• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.9

Overwhelming dislike- based on 5802 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is 1941 and the beginning of what will become the most brutal conflict of World War II, as Germany launches a full-scale invasion of the frozen tundra of the Soviet Union which would result in over 14 million military casualties. Take command of the iconic Soviet Red Army in brutal frontline warfare to free Mother Russia from the invading Nazis. Your strategic skills and tactical expertise hold the power to tip the very balance of this conflict in the sequel to the critically acclaimed and multi award-winning Company of Heroes. Engage in visceral tactical combat that will define you as a military leader and challenge you to wield the might of the Soviet Empire as you smash your way to Berlin. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 82
  2. Negative: 2 out of 82
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    100
    [A] shining example of what an RTS game should be: a mix of classic mechanics with new features and technology.
  2. Jun 21, 2013
    90
    He who does not sweat through at least a T-shirt in an online game of Company of Heroes 2 has already lost or has a downright frosty soul.
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    Company of Heroes 2 is curiously forgettable as single player, even though cliched horrors of war and overdose of fake accents try their best. As a multiplayer it shines, although beginners usually think otherwise. [Aug 2013]
  4. Jun 21, 2013
    80
    It’s a beautiful, gritty and spectacular strategy game, and while it doesn’t do much particularly new, it doesn’t have to.
  5. 80
    Band of Brothers of the Eastern Front. An atmospheric, intensive and exciting game proving a real-time strategy is not a dead genre. [Issue#231]
  6. Jun 26, 2013
    80
    But despite some minor misfires, the core gameplay is stronger than ever, and while it may not break the kind of new ground the original did, Company of Heroes 2 is still a terrific RTS with a ton of content that no fan of the genre should miss.
  7. Jun 24, 2013
    20
    Company of Heroes 2 might be the steepest tumble from game design genius to crassly missing the point that I’ve ever seen.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    At long last, after so many months, THQ bankruptcy, and many hard moments for CoH community, this game is finally here. Its hard to believe, really. Game is above any of my expectations, regarding hard THQ times and limited budget. I dont know whats the point writing a review about the game which everyone had a chance to try on Steam these past weeks. As a result CoH2 is top seller on Steam atm. Because it sucks? I dont think so. This is not the game where it was insanelly overhiped (cough Bioshock Infinite cough), and you bought it blindly, and later complaining to fall on critic scores. CoH2 had Open Beta, and whoever wanted it he got it.
    Troll den, such as Metacritic, will be a heaven for those, hardly that insanity from Steam forums wont spill here:
    "OMG, this game is just an expansion, CoH 1.5 at its best, rip-ooooooff"
    "OMG, this game is nothing like CoH, its completelly different"
    "They are showing us (Russians) as monsters"
    "They are using commies to show them like heroes, and theres no Americans in this game, boo-hoo"
    "Russians are completelly OP"
    "Germans are OP"
    "You can buy skins like DLC, this is pay 2 win gameeeeeeee"
    Not to mention StarCraft 2, Men of War, and World in Conflict trolls stalking forums and You Tube comment sections. Some of them are submited their reviews already. Great visuals (vehicles are more detailed than in most other genre games), Great voiceover, just like Im used from Relic, and epic soundtrack. This game isnt perfect, I would give it 9, but Im forced to give it 10 because of these reasons.
    Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    i loved the first one, and i also love this one. Its different, i think it lost some of its pacing etc. but its still so much fun to play :)

    espacially in Multiplayer its total awesome... the campaing, thats a different story
    Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    2
    The AI was appalling, the commands were so sluggish I often found troops running in the wrong direction, the campaign was... stupid, frankly, I honestly found it difficult to come up with a good point about the game. Graphics and audio are acceptable (if somewhat basic), so I guess that gives it something. Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2014
    0
    This game is a DO NOT BUY. Shallow content. CoH1 was far superior. Few maps, few units. Its as if they took our beloved original and consolized it. Performs poorly, maps are very uninspired and boring. Like city maps, sorry. This is a cash grab game and people that really know the first one will be sickened by this attempt.

    I knew it was beyond suspect playing through the beta and not enjoying it. They simply took the old game and swiss cheesed it, removed sweet features and content. The only positive thing I can mention is the variable weather but even that leaves a bit to be desired. Its more like snow blizzards that come in cycles.

    Beware of fake reviews. After reading most of the reviews, most of the highly rated ones are blatantly bogus.
    Expand
  5. Jul 28, 2013
    0
    This is the worst game ever made. It's dumb, deceitful and awful gameplay.
    One would like to play this game if only he wants to know what
    nazi and joseph goebbels talked about WW2. But I doubt there is such a person Expand
  6. Jul 24, 2013
    0
    Horrible and poor script, designed for mindless ignorants. Historical events just turned upside down. Playing this game is impossible by ethical reasons. I hope the world has enough smart people who will not perceive the events described in this game seriously. I hope this is the last script of this writer. Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    0
    Playing a complete distortion of the history of World voyny.Sozdateli games are direct descendants of Nazis who fled to Canada! Gebels apladiruet in his grave! Expand

See all 1904 User Reviews