Company of Heroes: Opposing Fronts PC

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Sep 24, 2007
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 231 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 231
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    This is quite an old game but maybe somebody will still decide to buy it know. This is THE best RTS game ever. The single player is very good but multiplayer is grand. The newer games like warhammer series may have a more detailed graphics but they fill to me more like an childish arcade game. In CoH you have by far more tactila options, there is a greater variety of different troops. IThis is quite an old game but maybe somebody will still decide to buy it know. This is THE best RTS game ever. The single player is very good but multiplayer is grand. The newer games like warhammer series may have a more detailed graphics but they fill to me more like an childish arcade game. In CoH you have by far more tactila options, there is a greater variety of different troops. I really hope that we will see a new addition to this franchise. Expand
  2. Phil
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    I've been playing company of heroes since day one and by far this is an amazing addition. Who ever says the match making system is bad and its just a zerg RTS does not know how to play the game and is horrible. Like others say, I believe this game tops some of the most popular RTS's out there and the multiplayer is very addicting and competitive. Yes the match making system can I've been playing company of heroes since day one and by far this is an amazing addition. Who ever says the match making system is bad and its just a zerg RTS does not know how to play the game and is horrible. Like others say, I believe this game tops some of the most popular RTS's out there and the multiplayer is very addicting and competitive. Yes the match making system can be scewed at times, but only at midnight to 8 AM where no one plays. Again, who ever says this game is bad is just bad at the game. Graphics and physics are enjoyable and very little bugs. I would never take the time to write this crappy review for any other game but this one. Expand
  3. JASONCROOK
    Sep 2, 2007
    10
    well if this update is as good as the main game,then all i can say s uhhh thank you,i found the main game,great and the graphics ect where out of this would also the talking or shouting you get,language i find great.but only downfall about the hole game is that there are no updates to play maps on it or even upload new skirmich maps,the campaign is also short lived there could be more.well if this update is as good as the main game,then all i can say s uhhh thank you,i found the main game,great and the graphics ect where out of this would also the talking or shouting you get,language i find great.but only downfall about the hole game is that there are no updates to play maps on it or even upload new skirmich maps,the campaign is also short lived there could be more. other wise i realy am happy that i decided to get this game.

    i think the puplicher of this game should make it easer to get updates and new maps ect ect....but thank you
    Expand
  4. MisterYoon1
    Aug 4, 2009
    10
    I assure that the game and the skills of Relic is the best, but its management is still one of the worst ever. The prove is, as you can see, Relic made the orst failure with Company Of Heroes, which could be one of the best and one of the most successful game. And it's all because of suck management, ignorance of player's suggestion(example: still no observer system), and suck I assure that the game and the skills of Relic is the best, but its management is still one of the worst ever. The prove is, as you can see, Relic made the orst failure with Company Of Heroes, which could be one of the best and one of the most successful game. And it's all because of suck management, ignorance of player's suggestion(example: still no observer system), and suck patches. But the game is still the best, so there is still lots of players(of course, far less than the expectation) and still have lots of possibility. I hope that relic to keep tracking this game and make it better Expand
  5. JanR.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Excellent in all aspects: Good learning curve Good pace Good graphics Ballanced Nice "physics" effects (recoil, item/building destruction, shell deflection) Good AI Nice online matching system Flaws: Not enough multiplay maps (subjective feeling) Czech version patch makes problems sometimes Not very stable at 4+ players + AI (as of 2007-09, may be patched soon enough) Recommend to all RTS Excellent in all aspects: Good learning curve Good pace Good graphics Ballanced Nice "physics" effects (recoil, item/building destruction, shell deflection) Good AI Nice online matching system Flaws: Not enough multiplay maps (subjective feeling) Czech version patch makes problems sometimes Not very stable at 4+ players + AI (as of 2007-09, may be patched soon enough) Recommend to all RTS fans out there, definitely worth a buy! ;) Expand
  6. FrankG.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    This is already above and beyond what anyone should expect for an expansion. The fact that it is also a stand alone and can be played without the original is a nice bonus as anyone interested in picking up the awesome Company of Heroes game can be informed and choose what factions they'd prefer (if for some reason they don't want both...)
  7. R.H.
    Oct 2, 2007
    9
    A worthy sequel to the original. The British appeal more to the turtle defensive players and the Panzer Elite appeal more towards the offensive players, which brings many different combinations that you can do with the older American and Wehrmacht factions. The game does have some bugs and balance issues but Relic is going to be working hard to fix them. THQ forced Relic to release the A worthy sequel to the original. The British appeal more to the turtle defensive players and the Panzer Elite appeal more towards the offensive players, which brings many different combinations that you can do with the older American and Wehrmacht factions. The game does have some bugs and balance issues but Relic is going to be working hard to fix them. THQ forced Relic to release the game two months early so it's not there fault at all. If I had to think of one thing that would make me buy this game again it would be the German campaign on Operation Market Garden. It's very cool that you can FINALLY see the war in the German's point of view. It gets very old and boring playing the allies all the time. Don Expand
  8. P.F.
    Oct 5, 2007
    8
    I have been playing only SP for now, and i love the new sides. They are quite different from the first opus ones. The brits (love the voices) with the lieuts, captain and tank commander giving the att/def bonus, plus the command point costly but efficient defense, and the Panzer Elite wich I really like becasue I am an infanry fanboi. Panzer Elites have some good heavy armors too, but if I have been playing only SP for now, and i love the new sides. They are quite different from the first opus ones. The brits (love the voices) with the lieuts, captain and tank commander giving the att/def bonus, plus the command point costly but efficient defense, and the Panzer Elite wich I really like becasue I am an infanry fanboi. Panzer Elites have some good heavy armors too, but if you like Blitzkrieg tactics, these are for you. Soldiers can repair and Halftrack can regarnison squads. On the other side, I got some crash (hate to play an hour without saving and to redo everything), and some missions are not THAT good. Expand
  9. Raoul
    Oct 10, 2007
    8
    Very good multiplayer, took me a long time to work a strategy from the new battle groups, with their strengths and weaknesses. Single player is deff not as intense as the first coh, yet the ai is slightly smarter. great game, that took a little getting my arse kicked to work out the kinks, and fully enjoy.
  10. RonaldE.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best, if not the best, RTS's to date and needs to be put in a hallof fame somewhere.
  11. ThomasH.
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    Great addition to CoH. Game updates provided by developer seem to be problematic though. The latest patch refuses to install.
  12. KenL.
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    As a fan of Dawn of War, my anticipations for Company of Heroes was to say the least sky high. And when that game hit the market I bought, played it through, and have been playing it on the net ever since. Opposing Fronts was an exspansion I was looking forward to. New units, new maps etc etc is all fine, but it was the small tweaks to the original game that I really liked. Smarter tank As a fan of Dawn of War, my anticipations for Company of Heroes was to say the least sky high. And when that game hit the market I bought, played it through, and have been playing it on the net ever since. Opposing Fronts was an exspansion I was looking forward to. New units, new maps etc etc is all fine, but it was the small tweaks to the original game that I really liked. Smarter tank Ai for instance is a real kicker :P The graphics and gameplay is exceptional, probably the best off all the rts out there. Opposing Fronts is worth your money! Buy it! Expand
  13. GrantG.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    The addition of two new armies make the company of heroes experience just that much better.
  14. AndreasD.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    OF is quite sweet. Now with 4 armies which makes online play very exciting when playing 2 VS 2 or more.
  15. BillyE.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    A worthy sequel, improved vehicle AI makes it much easier to manage. One problem is that the missions reuse maps. I would love to see more variety but its only a minor problem. Imbalance issues are present. In my own personal experience, the Artillery range for the British vehicles is way too far. When your American, and your weak vehicles are charging, it is frustrating to see them all A worthy sequel, improved vehicle AI makes it much easier to manage. One problem is that the missions reuse maps. I would love to see more variety but its only a minor problem. Imbalance issues are present. In my own personal experience, the Artillery range for the British vehicles is way too far. When your American, and your weak vehicles are charging, it is frustrating to see them all blow up in a firestorm of artillery. Expand
  16. AndersL.
    Nov 6, 2007
    9
    I thing the documentation is not good. It would be better with more info about all tasks for every mission. Now you have to find out yourself what type of defenses to implement.
  17. TokeN.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. Best game I ever played. Been playing every day for 6 months and counting.
  18. MichaelM.
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    Rocks, is better than World In Conflict.
  19. SaschaP.
    Dec 27, 2007
    9
    Not perfect, but the best RTS I've seen so far.
  20. DariasK.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    This is the most diverse, well balanced, and fulfilling RTS I've seen in years. Endless complexity is possible for knife-edge gameplay, yet a basic game is deeply fulfilling. The Tactical depth available is complimented perfectly with cutting edge graphics, and an immersive soundscape.
  21. NigelP.
    Apr 19, 2008
    10
    The best RTS I have played, I official got back into COH in August when the Expansion was released. This is better than starcraft, warcraft III, World in Conflict, and any other RTS I can think of. Unlike some people such as Matthew C. you have to buy the game to enjoy it. The fun comes from the multiplayer, its highly addicting. Best RTS graphics, Best Squad AI I have ever seen, the The best RTS I have played, I official got back into COH in August when the Expansion was released. This is better than starcraft, warcraft III, World in Conflict, and any other RTS I can think of. Unlike some people such as Matthew C. you have to buy the game to enjoy it. The fun comes from the multiplayer, its highly addicting. Best RTS graphics, Best Squad AI I have ever seen, the voice over is amazing. This is the only RTS that surpasses blizzard entertainment. I switched to this game from BF2 to this. Their are so many roles to use in this game. Expand
  22. SaloM
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Best RTS ever... Let's get this straight, I hate RTS... First I played Age of Empires 2, which was great, but I hated to recollect all those resources to just get stomped by the enemy... Then it was Starcraft, which at first I liked it so much, specially of the reduced resources... but still I was getting stomped by the enemy... Then there was Warcraft III... more of the same, now Best RTS ever... Let's get this straight, I hate RTS... First I played Age of Empires 2, which was great, but I hated to recollect all those resources to just get stomped by the enemy... Then it was Starcraft, which at first I liked it so much, specially of the reduced resources... but still I was getting stomped by the enemy... Then there was Warcraft III... more of the same, now stomped by huge walking trees or by huge ugly three armed brutes... I lost all hope on the RTS on general... Introducing COH... the best RTS hands down... Why?, because you don't need to recollect the resources, still you need to administrate them wisely, but the resources come straight to your wallet, then the graphics and sounds are simply breathtaking, then there's the points to capture, the amazing multiplayer that stomps and burns Battle.NET in comparison... I could go on and on, for example, the destructible environments (it seriously means DESTRUCTIBLE in all possible means), the perfectly balanced armies, the paratroopers simply kicks ass, the air strikes... there's so many things and so little time to enjoy this game... Simply put it this way, If you love RTS, this one is a no brainer (Opposing Fronts and/or original Company of Heroes) and if you, like me, hate most RTS or never played one, buy it... belive me, you'll never regret it. Expand
  23. LukasS
    Jan 16, 2009
    10
    Simply the best RTS game out there. Have read the other coments of the game and I don't understand why some people give it a 0 just because they dont thing it realistic that paratroopers can drop in 5 sec (instead of planing the drop one week ahead)etc etc. Someone even thought it was a first person shooter and bought the game: rating there for "1".......what?
  24. JackL
    Mar 14, 2009
    8
    By far the best RTS. Relic have nailed the idea of making the whole genre more actiony. They did it with Warhammer but that stuck more to a particular audience and the slight cartoonish graphics put many off. Now in company of heroes it has polished graphics and a subject to suit a wider audience. WW2 although seems quite an over used subject for gaming, has never been as explored as this By far the best RTS. Relic have nailed the idea of making the whole genre more actiony. They did it with Warhammer but that stuck more to a particular audience and the slight cartoonish graphics put many off. Now in company of heroes it has polished graphics and a subject to suit a wider audience. WW2 although seems quite an over used subject for gaming, has never been as explored as this in an RTS form. The reason for giving it an 8 is because the new expansion was a marketing scheme all along. If you want to survive in multiplayer you must get this game otherwise your whermacht will be screwed by British artillery that can fire at your base from the other end of the map (crazy I know). Other than that it is still a good expansion. The upcoming expansion Tales of Valor's Direct fire will be a fun little addition to the game. Check it out Expand
  25. georgej
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    This is the ONLY PC game I played for more than a year!! enough said.
  26. DenizTaskin
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    I really like this game, because of the graphics and the gameplay. It´s my number one RTS game. It´s really realistic with all of it. And the effects in it is soo great.
  27. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Definitely one of my favorite RTS games.
    The Company of Heroes series offers many great campaigns to enjoy, different factions and a true to history feeling.
    The Squad-based strategies are easy to get into yet are challenging to use correctly. Upgrading and equipping your troops with specialised weapons is an essential part of the game, and the balance is nicely achieved; you can counter
    Definitely one of my favorite RTS games.
    The Company of Heroes series offers many great campaigns to enjoy, different factions and a true to history feeling.
    The Squad-based strategies are easy to get into yet are challenging to use correctly.
    Upgrading and equipping your troops with specialised weapons is an essential part of the game, and the balance is nicely achieved; you can counter the biggest tank rushes if you use the right units, use cover or hide in buildings.

    Great franchise, amazing value!
    Expand
  28. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    One of the best expansion packs ever and more missions to play back with another story to tell. This is where some of the best modification add-ons come to life with this expansion.
  29. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    Great game....many hours spent with my friends. To be honest this game has paid for itself over and over with the time played. If you are a FPS type of person only, then dont bother, but if you like RTS games even a little bit then you will love this game. Lots of custom maps made by the public is a plus. Check out the D-Day Co-Op map...WOW....
  30. Des
    Jan 24, 2012
    10
    The best RTS there is in my opinion. Best played with friends against each other or with friends against the AI. The animations are not really necessary in this type of a game, but bring in lots to the overall experience. This game is pretty pretty pretty.

    Old game yes, but very much worth a try.
  31. May 21, 2012
    9
    This game adds my favorite faction the British 3rd Company and 2 more campaigns. A Britsh Campaign featuring the liberation of Caen, the British Airborne and Canadian volunteers. The second campaign features the Panzer Lehr holding back Operation Market Garden. Both the campaigns have excellent plots, great characters and emotional depth. The new factions add more tactical depth to theThis game adds my favorite faction the British 3rd Company and 2 more campaigns. A Britsh Campaign featuring the liberation of Caen, the British Airborne and Canadian volunteers. The second campaign features the Panzer Lehr holding back Operation Market Garden. Both the campaigns have excellent plots, great characters and emotional depth. The new factions add more tactical depth to the game. The new Factions make Multiplayer a much more varied experience as you struggle to hold off the versatality of the British with their mobile bases and the Panzer Elite with their interesting style of Armour warfare. The campaign alone is a good 8 hours of gameplay and multiplayer adds dozens more. Expand
  32. Nov 12, 2012
    8
    I love this game!, the reasons that I do not give a 10 is because they are very few factions and in multiplayer of classic or skirmish you can't play as a fictitious faction with the units of the American vs. Americans, or Germans vs. German. And with the original game, together I'll give them a 9.
  33. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    An excellent expansion to an already great game. This expansion made the original Company of Heroes so much better. Much more depth and more intensity to the game play online. Very well made. 10/10
  34. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Epic expansion to the best RTS of ALL TIME! What are you waiting for.. BUY your cd key, plug it into steam, and start enjoying yourself. See you on the front lines!
  35. Sep 12, 2014
    8
    Completely awesome and as good or better than the first. Adding the brits my fav class adds a whole new gameplay, camping never was so much fun with awesome artillery and garbage tanks these guys know how to stay away from combat and blow #$%^ up.
    Campaign switches up gameplay mildly still fun and worth the time.

    Worth $50
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. With its generous two new campaigns and refined online capabilities, there’ll certainly be no argument from us that it’s nothing less than an essential purchase.
  2. Doesn’t do anything terribly interesting outside of adding two new factions (a defensive British division and a highly mobile German counterpart). The added campaigns are very average, but will no doubt be entertaining enough to satisfy the needs of offline-focused players. By all means, grab Opposing Fronts if you simply need more CoH – just don’t expect anything particularly revolutionary here.
  3. Sure, games such as "Supreme Commander" push the science-fiction RTS genre in cool new directions, but the World War II RTS genre has yet to learn the lessons of Company of Heroes. With Opposing Fronts, THQ and Relic keep a great thing going.