Company of Heroes PC

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2006
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1095 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 7, 2012
    9
    Genre defining game, still standing strong in 2012. The amount of detail on every facet of the game, from audio, to animations, to game play is simply amazing

    Some of the connected features are a bit outdated by today standards, but that's to the expected. And with the latest patches installed, this game comes close to a very good balance between the 4 factions available with the
    Genre defining game, still standing strong in 2012. The amount of detail on every facet of the game, from audio, to animations, to game play is simply amazing

    Some of the connected features are a bit outdated by today standards, but that's to the expected. And with the latest patches installed, this game comes close to a very good balance between the 4 factions available with the expansions.

    There are still glitches here and there (units getting stuck in collisions) due to the physics engine used, but the fact that all unit damage is governed by a random factor can make some moments of it the most frustrating or the greatest game moves ever played :).

    Replays are being uploaded and commented on youtube and there is a hardcore community built around it with mods and the works.

    And let's not forget 2013 will bring us Company of Heroes 2... Well, if THQ doesn't go under in the meanwhile.

    All in all, this game has to be played by everyone who is even remotely interested in RTS. I mean, the first mission of the American campaign is a beach assault in Normandy!
    Expand
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    This is a must buy if you ever thought of yourself as a RTS.gamer. Relic took the genre to another level much like Westwood Studios did several times before. I was realy impressed with the sound and environment destruction in the game. That is something I feel no other title in this genre have been able to match. It would be weird if you did not trash the whole map with these big weaponsThis is a must buy if you ever thought of yourself as a RTS.gamer. Relic took the genre to another level much like Westwood Studios did several times before. I was realy impressed with the sound and environment destruction in the game. That is something I feel no other title in this genre have been able to match. It would be weird if you did not trash the whole map with these big weapons so were is the destruction in other games. They are surely missing this realy big part of an actual war.

    Some thoughts taken from my experience in the first Company of Heroes:
    # AI would need to be improved alot cause there were issues with it that made fighting and doing advanced maneuvers a real pain.
    # Multiplayer/LAN were the big thing in this game cause I have always been a player that would want to compete with others. There are big problems with how they have programed the networking. The players without high ping will be set on hold so you cant take action when waiting for the one who is having problems. This is just experienced as latency.
    They also have alot of server problems that still haunt me even now 2012 when the game have had some time to get over these growing pains.
    # Controls would need a overhaul so I can select units easier and not risk to select my whole army cause of their big hitboxes.
    Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    One of the best RTS of 2012!!!! 6 year's old and this game is still amazing and it's not dead! Seriously people like me are still playing after 6 year's!!!! I can't wait to see what COH2 has to offer..... This game was and is still great!
  4. Sep 12, 2014
    8
    Campaign somewhat a bore nothing new not challenging but the gameplay is just amazing, multiplayer is where its at. This game shines in multiplayer it's so challenging and strategical with quite a bit of options on how you want to build you're army and Graphics are ok nothing spectacular the physics are also nice. Very high replay value and super fun with friends or just competitive play.Campaign somewhat a bore nothing new not challenging but the gameplay is just amazing, multiplayer is where its at. This game shines in multiplayer it's so challenging and strategical with quite a bit of options on how you want to build you're army and Graphics are ok nothing spectacular the physics are also nice. Very high replay value and super fun with friends or just competitive play.
    Best RTS plain and simple.

    Worth $50
    Expand
  5. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    I bought this game on sale from Steam, not expecting too much, but was pleasantly surprised. The game featured fairly good graphics, physics, and game mechanics and seemed well-balanced. I especially enjoyed the environmental cover system, which adds an additional tactical layer to any place you fight. The single-player campaign (which is all I played) was pretty good: the story was okayI bought this game on sale from Steam, not expecting too much, but was pleasantly surprised. The game featured fairly good graphics, physics, and game mechanics and seemed well-balanced. I especially enjoyed the environmental cover system, which adds an additional tactical layer to any place you fight. The single-player campaign (which is all I played) was pretty good: the story was okay and the levels were mostly fun. As with many games with build limit systems, it does get frustrating at times to be forcibly outnumbered and to have to defend large areas with relatively few troops, but there are ways to counter this (I personally enjoyed building elaborate defensive lines across my territory using turrets, fences, etc.). Overall I would strongly recommend this game to any RTS fan, and if you catch it on sale, you can't beat the value. Expand
  6. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    One of the best strategygames out there, despite it being 6 years old. It is for those who dont want to spend most of the time building houses and farms but to focus on the action while micromanaging your units to take strategic points on the map to recieve resources. It is also graphically impressing even today with detailed units and enviroments and a good physics engine. The campaign isOne of the best strategygames out there, despite it being 6 years old. It is for those who dont want to spend most of the time building houses and farms but to focus on the action while micromanaging your units to take strategic points on the map to recieve resources. It is also graphically impressing even today with detailed units and enviroments and a good physics engine. The campaign is really great with many missions if you include the two expansions (which are cheap today) and the multiplayer and skirmish-mode is hard to let go. Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    This is one of the Best Strategy Games i ever played, even in 2012 i'm still playing it, just because its that great! Really looking forward to the sequel
  8. Aug 3, 2012
    9
    Although this can be challenging to new players, Company of Heroes offers an experience like no other.
    You play as the US Army in the campaign, and must play to ensure the success of the D-Day invasions. The game is however completely brought to life in the Multi player mode. Here you can play as either the US Army, or the Nazi Wermacht. Each faction has it's own 'doctrines', which
    Although this can be challenging to new players, Company of Heroes offers an experience like no other.
    You play as the US Army in the campaign, and must play to ensure the success of the D-Day invasions. The game is however completely brought to life in the Multi player mode. Here you can play as either the US Army, or the Nazi Wermacht. Each faction has it's own 'doctrines', which allows you to have certain units.

    The US Army, for example, has the Airborne Company, which allows you to parachute in elite infantry, and even Anti-Tank guns. On the other hand, the Nazi's can pick the Blitzkrieg Doctrine, which allows the player to call in Elite Stormtroopers and Stug IV Tanks, allowing you to smash into enemy lines, for a final push to victory.

    The unit pool is very broad, with many upgrades for your units. For example, Nazi Grenadiers can be upgraded to have MG42 light machine guns, capable of ripping enemy infantry to shreds, or even Panzerschreck Rocket Launchers, to give you the upper hand over enemy armour.

    This game is worth every penny, so this game gets 9/10!
    Expand
  9. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    Company of Heroes is one of the best (or maybe the best?) RTS games ever made. Beautiful graphics, gameplay and scenarios make this game look like it was released just last month. But it wasn't, it's 6 years old and I'm still playing it.
  10. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    An RTS with great depth. Number of units, fast pace and unit diversity makes this game a real RTS jewel. I 've never seen another RTS that represents land warfare with so much fidelity. Taking cover behind a wall, flanking an MG, hitting a tank's weaker rear armor, advancing behind a smokescreen, laying barbed-wire and placing a mine smartly are some of the things you don't see together inAn RTS with great depth. Number of units, fast pace and unit diversity makes this game a real RTS jewel. I 've never seen another RTS that represents land warfare with so much fidelity. Taking cover behind a wall, flanking an MG, hitting a tank's weaker rear armor, advancing behind a smokescreen, laying barbed-wire and placing a mine smartly are some of the things you don't see together in an RTS and used to be features of FPS genre 'till CoH's release. The game features a Campaign (US faction only which is nicely done, still scripted) which serves well as a tutorial to the game's mechanics, Skirmishes against AI opponents which from one point on seems easy cause of the AI limitations. The game really shines when it comes to online play against other players. The variety of things a human player can do and the variety of your response options are so many than you 'll be amazed. The only "bad" thing is that the learning curve is quite steep and the player community quite experienced after so many years since release which can be intimidating for a new player. Still, if you cope with this, learn from your own mistakes and admit that you 'll count many defeats before saying you know how to play then you have a great game at your hands. Graphics are very good, still amazing after so many years, and sound is great and vital to your battlefield performance. I would recommend it to everyone who likes RTS. Personally, before CoH I 've played many RTS extensively, after CoH I only play CoH and Total War games. Even more recent RTS (like SCII) seems too simplistic for me to bother playing! Expand
  11. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    Greatest RTS ever made, period. I grew up playing turn based strategy and RTS games, and without thinking twice, this game is the best RTS I've ever played (I played pretty much every RTS worth playing in the past 15 years). This game gave me the same chills that Total Annihilation gave me when it came out, it was everything that I was expecting from an RTS, and a little more. The game isGreatest RTS ever made, period. I grew up playing turn based strategy and RTS games, and without thinking twice, this game is the best RTS I've ever played (I played pretty much every RTS worth playing in the past 15 years). This game gave me the same chills that Total Annihilation gave me when it came out, it was everything that I was expecting from an RTS, and a little more. The game is very solid, with good graphics, AMAZING sound effects, and a great physics engine. The part that makes this game so good however, is the actual strategy design of the game. This is pure strategy in real time, not only positioning, but also planning, decision making, control of units and most importantly reaction to your enemy's decisions. This gave is not as unforgiving of lack of APM or fast reaction times with the mouse, like most other RTSs. The most important part of the game is strategy, planning and positioning, rather than having a perfect mouse/hand skills. The amount of depth of the game is also astonishing. There is more to understand and learn about infantry mechanics alone in this game than most other RTSs have in their entire game. I really can't think of any cons, while of course the AI could be improved, personally I think the AI in this game does a whole lot more than most RTSs out there. Conclusion: This is definitely a legend in RTSs, it's strategy at its finest, and while it's not really fast phased, the amount of depth and strategy involved in it makes it seem to be frantic if you really get into it. The graphics, sound effects and physics of the game compliment perfectly the gameplay mechanics, and the concept matches very well the art of the game. Overall this game impressed me since the very first moment I played it, and it holds BY A LOT the #1 spot as RTS for me. Expand
  12. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    By far one of the best RTS games out there period. There is a reason qualified gaming sources (Critics) didn't score this game below 80%. Any gamer who gave it less than 5 is just that "any gamer". They either couldn't get past the learning curve or understand the balance of the game. It is developed to show the reality of World War 2 while providing a fun, balanced playable game.By far one of the best RTS games out there period. There is a reason qualified gaming sources (Critics) didn't score this game below 80%. Any gamer who gave it less than 5 is just that "any gamer". They either couldn't get past the learning curve or understand the balance of the game. It is developed to show the reality of World War 2 while providing a fun, balanced playable game. Complaints about AI have either been exaggerated or are simply based on bad info. The fact there are complaints that the AT Gun does not swivel when positioned poorly and/or flanked is what makes this a strategy game. You need to be able to micro your forces and aim your weapons yourself. If the AI did that for you then flanking would be useless and there would be no need for a player at all. You could just click begin match and sit back and watch. I assume most low scores come from gamers who do not want to have to click on a single unit more than once. What do they expect this game to be simply build, point and watch it destroy the enemy. That is why the call it Real Time Strategy. This game has so much depth it does take some time to get used to. Expect to have to immerse yourself in the game and spend some serious time learning the hard and soft counters of each unit and what to do versus certain opposing strategies. While I find it more enjoyable than Men of War it is a different classification of WW2 RTS than Men of War. MoW is based on total realism. Company of Heroes is based on balanced game play. For instance the King Tiger can be overwhelmed and circled by lesser tanks and Anti-Tank weapons. That is part of the game. Some users commented on the fact the King Tiger was not able to take on lesser enemies with superior strategy. That is what balanced game play is all about. Every unit has a counter and can be defeated with the right strategy. My vote for game of the century goes to Company of Heroes. Even in 2012 it still has a strong online multi-player lobby and has been well supported by the developers. The last balance patch 2.602 was done with community participation and success in 2011. There are currently claims of rampant cheating (mostly by a few who cannot accept loss and point to complex 2v2 or bigger matches) but this is something I have not seen myself for sure in any of my thousands of 1v1 auto matches. Expand
  13. May 17, 2013
    8
    I have to admit, I've only played this game for about two hours so far, but I can easily say it's one of the best real-time strategy games I've seen. Being a huge fan of Star Wars: Empire at War, I picked this title up as part of the Humble Bundle, expecting it to be similar to that game. It was, except this one's a lot more graphically-detailed with more gameplay elements.
  14. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    This is easily the best game ever made. I bought all versions beginning from 2006 and played extensively on multiplayer. I have played more than 3000 games in multiplayer and still playing every now and then. The multiplayer is very good because it does match quite well the other players skill to yours so there is normally quite a challenge in every game. The game is balanced very wellThis is easily the best game ever made. I bought all versions beginning from 2006 and played extensively on multiplayer. I have played more than 3000 games in multiplayer and still playing every now and then. The multiplayer is very good because it does match quite well the other players skill to yours so there is normally quite a challenge in every game. The game is balanced very well between the factions. I mainly play 2 vs 2 classic and I love it. I can't play 1 vs 1 anymore because I get so angry when I lose to someone so it is better to have someone beside you when losing :)

    Very good game, still after 6 years the graphics are very much worth it. I would buy it again and waiting anxiously for COH#2.
    Expand
  15. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    This game sucked up a year of my life and I don't regret it. I still love booting it up even now. A perfect PC Strategy Game. GET IT GET IT GET IT.
  16. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best RTS out there even today, it's totaly unique. It's so fun to play with friends, or even against random players. I would HIGHLY recomend this game to anybody looking for a great RTS game. Expand
  17. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Where to even start with this game. This game is just amazing. I can only imagine how much money the developers spent for making this game. It has a physics engine, destructible buildings, amazing sound and graphics, and to even some extent destructible terrain. When it comes to this games, I personally have called it the greatest game of all time. It is really hard to find something wrongWhere to even start with this game. This game is just amazing. I can only imagine how much money the developers spent for making this game. It has a physics engine, destructible buildings, amazing sound and graphics, and to even some extent destructible terrain. When it comes to this games, I personally have called it the greatest game of all time. It is really hard to find something wrong with this game. Expand
  18. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    Simply the best RTS ever made, can't wait for COH2. Graphics are still amazing after 6 years, the gameplay is so great and overall it's the deepest RTS ever made with a fast paced gameplay :)
  19. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Best. Game. Ever Really, i've played it for 98 hours in total. you MUST try it out. And if you have doubts, you'll be surprised
  20. Dec 15, 2012
    8
    That was good RTS, good game, nice campaign and great graphic, for this day in 2012 this is good game for play with friends :)
    For Single and multi, must have!
  21. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    One of the best RTS of all time, still fun to play. The only downsides are lack of map and faction variety in the vanilla version. COH still holds up in 2013 and there hasn't been a game that's challenged its place at the top of the RTS world.
  22. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    I haven't played a war strategy game this good since C and C. If you want immerse yourself in the heat of all out war then this game delivers. Great fun, both playing the campaign or pitting your whits against people on line. Cant wait for the next one. Already pre ordered. The expansions don't really bring much more to the game other than extra teams. Still an excellent Game though. BuyI haven't played a war strategy game this good since C and C. If you want immerse yourself in the heat of all out war then this game delivers. Great fun, both playing the campaign or pitting your whits against people on line. Cant wait for the next one. Already pre ordered. The expansions don't really bring much more to the game other than extra teams. Still an excellent Game though. Buy it and try it. Expand
  23. May 9, 2013
    9
    Absolutely fantastic game that restored my faith in the gaming industry.
    Very balanced gameplay, every unit has its purpose and none are completely useless. "Battering-Ram"-tactics will get you completely destroyed and a lot of thought went into the tactical gameplay features.
    Presentation is solid and outdated graphics really don't hurt the overall enjoyment. I love the fact that you
    Absolutely fantastic game that restored my faith in the gaming industry.
    Very balanced gameplay, every unit has its purpose and none are completely useless. "Battering-Ram"-tactics will get you completely destroyed and a lot of thought went into the tactical gameplay features.
    Presentation is solid and outdated graphics really don't hurt the overall enjoyment.
    I love the fact that you can employ actual strategies. There is no "works every time"-strategy or building order that will guarantee a win. You can accomplish most missions in a variety of ways.
    The entire game has only 3 weak spots imho:
    a) KI ist solid, but makes a few unnecesarry mistakes i.e. Anti-Tank weapons don't turn around when attacked from the back or sometimes infantry has the accuracy of Imperial Stormtroopers
    b) Depending on your system, loading times are pretty long
    c) A Pause-Function in Single-Player would have made the game a bit less stressful, since the AI can give multiple orders simultaneously which puts a human player at a disadvantage without a pause mode
    Expand
  24. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    This game Is an AMAZING game. I literally can wait for COH 2! The game play the sound affects are just insane Its very addictive and Its one of those games i could play for whole day maybe more non stop. AMAZING GAME! I recommend this too every gamer out there it never gets old even in 6 years
  25. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Best RTS ever!

    I started playing COH back in 2006 when it first came out and now in 2013 I'm still playing it. I just finished a skirmish about ten minutes ago and I thought I'd pay this game it's over due respect and take the time to write my user review on Metacritic. The first time I played COH I was at my friend Larry's house checking out the work he did in his living room. In
    Best RTS ever!

    I started playing COH back in 2006 when it first came out and now in 2013 I'm still playing it. I just finished a skirmish about ten minutes ago and I thought I'd pay this game it's over due respect and take the time to write my user review on Metacritic. The first time I played COH I was at my friend Larry's house checking out the work he did in his living room. In the background I noticed COH on Larry's rig. I saw a Panzer 4 rolling up the road from the south base toward the north base (Larry's base) in the 2 player map Angoville. I asked Larry what it was and he offered me a chance to try it. I sat down and chose the Easy CPU Wehrmacht vs American's (not like I had a choice of different enemies back then, just which side axis vs allies). I got my tail kicked so bad early on that Larry had to jump in and fight his way back in control of the map. Once Larry had it under control he let me take a few Sherman tanks into the Wehrmacht base and finish it off. I was instantly hooked, not only because it was the hardest most complex RTS I'd ever played but because I love to blow up and the graphics were great. I immediately went out and purchased the game.

    The campaign storyline was great in the original game and both expansions, it truly makes the player feel that they are in the 40's creeping around in Europe looking for Gerry. Playing as the American's when the game first came out drove me to learn more about WW2 history. I found myself reading articles on the net and watching the history channel every time a WW2 show was on. I started calling my Grandfather over and over again to hear stories about what he did during WW2. He was in the Navy and very proud of his role in the South Pacific; it didn't take much to get the stories out of him. COH created an obsession for teaching myself the history of WW2 that hasn't died since I started playing the game. I'm still totally fascinated with WW2 and I credit the motivation I found to teach myself what I did to this game. It will some day be a cult classic game if it isn't already.

    The game play is excellent! The objective is to capture and control as many fuel, manpower and munitions points on the map as you can while kicking the snot out of your enemy; the more points you capture the more manpower, fuel and munitions you earn as income which you can use to purchase units, buildings and upgrades to help your army win the skirmish. Strategy is huge in this aspect of the game, tou can cut off your enemies' supply line by capturing key points thus earning you an income advantage. What parts of your territory you defend and how successfully you defend it and or how you advance and capture is crucial to success.

    AI Enemies learn how to exploit your strategy and will try different things to defeat you if you play against the computer over and over again. Every time I reformat my hard drives and reinstall windows there is a noticeable difference in the AI's strategy; it's much easier to defeat the AI at first but over time it learns to put up a better fight and the game becomes harder to win. At the time COH Opposing fronts came out I began playing skirmish matches like I was training to compete vs the Hard AI computer in a gaming tournament. The Hard American AI became so familiar with my strategy during that time that I was actually looking forward to a reformat just to relieve some of the pressure the AI was putting on me.

    Your infantry units can take cover behind map details, rock walls, bushes, trees, abandoned or destroyed vehicles are all different examples of cover. Different types of "cover" are rated one of four ways, a green shield is the best cover, a yellow shield is good cover, no shield is no or poor cover, and a red shield is negative cover, the shields will be displayed over your infantry depending on the type of cover or lack there of they are using. Cover greatly effect the survivability of your infantry units. When you make contact with an evenly matched enemy if your troops are in better cover your troops will win the melee. Most infantry units can be upgraded to carry a different weapon or tool. Weapon and tool upgrades are bought with munitions. Some infantry units have the ability to spend munitions to gain an advantage in battle in the form of a grenade or a panzerfaust.

    With vehicles where you hit a vehicle can do more or less damage as well as what type of weapon you're using on the vehicle. If you use a machine gun or a rifle on a light vehicle you will do moderate damage, as the vehicles become heavier all the way up to a heavy tank the damage will become less and eventually do nothing when against tanks. Although having a tank is an advantage vs infantry they can be defeated by infantry units if the units are equipped with the tools to deal with the tanks. Most units can be upgraded with munitions.

    In conclusion it's a great game buy it if you don't already own it.
    Expand
  26. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    This game is soooo good i even made an account on here to write a review on it :D

    10/10 and im still playing it in 2013, also i thing this is better than the second
  27. Aug 31, 2013
    9
    I'm not a great strategy, but loving me is like CoH, beautiful graphics, great video transfer, a long campaign, smart opponents, can only praise is a great word. I recommend to everyone.
  28. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Probably the Greatest RTS game of all time. Very addictive and very well made. I have enjoyed many hours of playing this awesome game. The online experience is excellent and the campaign is very good too. 10/10
  29. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    Company of Heroes is the best video game that I have ever played, and in my opinion it is the chess of video gaming. I am still playing it regularly in 2014.

    It is an absolute shame that COHO- Company of Heroes Online, was cancelled in late beta, because it is the only thing going that could derail this juggernaut. A diamond. Stairway to Heaven. A golden retriever. A sexy lady. An
    Company of Heroes is the best video game that I have ever played, and in my opinion it is the chess of video gaming. I am still playing it regularly in 2014.

    It is an absolute shame that COHO- Company of Heroes Online, was cancelled in late beta, because it is the only thing going that could derail this juggernaut. A diamond. Stairway to Heaven. A golden retriever. A sexy lady. An object of man made perfection.

    COH also has the most graphic and realistic violence in the most ageless graphics of all war games. The voice acting, sound effects, and graphics are sublime. There is infinite depth in its complex array of play modes. Rest in Peace Brian Wood, you made the game to stand the test of time and honor its subject matter.
    Expand
  30. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Nothing...I mean absolutely Nothing comes close to this Brilliant and wonderfully creative RTS in our lifetime!! It's 2013 and there are more games coming out with unbelievable graphics and physics, but this is one truly GREAT war-time game trilogy that will NEVER be over-matched or overlooked FOREVER!!!
  31. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    Great game, although I never got into the competitive multiplayer because I was busy with Age of Empires 3 at the time. The graphics, sounds and visual effects were just stunning and the combat feels very realistic. The online is still up and running and quite alive (through Steam) for anyone looking for a new RTS to play competitively.
  32. Jul 8, 2015
    10
    company of heroes is from the best games in the world it was at it age . I really recommend it very much its really a nice game and it become old but still people playing it and there is a 2nd game of it which its coh2.
  33. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    This is a fantastic real-time strategy game no one should miss. Impressive graphics that successfully portrays the brutality of battles is what i love most about the game, which simply makes me want to keep playing and playing it although it has been 4 years since i started enjoying the game
  34. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Best RTS i have ever played, and one of the best WW2 game also. Technically great from sounds to graphics. Something unseen before that. Game play now that's where it shines. I won't try to explay how it works, but simply said the tactics are what really matters, sure with huge amount of man power anyone can win a game, but what usually happens is someone who uses all those little thingsBest RTS i have ever played, and one of the best WW2 game also. Technically great from sounds to graphics. Something unseen before that. Game play now that's where it shines. I won't try to explay how it works, but simply said the tactics are what really matters, sure with huge amount of man power anyone can win a game, but what usually happens is someone who uses all those little things like cover, flanking, using strengts of every unit and so on. Just great RTS Expand
  35. May 30, 2014
    9
    It's been 8 years since its release but everytime I want to find myself engulfed in WW2 asmosphere I still find this game one of the best choices. The campaign is well-written, the 2 armies are all-around balanced and the skirmish battles are nicely-done. Except for sometimes units engage each other in very very close quarter but they still keep shooting at each other, which is quiteIt's been 8 years since its release but everytime I want to find myself engulfed in WW2 asmosphere I still find this game one of the best choices. The campaign is well-written, the 2 armies are all-around balanced and the skirmish battles are nicely-done. Except for sometimes units engage each other in very very close quarter but they still keep shooting at each other, which is quite hilarious you would wonder why they won't stop shooting and go on melee mode all the way, but still... One of the best decisions I've ever made getting this game in 2006. Expand
  36. Sep 10, 2015
    9
    I have played a lot of RTS (Close Combat, Star Craft, Warcraft I-III, World in Conflict, to name a few), Company of Heroes is the most polished and innovative that I have played. As many have noted the graphics in this game are top notch. The frantic and non-stop action of the game requires a great deal of thought rewarding both the quick and the intelligent. If you enjoy RTS's, you willI have played a lot of RTS (Close Combat, Star Craft, Warcraft I-III, World in Conflict, to name a few), Company of Heroes is the most polished and innovative that I have played. As many have noted the graphics in this game are top notch. The frantic and non-stop action of the game requires a great deal of thought rewarding both the quick and the intelligent. If you enjoy RTS's, you will love this game Expand
  37. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing! Still playin' Autry and Hebecrevon Missions over and over and over again!
    Still playin' in 10/12/2014! 8 Years!
    Relic, amazing job!
  38. cbe
    Dec 29, 2014
    10
    Great game, determinately worth playing! The single player campaign is hard, but non unfair. High re-playability! I wish all single-player games were this good.
  39. Apr 25, 2015
    10
    Still playing this game, after almost 7 years. Wow, that really says something. This is by far my favourite game on my PC, and oldest. Stellar Campaign, fun multi player, various game modes, and decent DLC's. Great game.
  40. Jun 13, 2015
    10
    I have been playing a lot of strategy games over the last 20 years-

    This is the best. Its a true strategy masterpiece that combines cerebral / work ethic output so well. The only game better was the short lived COH online which included insertion of special hand picked units If you don't have COH and COH Opposing fronts get it before it fades into non existence because this is
    I have been playing a lot of strategy games over the last 20 years-

    This is the best. Its a true strategy masterpiece that combines cerebral / work ethic output so well.

    The only game better was the short lived COH online which included insertion of special hand picked units

    If you don't have COH and COH Opposing fronts get it before it fades into non existence because this is as good as it gets.
    Expand
  41. Jul 13, 2015
    10
    A jewel of an RTS. Easily one of the BEST ever made. both defense and offense and immensely fun, challenging, and intense. The community is so active, and helpful, especially for a game that's nearly 8 years old. The graphics are very good, the FPS is so smooth, the gameplay seamless, easy to learn and control. Each faction ( 4 in total with DLC, 2 in base game) grants unique units andA jewel of an RTS. Easily one of the BEST ever made. both defense and offense and immensely fun, challenging, and intense. The community is so active, and helpful, especially for a game that's nearly 8 years old. The graphics are very good, the FPS is so smooth, the gameplay seamless, easy to learn and control. Each faction ( 4 in total with DLC, 2 in base game) grants unique units and abilities, and tactics you MUST follow to succeed in a battle. none of the factions play alike one another. Which brings me to my final in this review. This game never gets old. It is not repetitive. every battle is different. from where you set up, to when you go for a flank or an assault. I can't get enough of this game. And you won't either. Expand
  42. Aug 2, 2015
    10
    Company of Heroes is probably, (if not already considered), the greatest real-time strategy game of all-time. A must-play for any fan of the genre. Truly a masterpiece.
  43. AnonymousMC
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    I've played the multiplayer beta, and the demo. Aside from the minor bugs that are always present in betas and demos, the game is excellent, definitely my favorite RTS, and probably my favorite game ever. And it hasn't even been released yet! Yet, there are 3 problems that I have seen so far, 1 of which should be fixed by it's release date: 1: It has the worst title ever. 2:I've played the multiplayer beta, and the demo. Aside from the minor bugs that are always present in betas and demos, the game is excellent, definitely my favorite RTS, and probably my favorite game ever. And it hasn't even been released yet! Yet, there are 3 problems that I have seen so far, 1 of which should be fixed by it's release date: 1: It has the worst title ever. 2: It travels on the path of WW2, which is not only a very beaten path, but has been walked on so much, that it is an entirely flat and featureless path. 3: The game is pretty imbalanced in favor of the Allies. Seriously, try getting a howitzer sometime.... Yet, in spite of these (somewhat minor) problems, it continues to be an awesome game. In interest of not creating a massive wall of text filled with praise for this game, this review will spontaneously end now. Expand
  44. BadB.
    Oct 2, 2006
    9
    Lets get the bad stuff outta the way first - some loong load times, and the camera control could be easier (is there ANYONE ever got camera control and angles right?) - now forgot all that and let the pace and beauty take over. Try this - unpack the game, load up and hit the start button; miss out basic training and go straight to the first skirmish mission; orient yourself a little, work Lets get the bad stuff outta the way first - some loong load times, and the camera control could be easier (is there ANYONE ever got camera control and angles right?) - now forgot all that and let the pace and beauty take over. Try this - unpack the game, load up and hit the start button; miss out basic training and go straight to the first skirmish mission; orient yourself a little, work out how to build some units, scout about a bit etc. kick back and take in the pretty scenery... Har har - you're in for a shock greensleeves - frantic, frenetic, fearsome... buy it now, even if you hate RTS. Expand
  45. oppi83
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Beautiful gameplay, graphics to be amazing even by warperiod.
  46. JasonC.
    Sep 2, 2007
    9
    Ok,i like it,but there are some isssues that need addressing. the game campaign only have 16 maps,and sadly no more,can you make more campaign maps,also skirmish maps as well more 1v1 and 2v2 maps,other then that i am happy what i have, in regards of making building ect that part of defence ect....its a stra game not a get in there and kill it all asap @jon.d
  47. MattL.
    Feb 4, 2008
    9
    This game is very complex, and if you want to move into the online gaming grounds you'll have to prepare yourself to lose a few times without even making a dent. Many people have come to expect to play the game, and it to be a point a click. Unfortunately for them, it's not. Every unit has a purpose, and IF USED CORRECTLY is a formidable foe throughout the entire game, rather This game is very complex, and if you want to move into the online gaming grounds you'll have to prepare yourself to lose a few times without even making a dent. Many people have come to expect to play the game, and it to be a point a click. Unfortunately for them, it's not. Every unit has a purpose, and IF USED CORRECTLY is a formidable foe throughout the entire game, rather than these "Get most tech, win" games. The only thing that holds it back are online connectivity issues, which have mostly been resolved. The majority of people you'll be hearing complaints from are those that didn't bother to read the game's minimum specifications, and those that expect it to be like any other "move squad, attack squad" RTS. It's not, you have to constantly think as the game is more a battle of intelligence than anything else. And in that respect the game is so far unique. Expand
  48. RobE.
    Oct 11, 2006
    9
    All the positives that everyone else said are true. The only thing keeping it from being perfect is length (too short, at 15 missions), and weak AI. Only on a couple of the defensive missions did I feel like I was really under attack.
  49. AndrewF.
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    As put by many magazines, COH is simply the pinnacle of RTS gaming. If you have a good computer it's worth the visuals alone; howitzers throw troops 40 meters into the air (or at least parts of them), tanks have chunks of armor blown off sometimes rendering them immobile and of course my favourite part of COH's visual style: all cover is dynamic meaning if one of your squads is As put by many magazines, COH is simply the pinnacle of RTS gaming. If you have a good computer it's worth the visuals alone; howitzers throw troops 40 meters into the air (or at least parts of them), tanks have chunks of armor blown off sometimes rendering them immobile and of course my favourite part of COH's visual style: all cover is dynamic meaning if one of your squads is hiding behind some barrels and an mg opens up on them, well the barrels splinter and collapse leaving that squad venerable. Amazing things like that compliment the gameplay all too well. Speaking of the gameplay at first it feels a little akward controlling large amounts of troops, but after a couple games it only gets better (get those hotkeys down). speaking of gameplay COHs biggest strength is the majority of online battles rely on combat and very little base management (at least 85%), meaning the key to victory is map control. Lastly I have this to say about the sound FX, amazing, again the best ever done for any RTS (if not onscreen artillery echoes in the backround, mg's sound incredible as they chew up the ground and the allies). Well thats it, now go buy it if you are a fan of RTS's. And I should also point out that it runs well on less powerful machines as well, and the visual sacrafice is really not that much. Expand
  50. mobius
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    Is Ron H reviewing the same game that everybody else is,

    Sure we can all run about shooting nazis in a on the rails of a great FPS, but if you want to be able to control whole platoons of Rangers,Engineers Machine gunners,mortor teams, sherman tanks roket launchers airstrikes, recon units then i would play what i consider the best WWII stratagy game available, the lv of detail that is
    Is Ron H reviewing the same game that everybody else is,

    Sure we can all run about shooting nazis in a on the rails of a great FPS, but if you want to be able to control whole platoons of Rangers,Engineers Machine gunners,mortor teams, sherman tanks roket launchers airstrikes, recon units then i would play what i consider the best WWII stratagy game available, the lv of detail that is available when you zoom right in with a great redraw distance makes the game such a joy to watch and play.
    Expand
  51. BrianY
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    After one day of Beta testing all I can say is wow! This game is a logical step in the right direction for the developers who brought us the wonderful Warhammer Dawn of War games. The best way I can describe it is throw into a melting pot all the past WW2 RTS games and blend them all together into what a WW2 RTS should be and you will have Company of Heroes. The variety of units andAfter one day of Beta testing all I can say is wow! This game is a logical step in the right direction for the developers who brought us the wonderful Warhammer Dawn of War games. The best way I can describe it is throw into a melting pot all the past WW2 RTS games and blend them all together into what a WW2 RTS should be and you will have Company of Heroes. The variety of units and details of the graphics will keep this game interesting for a long time to come. Expand
  52. JonDoe
    Sep 26, 2006
    9
    Not your bog standard RTS or WW2 game. At first as a avid RTS gamer, I found it hard to get into with the slightly higher pace of gameplay than normal RTS but once you get the hang of it the game is just a enjoyment to play. Good sound along with oustanding graphics for a RTS puts this head and sholders above any other real time stratagy game out there.
  53. TheGuy
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    I hate it when idiots say "not innovative" about RTS games... why don't we hear is about FPS games where every single game is to find someone and kill them? Grow up and stop being so critical... "it's not realistic enough wah wah wah" you know why? Because all realistic RTS games SINK like a rock because they AREN'T fun. Do yourselves a favor and play this game, I'veI hate it when idiots say "not innovative" about RTS games... why don't we hear is about FPS games where every single game is to find someone and kill them? Grow up and stop being so critical... "it's not realistic enough wah wah wah" you know why? Because all realistic RTS games SINK like a rock because they AREN'T fun. Do yourselves a favor and play this game, I've played about 300 hours worth of this treat since open beta and am not tired yet. Expand
  54. B.MacBryce
    Sep 29, 2006
    9
    The camera could be a little further from the action and it takes a while to get used to the frantic pace. After you get your microing sorted out, it really comes to life. The graphics are amazing and there are a lot of tactical options. I didn't care too much for the campaign mode but it's a good tutorial for the game and the needed micro skills. The implementation of the Full The camera could be a little further from the action and it takes a while to get used to the frantic pace. After you get your microing sorted out, it really comes to life. The graphics are amazing and there are a lot of tactical options. I didn't care too much for the campaign mode but it's a good tutorial for the game and the needed micro skills. The implementation of the Full Spectrum Warrior-esque features (surpression, pinning, flanking) is a lot of fun during the early game while the late benefits from weaker units still being able to destroy the most powerful tanks when micro'ed properly. I'd rather have a Rome Total War setup without buildings but it doesn't dominate the game too much. And I don't even like RTS normally. Expand
  55. BenjaminC.
    Apr 9, 2007
    10
    One of (if not) the best RTS game out to date. Great graphics, sound, presentation, but most of all, GAMEPLAY! Only having two armys may be a problem to some people but it also promotes using both armys equaly online. When the expansion, CoH: Oposing Fronts is released this game will become aonther classic like SC, TA, WC, ect. 4 armys it will be more competitive than ever. Pick this up One of (if not) the best RTS game out to date. Great graphics, sound, presentation, but most of all, GAMEPLAY! Only having two armys may be a problem to some people but it also promotes using both armys equaly online. When the expansion, CoH: Oposing Fronts is released this game will become aonther classic like SC, TA, WC, ect. 4 armys it will be more competitive than ever. Pick this up if you don't have it! Expand
  56. SamF.
    Jun 29, 2008
    8
    CoH is a good game all in all. I think alot of people just get frustrated with the game because it is so demanding, intense and requires attention to detail. But I think thats the point of a game. It has reallly good graphics and sound. Can people also stop talking about there being no planes because there is if you pick an air commando and its suppposed to be an infantry based game CoH is a good game all in all. I think alot of people just get frustrated with the game because it is so demanding, intense and requires attention to detail. But I think thats the point of a game. It has reallly good graphics and sound. Can people also stop talking about there being no planes because there is if you pick an air commando and its suppposed to be an infantry based game anyway, hence the micromanagment. Expand
  57. kimnørgaard
    Apr 23, 2009
    9
    great game i Recommend every RTS players to buy it. the reason i gave it a 9 is that the system requirments... it recommends: 3.0 ghz intel P4. 1GB ram. Nvidia geforce 6800 256mb or better. I have 2,2 ghz amd athlon 64x2 2GB ram nvidia 7200gs 256mb. so i throught i could run it maxed out. but i have to run it on low settings....the system requirments is really a big lie...
  58. AlR.
    Jul 24, 2009
    9
    An excellent revision of the squad-based RTS genre, and a fitting blend of realism and gameplay conceits to maximize fun. The ability to use and upgrade civilian buildings into forward bases and make use of cover is brilliant. The power to call on allied forces from off-map is true-to-life and genre appropriate. The sheer flexibility of the infantryman as the backbone of the Army is in An excellent revision of the squad-based RTS genre, and a fitting blend of realism and gameplay conceits to maximize fun. The ability to use and upgrade civilian buildings into forward bases and make use of cover is brilliant. The power to call on allied forces from off-map is true-to-life and genre appropriate. The sheer flexibility of the infantryman as the backbone of the Army is in full display, a welcome change from the crippling overspecialization rampant in many titles. The use of a territory control model for resourcing is excellent, as it ties economic and defensive strategy together as a package. I do have to say that buying it on Steam is a good way around the torrent of patches and updates at install, but it does mean waiting for the full download to play. Expand
  59. ObjR.
    Oct 1, 2006
    9
    Pretty good game. Reminds me of Dawn of War. The only drawback is that it runs horribly on lower end PCs like mine.
  60. KneelB4ZOD
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    Pure and simple, if you like gaming, add this to your shelf. I would like to point out that WHAM! gaming officially sucks a fat one for this last critique. I mean cmon, way to F### up guys. Who rags on a game with a rating of 75, when 20 or more bigger critics give the game a 90 - 100 (there were like ten 100's!!!). 20+!!!!!!!!!! Dude, you guys are the laughing stock of the gamingPure and simple, if you like gaming, add this to your shelf. I would like to point out that WHAM! gaming officially sucks a fat one for this last critique. I mean cmon, way to F### up guys. Who rags on a game with a rating of 75, when 20 or more bigger critics give the game a 90 - 100 (there were like ten 100's!!!). 20+!!!!!!!!!! Dude, you guys are the laughing stock of the gaming world; I should have your jobs u SOB's.... Game revolution, i didn't expect that kind of idiocy from you. to tha point::::::::: This game has a few classic RTS flaws, but simply dominates every single game of its genre. In my book, this is the 4th best RTS WW2 game ever created (thus far). Expand
  61. Benlikeimgonnasay
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    I think its safe to say that WHAM! gaming critics officially suck a fat fucking dick. Seriously, when 20 or more critics rate a game at 90 and above, and you gave it a 75.... wow, way to fuck up eh?

    to tha point, this game has classic RTS flaws, but flat out dominates competition. This is a must buy. Seriously, who the fuck ever heard of Wham! gaming, i hate you faggots.
  62. SanZ.
    Oct 27, 2006
    8
    Visceral and quite possibly one of the most intense and exciting RTS i'd ever played. This is very different from all other rts in the market right now, and emphasizes alot more on tactics and how you fully utilize the strengths of your units. Its not about turtling and massing your troops and over-running your opponents in a single swoop (aka C&C). to A B: DO NOT compare this with Visceral and quite possibly one of the most intense and exciting RTS i'd ever played. This is very different from all other rts in the market right now, and emphasizes alot more on tactics and how you fully utilize the strengths of your units. Its not about turtling and massing your troops and over-running your opponents in a single swoop (aka C&C). to A B: DO NOT compare this with Red Alert.it is in no way like any of the C&C games, in fact, it would be an insult to CoH. You're not supposed to mass anything, which forces you to utilize your resources and units more effectively. And also, the emphasis is on tactical and strategic combat, NOT base building and harvesting of resources. I think this game is just not for you A B. I would have rated this a 9 but the tank pathfinding bugs are way too glaring to be ignored. Online matching and ranking systems are still bugged as well. Expand
  63. DirkD.
    Sep 13, 2006
    8
    Well, it's certianly NOT as realistic as the Close Combat games (buy the upcoming Theatre of War if you want that...I will be!), but it's far and away the best RTS game out there to date.
  64. S-T-S
    Sep 16, 2006
    9
    Indeed, this is good RTS. Many talk about Close Combat being realistic.. I think Combat Mission series is THE most realistic WWII game to date (granted that it's turn based, but when you press go it moves all players at once, so its kinda mixed RTS and turn based). It says something about Combat Mission, when even antitank weapon damage is calculated from the angle it was shot. Indeed, this is good RTS. Many talk about Close Combat being realistic.. I think Combat Mission series is THE most realistic WWII game to date (granted that it's turn based, but when you press go it moves all players at once, so its kinda mixed RTS and turn based). It says something about Combat Mission, when even antitank weapon damage is calculated from the angle it was shot. Troops have wery realistic morale and efficiency based on how close leaders are. And the tactics play far more important role than in any game i have seen. Expand
  65. LauriS.
    Sep 18, 2006
    8
    By no means a bad game it still feels like dawn of war: winter assault with WW2 units and awesome graphics. Owners of less powerful rigs and people seeking realism beware.
  66. AndrewZ.
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    All I can say is amazing.
  67. ChrisJ
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    Spectacular - the first WWII RTS I've enjoyed, Company of Heroes is beautifully put together.
  68. DaveR.
    Sep 22, 2006
    9
    Yes it's an RTS - it even says exactly that on the box, it follows RTS conventions If it didn't it wouldn't be an RTS. It is NOT realistc at the expense of gameplay. There are games that force you to micromanage your troops underwear requirement from the quartermaster and even their facing under fire "Please turn and face the guys shooting at you" This game doesn't Yes it's an RTS - it even says exactly that on the box, it follows RTS conventions If it didn't it wouldn't be an RTS. It is NOT realistc at the expense of gameplay. There are games that force you to micromanage your troops underwear requirement from the quartermaster and even their facing under fire "Please turn and face the guys shooting at you" This game doesn't -and as a GAME - it's all the better for it. For those who want that - I can suggest the "Combat Mission" games - a fine game with an average turn time for a company size operation of about three and a half weeks. Where even the most retentive "Uber" general can micro manage every last aspect of there troops Play that and realise that no commander would ever do that in real life "gamey features" Durr "It IS a game" There is no resource gathering in the usual sense (you have to take resource points which then give you manpower / fuel or ammo depending on type) I think of that as your HQ allocating resourcs depending on your units geographical footprint and usefullness (which is what generally happens) MG's with short ranges do irk me, but haviing played Flashpoint, being shot from a mile away with no idea who or how is not really everyones gaming "cup of tea" and despite beig realistic - also seems very arbitrary and not linked in any way to your skill as a gamer. This game is action packed fun with a good measure of thought required (the skirmish modes are damn hard) Clarker Expand
  69. TheMan
    Sep 24, 2006
    10
    Very fun, very good graphics, and a awesome campaign mode. Some things do magically appear, and the gun ranges are a little bogus, but other than that the game can be reall realistic.
  70. RossA.
    Sep 25, 2006
    9
    Sounds, animations, atmospheres, environments, potential for strategic variation, importance of individual squadron control, unit special abilities, intelligent AI, even an engine that can scale down on 3 years+ old computers and still run smoothly. While comments such as Mick N's: "Drivel [...], absolutely horrid," are usually counter-productive, he does make the valid points that a Sounds, animations, atmospheres, environments, potential for strategic variation, importance of individual squadron control, unit special abilities, intelligent AI, even an engine that can scale down on 3 years+ old computers and still run smoothly. While comments such as Mick N's: "Drivel [...], absolutely horrid," are usually counter-productive, he does make the valid points that a few things are blindingly traditional (health bars, unrealistic obtaining of upgrades) and could use a little spark. But what makes me give this game a 9 is that, while this game is executed very well, Relic does not innovate enough on their previous RTS, 40k, to justify giving them a 10. However, this game is superbly crafted. The only aspect that its missing is something that differentiates it from 40k outside of the setting. Expand
  71. DM
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    I some what laugh at the few comments as to COH being generic or the same old RTS formula dressed up. Fortunately these people are in the minority and I suspect are Devs for competitors. The truth is there is many, many new and innovated game play mechanics to COH, the destructible environments, the suppression and pinning of squads, the territory control, and more. These combined to I some what laugh at the few comments as to COH being generic or the same old RTS formula dressed up. Fortunately these people are in the minority and I suspect are Devs for competitors. The truth is there is many, many new and innovated game play mechanics to COH, the destructible environments, the suppression and pinning of squads, the territory control, and more. These combined to create a dynamic and tactical game. Where one well placed Machine gun nest and sniper can hold up and pin four squads or two Anti tank guns lying in ambush can devastate your Armour rush. Since WW1 military commanders have known Artillery is the queen of the battle field and COH is no different, as one well timed strike can smash a spear head. So go ahead Nick B, mass up units and run a cross the map, see what happens, you obviously haven Expand
  72. Marty
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    I NEVER take the time to vote on a game...but THIS...this is THE best RTS to date. Period. GREAT GRAPHICS...AMAZING gameplay...EXCEPTIONAL AI. What more can you ask for. Even the sounds are fantastic. Don't even hesitate on this one.
  73. SpencerL.
    Jan 1, 2007
    9
    Gets a little hard to quickly. Otherwise a really awsome game. You can get so close to the action you can actually only see a little of the guy and his gun.
  74. NavB.
    Jan 16, 2007
    9
    I bought this game during the holidays and have been playing the campaign mode and i must say this game is really awesome. The level of difficulty is somewhat higher in this game compared to other RTS games but i think that's the part that makes it that much more fun for me. The graphics and physical are really good along with level of detail in general. I have played the multiplayer I bought this game during the holidays and have been playing the campaign mode and i must say this game is really awesome. The level of difficulty is somewhat higher in this game compared to other RTS games but i think that's the part that makes it that much more fun for me. The graphics and physical are really good along with level of detail in general. I have played the multiplayer as well quite a few times now and really enjoyed that as well. I would say this is a must have game for any RTS fan. I am looking forward to the expansion for this which will hopefully add more units and factions. Expand
  75. BjörnH.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    The very best strategy game ever! The combat feels so real and there is good space for strategy and tacticts. Haven't enjoyed a strategy game based on old school base building since C&C: Red Alert.
  76. BillyE.
    Oct 27, 2007
    9
    Very realistic by RTS standards, great graphics, great sound. This game is nearly perfect. The only thing I hated was the vehicle AI. It would create the necessity to micromanage and that isn't always a viable choice when your in an intense battle. To typical idiotic comments made below about the realism; join a freaking war if you want true realism.
  77. J.Hair
    Feb 20, 2007
    8
    It's not as overrated as Warhammer, which consists mostly of amassing as many units as possible to eliminate opponents.
  78. JBW.
    Feb 4, 2007
    8
    I gave this game an 8 because the graphics, physics, and sound are all awsome, they could not be better, the firefights can be huge and absolutely amazing to watch and play, and the destructible environments only adds to this. The only problem that I had was that you had to do everything, your troops would not act on their own.
  79. R.Hill
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    Ok for all of those negative reviews lets get some things straight here... The game is similar to Dawn of War but NOT the same thing. Company of Heroes is a fast paced, intense, TACTICAL game. Dawn of war is more about spamming mass units and attacking in big waves. I tried Faces of War (which people seem to compare Company of Heroes to), it
  80. UK_John
    Apr 16, 2007
    9
    This is a solid 9. It would have been a 10 if there was the German campaign to defend as well as the American campaign to attack. The graphics, the sound the AI, all is excellent. This is fast paced gaming, A way to find your units just a little quicker would have been welcome, but really, this is the best WWII RTS Game out there by a long long way!
  81. Wehrmacht132
    May 14, 2007
    10
    This game is unbelievable ... all in- the best strategy game of all time.
  82. TimY.
    May 24, 2007
    10
    Great presentation and polish. It's hard to find a game these days with this much work put into it. Unrealistic in some aspects, but these are small complains to an otherwise great game.
  83. DomE.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Great game. been just playing the skermish, everything works well love how everything gets destroyed some glitches but nothing serious wot so ever found it in a bargin bucket as well!!
  84. JasonM.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    This is by far the best quality RTS I have ever played. Tons of fun, and the expansion is due this fall!!! The game is available on STEAM now too. If you don't know about STEAM it lets you download the game to any PC at any time, so if you reinstalled your OS or upgraded your PC you don't need to track down those scratched DVD's or anything. Highly recommend CoH!
  85. ChrisH.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    I feel safe in saying that this is the pinnacle of the tactical RTS. It offers two great different, but balanced, factions, loads of units, amazing presentation, and incredible sound. I love how the resource points replace the ore miners and tiberium harvesters of old and create a frantic struggle for resources that keeps the action going for the entire game. That's not to say I I feel safe in saying that this is the pinnacle of the tactical RTS. It offers two great different, but balanced, factions, loads of units, amazing presentation, and incredible sound. I love how the resource points replace the ore miners and tiberium harvesters of old and create a frantic struggle for resources that keeps the action going for the entire game. That's not to say I don't like the old system (CnC3 is one of my favourites!) but it's nice to play something different, especially when it's as well-done as CoH. The amazing presentation goes hand in hand with the intense action. As you maneuver your tank down tight French streets, it'll take down road signs, rubble, and even sides of buildings caught in its path with its engine humming as it goes on its way. Infantry will be in cover, seemingly safe, only to have their safe place blown a way by a terrifying-sounding heavy machine gun. Both the sound and the graphics are top-notch, but unfortunately take at least a somewhat decent PC to run. Still, if you can run it, you won't want to put it down. Expand
  86. MarkJ
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    The best RTS game I have ever played since Command and Conquer Gold. It's replay value is endless, much like some FPS games have (RTCW); and with a high end graphics card like the GTX 290 you will be amazed at the realism in the physics and particle effects that dazzle your screen, not to mention the clear crisp sounds of MG fire every 20 seconds that keeps you thinking about the The best RTS game I have ever played since Command and Conquer Gold. It's replay value is endless, much like some FPS games have (RTCW); and with a high end graphics card like the GTX 290 you will be amazed at the realism in the physics and particle effects that dazzle your screen, not to mention the clear crisp sounds of MG fire every 20 seconds that keeps you thinking about the battlefield. Expand
  87. MikeH.
    Feb 16, 2008
    9
    The visual effects are stunning not to mention the gameplay it is like gold coated chips.
  88. ArchangelM.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    Fantastic gameplay,superior graphics,no pixalation, no popups, top of the line in warcraft, spending 22 years in the marines and entering service back in 73, id say this has all the action of a real conflict,and the only thing missing was bodybags,the initial sequence at the beach was so lifelike and so very devastating, amazing work, and the control choices could include joystick, other Fantastic gameplay,superior graphics,no pixalation, no popups, top of the line in warcraft, spending 22 years in the marines and entering service back in 73, id say this has all the action of a real conflict,and the only thing missing was bodybags,the initial sequence at the beach was so lifelike and so very devastating, amazing work, and the control choices could include joystick, other then that id rate it 100. Expand
  89. JonV
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    I only gave this a 9 beacuse of the requirements. I had a 2-year old computer with nVidia Geforce 7600, and it filled out the recommended requirements but it could'nt play it on medium. but on my new computer the game is absolutely great. Thou it does remind of dawn of war, the games are completly different from each other. Even if you do'nt like RTS, you should buy this game.
  90. LouisM.
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    Having played this game for years, I can safely say that it is the best RTS game I have ever played. The graphics are outstanding for the genre, the gameplay is superb, and the learning curve is by no means steep. I've recommended this game to many friends who all have enjoyed it, and I'll continue to recommend it. It is worth every penny.
  91. MangeB
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    This game i still right at the top a couple of years later and the devs are still working on new patches, maps and balance tweaks. I've spent several hundreds of hours with it. While the campaign doesn't last more than 15-20 hours or so (I forgot), in online play it never gets booring. Since the four main factions (including the follow up opposing fronts) in turn have three tech This game i still right at the top a couple of years later and the devs are still working on new patches, maps and balance tweaks. I've spent several hundreds of hours with it. While the campaign doesn't last more than 15-20 hours or so (I forgot), in online play it never gets booring. Since the four main factions (including the follow up opposing fronts) in turn have three tech trees each, even repeated play on the same map usually turns out differently depending on player strategy and the flow of each game. Whats more, the game can now be found dirt cheap. An amazing bargain for a game that kicks ass and will last for a long time to come. Out of this game and the follow up opposing fronts, this one is definitely the better one, but you may want to get the other one too for the ability to play as all four factions online. Expand
  92. MicahS
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    Best RTS game i have ever played, just bought the whole combo pack for $35, best $35 ever spent, i was a little wary because i am more of a FPS kinda guy but this game is intense enough to pull me into it!
  93. MartinD
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    Company of heroes is easily one of the best RTS games of all time and excels in all areas. Relic continues to provide support by releasing balance patches and graphics updates and is one of the few developers who listen to the community and provide balance updates based on the feedback they recieve. If you haven't played COH yet your missing out.
  94. RashM
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    Most impressive and revolutionary RTS Ever. The first RTS games, Warcraft 1 and Dune, defined the genre. Since then every game has merely copied these two with no real innovation - starcraft is a shining example of this and sc2 promises to be no different. CoH is far more than the boring stats vs stats combat. It is a very cerebral, highly tactical strategy game. It skill fully maneuvers Most impressive and revolutionary RTS Ever. The first RTS games, Warcraft 1 and Dune, defined the genre. Since then every game has merely copied these two with no real innovation - starcraft is a shining example of this and sc2 promises to be no different. CoH is far more than the boring stats vs stats combat. It is a very cerebral, highly tactical strategy game. It skill fully maneuvers away from all the criticisms of the RTS genre (as pointed out by actual military strategists and turn-based strategy game players). It defines a innovative new strategy game that can be hailed as the greatest revolution in RTS since Warcraft 1 made its debut in 1994. Despite its excellent design and depth, it engages from the start, as one makes the first fumbling steps into the game. The game has remarkable polish: excellent graphics, color schemes and incredible sound to add to the inspiring atmosphere. It transforms the computer into a 1944 battlefield. A new bar has been set rather high for future games in the RTS genre. Expand
  95. Jacob
    May 13, 2009
    10
    I have played this game since it first came out. I came across it by luck. Now with all of the expansions out, this game appeals to single and multi player enthusiasts. The AI in the troops is a great aspect, the dimensions you have to cover in this game mean that you cannot get a super weapon and win. You have to play to win each time. For first time strategist it is a fun play and for I have played this game since it first came out. I came across it by luck. Now with all of the expansions out, this game appeals to single and multi player enthusiasts. The AI in the troops is a great aspect, the dimensions you have to cover in this game mean that you cannot get a super weapon and win. You have to play to win each time. For first time strategist it is a fun play and for veteran gamers it is the complete conjunction of action strategy and fun. Expand
  96. BeaLavont
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    I can't believe you people who rate this game so low because it lacks features NO OTHER GAME ON EARTH HAS!!! DUH??!! "Infantry cant jump over walls"..what RTS is out there that this is possible? I mean you comparing this game to a game that DOES NOT EXIST... learn to critique my friends...this RTS compared to past ones is a MASTERPIECE.. simply the best there is now...jeez
  97. Iven
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    Amazing Graphics. Very fast paced, especially for an RTS. Visceral and quite possibly one of the most intense and exciting RTS I've ever played.
  98. JamesW.
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    Unreal - World War 2 might have been done to death by a myriad of FPS games out there. Sincere congrats to Relic for breathing life in to a stale story genre with an absolutely STERLING RTS worthy of many accolades; it has everything you'd expect from a game destined to become reckoned as "great" - atmosphere, polish, balance and suspense. The satisfying 'thud' of distant Unreal - World War 2 might have been done to death by a myriad of FPS games out there. Sincere congrats to Relic for breathing life in to a stale story genre with an absolutely STERLING RTS worthy of many accolades; it has everything you'd expect from a game destined to become reckoned as "great" - atmosphere, polish, balance and suspense. The satisfying 'thud' of distant artillery with the growl and grind of approaching tanks adds an unbelieveable level of involvement when you are left in control of a few squads of Rifleman to hold a town against impossible odds... But it's very possible to hold the line, and that is why they call it "company of heroes". Thanks for a great game, Relic. You're a credit to the gaming industry. Expand
  99. XBlackFuryX
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    Really an awfull game, best RTS ever ( i guess ), enjoyable gameplay, lots of great vehicles, and there isnt lots of 152mm artillery fucking your base like in FOW. The AT guns, Tanks, Mgs, minefields and other traps by enginners make it a great strategy game even at defense and atack.. And General J., do you really think that all soldiers have AT grenades ? Why dont you try to researchReally an awfull game, best RTS ever ( i guess ), enjoyable gameplay, lots of great vehicles, and there isnt lots of 152mm artillery fucking your base like in FOW. The AT guns, Tanks, Mgs, minefields and other traps by enginners make it a great strategy game even at defense and atack.. And General J., do you really think that all soldiers have AT grenades ? Why dont you try to research Stick Bombs on barracks ? IT are real, not lots of AT grenades. Expand
  100. Mike
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    I hated the demo! I didn't understand what all the hype was about. And a month later, I bought the game, becasue all the good reviews got to me. I started playing this game, and I was amazed in how excellent the gameplay is! The demo doesnt even scratch the surface of how excellent this game is!
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. PC Gamer
    96
    Company of Heroes should be on the must-play list of every RTS fanatic out there, even those tired of WWII settings. It's just that good. [Oct. 2006, p.70]
  2. PC Gamer UK
    94
    This is the finest WWII strategy game I've played. Hell, I'm having real trouble thinking of any strategy game that's this spectacular, this intense, this fun. [Oct 2006, p.70]
  3. 94
    The transformation from a idyllic little town into a heap of crushed buildings and burned out husks of vehicles can be shocking. Seeing and hearing major explosions that cause bodies (and bits of bodies) to fly across the screen along with rubble from a nearby building simply puts you more into the battle than any RTS in memory.