• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Apr 7, 2009
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 199 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 199

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulL
    Apr 14, 2009
    10
    Amongst the echoing complaints, I feel Tales of Valor accomplished its job as being an expansion for 30$US/CDN. People who were disappointed were those who were comparing it, to its two previous dreadnought games. This is not what tales of valor is. Tales of valor is multilayer content. If you spend a lot of time in coh multiplayer, TOV is a steal. The singleplayer only works to propel Amongst the echoing complaints, I feel Tales of Valor accomplished its job as being an expansion for 30$US/CDN. People who were disappointed were those who were comparing it, to its two previous dreadnought games. This is not what tales of valor is. Tales of valor is multilayer content. If you spend a lot of time in coh multiplayer, TOV is a steal. The singleplayer only works to propel the games new features forward. Tiger Ace FTW! Expand
  2. RossH
    Apr 18, 2009
    5
    When you remember that this package was originally going to be 3 separate DLC packs, it becomes horribly obvious why this pack doesn't work. Very little content, most of which is a drastic departure from the original makes this come off as a collection of community mods rather than a professionally developed package. If you've already bought the original and OF, there's When you remember that this package was originally going to be 3 separate DLC packs, it becomes horribly obvious why this pack doesn't work. Very little content, most of which is a drastic departure from the original makes this come off as a collection of community mods rather than a professionally developed package. If you've already bought the original and OF, there's simply too little here to justify a purchase. However, the fact that the title is cheaper than the gold edition, yet contains the same multiplayer content (and more) means that newcomers will find a great way to get into CoH competition for little investment. Expand
  3. BartX
    May 4, 2009
    9
    I'd give it 9.5/10 for MP, 5/10 for SP. This clearly is multi-player oriented expansion. Since I play CoH mostly on-line, I give it high overall score. Single player missions are short and easy. There are 3 campaigns of 3 missions each (9 missions in total), but calling it campaigns is exaggeration. Actually it's more like 3 missions split into 3 mini-missions each. On the other I'd give it 9.5/10 for MP, 5/10 for SP. This clearly is multi-player oriented expansion. Since I play CoH mostly on-line, I give it high overall score. Single player missions are short and easy. There are 3 campaigns of 3 missions each (9 missions in total), but calling it campaigns is exaggeration. Actually it's more like 3 missions split into 3 mini-missions each. On the other hand new multi-player modes are a lot of fun. Although if you prefer strategy over tactics, they're not for you. What I do like about them, is that they are lot more dynamic, then the classic matches. As for direct fire -- well, the only use I've found for it was in the 1st and 3rd mission of SP. Expand
  4. BiteMe
    May 18, 2009
    9
    Quit your whining, CoH gives you exactly what they are selling, no less and no more. I play lotsa games and this one entertains and is challenging, and the option of overseeing the game or going on"on the field" to see the diferent angles is awesome. If you find this game too easy, then you are lyng or spending too much time on the computer, get a life. Like most games, you can only play Quit your whining, CoH gives you exactly what they are selling, no less and no more. I play lotsa games and this one entertains and is challenging, and the option of overseeing the game or going on"on the field" to see the diferent angles is awesome. If you find this game too easy, then you are lyng or spending too much time on the computer, get a life. Like most games, you can only play them so long before they get boring, so I think its definitely worth the money and recommend it to anyone, especially those who enjoy WWII games. Expand
  5. ZakN
    Jun 25, 2009
    9
    I've always liked World War games, and this really is enjoyable, exploding buildings, shooting people down, blowing things up.. It is just overall fun.. However if you are not a hardcore player it can be a tad hard to play. But, is fun either way. I'd suggest it if you enjoy the World War kinds of games. I also have played the first Coh, and now I own Coh:ToV, though I do not I've always liked World War games, and this really is enjoyable, exploding buildings, shooting people down, blowing things up.. It is just overall fun.. However if you are not a hardcore player it can be a tad hard to play. But, is fun either way. I'd suggest it if you enjoy the World War kinds of games. I also have played the first Coh, and now I own Coh:ToV, though I do not see a major difference in either version... YET. Expand
  6. FlammerW
    Jul 9, 2009
    8
    Tales of Valor is a good title for CoH diehards and new players alike, as it allows access to all the multiplayer content while adding new modes and units. The game however lacked polish and had serious balance issues that took several patches to address. The game was also rushed because of Financial conditions at Relic. I think rating this game based on the length of the singleplayer is Tales of Valor is a good title for CoH diehards and new players alike, as it allows access to all the multiplayer content while adding new modes and units. The game however lacked polish and had serious balance issues that took several patches to address. The game was also rushed because of Financial conditions at Relic. I think rating this game based on the length of the singleplayer is silly, as the multiplayer holds the real meat. Expand
  7. RyanS.
    Aug 4, 2009
    8
    I rated this game an 8 for the simple fact that when you get down to it this game can only get better. The up close in your face action is what does it for me. Multiplayer is awesome, but could use some work its really hard to find a good game to get into and definitely needs more maps. I like the player voted maps i think that you should definitely do more of those to keep players from I rated this game an 8 for the simple fact that when you get down to it this game can only get better. The up close in your face action is what does it for me. Multiplayer is awesome, but could use some work its really hard to find a good game to get into and definitely needs more maps. I like the player voted maps i think that you should definitely do more of those to keep players from getting bored of the same maps. TY Life's a game, Keep playing and have fun! Expand
  8. JamesB
    May 14, 2009
    9
    Although I have not played the first two games in the saga of Company of Heroes. That COH TOV was a short comming to its predessesors in the views of many fellow gamers who have played all three. Though I cannot comment on this aspect, as a first time player I found the game to be enjoyable and easy to pick up and learn tactics. Though the game includes suppressive fire and units become Although I have not played the first two games in the saga of Company of Heroes. That COH TOV was a short comming to its predessesors in the views of many fellow gamers who have played all three. Though I cannot comment on this aspect, as a first time player I found the game to be enjoyable and easy to pick up and learn tactics. Though the game includes suppressive fire and units become unable to attack well under such direct assult, I would have like to see untis flee in cowerdence. That the user would be unable to controll such units under any circumstance. The idea of bringing in reinforcements to supply units with refreshed man power should not have to just be done for the replacement of casualties, but also battle fatigue. Though this realism may be to complex for those who wish to just play a game like AoE. As my first game for COH, I was very pleased over all and enjoy the time spent playing online. Expand
  9. BrendanG
    May 25, 2009
    7
    Company of Heroes is a good game but knowing what I know now.... well i wouldn't go out and buy the Tales of Valor. The expansion is good in the introduction of some new things but its not enough, my biggest disappointment was i started the game and poof the campaigns for Tales of Valor are over. Otherwise the game is good, I've not seen flaws in some of the previous ones when Company of Heroes is a good game but knowing what I know now.... well i wouldn't go out and buy the Tales of Valor. The expansion is good in the introduction of some new things but its not enough, my biggest disappointment was i started the game and poof the campaigns for Tales of Valor are over. Otherwise the game is good, I've not seen flaws in some of the previous ones when I'll get a unit stuck on a random object, or other glitches; i'm sure that there are glitches but i haven't seen more yet. Expand
  10. JoeL.
    Aug 28, 2009
    7
    I like this game its very enjoyable and very addictive . The only thing bad is the multyplayer. Time finding game + Game Ballance = Frustration. Its almost like I have to spam certain units to win in every situation. Anyway all in all balancing and multyplayer aside its worth your singleplayer money.
  11. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    During a sale, I purchased the "Company of Heroes Battle Pack," and immediately played this one first. Personally, I liked Tales of Valor the most, because of the gameplay. The graphics are also pretty noteworthy. The single player campagin could have been more exciting, but multiplayer can be a lot of fun when playing with friends. I'm an avid Command and Conquer fan, so I enjoyed this,During a sale, I purchased the "Company of Heroes Battle Pack," and immediately played this one first. Personally, I liked Tales of Valor the most, because of the gameplay. The graphics are also pretty noteworthy. The single player campagin could have been more exciting, but multiplayer can be a lot of fun when playing with friends. I'm an avid Command and Conquer fan, so I enjoyed this, however I find that a major drawback of this game is how long it takes. In C&C, it's fairly easy to acquire an army, a well fortified base, and a good defense. In Company of Heroes, it's difficult to get a defense and an attack force ready quickly. This is because there are 3 different types of "monetary value" you need to purchase units, buildings, and upgrades. Of course, this IS much more realistic, however if you have little time to play and would like to get a game in before you head to bed or work, you won't be able to finish. I'd recommend this to anyone who likes RTS games, IF it's on sale. Expand
  12. Oct 26, 2012
    6
    If you play CoH multiplayer then perhaps this is worth it, but as someone who only plays the singleplayer I was disappointed with it. While the missions are interesting and fun, they are very short--you might get three hours total out of all of them. Maybe. Thankfully I got this on sale on Steam, but I would have been upset had I paid the full $20.
  13. Atematem
    Apr 12, 2009
    4
    Disappointing for the an expensive expansion. The new missions are over quickly and the change to the multiplayer is minimal. Directfire is pretty much useless. As a fan of COH this is a disappointing addition. New units is good but not for the price of this expansion, at this price it should have been a lot more much like opposing fronts was. Worth $15, paid $50 - can I have a refund!
  14. JoshYoung
    Apr 10, 2009
    9
    I like that Relic is improving the game at all from what they have done with Opposing Fronts. They have to stick to facts as well when making the expansions so they are limited on some things. I like the change in multiplayer and new maps that come with it. Maps change the strategy of this game a lot btw and you gotta practice on them. Some people don't realize this and the giveI like that Relic is improving the game at all from what they have done with Opposing Fronts. They have to stick to facts as well when making the expansions so they are limited on some things. I like the change in multiplayer and new maps that come with it. Maps change the strategy of this game a lot btw and you gotta practice on them. Some people don't realize this and the give the game a bad score. I am not paying attention to scores anymore after the things I have seen in the past. Expand
  15. MatthewK
    Apr 19, 2009
    5
    The quality of the new game content is fine, although a bit too easy - the direct fire mode is fun, almost too much so since the game becomes much less tactical and much more about mouse speed, like watching a first person shooter from another camera. This is 5/10 rather than 8/10 since there is a pathetic 4 hour's worth of gaming here in the single player campaign - I don't The quality of the new game content is fine, although a bit too easy - the direct fire mode is fun, almost too much so since the game becomes much less tactical and much more about mouse speed, like watching a first person shooter from another camera. This is 5/10 rather than 8/10 since there is a pathetic 4 hour's worth of gaming here in the single player campaign - I don't play it online and bought on the basis of the quality of Opposing Fronts. I'd suggest anyone planning to do that thinks twice! But if you're prepared to spend the money and you know you won't be kept occupied for that long, the content is still very good. Expand
  16. ShaneP
    Dec 29, 2009
    1
    Yet another poor expansion for what used to be a good game. The single player is ridiculously short for the price and doesn't feel at all like CoH should. The new game modes are all terrible and not at all in the spirit of CoH. Why they decided we need a very poor DotA clone in CoH is probably best left unknown. The one game mode that is ok is in reality a poor version of various Yet another poor expansion for what used to be a good game. The single player is ridiculously short for the price and doesn't feel at all like CoH should. The new game modes are all terrible and not at all in the spirit of CoH. Why they decided we need a very poor DotA clone in CoH is probably best left unknown. The one game mode that is ok is in reality a poor version of various custom maps that have been around for a while anyway (and for free i add). This game is honestly not even worth the £2.49 they're currently asking for it on steam. The only good thing i can say is that it gives you access to all the sides in multiplayer if you're a masochist and enjoy playing extremely frustrating games. Expand
  17. Oct 14, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There's nothing significantly new with this second expansion. The nine missions are over too quickly and the new skirmish maps as well as MP features are too limited. Also this expansion would have been worth it for free because of the free huge COH patch that came with this expansion for those who have owned COH Gold Edition or the first two COH games! Expand
  18. JezI
    May 7, 2009
    3
    A massive disappointment and very poor value for money if like me u like to play single player,should have been in £10 price range. Never play on-line so don't know if that side of it is any good or not.
    It has one or two interesting ideas but not much more than that,should have read the review before buying..
  19. chriss
    May 1, 2009
    0
    This EXPANTION PACK is the wort thing to hit the market all it offers is mod that u can also download online for free. this expantion pack ruined one of the best games out i think because out of everything it came with the bulk of it was bugs i cant count how many times this game now craches full games and many other probles it has. but it is a good deal it your out to get the game This EXPANTION PACK is the wort thing to hit the market all it offers is mod that u can also download online for free. this expantion pack ruined one of the best games out i think because out of everything it came with the bulk of it was bugs i cant count how many times this game now craches full games and many other probles it has. but it is a good deal it your out to get the game because you really dont have to buy the other two disks unless you want to play campain but in summery relic is a fail. Expand
  20. JamesW
    Apr 17, 2009
    10
    I have ill-spent hundreds of dollars on similar WWII strategy games. Company of Heroes (COH) is by far the best I have ever seen. That being said, their expansions have no let downs
  21. May 10, 2012
    8
    Its a very good game for its price - 3,99 US. Im glad I bought it with 80% discount. The game is very entertaining and deserves a try. It really pays off and its not of a regreatable kind.
  22. TonyR
    Apr 11, 2009
    9
    The missions are an interesting introduction to the different gameplay you can expect from the multiplayer. However, the campaign is ridiculously short (4 hours tops) and the hero units are way too strong. This is the only downside to the expansion: you will be dissapointed if you expect the same level of storytelling and long campaigns that were the trademark of previous COH campaigns. The missions are an interesting introduction to the different gameplay you can expect from the multiplayer. However, the campaign is ridiculously short (4 hours tops) and the hero units are way too strong. This is the only downside to the expansion: you will be dissapointed if you expect the same level of storytelling and long campaigns that were the trademark of previous COH campaigns. On the plus side, the AI is ridiculously strong now, and expert computers make for a very good practice when there's nobody else online. They are aggressive, have good capping orders, and the cpu is vicious and relentless. The new units are a mixed bag, and they are fairly balanced, letting players try out different types of playstyle. For example, the M17 is a glass cannon that trades the armor and mine-laying abilities of the M8 for a more powerful rapid-firing cannon and very weak armor. It is a worthy addition to your collection. Expand
  23. tolgaeryoldas
    Apr 10, 2009
    0
    My point zero because of ?f you dont have something taht means you dont have it
    where are my game guys I m still in front of steam since Thursday and game there writed on it "it released" but you can not buy it no price no add chart nothing what kind of jog it is
    Where is my number company and game ......
  24. MikkoPuonti
    Apr 10, 2009
    4
    If you liked from orginal Company of Heroes single player campaign, then this is not really worth of your money. Single player campaings in expansion are short and oriented towards teaching direct fire game mode. In my case, it took only one day to play through them (orginal single player campaign lasted week).
    Multiplayers ger some new toys and of course direct fire mode. In direct
    If you liked from orginal Company of Heroes single player campaign, then this is not really worth of your money. Single player campaings in expansion are short and oriented towards teaching direct fire game mode. In my case, it took only one day to play through them (orginal single player campaign lasted week).
    Multiplayers ger some new toys and of course direct fire mode. In direct fire mode you use your mouse to fire weapons.
    Basically "expansion" is simple shooter up where you have under control of multiple units.
    Expand
  25. ArthurP
    Apr 13, 2009
    2
    This is a tease - just a bunch of ideas the devs had kept on the back burner and then only 9 easy single player missions which were a confused mish-mash of the two other games in this series. We don't all want to play online - and even if you do want to dabble it needed a patch to do so.. More disappointment from the PC games industry.
  26. RonnyS.
    Apr 10, 2009
    6
    The new "game modes" are basically just a few (and i mean few) new maps, one per mode, and they aren't really good either. The campaign, or rather the Tiger Ace campaign which is the only one i bothered playing was just 3 missions, and the missions were so easy it's ridiculous. You can't really die, and when you level your tank it's gonna be able to fire about 2 shells The new "game modes" are basically just a few (and i mean few) new maps, one per mode, and they aren't really good either. The campaign, or rather the Tiger Ace campaign which is the only one i bothered playing was just 3 missions, and the missions were so easy it's ridiculous. You can't really die, and when you level your tank it's gonna be able to fire about 2 shells every second... Good work relic... Morons. If you play singleplayer, stay the hell away. If you play skirmish vs AI, stay away (the AI is probably still broken, haven't bothered trying). If you play pvp you've probably already bought it anyways. Expand
  27. kokomemoo
    Apr 16, 2009
    1
    i totally disagree that players with previeous coh
    play the same server with those who bought
    expansion. if we don't buy expansion we must get disadvantage? its like having no medic or lurker in sc. playing original sc mixed up with broodwar players. now i don't want to pay 30 dollar for few more units and i get disadvantage huh. don't have our own server. so i
    i totally disagree that players with previeous coh
    play the same server with those who bought
    expansion. if we don't buy expansion we must
    get disadvantage? its like having no medic
    or lurker in sc. playing original sc mixed up with
    broodwar players.
    now i don't want to pay 30 dollar for few more units and i get disadvantage huh. don't have
    our own server. so i deleted the game.
    good bye relic. never to buy this company's
    game anymore
    Expand
  28. paul
    Apr 11, 2009
    10
    The single player is very short yes alittle to short, but i feel as tho COH has been rejuvenated with new life maybe not due to the very short single player but the few new units and maps not to mention sounds textures and AI have been greatly tweaked, at the end of the day its still COH and COH is legend, you people complaining that you had to fork out an extra 10 pounds well boo hoo get The single player is very short yes alittle to short, but i feel as tho COH has been rejuvenated with new life maybe not due to the very short single player but the few new units and maps not to mention sounds textures and AI have been greatly tweaked, at the end of the day its still COH and COH is legend, you people complaining that you had to fork out an extra 10 pounds well boo hoo get a tissue and wipe your eyes im sure you didnt break the bank. Expand
  29. ThomasR
    Apr 11, 2009
    5
    Nowhere near as good as the previous games in the series. This expansion is total crap aside from the short single player campaigns.
  30. JeremyH.
    Apr 10, 2009
    4
    Not bad but...
    Direct control is pointless, it's basically just a attack here button similar to attack ground.
    The new modes are pointless also as there are already mods for both of them (Alamo and Turtle) that were made months ago, way to be 'original' Relic The new units make no sense... nuff said It's definatly no Opposing Fronts Basically don't buy it.
    Not bad but...
    Direct control is pointless, it's basically just a attack here button similar to attack ground.
    The new modes are pointless also as there are already mods for both of them (Alamo and Turtle) that were made months ago, way to be 'original' Relic
    The new units make no sense... nuff said

    It's definatly no Opposing Fronts

    Basically don't buy it. $30 for this is a total ripoff. It's nice they make standalones, but they should make a cheaper addon version as well.
    Expand
  31. BenA
    Apr 12, 2009
    5
    I was REALLY hoping they'd take this opportunity to fix some of the gaping holes in the unit selection (British anti-tank anyone?) Really this feels like a $5-$10 DLC with a few demo missions tacked on. Not worth the $30 I payed for it at all.
  32. JimM
    Apr 12, 2009
    4
    Agree with the other reviewers: this game is very short on content for the single player. The only redeeming feature of the purchase so far is the difficult first mission in the last 'campaign' (as yet unfinished). The other missions (played 6 so far) are very easy and very short.
  33. JohanT
    Apr 12, 2009
    8
    A great game in its original form and ToV adds more to the fun. The campaigns are enjoyable but some what short but then again there are 3 of them. Some people are saying its easy, but i don't think they figured out that you can turn it up to hard or expert, because then its a pain (in a good way). The real gem in this game are the new multiplayer modes. They are simply awesome. A great game in its original form and ToV adds more to the fun. The campaigns are enjoyable but some what short but then again there are 3 of them. Some people are saying its easy, but i don't think they figured out that you can turn it up to hard or expert, because then its a pain (in a good way). The real gem in this game are the new multiplayer modes. They are simply awesome. Though they stray from the normal RTS type gameplay they still fit in to the game and add amlot of variation. The new units are basically the same as the ones they replace (for the most part). So no biggie there but its nice that they did something for the normal pvp game. A little expensive for what you get but if you don't have The original CoH or Opposing Fronts or neither, then this is a great way to unlock all the factions and get the new multiplayer modes. Expand
  34. PhilipKyle
    Apr 15, 2009
    3
    As I die hard fan of CoH vanilla I cannot surmise my disappointment in any better word than - crap! The game adds little if nothing to the multiplayer dynamics, a series of bugs several years old remain unresolved, the few new skins to a couple of units are not worth the 35 euro this game runs for.
  35. matth
    Apr 9, 2009
    1
    I feel robbed, no way is this worth the price, cant even use direct fire in 1v1, maybe worth a £5 but its just a few extra bits. last about 4hrs campaign wise... DO NOT BUY if u have the others... robbed robbed robbed.
  36. NathanA
    Apr 9, 2009
    1
    This feels more like $5-$10 DLC than a full-blown expansion pack. It doesn't really seem fair that non-ToV users don't get to take advantage of the new units, especially considering how powerful some of them are, compared to the counterparts they replace.
  37. BradR
    Apr 12, 2009
    8
    Ronny really ought to play the whole game before he "bothers" to give a review. 8 out of 10. A solid game at a budget price. Relic are the masters in the RTS genre. Hopefully we'll have another full campaign in the CoH saga soon, I"d really like a go with the Russians on the eastern front. Keep em comin.
  38. JakeF
    Apr 12, 2009
    8
    If you haven't bought a COH game before this, this is a great game to buy. You get to play on all the multiplayer maps from COH and COH:Opposing Fronts online and over LAN. On the other hand, if you own the first two, SKIP. New MP modes and single player missions suck, the focus is on a single hero unit or units and it just doesn't work well. 10/10 If this is your first COH If you haven't bought a COH game before this, this is a great game to buy. You get to play on all the multiplayer maps from COH and COH:Opposing Fronts online and over LAN. On the other hand, if you own the first two, SKIP. New MP modes and single player missions suck, the focus is on a single hero unit or units and it just doesn't work well. 10/10 If this is your first COH game, 3/10 otherwise. Expand
  39. May 18, 2012
    2
    The multiplayer game is very based on rank teams are always not balanced. the natzi side in this game have more powerful and cheaper army then the Allies. The rank not always show correct in lobby so somthimes you can't know the other player rank and many lags are presence in multiplayer
  40. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    If you're a new player to the series, it comes with the full suite of company of heroes multiplayer. If you're a veteran, the new modes may offer little and you may want to wait until this game goes cheap. The new dota mode, tanks battles and survival mode add many hours to this game. Must have pc exclusive!
  41. Feb 8, 2012
    0
    One of the WORST!!! Games i have ever played... just a bad camera position, far too close to get a good overview, especially because you have to micro your soldiers all the time!! all of your units... they get nothing done and often do things first after the 3rd or 4th direction. They are unable to find the shortest way and some times just run in with enemy fire instead of attacking, veryOne of the WORST!!! Games i have ever played... just a bad camera position, far too close to get a good overview, especially because you have to micro your soldiers all the time!! all of your units... they get nothing done and often do things first after the 3rd or 4th direction. They are unable to find the shortest way and some times just run in with enemy fire instead of attacking, very unuseful for a mortar for example. The online don't run anyway and there is no support... i am scared of THQ giving their name for such a crap. If you want do something good, don't buy this! Expand
  42. May 21, 2012
    5
    I was expecting the length of Opposing Fronts but instead I only got three missions. The Missions were excellent but this was only a multiplayer addition. The campaign was only stapled on as a tutorial for the new mechanics this game introduces which are few. You will probably NOT play these game modes often if at all and like most people will only play standard multiplayer modes.
  43. Sep 12, 2014
    7
    Just adding to the already best rts ever made, adding new modes new units all worth some play.
    not as good as adding new factions but still a good add on for new play styles for those of us that played way to much.

    Worth $20
  44. Nov 12, 2012
    7
    I was expecting something more, I bought it for $5 on Steam, I can not complain!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  45. Mar 5, 2013
    5
    Tales of Valor simply does not add enough to justify a full-price expansion. There is a serious lack of new units and no new factions. Given it's a standalone title, it's not bad per say but sorely lacking.
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. It is war on a personal level - instead of entire units, battles are fought by carefully selected small groups of individuals. It would be possible to come to know each of them, were it not for the short span of this standalone expansion. [May 2009]
  2. It just doesn't hang together as a coherent package in its own right, and while the gameplay certainly doesn't sully the memory of the original, the thin spread of content is cause for concern.
  3. Gamers who spend the majority of their time in single-player modes should pass this one by. If you’re an online-focused player, though, Tales of Valor provides hours of amusement, especially if the community takes advantage of the excellent mod tools to flesh out the map selection.