  4. ThanhaDenSargoth
    Feb 12, 2003
    5
    Great graphics, but damn the Ai are so stupid! We're in the 21th century and developpers are unable to program AI that can reply to enemy fire when on standby! Come on, EA you've got enough money for that!
  5. Wetwebwork
    Apr 16, 2003
    7
    Graphically, this is probably as good as it gets (well, til next year), but you really do need a top end PC. If you're lacking in way, it's going to suffer. Loading times? Looong. Frame rate drops and pauses? Oh yeah. So you tend not reload and try again when you lose a level because it's just so much hassle. And that's a shame, because there are some sweet touches Graphically, this is probably as good as it gets (well, til next year), but you really do need a top end PC. If you're lacking in way, it's going to suffer. Loading times? Looong. Frame rate drops and pauses? Oh yeah. So you tend not reload and try again when you lose a level because it's just so much hassle. And that's a shame, because there are some sweet touches when it comes to the gameplay. And I agree with Ed S that the view is too small; and clicking the map can often jump your to somewhere *near* where you needed to be, but, fatally, not near enough. Recommended, though highly recommended at a fraction of the price in a couple of years on a good PC. Expand
  6. TerryL.
    Mar 29, 2003
    6
    Overall, its better than other RTS games..but..but...i think EA left out the SEA UNITS????? what are you thinking EA??
  7. Oct 13, 2011
    5
    This C&C game introduces something new with a new sidebar similar to the Starcraft and Warcraft series, better resolution and 3D graphics under SAGE. The lack of a good story, terrible buggy AI and unbalanced gameplay makes the game way off the mark.
  8. Mar 26, 2011
    5
    Monotonous, repetitive, boring: a shadow od a fantastic franchise. It completely lack originality, and often becomes a bit of a cliche. I did enjoy it for some time, but became bored surprisingly quickly.
  9. Jan 1, 2012
    6
    While this basicly is a decent game it becomes hurtfully obvious that EA is mismanaging the C&C franchise releasing such games. First of all this game has basicly nothing to do with C&C. It is just named this way for marketing purposes. And as second this game could have been outstanding if EA would have invested more in it. But they simply didnt. It got released with horrible bugs, aWhile this basicly is a decent game it becomes hurtfully obvious that EA is mismanaging the C&C franchise releasing such games. First of all this game has basicly nothing to do with C&C. It is just named this way for marketing purposes. And as second this game could have been outstanding if EA would have invested more in it. But they simply didnt. It got released with horrible bugs, a horrible cheating ai and plain retarded mistakes in campaigns scripts that simply should be impossible to happen. Like for example players starting base beeing set in the same corner of teh map where the ai is repeatedly launching its super weapons from so the player can not defend himself against the attacks. Expand
  10. Sep 3, 2012
    7
    For me, C&C Generals was succeeding a very well made RTS, Red Alert 2, even though its a different type of C&C title. Although I do not believe overall that Generals is a better game, it is still a decent game and fun to play. It also importantly includes 2 great features, Online Multiplayer and a map editor. Online is fun against other players, challenging, and usually the connection isFor me, C&C Generals was succeeding a very well made RTS, Red Alert 2, even though its a different type of C&C title. Although I do not believe overall that Generals is a better game, it is still a decent game and fun to play. It also importantly includes 2 great features, Online Multiplayer and a map editor. Online is fun against other players, challenging, and usually the connection is pretty solid. The map editor includes a lot of options, definitely worth checking out if you like making your own games. I do like how this game has a realistic aspect to it, the units and buildings are of a "modern genre" and makes for an interesting battle. There are some flaws though, at times the game is a bit "immature" and I think its missing some of the basic C&C feel. It is important creators of the series don't shy away from the fast-paced, intense combat of the past or the titles may suffer. I will admit right now that I am extremely excited for C&C Generals 2, I think it as the potential to become a superb RTS, please EA please! Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. netjak
    89
    The graphics and animations are the best I have yet to see in a RTS, and the in-game effects are powerful. Just get ready to laugh like a maniac at what the units say during the game.
  2. 100
    Generals has a rock-solid single-player game and the most addictive multiplayer skirmishes of the year... A gaming masterpiece.
  3. With amazing visuals and an arsenal that would make Saddam Hussein soil his prayer mat, C&C Generals is war at its flashiest.