Command & Conquer: Renegade Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For the first time, experience the Command and Conquer universe up close and personal as you fight it out on the ground among the structures, vehicles and weapons made famous in the original C&C. You assume the role of Havoc, elite GDI commando who fights and explores from a first orFor the first time, experience the Command and Conquer universe up close and personal as you fight it out on the ground among the structures, vehicles and weapons made famous in the original C&C. You assume the role of Havoc, elite GDI commando who fights and explores from a first or third-person viewpoint. Battling through exotic indoor and outdoor environments, you're free to use both brute force and stealth in your mission objectives against the evil Brotherhood of Nod. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. One of the most original takes on a first person shooter to come along in quite a while. The game's clever blend of shooter and real time strategy almost warrant dubbing CCR a Real Time Shooter Strategy.
  2. 90
    Renegade has its assorted other problems, like Gump-level enemy A.I. and somewhat silly mechanics (destroying a building’s master terminal disables the entire building), but the sheer fun of blasting your way through Nod's defenses and just being a badass makes up for a lot.
  3. A mixed bag. You have fun, you have long boring, tedious moments, you have what could be a great multi play mode which is bogged down by laggy servers.
  4. Fix the physics on the engine, scale it for lower-end machines, tweak the netcode on the multiplayer side and overhaul the AI and Renegade is the game that every C&C fan wants it to be. It's a good game, just not a great one.
  5. 74
    I guess I wanted something a lot less scripted and a lot less cramped from the single player game...As it is, it's a lot like running through a hall until you get to a building, clearing the building and then running through a hallway until you get to the next building.
  6. If the C&C faithful really build up a strong multi-player community, this game could be a must-buy in a month or two. [May 2002, p.73]
  7. The AI is about...wait...did I just call it artificial intelligence?! What I meant to say was artificial silliness just cracked me up on a couple of occasions, as I've witnessed NOD soldiers walk towards me with their backs turned, while I just kept filling their butts full of chain gun lead.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. AlexS.
    Sep 20, 2006
    10
    This game made me realize the greatness of Command & Conquer AND the FPS genre. I love the game so much and I can't wait for a Renegade 2!
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Absolutely, mindblowingly amazing.
    People generally complain about bugs. there aren't any bugs which make the game in any way unplayable, so
    Absolutely, mindblowingly amazing.
    People generally complain about bugs. there aren't any bugs which make the game in any way unplayable, so they are fine.
    Single player? The AI is absolutely stupid, i admit. But this game's single player is probably one of my most enjoyable single player experiences. It deserves a lot more praise than the call of duty campaigns in the least.
    Multiplayer? Sheer epicness. It's like you're playing out an rts game from an fps perspective, and you can be any unit you want amongst the usual 30+ people in the servers. It requires a lot of teamwork, and the satisfaction you get when you finally blow up the enemy base is exhilarating.
    I wish there had been a renegade 2! was really looking forward to it!
    Also, the multiplayer community if still very active, for anyone who's wondering :)
    Expand
  3. T.TBA
    May 21, 2006
    10
    Although the single-player missions suck, with ridiculously stuipid AI bots, the multiplayer is really fun. You can try to win for your team, Although the single-player missions suck, with ridiculously stuipid AI bots, the multiplayer is really fun. You can try to win for your team, drive around in a tank, snipe, defend your base, etc. This variety of gameplay makes this game the best I have played. Buy it for the multiplayer. Expand
  4. MarkH.
    Mar 1, 2002
    9
    I don't like this game that much, but the packaging appeals to younger and older, so the package is right now sitting on my mantel-piece.
  5. Kev
    Mar 20, 2004
    9
    Great multiplayer ... its such a shame it never really got off the ground. I found there was no real strong multyplayer community, for Great multiplayer ... its such a shame it never really got off the ground. I found there was no real strong multyplayer community, for example, no one used the chat rooms, the 40-people-servers were the chat rooms, which dissapointed me. Game servers like game spy arcade and msn gaming zone force a chat room habitat before any games can be played, which built up strong multyplayer community which in turn created clans...and there weren't enough clans in this game either. Expand
  6. Scott
    Apr 13, 2003
    9
    For a C&C fan like myself this game is brilliant. You get to play a RTS from a FPS perspective! Of course I am talking about the multiplayer For a C&C fan like myself this game is brilliant. You get to play a RTS from a FPS perspective! Of course I am talking about the multiplayer piece. Single player was cool but the multi play is just great. Lot's of strategy and teamwork is critical unless you are playing with a bunch of noobs. Only thing I can say bad about it is laggy game play. I have broadband and all my other multiplayer games rarely lag. Other than that this is my favorite multiplayer game ever. Expand
  7. RiddlerX
    Jul 2, 2002
    0
    Sucks Sucks Sucks, and what a rip off, an idea taken from Battlezone 2, wich is far better, here u can build structures, command your troops, Sucks Sucks Sucks, and what a rip off, an idea taken from Battlezone 2, wich is far better, here u can build structures, command your troops, etc etc. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews