Company of Heroes PC

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2006
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1138 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobE.
    Oct 11, 2006
    9
    All the positives that everyone else said are true. The only thing keeping it from being perfect is length (too short, at 15 missions), and weak AI. Only on a couple of the defensive missions did I feel like I was really under attack.
  2. P.M.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    Amazing game, incredible grahics and unveleivable gameplay. The best part is the use of tactical moves such as flanking.
  3. AndrewF.
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    As put by many magazines, COH is simply the pinnacle of RTS gaming. If you have a good computer it's worth the visuals alone; howitzers throw troops 40 meters into the air (or at least parts of them), tanks have chunks of armor blown off sometimes rendering them immobile and of course my favourite part of COH's visual style: all cover is dynamic meaning if one of your squads is As put by many magazines, COH is simply the pinnacle of RTS gaming. If you have a good computer it's worth the visuals alone; howitzers throw troops 40 meters into the air (or at least parts of them), tanks have chunks of armor blown off sometimes rendering them immobile and of course my favourite part of COH's visual style: all cover is dynamic meaning if one of your squads is hiding behind some barrels and an mg opens up on them, well the barrels splinter and collapse leaving that squad venerable. Amazing things like that compliment the gameplay all too well. Speaking of the gameplay at first it feels a little akward controlling large amounts of troops, but after a couple games it only gets better (get those hotkeys down). speaking of gameplay COHs biggest strength is the majority of online battles rely on combat and very little base management (at least 85%), meaning the key to victory is map control. Lastly I have this to say about the sound FX, amazing, again the best ever done for any RTS (if not onscreen artillery echoes in the backround, mg's sound incredible as they chew up the ground and the allies). Well thats it, now go buy it if you are a fan of RTS's. And I should also point out that it runs well on less powerful machines as well, and the visual sacrafice is really not that much. Expand
  4. GeorgeW.
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    I cannot stress enough how excellent this game is. The visuals, audio and gameplay all excel over others in the genre. In many ways, it's a combination of the best elements of Act of War, Dawn of War and COD. The control and squad systems are well-designed, making controlling your army a simple task. The AI is unusually smart and adaptive, capable of easily flanking your forces and I cannot stress enough how excellent this game is. The visuals, audio and gameplay all excel over others in the genre. In many ways, it's a combination of the best elements of Act of War, Dawn of War and COD. The control and squad systems are well-designed, making controlling your army a simple task. The AI is unusually smart and adaptive, capable of easily flanking your forces and defenses, using cover and heavy support weapons effectively. The use of a full physics engine really makes this a unique experience. Fighting through european cities with AT guns, tanks and motars results in destroyed buildings and caters. Destroyed vehicle parts and building rubble provide cover, whilst holes blown into the sides of buildings become places from which your infantry can fire. The only problems of note are the high system requirements needed to drive the fantastic visuals and physics, and the rather low limits placed on the number of units you can have. This is not like C&C - you cannot put hundreds of tanks onto the field and hope to win. At any one time, you may have as many as 6 or 7 tanks and several infantry units. However, this limit does enforce more reliance on strategy rather than spam, and it makes the limited use of the larger (and very tough) Tiger tanks much more enjoyable. Expand
  5. RS
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Awesome game.
  6. mobius
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    Is Ron H reviewing the same game that everybody else is,

    Sure we can all run about shooting nazis in a on the rails of a great FPS, but if you want to be able to control whole platoons of Rangers,Engineers Machine gunners,mortor teams, sherman tanks roket launchers airstrikes, recon units then i would play what i consider the best WWII stratagy game available, the lv of detail that is
    Is Ron H reviewing the same game that everybody else is,

    Sure we can all run about shooting nazis in a on the rails of a great FPS, but if you want to be able to control whole platoons of Rangers,Engineers Machine gunners,mortor teams, sherman tanks roket launchers airstrikes, recon units then i would play what i consider the best WWII stratagy game available, the lv of detail that is available when you zoom right in with a great redraw distance makes the game such a joy to watch and play.
    Expand
  7. BrianY
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    After one day of Beta testing all I can say is wow! This game is a logical step in the right direction for the developers who brought us the wonderful Warhammer Dawn of War games. The best way I can describe it is throw into a melting pot all the past WW2 RTS games and blend them all together into what a WW2 RTS should be and you will have Company of Heroes. The variety of units andAfter one day of Beta testing all I can say is wow! This game is a logical step in the right direction for the developers who brought us the wonderful Warhammer Dawn of War games. The best way I can describe it is throw into a melting pot all the past WW2 RTS games and blend them all together into what a WW2 RTS should be and you will have Company of Heroes. The variety of units and details of the graphics will keep this game interesting for a long time to come. Expand
  8. AwaisI.
    Sep 12, 2006
    9
    Company of Heroes, without a doubt is THE definition of an RTS.It combines the excellent sound,visceral,nerve wracking gameplay of Call of Duty 2 with the overhead view of an RTS. The only problem ive had with it is that the system settings a bit too high for those with a low computer. I have a 1.7 Ghz,512 Dual RAM and 64 ATi Radeon Mobile 9200 and COH bogs down alot.But the gameplay is Company of Heroes, without a doubt is THE definition of an RTS.It combines the excellent sound,visceral,nerve wracking gameplay of Call of Duty 2 with the overhead view of an RTS. The only problem ive had with it is that the system settings a bit too high for those with a low computer. I have a 1.7 Ghz,512 Dual RAM and 64 ATi Radeon Mobile 9200 and COH bogs down alot.But the gameplay is soooo good that the graphical problems are ALL forgotten. Company of Heroes,you dont own it...it owns YOU! Expand
  9. BeqirB.
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    This is a best that I even heard anytime in my life thanks with regard.
  10. JonDoe
    Sep 26, 2006
    9
    Not your bog standard RTS or WW2 game. At first as a avid RTS gamer, I found it hard to get into with the slightly higher pace of gameplay than normal RTS but once you get the hang of it the game is just a enjoyment to play. Good sound along with oustanding graphics for a RTS puts this head and sholders above any other real time stratagy game out there.
  11. TheGuy
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    I hate it when idiots say "not innovative" about RTS games... why don't we hear is about FPS games where every single game is to find someone and kill them? Grow up and stop being so critical... "it's not realistic enough wah wah wah" you know why? Because all realistic RTS games SINK like a rock because they AREN'T fun. Do yourselves a favor and play this game, I'veI hate it when idiots say "not innovative" about RTS games... why don't we hear is about FPS games where every single game is to find someone and kill them? Grow up and stop being so critical... "it's not realistic enough wah wah wah" you know why? Because all realistic RTS games SINK like a rock because they AREN'T fun. Do yourselves a favor and play this game, I've played about 300 hours worth of this treat since open beta and am not tired yet. Expand
  12. B.MacBryce
    Sep 29, 2006
    9
    The camera could be a little further from the action and it takes a while to get used to the frantic pace. After you get your microing sorted out, it really comes to life. The graphics are amazing and there are a lot of tactical options. I didn't care too much for the campaign mode but it's a good tutorial for the game and the needed micro skills. The implementation of the Full The camera could be a little further from the action and it takes a while to get used to the frantic pace. After you get your microing sorted out, it really comes to life. The graphics are amazing and there are a lot of tactical options. I didn't care too much for the campaign mode but it's a good tutorial for the game and the needed micro skills. The implementation of the Full Spectrum Warrior-esque features (surpression, pinning, flanking) is a lot of fun during the early game while the late benefits from weaker units still being able to destroy the most powerful tanks when micro'ed properly. I'd rather have a Rome Total War setup without buildings but it doesn't dominate the game too much. And I don't even like RTS normally. Expand
  13. NickW.
    Sep 4, 2006
    10
    Excellent game. Evenly balanced. Actually has physics. I can't think of anything in this game that isn't good!
  14. JohnW.
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    I think it's a spectacular game. Graphics, tough AI, intensity of the combat and everything getting blown apart is awesome.
  15. BrandonW.
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    The gameplay is incredible. For all you people that complained on here previously about not being able to play as the axis...umm there's multiplayer. With custom mods out there that are good overall and fantastic custom maps, the online gameplay will give you and your friends hours and hours of entertainment.
  16. BenjaminC.
    Apr 9, 2007
    10
    One of (if not) the best RTS game out to date. Great graphics, sound, presentation, but most of all, GAMEPLAY! Only having two armys may be a problem to some people but it also promotes using both armys equaly online. When the expansion, CoH: Oposing Fronts is released this game will become aonther classic like SC, TA, WC, ect. 4 armys it will be more competitive than ever. Pick this up One of (if not) the best RTS game out to date. Great graphics, sound, presentation, but most of all, GAMEPLAY! Only having two armys may be a problem to some people but it also promotes using both armys equaly online. When the expansion, CoH: Oposing Fronts is released this game will become aonther classic like SC, TA, WC, ect. 4 armys it will be more competitive than ever. Pick this up if you don't have it! Expand
  17. RazLeBoL
    May 15, 2007
    10
    One of the best game I played in ages! And I am not even a fan of the RTS genre. So well done and requires thinking instead of massing units. It encourages usage of your brain instead.
  18. Novi4ekNone
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    good game
  19. JoshuaA.
    Sep 4, 2007
    10
    The best part about CoH is the attention to detail. Having troops realistically seeking cover, rolling on the ground, having chunks of earth being blown off of the map, it just makes you feel really there.
  20. DerekS.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    Amazing graphics, and hours of fun playing time!
  21. RussG
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    The only strategy game I have every played that actually required thinking over just farming units and blobbing around the map. I have tried many strategy games, but this one is the best. While some people have trouble with the game and rate it poorly, it is because they didn't know how to play the game. This is a game that requires a lot of skill and knowledge before you get good at The only strategy game I have every played that actually required thinking over just farming units and blobbing around the map. I have tried many strategy games, but this one is the best. While some people have trouble with the game and rate it poorly, it is because they didn't know how to play the game. This is a game that requires a lot of skill and knowledge before you get good at it. For example, many people get frustrated when they don't know the controls to drive a vehicles backwards. Also, you can drive a vehicle into a wall to make a place for a machine gun. Buildings and cover can be destroyed completely. The game is the best balance of realism and fun I have ever played in a game. Expand
  22. JesseO.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    I actually installed Windows again (I'm a crazy Linux nut) just for this game. It is quite simply the best "RTS" game I've ever played.
  23. IanC
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Company of heroes is one of the most enjoyable game I have ever played, and that's without its expansion. The AI is astounding in my opinion, making combat decisions to better keep themselves alive. The cover system is very flexible and interesting, and lastly, the accuracy and presentation of the units in the game is near god-like. I highly recommend purchasing this game!
  24. SamF.
    Jun 29, 2008
    8
    CoH is a good game all in all. I think alot of people just get frustrated with the game because it is so demanding, intense and requires attention to detail. But I think thats the point of a game. It has reallly good graphics and sound. Can people also stop talking about there being no planes because there is if you pick an air commando and its suppposed to be an infantry based game CoH is a good game all in all. I think alot of people just get frustrated with the game because it is so demanding, intense and requires attention to detail. But I think thats the point of a game. It has reallly good graphics and sound. Can people also stop talking about there being no planes because there is if you pick an air commando and its suppposed to be an infantry based game anyway, hence the micromanagment. Expand
  25. Torinir
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    One of the best RTS games of all time. A testament to the quality products that Relic is capable of developing.
  26. DickA
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    CoH pretty much set the standard for RTS games post 2006. At its conception, its mix of intuitive and deep unit cover, intelligent unit AI, a great interface and outstanding graphics blew away previous entries into the genre. CoH was as a big step forward for the genre as Command and Conquer or Dune. It was the perfect mix of gameplay, history and balance. With patches, the game's AI CoH pretty much set the standard for RTS games post 2006. At its conception, its mix of intuitive and deep unit cover, intelligent unit AI, a great interface and outstanding graphics blew away previous entries into the genre. CoH was as a big step forward for the genre as Command and Conquer or Dune. It was the perfect mix of gameplay, history and balance. With patches, the game's AI is now absolutely outstanding, and still features a strong online community. Plenty of variety in maps, built in mission editor, the game simply features everything you could want in an RTS, complete with the expected attention to quality relic can provide. Expand
  27. kimnørgaard
    Apr 23, 2009
    9
    great game i Recommend every RTS players to buy it. the reason i gave it a 9 is that the system requirments... it recommends: 3.0 ghz intel P4. 1GB ram. Nvidia geforce 6800 256mb or better. I have 2,2 ghz amd athlon 64x2 2GB ram nvidia 7200gs 256mb. so i throught i could run it maxed out. but i have to run it on low settings....the system requirments is really a big lie...
  28. AlR.
    Jul 24, 2009
    9
    An excellent revision of the squad-based RTS genre, and a fitting blend of realism and gameplay conceits to maximize fun. The ability to use and upgrade civilian buildings into forward bases and make use of cover is brilliant. The power to call on allied forces from off-map is true-to-life and genre appropriate. The sheer flexibility of the infantryman as the backbone of the Army is in An excellent revision of the squad-based RTS genre, and a fitting blend of realism and gameplay conceits to maximize fun. The ability to use and upgrade civilian buildings into forward bases and make use of cover is brilliant. The power to call on allied forces from off-map is true-to-life and genre appropriate. The sheer flexibility of the infantryman as the backbone of the Army is in full display, a welcome change from the crippling overspecialization rampant in many titles. The use of a territory control model for resourcing is excellent, as it ties economic and defensive strategy together as a package. I do have to say that buying it on Steam is a good way around the torrent of patches and updates at install, but it does mean waiting for the full download to play. Expand
  29. ObjR.
    Oct 1, 2006
    9
    Pretty good game. Reminds me of Dawn of War. The only drawback is that it runs horribly on lower end PCs like mine.
  30. HenriV.
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    Best RTS ever played. Inovative gameplay, great graphics and sound. Totally destructible environment ... never seen before. This game is really intense.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. PC Gamer
    96
    Company of Heroes should be on the must-play list of every RTS fanatic out there, even those tired of WWII settings. It's just that good. [Oct. 2006, p.70]
  2. PC Gamer UK
    94
    This is the finest WWII strategy game I've played. Hell, I'm having real trouble thinking of any strategy game that's this spectacular, this intense, this fun. [Oct 2006, p.70]
  3. 94
    The transformation from a idyllic little town into a heap of crushed buildings and burned out husks of vehicles can be shocking. Seeing and hearing major explosions that cause bodies (and bits of bodies) to fly across the screen along with rubble from a nearby building simply puts you more into the battle than any RTS in memory.