• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2006
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1003 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    Still playing it in 2012!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  2. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    I have played a lot of RTS (Close Combat, Star Craft, Warcraft I-III, World in Conflict, to name a few), Company of Heroes is the most polished and innovative that I have played. As many have noted the graphics in this game are top notch. The frantic and non-stop action of the game requires a great deal of thought rewarding both the quick and the intelligent. If you enjoy RTS's, youI have played a lot of RTS (Close Combat, Star Craft, Warcraft I-III, World in Conflict, to name a few), Company of Heroes is the most polished and innovative that I have played. As many have noted the graphics in this game are top notch. The frantic and non-stop action of the game requires a great deal of thought rewarding both the quick and the intelligent. If you enjoy RTS's, you will love this game. Expand
  3. JakeS
    Apr 2, 2010
    10
    Purely, one of the single best games to ever be created. From the gorgeous, stunning scapes and graphics to the realistic FX, to the clever and brilliant music that you will be dying to hear again and again. The way this game captures the look and feel of driving a semi-truck makes me all giddy inside. Hands down, better than the Ocarina of Time, better than Halo, better than Super Mario Purely, one of the single best games to ever be created. From the gorgeous, stunning scapes and graphics to the realistic FX, to the clever and brilliant music that you will be dying to hear again and again. The way this game captures the look and feel of driving a semi-truck makes me all giddy inside. Hands down, better than the Ocarina of Time, better than Halo, better than Super Mario 64 this wins Game of all Eternity. Expand
  4. NickW.
    Sep 4, 2006
    10
    Excellent game. Evenly balanced. Actually has physics. I can't think of anything in this game that isn't good!
  5. Torinir
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    One of the best RTS games of all time. A testament to the quality products that Relic is capable of developing.
  6. KevinB.
    Sep 14, 2006
    9
    Best RTS since Close Combat and Total Annihilation. It should tell you something when you realize it's the best RTS since 1999... The game is nearly flawless. Resource management is a natural part of aggressive tactics and requires zero micro management. Territorial control and supply lines are great additions. The fact that Infantry units aren't mere cannon fodder is a Best RTS since Close Combat and Total Annihilation. It should tell you something when you realize it's the best RTS since 1999... The game is nearly flawless. Resource management is a natural part of aggressive tactics and requires zero micro management. Territorial control and supply lines are great additions. The fact that Infantry units aren't mere cannon fodder is a testament to the level of detail given to this game. Throw in quality cinematics to go with a great campaign mode that presents all sorts of variations... yea... go buy it or else you'll be wasting your $50 on something else. Too bad it's yet ANOTHER WWII game... Expand
  7. JoeFulgham
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    The game is phenomenal. "Mick N" is competely misleading when talking about "resource gathering". Resources come from captured locations, not from sending soldiers out into mines or chopping down trees.

    This game is absolutely *not* a standard RTS. Its playstyle is fresh and a welcome breath of air to a pretty stagnant genre. I really liked Dawn of War. I *love* Company of Heroes.
  8. Feb 16, 2015
    10
    Company of Heroes is one of the best RTS game in the world. its realistic graphics and system is very good until now. i'm still playing it in 2015!!!!!
  9. P.M.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    Amazing game, incredible grahics and unveleivable gameplay. The best part is the use of tactical moves such as flanking.
  10. GeorgeW.
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    I cannot stress enough how excellent this game is. The visuals, audio and gameplay all excel over others in the genre. In many ways, it's a combination of the best elements of Act of War, Dawn of War and COD. The control and squad systems are well-designed, making controlling your army a simple task. The AI is unusually smart and adaptive, capable of easily flanking your forces and I cannot stress enough how excellent this game is. The visuals, audio and gameplay all excel over others in the genre. In many ways, it's a combination of the best elements of Act of War, Dawn of War and COD. The control and squad systems are well-designed, making controlling your army a simple task. The AI is unusually smart and adaptive, capable of easily flanking your forces and defenses, using cover and heavy support weapons effectively. The use of a full physics engine really makes this a unique experience. Fighting through european cities with AT guns, tanks and motars results in destroyed buildings and caters. Destroyed vehicle parts and building rubble provide cover, whilst holes blown into the sides of buildings become places from which your infantry can fire. The only problems of note are the high system requirements needed to drive the fantastic visuals and physics, and the rather low limits placed on the number of units you can have. This is not like C&C - you cannot put hundreds of tanks onto the field and hope to win. At any one time, you may have as many as 6 or 7 tanks and several infantry units. However, this limit does enforce more reliance on strategy rather than spam, and it makes the limited use of the larger (and very tough) Tiger tanks much more enjoyable. Expand
  11. AwaisI.
    Sep 12, 2006
    9
    Company of Heroes, without a doubt is THE definition of an RTS.It combines the excellent sound,visceral,nerve wracking gameplay of Call of Duty 2 with the overhead view of an RTS. The only problem ive had with it is that the system settings a bit too high for those with a low computer. I have a 1.7 Ghz,512 Dual RAM and 64 ATi Radeon Mobile 9200 and COH bogs down alot.But the gameplay is Company of Heroes, without a doubt is THE definition of an RTS.It combines the excellent sound,visceral,nerve wracking gameplay of Call of Duty 2 with the overhead view of an RTS. The only problem ive had with it is that the system settings a bit too high for those with a low computer. I have a 1.7 Ghz,512 Dual RAM and 64 ATi Radeon Mobile 9200 and COH bogs down alot.But the gameplay is soooo good that the graphical problems are ALL forgotten. Company of Heroes,you dont own it...it owns YOU! Expand
  12. BeqirB.
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    This is a best that I even heard anytime in my life thanks with regard.
  13. JohnW.
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    I think it's a spectacular game. Graphics, tough AI, intensity of the combat and everything getting blown apart is awesome.
  14. RazLeBoL
    May 15, 2007
    10
    One of the best game I played in ages! And I am not even a fan of the RTS genre. So well done and requires thinking instead of massing units. It encourages usage of your brain instead.
  15. JoshuaA.
    Sep 4, 2007
    10
    The best part about CoH is the attention to detail. Having troops realistically seeking cover, rolling on the ground, having chunks of earth being blown off of the map, it just makes you feel really there.
  16. DerekS.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    Amazing graphics, and hours of fun playing time!
  17. RussG
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    The only strategy game I have every played that actually required thinking over just farming units and blobbing around the map. I have tried many strategy games, but this one is the best. While some people have trouble with the game and rate it poorly, it is because they didn't know how to play the game. This is a game that requires a lot of skill and knowledge before you get good at The only strategy game I have every played that actually required thinking over just farming units and blobbing around the map. I have tried many strategy games, but this one is the best. While some people have trouble with the game and rate it poorly, it is because they didn't know how to play the game. This is a game that requires a lot of skill and knowledge before you get good at it. For example, many people get frustrated when they don't know the controls to drive a vehicles backwards. Also, you can drive a vehicle into a wall to make a place for a machine gun. Buildings and cover can be destroyed completely. The game is the best balance of realism and fun I have ever played in a game. Expand
  18. JesseO.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    I actually installed Windows again (I'm a crazy Linux nut) just for this game. It is quite simply the best "RTS" game I've ever played.
  19. IanC
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Company of heroes is one of the most enjoyable game I have ever played, and that's without its expansion. The AI is astounding in my opinion, making combat decisions to better keep themselves alive. The cover system is very flexible and interesting, and lastly, the accuracy and presentation of the units in the game is near god-like. I highly recommend purchasing this game!
  20. DickA
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    CoH pretty much set the standard for RTS games post 2006. At its conception, its mix of intuitive and deep unit cover, intelligent unit AI, a great interface and outstanding graphics blew away previous entries into the genre. CoH was as a big step forward for the genre as Command and Conquer or Dune. It was the perfect mix of gameplay, history and balance. With patches, the game's AI CoH pretty much set the standard for RTS games post 2006. At its conception, its mix of intuitive and deep unit cover, intelligent unit AI, a great interface and outstanding graphics blew away previous entries into the genre. CoH was as a big step forward for the genre as Command and Conquer or Dune. It was the perfect mix of gameplay, history and balance. With patches, the game's AI is now absolutely outstanding, and still features a strong online community. Plenty of variety in maps, built in mission editor, the game simply features everything you could want in an RTS, complete with the expected attention to quality relic can provide. Expand
  21. HenriV.
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    Best RTS ever played. Inovative gameplay, great graphics and sound. Totally destructible environment ... never seen before. This game is really intense.
  22. ShahrulN.
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    The very definition of strategy gaming! I have never played an RTS game where I felt so much for my little toy men. Buy it! You will never regret it.
  23. ErnestC.
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    It may just be the last WW2 RTS game you ever need to play. Any other WW2 game that will come out after this will be undoubtedly compared to COH and fail.
  24. Tt
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    Best game I've ever played. Very fast paced, especially for an RTS.
  25. JoMamma
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    Insane Graphics. One of the best games I have ever played. I've had a little trouble with multiplayer and the campaign was a little too short for my liking, but the great level designs and replay value due to the medals earned by completing secondary objectives and the abundant skirmish maps that can be replayed over and over with different outcomes make up for that completely
  26. HenryK.
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Certainly most of the innovate RTS games hitting the shelves this year.
  27. CoryP.
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    Uh, this game is the best RTS in years. period.
  28. JoeMaiz
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    Simply the best RTS/WW2 game. If you liked the Close Combat series, then you must get CoH. Get attached to your troops as you fight your way thru Europe's battles in WW2. Every unit has a strenght and a weakness, so its a fine balance in every fight. Using the map resources, you use them to create new units and also to upgrade your current ones, such as a flame thrower or throw a Simply the best RTS/WW2 game. If you liked the Close Combat series, then you must get CoH. Get attached to your troops as you fight your way thru Europe's battles in WW2. Every unit has a strenght and a weakness, so its a fine balance in every fight. Using the map resources, you use them to create new units and also to upgrade your current ones, such as a flame thrower or throw a grenade. Graphics are super, as details like wheelmarks, tracers and smoke are amazing. Overall, a well done and a must have for RTS and WW2 fans alike. Expand
  29. Mobius
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    If you have played Warhammer Dawn of War then you will find that company of heros playes almost excatly the same with the exception of better graphics better atmosfear and better maps.
  30. MartinC.
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    Best strategy game in many years, I have lately been looking for a good strategy game and this game is that game. It caught me by surprise, it's a real gem. I just finished the first mission and liked the chaotic and realistic feal of the game.
  31. DaveA.
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    This is a Game that made me play it for near 2 days straight. "Company Of Heroes" sounded like just another ww2 shootemup. I'm glad the offered a demo, once you pick it up, you won't put it down. Rember how cool Red Alert was when it Came out? Well this is cooler. I have never enjoyed a Real Time Strategy game as much as this before, and the pace is so frenetic it can be nerve This is a Game that made me play it for near 2 days straight. "Company Of Heroes" sounded like just another ww2 shootemup. I'm glad the offered a demo, once you pick it up, you won't put it down. Rember how cool Red Alert was when it Came out? Well this is cooler. I have never enjoyed a Real Time Strategy game as much as this before, and the pace is so frenetic it can be nerve wracking! Chaotic and cool! Expand
  32. LouisL.
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    Simply amazing. So far, the only truly great strategy games have been not set in WWII, and this game changes that. I've avoided WWII RTS games for a while because the idea of good for that genre is just that, good, but this game is amazing. It puts all other WWII RTS games to shame and many non WWII RTS games to shame. Sitting at your base is not an option due to the resourse Simply amazing. So far, the only truly great strategy games have been not set in WWII, and this game changes that. I've avoided WWII RTS games for a while because the idea of good for that genre is just that, good, but this game is amazing. It puts all other WWII RTS games to shame and many non WWII RTS games to shame. Sitting at your base is not an option due to the resourse gathering method. The entire game is made to make Offense and fighting the only way to win. It rewards aggressive play, but not reckless play and it really forces you to multi task and play the frontlines. The tactics used such as rear armor hits makes powerful units feel like more than jacked up weak units and the Company Commander abilities make only 2 factions feel like the WWII equivilant of 2 races with 3 factions each. Like in a fantasy themed game, the races (Axis and Allies) dfiffer in general play mechanics while the different Commander Paths feel like different Civilizations in a Historical RTS within those races (like in Rise of Nations or Age of Empires) and I'm surprised nobody ever thought of multiple levels of organization before. Overall, this is one of the greatest RTS games ever made and if you like RTS games, you owe this game a shot, or if you didn't like RTS games because you felt sitting back and building your base was boring, you also owe this a shot. Expand
  33. C.H.
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    Just got it on Steam, game kicked ass, great single player campaign.
  34. ElliottC
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    This games graphics have awed me since the game came out. The tanks look, feel, and control like tanks. Infantry are inteligent and look for their own cover, and manuever for combat effectiveness. The terrian is maliable like a real WWII battlefield. The sound effects are unreal, the graphics compliment the sound. The military strategy and economic goals are smartly created. This game has This games graphics have awed me since the game came out. The tanks look, feel, and control like tanks. Infantry are inteligent and look for their own cover, and manuever for combat effectiveness. The terrian is maliable like a real WWII battlefield. The sound effects are unreal, the graphics compliment the sound. The military strategy and economic goals are smartly created. This game has set precident to future RTS games need to be. A++ Expand
  35. JohnB.
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    I find the idiocy of 'this is hackneyed generic garbage' to be laughable. I'm sorry but as an RTS player since RTS began, I say Company of Heroes is everything RTS has ever aspired to be but always failed to achieve. RTS is about mid-field resource gathering and the production and upgrading of units. It is NOT about realism. Want realism? Play Total War. RTS has always been I find the idiocy of 'this is hackneyed generic garbage' to be laughable. I'm sorry but as an RTS player since RTS began, I say Company of Heroes is everything RTS has ever aspired to be but always failed to achieve. RTS is about mid-field resource gathering and the production and upgrading of units. It is NOT about realism. Want realism? Play Total War. RTS has always been about fast-paced aggressive action. What this game does include is actual military-style strategy. Yes I kid you not, strategy in a real time strategy game. Insanity incarnate, clearly the world is ending. Units that get decimated incredibly quickly, infantry that actually die to gun-fire rather than stand there taking hit after hit like every other RTS on the planet. Locational-based vehicle armour and damagable components, completely destructable environments. The list goes on and on. Those who would claim that this is generic whereas in fact it is exactly the opposite are an embarassment to the seasoned PC gamer. Remember to check your pseudo-intellectualist internet criticism at the door kiddies, this one's a keeper. Expand
  36. MaxDude
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    This is by far one of the best RTS games I have ever played. I was a bit skeptical on the ww2 genre and wasn't sure I would like it but after only an hour this turned into crack for me. It is insanely good. Takes a hell of a graph card to run and since mine was kind of sucky this title alone made me march out and upgrade. Nice work!
  37. DanC.
    Sep 29, 2006
    10
    One of the best RTS I have ever played. The game mechanics seem fresh and new, and I love the complete destructability of the battlefield.
  38. BrianH.
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    What are you people talking about! This is the best game ever! It not only has amazing graphics but it also involves a good amount of strategy.
  39. OlivierJ.
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Good Game we feeling almost the suffering of the soldiers.
  40. MikeS.
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    Its the best rts game i have ever played
  41. JimS.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    Delevering a whole new dimension to RTS, this is a stayer for years!
  42. GeorgB.
    Jul 21, 2007
    10
    Its unique, its involving and just plain FUN. Also on the other hand is has an unbelievable tactical depth, awesome graphics, and the sound... its like you're actually there. seriously its that good.
  43. HoldenD.
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    Another amazing RTS by Relic. I've got a few hundred hours clocked into the game, and still love to play it. It takes a bit to master, but once you do it's insane fun. And to Jon D, a 57mm AT gun would easily pierce the front armor of the Tiger. They are much higher velocity than tank guns. Besides, it's not like the Tiger was armored like a battleship.
  44. JosephH.
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    Realistic gameplay. Gives more of a feeling as a field commander when squads take cover. Best RTS I've played in years
  45. BillN
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    Simply the best RTS ever made to date. COH features the perfect blend of an 'arcade' and a realistic RTS. You dont have to think too much about what upgrades/stats/abilities to add as they are kept to a minimum, which in the heat of battle you don't really have time for. To get the best experience with COH you must play online. Nothing beats testing out a new strategy and winning.
  46. MArkMcK
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    I've been hooked on this game since it was in beta. It is IMHO the best RTS ever made.
  47. BrandonW.
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    The gameplay is incredible. For all you people that complained on here previously about not being able to play as the axis...umm there's multiplayer. With custom mods out there that are good overall and fantastic custom maps, the online gameplay will give you and your friends hours and hours of entertainment.
  48. DavidW.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    One of the best RTS of 2006, beautifully structured gameplay! And awesome graphics.
  49. Novi4ekNone
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    good game
  50. Oct 14, 2012
    8
    I haven't played multiplayer yet and my review is restricted to the gameplay and singleplayer only. Company of Heroes is one of the best RTS games I've ever played - possibly the best. The graphics look good even today, and the sound is pretty good as well. The game is almost a perfect ten - but it has drawbacks. The biggest complaint I have is the AI. It **** sucks. Infantry is almostI haven't played multiplayer yet and my review is restricted to the gameplay and singleplayer only. Company of Heroes is one of the best RTS games I've ever played - possibly the best. The graphics look good even today, and the sound is pretty good as well. The game is almost a perfect ten - but it has drawbacks. The biggest complaint I have is the AI. It **** sucks. Infantry is almost completely useless (it can stand 4 meters away from an enemy unit and still require 1000 shots to kill it). If you meet an enemy that's inside a house, you might as well just turn back until you get a tank to come along. This brings me to another point - the tanks. Not only do they suffer from poor AI as well (sometimes they'll mindlessly drive into what you want to attack, which might end up in it getting flanked and shot to bits, instead of attacking from a safe distance. And it's not enough with tanks having poor AI, they are practically necessary to complete anything. If you want to attack an objective, you NEED tanks to clear out the enemy's defence. If not, your infantry will be eaten alive. Basically how the missions play out is that you defend your base until you've gotten a few tanks - then you can launch your offensive. The only thing you need infantry for is to capture objectives.

    There isn't a whole lot of strategy involved either. No need for tactics - getting creative is not necessary at all. Just get a few tanks and steamroll through the level.

    That said, I still love the game and like it very much. It's fun to play, even with the issues it has. I'm looking forward to the sequel - which'll hopefully fix these issues. I definitely recommend this game to anyone who like RTS's or would like to start playing them - you'll have a great time even though it can get a little boring. It's cheap on Steam at the moment, and very much worth the money.
    Expand
  51. MarkS.
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    This is the one of the best RTS games I have ever played. From the destructible environments, to the stellar audio, this game is technically superior to anything else on the store shelves. While your infantry is getting taken out by a garrisoned Axis unit, call in a Howitzer strike. Watch as the spray of earth sprays in the air and listen to the little pieces as they rain back down to the This is the one of the best RTS games I have ever played. From the destructible environments, to the stellar audio, this game is technically superior to anything else on the store shelves. While your infantry is getting taken out by a garrisoned Axis unit, call in a Howitzer strike. Watch as the spray of earth sprays in the air and listen to the little pieces as they rain back down to the ground. Game play is excellent, however do not expect to build up a massive army and sweep through the map. Turtle your units in this game and you're dead. ("Won't win this war by standin' around!") I rarely, and I mean rarely, play online, but gave this one a spin last night. I actually had fun, it was easy to get connected and there was no lag even though half the group was showing poor performance, (6 Players). Our side had our asses handed to us, but it was a good time. The only minor quibbles that I have are the long load times and the lack of a quick save feature. I gave it a 10 only because the game deserves more that a 9, and I don Expand
  52. LysanderS
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    One of the best games i've ever played. I'll keep this short. While there's bugs, mentioned by others, such as infantry specifically moving AWAY from the sandbags you've stationed them to use as cover, and other small annoying bugs like this, it's still and AMAZING game. You really can't miss out on this. You can zoom in and alternate your view to get a great One of the best games i've ever played. I'll keep this short. While there's bugs, mentioned by others, such as infantry specifically moving AWAY from the sandbags you've stationed them to use as cover, and other small annoying bugs like this, it's still and AMAZING game. You really can't miss out on this. You can zoom in and alternate your view to get a great look at the gorgeous visuals, you have full controll over everything on the battlefield, it's just so fantastic. Multiplayer lobbies can be a real bish though... Expand
  53. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    F*CK YOU RELIC!!! I CANT STOP PLAYING THIS GAME!!!!!
    This game is from 2006 yet i dont know a RTS with better graphics.
    Yet i dont know a game with more strategy.
    Yet i dont know a game with more mods.
    Yet i dont know a game with better dynamic combat.
    This is a underrated masterpiece!!
  54. Czar
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    This is an amazing experience. They have turned the old tired rts base building concept and made it new again. INstead of feeling like "the tanks arrived becuase I built a tent". I feel like the tanks are here so a support tent has been errected. Maybe that is just me. The pause button is your friend - use it. You are able to use real tactics in this game - a small force can take out a This is an amazing experience. They have turned the old tired rts base building concept and made it new again. INstead of feeling like "the tanks arrived becuase I built a tent". I feel like the tanks are here so a support tent has been errected. Maybe that is just me. The pause button is your friend - use it. You are able to use real tactics in this game - a small force can take out a superior force if you use sound tactics. Expand
  55. JoeM.
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    Absolutely stunning. By far the best RTS I've played in years. Believe the hype, this game delivers. Well balanced, immersive gameplay, interesting new tactical and strategic elements, and it even lives up to the often aspired to but seldom achieved goal of making the action the focus, and not the resource gathering/base building. Do NOT believe the absurd negative reviews (a 1?! Absolutely stunning. By far the best RTS I've played in years. Believe the hype, this game delivers. Well balanced, immersive gameplay, interesting new tactical and strategic elements, and it even lives up to the often aspired to but seldom achieved goal of making the action the focus, and not the resource gathering/base building. Do NOT believe the absurd negative reviews (a 1?! Seriously, are you on drugs, or merely bitter?) that some have given. Or at the very least, read them for content. Some thought they were buying yet another WWII first person shooter (as if the world needed another), and others are curmudgeony tabletop gamers who are cranky that the developers took game mechanics and balance into consideration first, and trivial details like the horizontal movment limits of an M-4 Sherman's main gun were secondary. If you need to learn about history, you obviously don't go to an RTS for it (unless you're some sort of idiot). Read a book, or at the very least tune in to a documentary. If you're coming to CoH looking for an outstanding and genre defining real time strategy game...then you've come to the right place! Expand
  56. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    This is probably one of the fewest games that defines real-time strategy. This would have been called the Call of Duty RTS game of the century. Excellent graphics, content, story and cinematics make this unique game far better than all the others. Slow gameplay, less FPS usage, less missions, numerous balance issues and big patches are the drawbacks.
  57. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    This is the best RTS I've ever played, and yeah that's counting Starcraft. I've played over 300 of this game with my friends alone. About another 150 hours on my own, if you want a great RTS this is the game to get especially since it's $10 on steam without specials. Personally not a big fan of the expansions though, which are basically required for multiplayer other than with friends.This is the best RTS I've ever played, and yeah that's counting Starcraft. I've played over 300 of this game with my friends alone. About another 150 hours on my own, if you want a great RTS this is the game to get especially since it's $10 on steam without specials. Personally not a big fan of the expansions though, which are basically required for multiplayer other than with friends.

    Unit AI, works just fine for those who complain about it are just clicking and forgetting to much. Sure it's not perfect but to give this game a 4 because of it is down right stupid.

    I've also noticed this game has a major historical inaccuracy that greatly effects gameplay. (I assume for balance reasons) Historically during WWII the only tanks that could turn in place was the Panther and Tiger tanks (and a few related versions of those tanks), while no other tanks could do this, but in CoH all tanks can do that. Once again I'll assume it's for balance reasons because the allies would lose a lot more often than necessary.
    Expand
  58. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    best strategy game ever. really good and cant stop playing it. tanks are wonderful and taking enemy machine guns and vehicles are so fantastic. i gave it 10 since its best for me
  59. Suurboojumi
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    Very solid production from Relic. This is one of the best strategy games ever. Not a perfect 10, but still way better than 9.Winning in this game actually takes planning and instead of just building huge massses of cannon fodder. One of the few complaints i have, there is only Allied campaign, which is over too soon, but all in all definitely worth of buying. And I choose carefully which Very solid production from Relic. This is one of the best strategy games ever. Not a perfect 10, but still way better than 9.Winning in this game actually takes planning and instead of just building huge massses of cannon fodder. One of the few complaints i have, there is only Allied campaign, which is over too soon, but all in all definitely worth of buying. And I choose carefully which games I buy. Expand
  60. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Best RTS game ever. It's really realistic with lots of actions. Controlling tanks and spuads of troops to destroy the enemies. Campaign has good varieties of missions, like defending or attack with paratroopers. Skirmish and multiplayer can give you endless actions. I especially like 4 vs 4, because it requires teamwork and you can rely on your ally to help you. This is a really amazing game.
  61. PaulC.
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    I don't like giving games 10 - and this is the first game I remember giving 10 to on Meta...but it's worth it. I still ove the backdrop (WWII) and the sense of actually affecting the run of battle in a real way, your actions aren't just "tank rush" or "mass defense"..they will not work in this game, thoughtful combining of firepower in attack and carefully chosen positions I don't like giving games 10 - and this is the first game I remember giving 10 to on Meta...but it's worth it. I still ove the backdrop (WWII) and the sense of actually affecting the run of battle in a real way, your actions aren't just "tank rush" or "mass defense"..they will not work in this game, thoughtful combining of firepower in attack and carefully chosen positions in defense are vital - as is the requirment to continually adapt - 'cause the AI is among the best ever. For squad level - this one reigns supreme. Well done Relic (So what the hell was "The Outfit" all about then ??) Clarker Expand
  62. MadsJ.
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    Uber RTS! High quality gaming, SFX and GFX.. Go get it right now! And I'll cya online;-).
  63. RS
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Awesome game.
  64. Cb
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    A new standard for "10"!
  65. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    This is my second favorite game of all time, and I'm still playing it long after I gave up my favorite game of all time (Battlefield 2). It's probably one of the most replayable games of all time. It keeps things relatively simple yet provides endless ways to play.
  66. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Definitely best game ever, much better than so many other RTS as theres much more to think about, much more tactical play, and awesome replayability, Fave game still after over five years
  67. May 15, 2011
    10
    This is the greatest game WW2 RTS ever made. Its graphics and ganmeplay are mind blowing and with updates its even better. I hope this franchise is expanded
  68. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    A jaunt through the multi and even single-player modes of this game will lead you to the inevitable conclusion that this is the greatest and most innovative RTS of all time, no questions asked.

    The gameplay is infinitely replayable, terrain truly matters, and the micro is so detailed without ever becoming overwhelming or tedious. This is a game that makes full use of its available
    A jaunt through the multi and even single-player modes of this game will lead you to the inevitable conclusion that this is the greatest and most innovative RTS of all time, no questions asked.

    The gameplay is infinitely replayable, terrain truly matters, and the micro is so detailed without ever becoming overwhelming or tedious. This is a game that makes full use of its available resources.

    Most of all, mastering this game requires intelligence, not block-headed keyboard mashing. If you still haven't bought this yet, it's on Amazon for $14. Why don't you own it?
    Expand
  69. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    I have played this extensively and YES the graphics and sound effects are AMAZING, and is mostly good for massive battles and intense firefights. I give it a 10 because I have not once gotten bored of it over the last 4 years I've had it. Great game, AI needs some work, I highly recommend this game. P.S. Anyone who rated this game badly never gave it a BIT of a chance, don't listen to them please.
  70. Jul 3, 2012
    7
    I always wanted a WW2 RTS. No one ever seemed to deliver though, until know. i LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE this game. Its all us RTS gamers could ask for, including stuff we might not have :/

    As stated before, i love this game, but there are certainly some things that hold back gameplay. Standard to almost all games unfortunately, is that the AI is so incredibly stupid its mind boggling, you
    I always wanted a WW2 RTS. No one ever seemed to deliver though, until know. i LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE this game. Its all us RTS gamers could ask for, including stuff we might not have :/

    As stated before, i love this game, but there are certainly some things that hold back gameplay. Standard to almost all games unfortunately, is that the AI is so incredibly stupid its mind boggling, you mostly have to baby-sit the units youre advancing with. The penetration in tank on tank is VERY frustrating, the Shermans constantly bouncing 88mm shells off their hull like it was a soft breeze.

    Playing single player is almost not an option on the Axis. If you dont end the game FAST, you will lose, unless you have the Ai set to easy. Ive tried many times to do so, maybe its just me. But basically, anything you through at anywhere is facing it's weakness. The allies NEVER use any strategy other than massing anti tank guns and flamethrower engineers. because the game is balanced in a sense, Shermans are almost as powerful as the Panzer IVs and Tigers you through at them, making superiority in quality not easily achieved. The Germans are incredibly expensive, everything they have takes preposterous amounts of gas. Overall, the Germans get the short end of the stick from start to finish. Thats not to say they cant win, its just incredibly difficult. So basically, if youre in a single player game against the Allies, end the game quick or dont expect a win without incredible difficulty. All they do is mass AT guns and armored cars, making even a nice balanced mix of units crumble under 6 AT guns and other small arms. This is the problem, at least, with playing 2v2 and up, because the allied AI can produce AT guns so incredibly fast, it melts anything you throw at them.

    This game could be better, like all games, but its just what i wanted, a WW2 RTS. The majority of the game is great fun.
    Expand
  71. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Hell of a game. It's 5 years old, but still very good looking, unrivalled gameplay. Squad based infantry, very tactical because you can cut off important strategy points. Excellent cover system. Great tank mechanics. factions are very good balanced. Mulitplayer still totally vivid. On weekend there are more then 8000 players online. Great for a 5 year old game.
  72. Oct 27, 2013
    5
    I think I might be one of the few people on the planet who doesn't think much of this. The strategy is workable. The campaign has an acceptable storyline, the graphics are ok. Everything about it screams, "yeah, not bad" to me. Ah well.. never mind.
  73. May 1, 2012
    7
    This game is one of the best strategy games I have ever played. It is very fun and its graphics are amazing. The AI is pretty stupid through, which ruins the game a little bit. This is why I give this a 7.
  74. Aug 10, 2012
    9
    love this game. the system works well and the enemies offer a challenge. the games upgrade system feels satisfying and doesn't feel a worthless waste of points. I enjoyed the game from beginning to end and will consider buying the sequel when I've finished the game I'm playing now
  75. Aug 30, 2013
    5
    Graphics are great, maps are outstanding, many excellent features, and the multiplayer is AWESOME. This game COULD have been great all around. But you don't get an A+ for "could have".

    Why isn't it great? Because the computer AI is incredibly stupid, regardless of the difficulty, and cheats shamelessly and endlessly to make up for it's stupidity. It also has among THE WORST vehicle
    Graphics are great, maps are outstanding, many excellent features, and the multiplayer is AWESOME. This game COULD have been great all around. But you don't get an A+ for "could have".

    Why isn't it great? Because the computer AI is incredibly stupid, regardless of the difficulty, and cheats shamelessly and endlessly to make up for it's stupidity. It also has among THE WORST vehicle pathfinding of any RTS I've played. The AI tactical intelligence and vehicle pathfinding is literally no better than Starcraft 1. Yes, it's seriously that bad.

    This tells me that Relic was unwilling to spend the time to develop a genuinely intelligent AI to match the incredibly detailed and complex maps they built, because they didn't see the need to waste the man hours making the Single Player or Co-Op experience as good as the Multiplayer.

    Don't you DARE try to enjoy the single player campaign in this game. It's an utter exercise in frustration and misery until you finally realize WHY the enemy can dance through heavy machine gun fire, built multiple tanks at a time, and always has 2x (or 3x, or even 4x) the manpower points as you.

    It's because Relic made it that way, because they were too lazy to care.
    Expand
  76. NateR.
    Sep 26, 2006
    6
    Great graphics and sound. But too-close camera views and hyper-paced battles mean you really just win battles by mobbing the enemy with excessive force. Very little actual strategy involved. Definitely over-hyped.
  77. Aug 7, 2013
    6
    Overrated. This game wants to be a RTS that emphasizes tactics and strategy, but ends up being more of a cleverly disguised spinoff of the Command & Conquer series than anything else. Don't get me wrong there are lots of cool ideas here, but none that really excel in the framework of the game.

    You have the ability to station troops behind walls or inside houses for cover; engineers can
    Overrated. This game wants to be a RTS that emphasizes tactics and strategy, but ends up being more of a cleverly disguised spinoff of the Command & Conquer series than anything else. Don't get me wrong there are lots of cool ideas here, but none that really excel in the framework of the game.

    You have the ability to station troops behind walls or inside houses for cover; engineers can build sandbags, barbed wired fences or anti-tank blockades, and even plant landmines; you are given a variety of troop types from machine guns, snipers, basic infantry, down toward mortars for long range bombardments; and even an RPG like level up skill system based on experience gained. Heck, the game even adds an overhead tactical view as if to say, "see this is more than your mindless send wave after wave of whatever type of unit you want and auto win." All sounds really cool!

    However, it won't be long till you realize all these "strategies" are a waste of time and you'd be better off ignoring them and going back to the standard "build tons of whatever units, group them all together into a giant blob, and just move around the map steamrolling the enemy." The AI is dumb. Your troops are dumb. They require 24/7 babysitting with micromanagement intervention for every fight or they will just keel over and die at the mere sight of the enemy (even if you put your troops in superior cover positions). So attempting to tactically spread troops around the battlefield is not a worthwhile tactic. Attempting to move to a different area of the map away from your main army and build up some defenses with an engineer is not worthwhile. These things will just cause your troops to needlessly be lost and you finding yourself falling behind. The terrible zoomed in camera that makes the game feel like its 640x480 resolution from the 90's is just the extra kick in the balls for strategic gameplay. Company of Heroes manages to somehow actively punish you for attempting to play it tactically and rewards those who who don't.

    As for the battles they are cartoonish. Makes Call of Duty look like a hardcore combat sim. Infantry standing 2 feet from eachother unloading hundreds of rounds unable to kill eachother. Flank some enemy infantry and get them surrounded and pinned down. Easy kill right? Nope, the game has an infantile Retreat functionality that magically turns your troops into zombie-like super soldiers with tank like defensive buffs and cheetah like speed. Up they pop and safely run back to base to heal while surviving thousands of bullets being fired at them along the way. Is this a PC RTS or a RTS made for XBOX kiddies? Hard to tell sometimes.

    Its not a bad RTS, but its not a great one either. Certainly not the absurd "Greatest RTS of all time" taglines being thrown around. Have you people ever played a RTS before? Half the Age of Empires series, the C&C's, Starcrafts, Warcraft, Total Annihilation, et al all trump this game. Even if we are strictly talking WW2 RTS the less marketed Men Of War series is a more impressive feat.

    Final Score:
    6/10. Despite being hilariously cartoonish and immersion breaking for a WW2 title the single player campaign has some pretty good production value. And if tactics, strategy, realism, base building, or the minimum requirement of a functioning brain in a RTS is of no interest to you then the multiplayer is probably right up your alley.
    Expand
  78. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Never has the RTS genre seen anything like this. Company of Heroes is rightfully, the highest rated game of its kind. And to this day, no other game in the likes holds a candle to its gameplay and tactical immersion. Every battle is something new and exciting, this is one of those games that never gets old.
  79. Jun 6, 2013
    7
    Where I like it for being WWII rts game with pretty nice graphic and sound effects, I dislike it for inbalance of fractions (yes, Axis are op) and amount of bugs that makes gameplay EVEN with/against AI frustrating as hell.
  80. Sep 12, 2011
    6
    This game is highly overrated. Yes, it's a good game, quite different from regular RTS games out there, but you get tired of the innovative stuff after 5 missions. It's the same old song and dance in all missions (make tanks and go through the map cleaning the path), you have very little choice of units (< 10), even less of buildings. To be worse, all the battle can be summarized as tankThis game is highly overrated. Yes, it's a good game, quite different from regular RTS games out there, but you get tired of the innovative stuff after 5 missions. It's the same old song and dance in all missions (make tanks and go through the map cleaning the path), you have very little choice of units (< 10), even less of buildings. To be worse, all the battle can be summarized as tank fights. Infantry units are almost useless.

    This game starts very promising, but gets off the trail very bad. It's a shame. I couldn't make it to the end, got really boring.
    Expand
  81. HankinC.
    Jan 3, 2007
    6
    I really liked warhammer 40k so I wanted to try this one out. My computer is only 2yrs old nvidia 5200 card, and I have to turn the thing down to the lowest setting before it's playable so I'm probably missing out on all the pretty graphics everyone else is talking about. There's a memory leak in the game, if you play it a few games the loading times get longer and longer. I really liked warhammer 40k so I wanted to try this one out. My computer is only 2yrs old nvidia 5200 card, and I have to turn the thing down to the lowest setting before it's playable so I'm probably missing out on all the pretty graphics everyone else is talking about. There's a memory leak in the game, if you play it a few games the loading times get longer and longer. Don't know why people are talking about the destructable environment, the only things I could destroy on the map are fences/sandbags and buildings. There's way too much micro management: You get 8+ units to control and each unit complete their task in a few seconds, unless you're superhuman quick most of your units will be idle. The stupid anti-tank guns don't shoot when there's an enemy right in front of it you have to manually move it into the direction of the enemy, annoying! The shooting from behind/hiding behind objects manoeuvres are nice ideas but unfortunately it only adds to this micro management nightmare. It's not noticeable in the mission game but in skirmish vs. normal computer it's unplayable unless you keep on pressing the pause button every few seconds to do these micro management bits, all the guys giving this game a 10 should try skirmish mode. However I do like the offensive nature of the game, alot of rts reward you for sitting on your arse defending till you've got an over the top invincible army. Expand
  82. DavidP
    Mar 11, 2009
    5
    The graphics and gameplay in this game are terrific, apart from some small problems with AI that others have mentioned. But I take issue with the oppressive front-end, which has to be the worst on the market. Even if you only want to play single-player, you are forced to create an online account and log in. Even worse, the first time you run the game you have to download and install large The graphics and gameplay in this game are terrific, apart from some small problems with AI that others have mentioned. But I take issue with the oppressive front-end, which has to be the worst on the market. Even if you only want to play single-player, you are forced to create an online account and log in. Even worse, the first time you run the game you have to download and install large patches. You have no choice. It works like this: you start the game, wait for it to load, and are told you must install a 75 MB patch. The game exits, the patch downloader starts, and it downloads the patch (patches ranges in size from about 10 to over 100 MB). The patch to installs. You must repeat this process seven times before you are allowed to play! Expand
  83. Sep 12, 2012
    9
    You know what? This is one of those few non-crappy RTSs I ever played. The gameplay is addicting, i barely see any flaws. THQ you did a really good job.
  84. May 21, 2013
    9
    Brilliant, thrilling, exhausting and exhilarating, this must be the finest RTS out there.

    Even the slow missions are excellent, and the fast ones, where you can't take your eyes off the screen for a second in case you miss the AI's tricks are quite incredible.
  85. May 30, 2013
    5
    Campaing was decent 5 points for that but now to the skirmish & multiplayer with friends Game is unrealistic as crap infantry squad running in front of tanks & mg nest just stay there for 5 seconds and then run away Tank vs tank battles boring as hell not enough units Artificial dificulty on harder dificulty on skirmish basicly meaning that 1 enemy anti tank squad will screw upCampaing was decent 5 points for that but now to the skirmish & multiplayer with friends Game is unrealistic as crap infantry squad running in front of tanks & mg nest just stay there for 5 seconds and then run away Tank vs tank battles boring as hell not enough units Artificial dificulty on harder dificulty on skirmish basicly meaning that 1 enemy anti tank squad will screw up 10 of your tanks even when theyr standing 5 meter from the tanks .
    Tanks do no dmg to infantry rly wtf is this hello it has machine gun ???????)
    TLDR Game is overrated as unrealistic only good thing is campaing
    Expand
  86. SteveG.
    Sep 22, 2006
    5
    ATI owners BEWARE....I own a 9600XT and all shadows in the game are pure dark blocks that look like they are at 640x480 (though I'm running at 800 x 600 and 1024 X 768). The boards have also shown many issues with the higher end X1900 series of cards and Crossfire is also bugged. It seems that with this new engine, Relic "took the money and ran" .. to Nvidia that is Serving onlyATI owners BEWARE....I own a 9600XT and all shadows in the game are pure dark blocks that look like they are at 640x480 (though I'm running at 800 x 600 and 1024 X 768). The boards have also shown many issues with the higher end X1900 series of cards and Crossfire is also bugged. It seems that with this new engine, Relic "took the money and ran" .. to Nvidia that is Serving only about 50-60% of pc owners (Nvidia) and ignoring the rest (ATI) is not the way to make a million selling game. Maybe they will patch it, but most likely not as it appears that they only coded shadows in the Nvidia format. Again, ATI users --- TRY AT YOUR OWN RISK. Sad thing is that the game looks amazing. Collapse
  87. ChrisJ.
    Jan 6, 2007
    5
    It has some pretty awesome units and weapons, but it also took a few steps back from where RTS has advanced. For instance, some units just get lost, and it's hard to locate them camoflauged into the scenary. That type of thing just frustrates be, and creates dumb mistakes that just make levels take longer for good reason. Still, I played through a few of the levels until I decided it It has some pretty awesome units and weapons, but it also took a few steps back from where RTS has advanced. For instance, some units just get lost, and it's hard to locate them camoflauged into the scenary. That type of thing just frustrates be, and creates dumb mistakes that just make levels take longer for good reason. Still, I played through a few of the levels until I decided it wasn't worth my time. Expand
  88. KenB.
    Feb 3, 2007
    5
    My goodness! Everybody is talking about this game being so great and stuff. But for me its not.I Think its overrated. Sure its got some of the best graphics to date, but thats about it. This game cannot beat Starcraft, Warcraft , Warhammer etc... First and foremost, a lot of people is saying that the game is balanced, well of course its balanced! its only got 2 factions for cry'n out My goodness! Everybody is talking about this game being so great and stuff. But for me its not.I Think its overrated. Sure its got some of the best graphics to date, but thats about it. This game cannot beat Starcraft, Warcraft , Warhammer etc... First and foremost, a lot of people is saying that the game is balanced, well of course its balanced! its only got 2 factions for cry'n out loud. Its not going to be hard to balance it out. And they'd get laughed upon if they cant even balance 2 opposing sides. Second, its got no air units which is really disappoining. WW2 involves lots of air battles, and COH doesnt have them? Third, you can only play the Allied campaign, another serious drawback. Fourth, there is only 2 factions, where are the British,Soviets and the Italians? Didnt they play major roles in WW2? Not so realistic as some people say it is. Fifth is that it is very repetetive, I got tired playing it after 2 weeks since you can only play Allies and Axis. And people should be true to them selves and not copy the reviews of others. Some people give the game a high score just because some people have given the the same. Maybe it does deserve a high score but not past 8.3. But I gave it a flat 5 because of the 5 reasons that I've posted here. Actually its 4 + 1 because it does have great sounds. I do love Relics games especially warhammer. But I'm really disappointed at CoH, really... And this is my review of the game. Expand
  89. JonD.
    Aug 7, 2007
    5
    I used to love the old close combat series and strategy-wise this game falls short, just another pretty resource management RTS. I watched a Tiger get blown up by frontal hits from an allied anti-tank weapon, I'm sorry but that is not realistic. I loved the chess-match aspect of close combat, you needed to have a tactical strategy to play that game, not micromanaging all this I used to love the old close combat series and strategy-wise this game falls short, just another pretty resource management RTS. I watched a Tiger get blown up by frontal hits from an allied anti-tank weapon, I'm sorry but that is not realistic. I loved the chess-match aspect of close combat, you needed to have a tactical strategy to play that game, not micromanaging all this resource nonsense and building units. I want a prettier close combat series to come along. Expand
  90. May 10, 2012
    5
    A near perfect game, heavily marred by glitchy unit AI, as many others have stated (tanks driving straight into other tanks etc, trying to get a tank to reverse to retreat is almost impossible, as they always try to turn their back to the enemy, which is the weak spot, AND it heavily slows them down)

    and an obvious imbalance in teams. US and Nazis is an equal battle, but Panzer Elites are
    A near perfect game, heavily marred by glitchy unit AI, as many others have stated (tanks driving straight into other tanks etc, trying to get a tank to reverse to retreat is almost impossible, as they always try to turn their back to the enemy, which is the weak spot, AND it heavily slows them down)

    and an obvious imbalance in teams. US and Nazis is an equal battle, but Panzer Elites are overpowererd, and the British literally cannot play without having US allies or they will be crushed quickly, but if the Brittish do play with American allies they become completely overpowered and it becomes a case of spawn killing with pounder howitzer barrages on the enemy base!

    Couple that with the most unfriendly online community imaginable (just try and get in games with a bad win/loss ratio, i dare you, noone wants to play on your team, its terrible) the player base care way more about their stats and ranking than actually having fun on the game...

    and it is a real shame because the game itself looks to be astoundingly good, its such a pity that the potential is wasted.
    Expand
  91. ClausA
    Oct 16, 2008
    4
    I agree 100% with Raffaele. The "AI" is particularly frustrating - AT units will happily take a beating from their flanks and do nothing except complain about it. Actually swinging around and engaging the aggressor seems beyond their abilities. Tanks, as well as AT units, will often drive right into their targets and engage them at point blank range rather than at a safe(r) distance. I agree 100% with Raffaele. The "AI" is particularly frustrating - AT units will happily take a beating from their flanks and do nothing except complain about it. Actually swinging around and engaging the aggressor seems beyond their abilities. Tanks, as well as AT units, will often drive right into their targets and engage them at point blank range rather than at a safe(r) distance. Graphics are very good and the sound effects are amazing, but the unit AI is an exercise in frustration, especially in singleplayer skirmish mode (I don't care about online play). I don't understand how anyone can give this game a rating above 4, sorry. I'm uninstalling it while typing this. Expand
  92. NickB
    Sep 22, 2006
    3
    Reasonable enough, but isn't vastly different from what we've seen before. Don't let the hype around it fool you, this is just dawn of war with a WW2 setting. The action happens at such a pace where it's just a case of getting as many men/vehicles across the battlefield at one point, and tactics go out of the window. It doesn't 'force' intelligent play.
  93. DarrenSharrocks
    Aug 21, 2006
    6
    Nothing new, just the same build the base, at the moment in the beta, the allies have all the artillery, para etc, and best infantry. They can use any troops or tanks to spot for artillery barrages. Germans have great tanks, good Anti tank guns, esp the 88s, can get artillery but its late in the game. The germans have poor infantry, but can get mgs faster, ostwind is good, but thats aboutNothing new, just the same build the base, at the moment in the beta, the allies have all the artillery, para etc, and best infantry. They can use any troops or tanks to spot for artillery barrages. Germans have great tanks, good Anti tank guns, esp the 88s, can get artillery but its late in the game. The germans have poor infantry, but can get mgs faster, ostwind is good, but thats about it.Overall at the moment game is unblanced to hell. Good graphics, etc, nice explosions, good buldings and able to manning them. Yet again no trenches.
    Over all nice game but its just the same concept nothing new here, really just the same as command and conquer and that is nearly 10 years old.
    Expand
  94. thomasl
    Jul 15, 2008
    5
    Great graphics in all but it lackes alot of gamplay how long would it take to kill a 6 man squad behind a small wall of sandbags with some of the units in the open? it would take 5 seconds or a bit more. according to this game it takes a minute. i was behind sandbags online with 10 riflemen and grenadiers came towards me and threw a greande and killed most of them and in that time i only Great graphics in all but it lackes alot of gamplay how long would it take to kill a 6 man squad behind a small wall of sandbags with some of the units in the open? it would take 5 seconds or a bit more. according to this game it takes a minute. i was behind sandbags online with 10 riflemen and grenadiers came towards me and threw a greande and killed most of them and in that time i only killed 2 of 8 grenadiers and they were running at me in the open and they killed 8 riflemen. ffs i mean cmon in real life they wouldnt even do that for starters it would be suicide and if they did they wouldnt even get close. you hit the units but there's no death they just keep running and running they dont even go on the floor ffs. this is very disappointing. i got to level 8 american and level 7 where. wake up people look at the GAMEPLAY. Expand
  95. KennethM.
    Jan 30, 2007
    0
    Faces of war is vastly superior. This is just dawn of war with WWII skins, right down to only having one campaign.
  96. AB
    Oct 11, 2006
    6
    Although it is very similar to Dawn of War, it has some pretty major problems. Not only are the loading times awful, but the camera doesn't scroll properly without jittering unless you turn everythiing onto very low. Also, with 3 resources, why should one be HUGELY bigger than all the others? The game does NOT let you build a big army and field it properly - the armies are small and Although it is very similar to Dawn of War, it has some pretty major problems. Not only are the loading times awful, but the camera doesn't scroll properly without jittering unless you turn everythiing onto very low. Also, with 3 resources, why should one be HUGELY bigger than all the others? The game does NOT let you build a big army and field it properly - the armies are small and difficult to control properly. Very unrealistic compared to a real war, I imagine. The tanks keep crashing into each other when you ask them to go forwards. In summary, it is simple. The game is a mish-mash of Dawn of War and the Red Alert series. The action is slower paced than Red Alert and there is a very poor variety of units to use - don't expect any control over any proper aircraft. It is less exciting than Red Alert and the 'base building' aspect of it is VERY poor - slow and few. Expand
  97. TomS
    May 22, 2008
    6
    For a game that has this much hype - it should play better. Good: Single player campaign is possibly the best for any RTS. Graphics are amazing (altho not sure about DX10 making that much difference) Bad: Overall game balance. It's too easy to simpily win via numbers by flooding the enemy with cheap troops. This and a dosen other cheap tactics which work on balance issues/flaws have For a game that has this much hype - it should play better. Good: Single player campaign is possibly the best for any RTS. Graphics are amazing (altho not sure about DX10 making that much difference) Bad: Overall game balance. It's too easy to simpily win via numbers by flooding the enemy with cheap troops. This and a dosen other cheap tactics which work on balance issues/flaws have ruined online play. You may think this is not due to the game, but the players. This is not so. Relic are horrifically bad at spotting these, and fixing the bugs/balance issues that is the basis for the rubbish online play experience. This is widely acknowledged in the multiplayer lobbies. Expand
  98. Oct 17, 2011
    6
    This is one of the most overrated games I have played in many years. The praise given by critics and gamers to Company of Heroes is truly alarming. To play the game, you will be forced into signing up and logging into a Relic-Online account with your CD key. It doesn't matter if you're playing single player. Relic forces you into this DRM style process that is not even listed with Steam.This is one of the most overrated games I have played in many years. The praise given by critics and gamers to Company of Heroes is truly alarming. To play the game, you will be forced into signing up and logging into a Relic-Online account with your CD key. It doesn't matter if you're playing single player. Relic forces you into this DRM style process that is not even listed with Steam. This is absolutely unnacceptable and I feel misinformed by Steam and Relic. Relic had another idiotic idea. Menus for all three standalone Company of Heroes games are included, but locked. There are also two training missions from the second standalone game that appear, but are locked as well. Ridiculous. Upon first impressions (first four missions), the tactics appear to be slow, unrealistic, lacking in response, and surprisingly linear for a real-time strategy game. I am somewhat shocked, as this game has secured much hype over the years. The AI (of your own units and the enemy) is amazingly simple and limited. The units often have a hard time with your directions, and all units appear to be suffering from Alzheimer's disease. The AI is simply not up to standard. Many of your troops stand or sit around during a large generalized firefight, or have extremely bad shot accuracy. Saving and loading times (especially) are unexcusably long even with a modern computer. After you quit the game, Steam uploads/synchronizes several hundred megs each time. I understand I can turn this off. My complaint is the amount of space the Company of Heroes save games occupy without allowing you to delete previously saved games. Company of Heroes does not make this simple save game housekeeping possible. The game has some serious sound volume troubles in general, as it is abnormally low. Between the live action portion and the cutscenes, this problem is most serious. The cutscenes are much lower in volume in comparison. You will be restricted to constructing a very small amount of buildings (six) and only seven types of infantry troops. If the aforementioned buildings and units were more extensive with their usage and utility, I would not have much to gripe about. In reality, you will find that what you have access to is quite abridged for a game that came out in 2006. From the fifth mission on, things do get better and a tiny bit more exciting, even though it will continue to be almost an exact repetition of the first four missions. The gameplay is abbreviated, strikingly dull, laggard, close to being boring, and with little to no excitement. You select your squad(s), point them in a certain direction, select some inexstensive actions, watch some mildly interesting battle take place until the enemy troops are all dead, then capture a strategic point. That's it. There is really not much else to it. Even if the mission objectives change from mission to mission, the means you will exercise to achieve those goals will be the same. Construct buildings, generate units, upgrade, take over strategic points, repair units, replenish units, and then repeat. Once again, that's it. Company of Heroes does not provide the player with any fresh real-time strategy scope. This clumsy piece of software also managed to crash multiple times during the final mission. It took me about 19 hours to complete. Expand
  99. Feb 8, 2012
    0
    One of the WORST!!! Games i have ever played... just a bad camera position, far too close to get a good overview, especially because you have to micro your soldiers all the time!! all of your units... they get nothing done and often do things first after the 3rd or 4th direction. They are unable to find the shortest way and some times just run in with enemy fire instead of attacking, veryOne of the WORST!!! Games i have ever played... just a bad camera position, far too close to get a good overview, especially because you have to micro your soldiers all the time!! all of your units... they get nothing done and often do things first after the 3rd or 4th direction. They are unable to find the shortest way and some times just run in with enemy fire instead of attacking, very unuseful for a mortar for example. The online don't run anyway and there is no support... i am scared of THQ giving their name for such a crap. If you want do something good, don't buy this! Expand
  100. JohnJ.
    Jan 22, 2007
    4
    Repetetive, no axis campaing, unrealistic in so many aspects, few unit choices, poorly executed A.I, physics..where are they?, sound effects is the only good thing along with graphics but that not much since the rest of the game is no good.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Company of Heroes should be on the must-play list of every RTS fanatic out there, even those tired of WWII settings. It's just that good. [Oct. 2006, p.70]
  2. This is the finest WWII strategy game I've played. Hell, I'm having real trouble thinking of any strategy game that's this spectacular, this intense, this fun. [Oct 2006, p.70]
  3. 94
    The transformation from a idyllic little town into a heap of crushed buildings and burned out husks of vehicles can be shocking. Seeing and hearing major explosions that cause bodies (and bits of bodies) to fly across the screen along with rubble from a nearby building simply puts you more into the battle than any RTS in memory.