Company of Heroes: Opposing Fronts PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Company of Heroes: Opposing Fronts Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 235 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Company of Heroes: Opposing Fronts, the next chapter in the real-time strategy franchise from Relic Entertainment is powered by an upgraded version of Relic's proprietary Essence Engine with full Microsoft DirectX 10 support. Opposing Fronts features two unique armies with full lengthCompany of Heroes: Opposing Fronts, the next chapter in the real-time strategy franchise from Relic Entertainment is powered by an upgraded version of Relic's proprietary Essence Engine with full Microsoft DirectX 10 support. Opposing Fronts features two unique armies with full length campaigns. Players can fight as the tenacious British 2nd Army during the heroic World War II liberation of Caen, France, or command the German Panzer Elite as they struggle to repel the might of Operation Market Garden, the largest airborne invasion in history. Players can battle online in exciting new multiplayer modes with these two all-new armies and utilize full compatibility with the original Company of Heroes for a total of four playable armies. [THQ] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. PC Gamer
    96
    I cannot recommend the Company of Heroes series enough, and if you haven't tried it yet, Opposing Fronts is a perfect opportunity to join up for a tour. [Holiday 2007, p.86]
  2. Company of Heroes was definitely a brilliant title, and Opposing Fronts does well in adding to it.
  3. 90
    Few expansion packs come loaded with as many new features as Relic has seen fit to put in - two entirely new sides, an equal number of expansive campaigns, and enough potential multiplayer action to keep any player occupied for months.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    88
    Excellent expansion for an excellent game. Panzer Elite was a little disappointing due to politically correct whining and ze germenglish. [Nov 2007]
  5. In terms of tactics, the possibilities are almost endless.
  6. When it comes down to it, Opposing Fronts delivers much of what the original did just remixed. The pair of lengthy single player campaigns and full multiplayer options makes it as valuable as the first game. Slight balance issues comes with the addition of the British and Panzer Elite factions, although it comes with the benefit of having access to two inventive new strategic styles.
  7. On its own merits, Opposing Fronts is a worthy expansion to Company of Heroes. DirectX 10 shenanigans and a surprising lack of finish make the whole package less than we were promised, and had the right to expect.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 47
  2. Negative: 7 out of 47
  1. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    This is quite an old game but maybe somebody will still decide to buy it know. This is THE best RTS game ever. The single player is very goodThis is quite an old game but maybe somebody will still decide to buy it know. This is THE best RTS game ever. The single player is very good but multiplayer is grand. The newer games like warhammer series may have a more detailed graphics but they fill to me more like an childish arcade game. In CoH you have by far more tactila options, there is a greater variety of different troops. I really hope that we will see a new addition to this franchise. Expand
  2. LukasS
    Jan 16, 2009
    10
    Simply the best RTS game out there. Have read the other coments of the game and I don't understand why some people give it a 0 just Simply the best RTS game out there. Have read the other coments of the game and I don't understand why some people give it a 0 just because they dont thing it realistic that paratroopers can drop in 5 sec (instead of planing the drop one week ahead)etc etc. Someone even thought it was a first person shooter and bought the game: rating there for "1".......what? Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    One of the best expansion packs ever and more missions to play back with another story to tell. This is where some of the best modificationOne of the best expansion packs ever and more missions to play back with another story to tell. This is where some of the best modification add-ons come to life with this expansion. Expand
  4. KenL.
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    As a fan of Dawn of War, my anticipations for Company of Heroes was to say the least sky high. And when that game hit the market I bought, As a fan of Dawn of War, my anticipations for Company of Heroes was to say the least sky high. And when that game hit the market I bought, played it through, and have been playing it on the net ever since. Opposing Fronts was an exspansion I was looking forward to. New units, new maps etc etc is all fine, but it was the small tweaks to the original game that I really liked. Smarter tank Ai for instance is a real kicker :P The graphics and gameplay is exceptional, probably the best off all the rts out there. Opposing Fronts is worth your money! Buy it! Expand
  5. May 21, 2012
    9
    This game adds my favorite faction the British 3rd Company and 2 more campaigns. A Britsh Campaign featuring the liberation of Caen, theThis game adds my favorite faction the British 3rd Company and 2 more campaigns. A Britsh Campaign featuring the liberation of Caen, the British Airborne and Canadian volunteers. The second campaign features the Panzer Lehr holding back Operation Market Garden. Both the campaigns have excellent plots, great characters and emotional depth. The new factions add more tactical depth to the game. The new Factions make Multiplayer a much more varied experience as you struggle to hold off the versatality of the British with their mobile bases and the Panzer Elite with their interesting style of Armour warfare. The campaign alone is a good 8 hours of gameplay and multiplayer adds dozens more. Expand
  6. JackL
    Mar 14, 2009
    8
    By far the best RTS. Relic have nailed the idea of making the whole genre more actiony. They did it with Warhammer but that stuck more to a By far the best RTS. Relic have nailed the idea of making the whole genre more actiony. They did it with Warhammer but that stuck more to a particular audience and the slight cartoonish graphics put many off. Now in company of heroes it has polished graphics and a subject to suit a wider audience. WW2 although seems quite an over used subject for gaming, has never been as explored as this in an RTS form. The reason for giving it an 8 is because the new expansion was a marketing scheme all along. If you want to survive in multiplayer you must get this game otherwise your whermacht will be screwed by British artillery that can fire at your base from the other end of the map (crazy I know). Other than that it is still a good expansion. The upcoming expansion Tales of Valor's Direct fire will be a fun little addition to the game. Check it out Expand
  7. TonyB.
    Oct 14, 2007
    0
    I bought this game.Upon installation game demanded an update but would not allow me to do so.Obviously I was disappointed and returned I bought this game.Upon installation game demanded an update but would not allow me to do so.Obviously I was disappointed and returned it.This has been released without propper testing.Beware. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews