• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5958 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is 1941 and the beginning of what will become the most brutal conflict of World War II, as Germany launches a full-scale invasion of the frozen tundra of the Soviet Union which would result in over 14 million military casualties. Take command of the iconic Soviet Red Army in brutalIt is 1941 and the beginning of what will become the most brutal conflict of World War II, as Germany launches a full-scale invasion of the frozen tundra of the Soviet Union which would result in over 14 million military casualties. Take command of the iconic Soviet Red Army in brutal frontline warfare to free Mother Russia from the invading Nazis. Your strategic skills and tactical expertise hold the power to tip the very balance of this conflict in the sequel to the critically acclaimed and multi award-winning Company of Heroes. Engage in visceral tactical combat that will define you as a military leader and challenge you to wield the might of the Soviet Empire as you smash your way to Berlin. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 82
  2. Negative: 2 out of 82
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    100
    [A] shining example of what an RTS game should be: a mix of classic mechanics with new features and technology.
  2. Jun 21, 2013
    90
    He who does not sweat through at least a T-shirt in an online game of Company of Heroes 2 has already lost or has a downright frosty soul.
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    Company of Heroes 2 is curiously forgettable as single player, even though cliched horrors of war and overdose of fake accents try their best. As a multiplayer it shines, although beginners usually think otherwise. [Aug 2013]
  4. Jun 21, 2013
    80
    It’s a beautiful, gritty and spectacular strategy game, and while it doesn’t do much particularly new, it doesn’t have to.
  5. 80
    Band of Brothers of the Eastern Front. An atmospheric, intensive and exciting game proving a real-time strategy is not a dead genre. [Issue#231]
  6. Jun 26, 2013
    80
    But despite some minor misfires, the core gameplay is stronger than ever, and while it may not break the kind of new ground the original did, Company of Heroes 2 is still a terrific RTS with a ton of content that no fan of the genre should miss.
  7. Jun 24, 2013
    20
    Company of Heroes 2 might be the steepest tumble from game design genius to crassly missing the point that I’ve ever seen.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    At long last, after so many months, THQ bankruptcy, and many hard moments for CoH community, this game is finally here. Its hard to believe,At long last, after so many months, THQ bankruptcy, and many hard moments for CoH community, this game is finally here. Its hard to believe, really. Game is above any of my expectations, regarding hard THQ times and limited budget. I dont know whats the point writing a review about the game which everyone had a chance to try on Steam these past weeks. As a result CoH2 is top seller on Steam atm. Because it sucks? I dont think so. This is not the game where it was insanelly overhiped (cough Bioshock Infinite cough), and you bought it blindly, and later complaining to fall on critic scores. CoH2 had Open Beta, and whoever wanted it he got it.
    Troll den, such as Metacritic, will be a heaven for those, hardly that insanity from Steam forums wont spill here:
    "OMG, this game is just an expansion, CoH 1.5 at its best, rip-ooooooff"
    "OMG, this game is nothing like CoH, its completelly different"
    "They are showing us (Russians) as monsters"
    "They are using commies to show them like heroes, and theres no Americans in this game, boo-hoo"
    "Russians are completelly OP"
    "Germans are OP"
    "You can buy skins like DLC, this is pay 2 win gameeeeeeee"
    Not to mention StarCraft 2, Men of War, and World in Conflict trolls stalking forums and You Tube comment sections. Some of them are submited their reviews already. Great visuals (vehicles are more detailed than in most other genre games), Great voiceover, just like Im used from Relic, and epic soundtrack. This game isnt perfect, I would give it 9, but Im forced to give it 10 because of these reasons.
    Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    I have no idea why many despise this game so much. Aside for the anti-Russian propaganda, this game is an unbelievable game. Yes I disagreeI have no idea why many despise this game so much. Aside for the anti-Russian propaganda, this game is an unbelievable game. Yes I disagree with some aspects of the game, such as day 1 DLC, but still, the game itself is pristine. All the 0 ratings either don't like the game because it doesn't run well on their computer, they don't like the UI, or it's anti-Russian. I can understand the Russian prejudice towards this game, but to everyone else: grow up. Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2013
    3
    Played this for around 8 days now and purchased it off Steam the other day so paid full price because I thought it would be worth it. I wasPlayed this for around 8 days now and purchased it off Steam the other day so paid full price because I thought it would be worth it. I was extremely sad to realise the lack of effort and innovation they have put into this game. I thought after all this time they could have made it a lot better and all it is pretty much is COH 1 remastered with newer textures and graphics. Complete waste of money, absolute joke. Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2015
    0
    Also awfulAlso awful multiplayer........................................................................................................................................ Expand
  5. com
    Jul 28, 2013
    0
    It's a pity Relic has released the unplayable piece of crap. What's worse, even if it were not so disastrous in almost every area, it wouldIt's a pity Relic has released the unplayable piece of crap. What's worse, even if it were not so disastrous in almost every area, it would be still a crap because of the base idea of evil Russians fighting not-so-evil (or not evil at all) Nazis. Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2013
    0
    You know, I'm fine with Red Alert. It's a satire. I'm fine with all those FPS, when you shoot "those crazy russian terrorists". It's aYou know, I'm fine with Red Alert. It's a satire. I'm fine with all those FPS, when you shoot "those crazy russian terrorists". It's a fantasy. But don't you dare to touch with your filthy hands real historic events, double-tongued bastards! Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2013
    0
    The story is nothing but a slander against Soviet people and the Red Army. Too offensive for anything else to matter. It should become aThe story is nothing but a slander against Soviet people and the Red Army. Too offensive for anything else to matter. It should become a commercial failure so that such vile idiotism is not rewarded Expand

See all 1939 User Reviews