Command & Conquer: Red Alert PC

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 237 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 237
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. XandervanDijk
    Feb 7, 2009
    10
    Best game ever!
  2. Jun 29, 2013
    9
    Mission Accomplished..The first English sentence I learned from video games..And also, this is the game that symbolize my childhood..No other games can take its place..
  3. [Anonymous]
    Jul 10, 2004
    10
    The first, and still one of the best real time strategy games i've ever played! It rocks!
  4. AndrewCarts
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    At its time, it was the best RTS out there. From the way the various units traded off (I will never forget that 5 infantry can take out a light tank without even one of them dying (as long as none are run over), and with 4, one of them will die before killing the tank), to the crisp sounds (the sound of the Tesla Coil charging up then zapping will always stay in my mind), and especiallyAt its time, it was the best RTS out there. From the way the various units traded off (I will never forget that 5 infantry can take out a light tank without even one of them dying (as long as none are run over), and with 4, one of them will die before killing the tank), to the crisp sounds (the sound of the Tesla Coil charging up then zapping will always stay in my mind), and especially the music (Hell March is one of my all time favorite tracks ever), it stands out. Expand
  5. MarkM.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    Probably the best game i've ever played, it was so addicting and the music was truly inspired.
  6. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    A real epic classic with two great tense and thrilling campaigns and an excellent story lines C&C Red Alert is the best RTS for both the PC and PS1 during the 90's
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    To be honest I preferred Red Alert to Command & Conquer. Better story, units are more fun and varied, and overall gameplay is just more entertaining.

    Overall:
    The Red Alert universe, in my opinion, is far more entertaining. It is more or less the same as Command & Conquer, just better.
  8. May 12, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  9. PietA.
    Sep 21, 2003
    10
    Good game dude!
  10. DoisK.
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    Red Alert is the defining game for RTS.
  11. JoeM.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    This was the best rts game of its time. It had amazing intro with the helicopter blowing up the tank. What really got me hooked i think was the vocies of all the different units. The Engineer for the Soviets has a classic voice that i still remember to this day. Also the units themselves were very well done and balanced. The Allies could stop the Soviet Tank Advance with mines and This was the best rts game of its time. It had amazing intro with the helicopter blowing up the tank. What really got me hooked i think was the vocies of all the different units. The Engineer for the Soviets has a classic voice that i still remember to this day. Also the units themselves were very well done and balanced. The Allies could stop the Soviet Tank Advance with mines and cruisers but the Soviets can use their subs and Air Force to blow up the ships and land on the beach with Air cover. The game is brillantly balanced and well polished. The cinimatics are great too. Nice gameplay and control. Expand
  12. ToeK.
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    This was the game that got me hooked on the rts genre. unfortunately, it was overshadowed by starcraft. but at it's time, freakin awesome.
  13. KR
    Jan 7, 2009
    10
    Much like Duke Nukem 3D was overshadowed by Quake, this game was overshadowed by Starcraft. But both Duke and Red Alert have far more personality and intrigue. Unlike the more recent RA's, this one actually takes itself seriously. The missions feel like they matter. The acting is decent, for computer game. Overall, though, you simply must love WW2 era atmosphere. I certainlyMuch like Duke Nukem 3D was overshadowed by Quake, this game was overshadowed by Starcraft. But both Duke and Red Alert have far more personality and intrigue. Unlike the more recent RA's, this one actually takes itself seriously. The missions feel like they matter. The acting is decent, for computer game. Overall, though, you simply must love WW2 era atmosphere. I certainly logged in my fair share of hours on this one. Thank you, Westwood. Expand
  14. bobbob
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    This is the best RTS I've ever played even after 10+ [years] I still play this.
  15. Aug 21, 2011
    8
    One of the better games from back in the day. Very interesting concept, and sometimes truly challenging to play. Definitely had a lot of fun playing it. Really enjoyed the cheesy intro videos for every chapter! Defs a great way to spend your time!
  16. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    Westwood's best RTS game and still the best C&C game to date. The music, sounds, characters and gameplay are all great hits to this awesome war game, but some unbalanced and AI issues remain.
  17. Nov 28, 2015
    9
    Real Time Strategy, son! Is no joke! This was not as revolutionary as many other titles of the same year, yet it took Command and Conquer to all new levels, with improvements in almost every area. And although i like both games, i prefer Red Alert to C&C. Tesla Coils, son! Whaaaaa!!! :D zzzzzAP!
  18. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    Managed to life up to its high expectations even if it played in a kind of different universe from C&C1.
    Singleplayer campaign, soundtrack and general gameplay were very good. Multiplayer not so much.
  19. Aug 6, 2012
    9
    This game took what was great about the first C&C and made it better. The gameplay is fairly similar, but it adds some new dimensions such as mines, naval units, and multiple super-weapons. I personally liked the addition of more air units--the original C&C had only 2 per side--which allow for quick responses to enemy action. I found the story and characters to be less compelling than theThis game took what was great about the first C&C and made it better. The gameplay is fairly similar, but it adds some new dimensions such as mines, naval units, and multiple super-weapons. I personally liked the addition of more air units--the original C&C had only 2 per side--which allow for quick responses to enemy action. I found the story and characters to be less compelling than the first C&C, but good nonetheless, and the alternate-history WWII makes for a cool alternate story in the C&C universe. Collapse
  20. Dec 18, 2015
    10
    A sequel to Command & Conquer which added many special units and reshuffled the factions balance. The missions were more varied, and the hilarious presentation of the war-crazy Stalin on Kane's place was much welcome. Since recently the game was made freeware (!), and you can download and play it for free, in multiplayer. There are always open games available, on average I spend 1-2A sequel to Command & Conquer which added many special units and reshuffled the factions balance. The missions were more varied, and the hilarious presentation of the war-crazy Stalin on Kane's place was much welcome. Since recently the game was made freeware (!), and you can download and play it for free, in multiplayer. There are always open games available, on average I spend 1-2 minutes waiting in the lobby. Fans have made sure that it works on any monitor size, and on my 1920x1080 monitor the huge overview of the battlefield is simply amazing. RA is somewhat unbalanced, with the Soviets appearing superior in almost all types of units (infantly, vehicles, airplanes, defense towers) to the Allies, at least for novice players. Just google for "Red Alert 1 Online" to grab a free version. Expand
  21. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    An absolute classic that I still play sometimes even today. This game improves upon Command and Conquer in almost every possible way. The campaign missions are great, the music is superb and the differences between the 2 sides is good enough to create a vastly experience based on the side you chose. The game's cut scenes are also great and the acting (especially of Stalin makes for a goodAn absolute classic that I still play sometimes even today. This game improves upon Command and Conquer in almost every possible way. The campaign missions are great, the music is superb and the differences between the 2 sides is good enough to create a vastly experience based on the side you chose. The game's cut scenes are also great and the acting (especially of Stalin makes for a good laugh. Even after all these years, there are still players to be found online for multiplayer matches courtesy of CNC Net. The game is also free to download now so if you haven't played it, downloading it is a must! Recommended! Expand
  22. Aug 6, 2012
    0
    This game took what was great about the first C&C and made it better. The gameplay is fairly similar, but it adds some new dimensions such as mines, naval units, and multiple super-weapons. I personally liked the addition of more air units--the original C&C had only 2 per side--which allow for quick responses to enemy action. I found the story and characters to be less compelling than theThis game took what was great about the first C&C and made it better. The gameplay is fairly similar, but it adds some new dimensions such as mines, naval units, and multiple super-weapons. I personally liked the addition of more air units--the original C&C had only 2 per side--which allow for quick responses to enemy action. I found the story and characters to be less compelling than the first C&C, but good nonetheless, and the alternate-history WWII makes for a cool alternate story in the C&C universe. Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Suffice it to say that if you like strategy, military tactics, or liked the original game, you will love Red Alert.
  2. While perhaps not upgrading the original Command & Conquer engine as much as some would have liked, its clean graphics, crackerjack music score and immersive sound effects all make for a game that's great fun to play...and that's what it's all about, isn't it?
  3. PC Gamer
    91
    Red Alert will be like by the legions of the faithful, and win new converts as well. [Dec 1996, p.238]