• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2006
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 999 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 999

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 8, 2012
    0
    One of the WORST!!! Games i have ever played... just a bad camera position, far too close to get a good overview, especially because you have to micro your soldiers all the time!! all of your units... they get nothing done and often do things first after the 3rd or 4th direction. They are unable to find the shortest way and some times just run in with enemy fire instead of attacking, veryOne of the WORST!!! Games i have ever played... just a bad camera position, far too close to get a good overview, especially because you have to micro your soldiers all the time!! all of your units... they get nothing done and often do things first after the 3rd or 4th direction. They are unable to find the shortest way and some times just run in with enemy fire instead of attacking, very unuseful for a mortar for example. The online don't run anyway and there is no support... i am scared of THQ giving their name for such a crap. If you want do something good, don't buy this! Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2011
    0
    Einfach nur schlecht, alleine der Realismusfaktor ist sowas von mies und dann noch der miese Basisaufbau lässt sehr zu wünschen übrig, aber was mich am meisten stört ist das erobern von Munitions "Fahnen" oder Benzin "Fahnen", was soll das ? Das hat apsolut nichts mehr mit dem Zweiten Weltkrieg zu tun, sondern ist einfach einEinfach nur schlecht, alleine der Realismusfaktor ist sowas von mies und dann noch der miese Basisaufbau lässt sehr zu wünschen übrig, aber was mich am meisten stört ist das erobern von Munitions "Fahnen" oder Benzin "Fahnen", was soll das ? Das hat apsolut nichts mehr mit dem Zweiten Weltkrieg zu tun, sondern ist einfach ein Stupides Gameplay, da machen es viele andere Spiele besser, man hätte die ECO wirklich besser machen können. Und dann auch noch die mini Armeen, was ja nicht mehr Armeen sind sondern eher eine kleine Gruppe an Leuten, auch wieder hier geht jedes WW2 Feeling Flöten.

    Einzige was mir sehr gut gefallen hat waren die Soundeffekte, zb wenn in der Ferne, sich Leute beschieÃ
    Expand
  3. Feb 1, 2013
    2
    I am completely bewildered by all the high ratings given this game. Obviously all these people have never played a real quality RTS before. This game was sold in parts. This game doesn't hold a candle to the C+C series. Generals Zero Hour pure gutstomps this game into the dirt. Limited unit types, limited buildings, no research poor AI and one could go blind from trying to play itI am completely bewildered by all the high ratings given this game. Obviously all these people have never played a real quality RTS before. This game was sold in parts. This game doesn't hold a candle to the C+C series. Generals Zero Hour pure gutstomps this game into the dirt. Limited unit types, limited buildings, no research poor AI and one could go blind from trying to play it everything is so small. If you want a real RTS you would do better to go get yourself a copy of C+C Generals Zero Hour and skip this dog. Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2015
    2
    As I stated in my Company of Heroes 2 this eschews good RTS for gratifying the Idiocracy wave of gamers. Getting rid of real resource management makes the game more similar to Men of War; except CoH (both of them) suck compared to MoW at the tactical level. The complete lack of realism in the game also is a buzzkiller for any WW2 fan. Had they done something similar to their Dawn of WarAs I stated in my Company of Heroes 2 this eschews good RTS for gratifying the Idiocracy wave of gamers. Getting rid of real resource management makes the game more similar to Men of War; except CoH (both of them) suck compared to MoW at the tactical level. The complete lack of realism in the game also is a buzzkiller for any WW2 fan. Had they done something similar to their Dawn of War RTS games (not that DoW RPG wannabe RTS crap=DoW2) then this might have been a decent series. This game is best left to the insta-gratification console generation. More and more games have been getting dumbed down and require little brains, this series is an example of that. There are far better games out there that require much more intelligence and provide real gameplay. I'm afraid with this game all hope is lost for real RTS games made for adults instead of teenagers. Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2015
    0
    MikeW.
    Sep 17, 2007
    0 Its just not realistic, whats with you people? Can we please get away from unit damage/power bars? If a units hit its either killed or damaged & not able to repaired on the spot! In the real world a commander fights with what is available to him, he has to look after his men & equipment not just build a new tent that will produce fresh solders. Micromanaging all
    MikeW.
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    Its just not realistic, whats with you people? Can we please get away from unit damage/power bars? If a units hit its either killed or damaged & not able to repaired on the spot! In the real world a commander fights with what is available to him, he has to look after his men & equipment not just build a new tent that will produce fresh solders. Micromanaging all this resource nonsense and building units is total rubbish! Close Combat 1,2,3,4,5 and the new Cross of Iron from Matrix Games are the way forward, although i must admitt they could do with being made more pretty to look at like Company of Heroes.
    Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Company of Heroes should be on the must-play list of every RTS fanatic out there, even those tired of WWII settings. It's just that good. [Oct. 2006, p.70]
  2. This is the finest WWII strategy game I've played. Hell, I'm having real trouble thinking of any strategy game that's this spectacular, this intense, this fun. [Oct 2006, p.70]
  3. 94
    The transformation from a idyllic little town into a heap of crushed buildings and burned out husks of vehicles can be shocking. Seeing and hearing major explosions that cause bodies (and bits of bodies) to fly across the screen along with rubble from a nearby building simply puts you more into the battle than any RTS in memory.