Company of Heroes PC

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2006
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1110 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    Still playing it in 2012!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  2. JakeS
    Apr 2, 2010
    10
    Purely, one of the single best games to ever be created. From the gorgeous, stunning scapes and graphics to the realistic FX, to the clever and brilliant music that you will be dying to hear again and again. The way this game captures the look and feel of driving a semi-truck makes me all giddy inside. Hands down, better than the Ocarina of Time, better than Halo, better than Super Mario Purely, one of the single best games to ever be created. From the gorgeous, stunning scapes and graphics to the realistic FX, to the clever and brilliant music that you will be dying to hear again and again. The way this game captures the look and feel of driving a semi-truck makes me all giddy inside. Hands down, better than the Ocarina of Time, better than Halo, better than Super Mario 64 this wins Game of all Eternity. Expand
  3. NickW.
    Sep 4, 2006
    10
    Excellent game. Evenly balanced. Actually has physics. I can't think of anything in this game that isn't good!
  4. Torinir
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    One of the best RTS games of all time. A testament to the quality products that Relic is capable of developing.
  5. KevinB.
    Sep 14, 2006
    9
    Best RTS since Close Combat and Total Annihilation. It should tell you something when you realize it's the best RTS since 1999... The game is nearly flawless. Resource management is a natural part of aggressive tactics and requires zero micro management. Territorial control and supply lines are great additions. The fact that Infantry units aren't mere cannon fodder is a Best RTS since Close Combat and Total Annihilation. It should tell you something when you realize it's the best RTS since 1999... The game is nearly flawless. Resource management is a natural part of aggressive tactics and requires zero micro management. Territorial control and supply lines are great additions. The fact that Infantry units aren't mere cannon fodder is a testament to the level of detail given to this game. Throw in quality cinematics to go with a great campaign mode that presents all sorts of variations... yea... go buy it or else you'll be wasting your $50 on something else. Too bad it's yet ANOTHER WWII game... Expand
  6. JoeFulgham
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    The game is phenomenal. "Mick N" is competely misleading when talking about "resource gathering". Resources come from captured locations, not from sending soldiers out into mines or chopping down trees.

    This game is absolutely *not* a standard RTS. Its playstyle is fresh and a welcome breath of air to a pretty stagnant genre. I really liked Dawn of War. I *love* Company of Heroes.
  7. P.M.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    Amazing game, incredible grahics and unveleivable gameplay. The best part is the use of tactical moves such as flanking.
  8. GeorgeW.
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    I cannot stress enough how excellent this game is. The visuals, audio and gameplay all excel over others in the genre. In many ways, it's a combination of the best elements of Act of War, Dawn of War and COD. The control and squad systems are well-designed, making controlling your army a simple task. The AI is unusually smart and adaptive, capable of easily flanking your forces and I cannot stress enough how excellent this game is. The visuals, audio and gameplay all excel over others in the genre. In many ways, it's a combination of the best elements of Act of War, Dawn of War and COD. The control and squad systems are well-designed, making controlling your army a simple task. The AI is unusually smart and adaptive, capable of easily flanking your forces and defenses, using cover and heavy support weapons effectively. The use of a full physics engine really makes this a unique experience. Fighting through european cities with AT guns, tanks and motars results in destroyed buildings and caters. Destroyed vehicle parts and building rubble provide cover, whilst holes blown into the sides of buildings become places from which your infantry can fire. The only problems of note are the high system requirements needed to drive the fantastic visuals and physics, and the rather low limits placed on the number of units you can have. This is not like C&C - you cannot put hundreds of tanks onto the field and hope to win. At any one time, you may have as many as 6 or 7 tanks and several infantry units. However, this limit does enforce more reliance on strategy rather than spam, and it makes the limited use of the larger (and very tough) Tiger tanks much more enjoyable. Expand
  9. AwaisI.
    Sep 12, 2006
    9
    Company of Heroes, without a doubt is THE definition of an RTS.It combines the excellent sound,visceral,nerve wracking gameplay of Call of Duty 2 with the overhead view of an RTS. The only problem ive had with it is that the system settings a bit too high for those with a low computer. I have a 1.7 Ghz,512 Dual RAM and 64 ATi Radeon Mobile 9200 and COH bogs down alot.But the gameplay is Company of Heroes, without a doubt is THE definition of an RTS.It combines the excellent sound,visceral,nerve wracking gameplay of Call of Duty 2 with the overhead view of an RTS. The only problem ive had with it is that the system settings a bit too high for those with a low computer. I have a 1.7 Ghz,512 Dual RAM and 64 ATi Radeon Mobile 9200 and COH bogs down alot.But the gameplay is soooo good that the graphical problems are ALL forgotten. Company of Heroes,you dont own it...it owns YOU! Expand
  10. BeqirB.
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    This is a best that I even heard anytime in my life thanks with regard.
  11. JohnW.
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    I think it's a spectacular game. Graphics, tough AI, intensity of the combat and everything getting blown apart is awesome.
  12. RazLeBoL
    May 15, 2007
    10
    One of the best game I played in ages! And I am not even a fan of the RTS genre. So well done and requires thinking instead of massing units. It encourages usage of your brain instead.
  13. JoshuaA.
    Sep 4, 2007
    10
    The best part about CoH is the attention to detail. Having troops realistically seeking cover, rolling on the ground, having chunks of earth being blown off of the map, it just makes you feel really there.
  14. DerekS.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    Amazing graphics, and hours of fun playing time!
  15. RussG
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    The only strategy game I have every played that actually required thinking over just farming units and blobbing around the map. I have tried many strategy games, but this one is the best. While some people have trouble with the game and rate it poorly, it is because they didn't know how to play the game. This is a game that requires a lot of skill and knowledge before you get good at The only strategy game I have every played that actually required thinking over just farming units and blobbing around the map. I have tried many strategy games, but this one is the best. While some people have trouble with the game and rate it poorly, it is because they didn't know how to play the game. This is a game that requires a lot of skill and knowledge before you get good at it. For example, many people get frustrated when they don't know the controls to drive a vehicles backwards. Also, you can drive a vehicle into a wall to make a place for a machine gun. Buildings and cover can be destroyed completely. The game is the best balance of realism and fun I have ever played in a game. Expand
  16. JesseO.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    I actually installed Windows again (I'm a crazy Linux nut) just for this game. It is quite simply the best "RTS" game I've ever played.
  17. IanC
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Company of heroes is one of the most enjoyable game I have ever played, and that's without its expansion. The AI is astounding in my opinion, making combat decisions to better keep themselves alive. The cover system is very flexible and interesting, and lastly, the accuracy and presentation of the units in the game is near god-like. I highly recommend purchasing this game!
  18. DickA
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    CoH pretty much set the standard for RTS games post 2006. At its conception, its mix of intuitive and deep unit cover, intelligent unit AI, a great interface and outstanding graphics blew away previous entries into the genre. CoH was as a big step forward for the genre as Command and Conquer or Dune. It was the perfect mix of gameplay, history and balance. With patches, the game's AI CoH pretty much set the standard for RTS games post 2006. At its conception, its mix of intuitive and deep unit cover, intelligent unit AI, a great interface and outstanding graphics blew away previous entries into the genre. CoH was as a big step forward for the genre as Command and Conquer or Dune. It was the perfect mix of gameplay, history and balance. With patches, the game's AI is now absolutely outstanding, and still features a strong online community. Plenty of variety in maps, built in mission editor, the game simply features everything you could want in an RTS, complete with the expected attention to quality relic can provide. Collapse
  19. HenriV.
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    Best RTS ever played. Inovative gameplay, great graphics and sound. Totally destructible environment ... never seen before. This game is really intense.
  20. ShahrulN.
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    The very definition of strategy gaming! I have never played an RTS game where I felt so much for my little toy men. Buy it! You will never regret it.
  21. ErnestC.
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    It may just be the last WW2 RTS game you ever need to play. Any other WW2 game that will come out after this will be undoubtedly compared to COH and fail.
  22. Tt
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    Best game I've ever played. Very fast paced, especially for an RTS.
  23. JoMamma
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    Insane Graphics. One of the best games I have ever played. I've had a little trouble with multiplayer and the campaign was a little too short for my liking, but the great level designs and replay value due to the medals earned by completing secondary objectives and the abundant skirmish maps that can be replayed over and over with different outcomes make up for that completely
  24. HenryK.
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Certainly most of the innovate RTS games hitting the shelves this year.
  25. CoryP.
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    Uh, this game is the best RTS in years. period.
  26. JoeMaiz
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    Simply the best RTS/WW2 game. If you liked the Close Combat series, then you must get CoH. Get attached to your troops as you fight your way thru Europe's battles in WW2. Every unit has a strenght and a weakness, so its a fine balance in every fight. Using the map resources, you use them to create new units and also to upgrade your current ones, such as a flame thrower or throw a Simply the best RTS/WW2 game. If you liked the Close Combat series, then you must get CoH. Get attached to your troops as you fight your way thru Europe's battles in WW2. Every unit has a strenght and a weakness, so its a fine balance in every fight. Using the map resources, you use them to create new units and also to upgrade your current ones, such as a flame thrower or throw a grenade. Graphics are super, as details like wheelmarks, tracers and smoke are amazing. Overall, a well done and a must have for RTS and WW2 fans alike. Expand
  27. Mobius
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    If you have played Warhammer Dawn of War then you will find that company of heros playes almost excatly the same with the exception of better graphics better atmosfear and better maps.
  28. MartinC.
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    Best strategy game in many years, I have lately been looking for a good strategy game and this game is that game. It caught me by surprise, it's a real gem. I just finished the first mission and liked the chaotic and realistic feal of the game.
  29. DaveA.
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    This is a Game that made me play it for near 2 days straight. "Company Of Heroes" sounded like just another ww2 shootemup. I'm glad the offered a demo, once you pick it up, you won't put it down. Rember how cool Red Alert was when it Came out? Well this is cooler. I have never enjoyed a Real Time Strategy game as much as this before, and the pace is so frenetic it can be nerve This is a Game that made me play it for near 2 days straight. "Company Of Heroes" sounded like just another ww2 shootemup. I'm glad the offered a demo, once you pick it up, you won't put it down. Rember how cool Red Alert was when it Came out? Well this is cooler. I have never enjoyed a Real Time Strategy game as much as this before, and the pace is so frenetic it can be nerve wracking! Chaotic and cool! Expand
  30. LouisL.
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    Simply amazing. So far, the only truly great strategy games have been not set in WWII, and this game changes that. I've avoided WWII RTS games for a while because the idea of good for that genre is just that, good, but this game is amazing. It puts all other WWII RTS games to shame and many non WWII RTS games to shame. Sitting at your base is not an option due to the resourse Simply amazing. So far, the only truly great strategy games have been not set in WWII, and this game changes that. I've avoided WWII RTS games for a while because the idea of good for that genre is just that, good, but this game is amazing. It puts all other WWII RTS games to shame and many non WWII RTS games to shame. Sitting at your base is not an option due to the resourse gathering method. The entire game is made to make Offense and fighting the only way to win. It rewards aggressive play, but not reckless play and it really forces you to multi task and play the frontlines. The tactics used such as rear armor hits makes powerful units feel like more than jacked up weak units and the Company Commander abilities make only 2 factions feel like the WWII equivilant of 2 races with 3 factions each. Like in a fantasy themed game, the races (Axis and Allies) dfiffer in general play mechanics while the different Commander Paths feel like different Civilizations in a Historical RTS within those races (like in Rise of Nations or Age of Empires) and I'm surprised nobody ever thought of multiple levels of organization before. Overall, this is one of the greatest RTS games ever made and if you like RTS games, you owe this game a shot, or if you didn't like RTS games because you felt sitting back and building your base was boring, you also owe this a shot. Expand
  31. C.H.
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    Just got it on Steam, game kicked ass, great single player campaign.
  32. ElliottC
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    This games graphics have awed me since the game came out. The tanks look, feel, and control like tanks. Infantry are inteligent and look for their own cover, and manuever for combat effectiveness. The terrian is maliable like a real WWII battlefield. The sound effects are unreal, the graphics compliment the sound. The military strategy and economic goals are smartly created. This game has This games graphics have awed me since the game came out. The tanks look, feel, and control like tanks. Infantry are inteligent and look for their own cover, and manuever for combat effectiveness. The terrian is maliable like a real WWII battlefield. The sound effects are unreal, the graphics compliment the sound. The military strategy and economic goals are smartly created. This game has set precident to future RTS games need to be. A++ Expand
  33. JohnB.
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    I find the idiocy of 'this is hackneyed generic garbage' to be laughable. I'm sorry but as an RTS player since RTS began, I say Company of Heroes is everything RTS has ever aspired to be but always failed to achieve. RTS is about mid-field resource gathering and the production and upgrading of units. It is NOT about realism. Want realism? Play Total War. RTS has always been I find the idiocy of 'this is hackneyed generic garbage' to be laughable. I'm sorry but as an RTS player since RTS began, I say Company of Heroes is everything RTS has ever aspired to be but always failed to achieve. RTS is about mid-field resource gathering and the production and upgrading of units. It is NOT about realism. Want realism? Play Total War. RTS has always been about fast-paced aggressive action. What this game does include is actual military-style strategy. Yes I kid you not, strategy in a real time strategy game. Insanity incarnate, clearly the world is ending. Units that get decimated incredibly quickly, infantry that actually die to gun-fire rather than stand there taking hit after hit like every other RTS on the planet. Locational-based vehicle armour and damagable components, completely destructable environments. The list goes on and on. Those who would claim that this is generic whereas in fact it is exactly the opposite are an embarassment to the seasoned PC gamer. Remember to check your pseudo-intellectualist internet criticism at the door kiddies, this one's a keeper. Expand
  34. MaxDude
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    This is by far one of the best RTS games I have ever played. I was a bit skeptical on the ww2 genre and wasn't sure I would like it but after only an hour this turned into crack for me. It is insanely good. Takes a hell of a graph card to run and since mine was kind of sucky this title alone made me march out and upgrade. Nice work!
  35. DanC.
    Sep 29, 2006
    10
    One of the best RTS I have ever played. The game mechanics seem fresh and new, and I love the complete destructability of the battlefield.
  36. BrianH.
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    What are you people talking about! This is the best game ever! It not only has amazing graphics but it also involves a good amount of strategy.
  37. OlivierJ.
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Good Game we feeling almost the suffering of the soldiers.
  38. MikeS.
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    Its the best rts game i have ever played
  39. JimS.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    Delevering a whole new dimension to RTS, this is a stayer for years!
  40. GeorgB.
    Jul 21, 2007
    10
    Its unique, its involving and just plain FUN. Also on the other hand is has an unbelievable tactical depth, awesome graphics, and the sound... its like you're actually there. seriously its that good.
  41. HoldenD.
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    Another amazing RTS by Relic. I've got a few hundred hours clocked into the game, and still love to play it. It takes a bit to master, but once you do it's insane fun. And to Jon D, a 57mm AT gun would easily pierce the front armor of the Tiger. They are much higher velocity than tank guns. Besides, it's not like the Tiger was armored like a battleship.
  42. JosephH.
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    Realistic gameplay. Gives more of a feeling as a field commander when squads take cover. Best RTS I've played in years
  43. BillN
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    Simply the best RTS ever made to date. COH features the perfect blend of an 'arcade' and a realistic RTS. You dont have to think too much about what upgrades/stats/abilities to add as they are kept to a minimum, which in the heat of battle you don't really have time for. To get the best experience with COH you must play online. Nothing beats testing out a new strategy and winning.
  44. MArkMcK
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    I've been hooked on this game since it was in beta. It is IMHO the best RTS ever made.
  45. BrandonW.
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    The gameplay is incredible. For all you people that complained on here previously about not being able to play as the axis...umm there's multiplayer. With custom mods out there that are good overall and fantastic custom maps, the online gameplay will give you and your friends hours and hours of entertainment.
  46. DavidW.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    One of the best RTS of 2006, beautifully structured gameplay! And awesome graphics.
  47. Novi4ekNone
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    good game
  48. Oct 14, 2012
    8
    I haven't played multiplayer yet and my review is restricted to the gameplay and singleplayer only. Company of Heroes is one of the best RTS games I've ever played - possibly the best. The graphics look good even today, and the sound is pretty good as well. The game is almost a perfect ten - but it has drawbacks. The biggest complaint I have is the AI. It **** sucks. Infantry is almostI haven't played multiplayer yet and my review is restricted to the gameplay and singleplayer only. Company of Heroes is one of the best RTS games I've ever played - possibly the best. The graphics look good even today, and the sound is pretty good as well. The game is almost a perfect ten - but it has drawbacks. The biggest complaint I have is the AI. It **** sucks. Infantry is almost completely useless (it can stand 4 meters away from an enemy unit and still require 1000 shots to kill it). If you meet an enemy that's inside a house, you might as well just turn back until you get a tank to come along. This brings me to another point - the tanks. Not only do they suffer from poor AI as well (sometimes they'll mindlessly drive into what you want to attack, which might end up in it getting flanked and shot to bits, instead of attacking from a safe distance. And it's not enough with tanks having poor AI, they are practically necessary to complete anything. If you want to attack an objective, you NEED tanks to clear out the enemy's defence. If not, your infantry will be eaten alive. Basically how the missions play out is that you defend your base until you've gotten a few tanks - then you can launch your offensive. The only thing you need infantry for is to capture objectives.

    There isn't a whole lot of strategy involved either. No need for tactics - getting creative is not necessary at all. Just get a few tanks and steamroll through the level.

    That said, I still love the game and like it very much. It's fun to play, even with the issues it has. I'm looking forward to the sequel - which'll hopefully fix these issues. I definitely recommend this game to anyone who like RTS's or would like to start playing them - you'll have a great time even though it can get a little boring. It's cheap on Steam at the moment, and very much worth the money.
    Expand
  49. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    I have played a lot of RTS (Close Combat, Star Craft, Warcraft I-III, World in Conflict, to name a few), Company of Heroes is the most polished and innovative that I have played. As many have noted the graphics in this game are top notch. The frantic and non-stop action of the game requires a great deal of thought rewarding both the quick and the intelligent. If you enjoy RTS's, youI have played a lot of RTS (Close Combat, Star Craft, Warcraft I-III, World in Conflict, to name a few), Company of Heroes is the most polished and innovative that I have played. As many have noted the graphics in this game are top notch. The frantic and non-stop action of the game requires a great deal of thought rewarding both the quick and the intelligent. If you enjoy RTS's, you will love this game. Expand
  50. MarkS.
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    This is the one of the best RTS games I have ever played. From the destructible environments, to the stellar audio, this game is technically superior to anything else on the store shelves. While your infantry is getting taken out by a garrisoned Axis unit, call in a Howitzer strike. Watch as the spray of earth sprays in the air and listen to the little pieces as they rain back down to the This is the one of the best RTS games I have ever played. From the destructible environments, to the stellar audio, this game is technically superior to anything else on the store shelves. While your infantry is getting taken out by a garrisoned Axis unit, call in a Howitzer strike. Watch as the spray of earth sprays in the air and listen to the little pieces as they rain back down to the ground. Game play is excellent, however do not expect to build up a massive army and sweep through the map. Turtle your units in this game and you're dead. ("Won't win this war by standin' around!") I rarely, and I mean rarely, play online, but gave this one a spin last night. I actually had fun, it was easy to get connected and there was no lag even though half the group was showing poor performance, (6 Players). Our side had our asses handed to us, but it was a good time. The only minor quibbles that I have are the long load times and the lack of a quick save feature. I gave it a 10 only because the game deserves more that a 9, and I don Expand
  51. LysanderS
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    One of the best games i've ever played. I'll keep this short. While there's bugs, mentioned by others, such as infantry specifically moving AWAY from the sandbags you've stationed them to use as cover, and other small annoying bugs like this, it's still and AMAZING game. You really can't miss out on this. You can zoom in and alternate your view to get a great One of the best games i've ever played. I'll keep this short. While there's bugs, mentioned by others, such as infantry specifically moving AWAY from the sandbags you've stationed them to use as cover, and other small annoying bugs like this, it's still and AMAZING game. You really can't miss out on this. You can zoom in and alternate your view to get a great look at the gorgeous visuals, you have full controll over everything on the battlefield, it's just so fantastic. Multiplayer lobbies can be a real bish though... Expand
  52. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    F*CK YOU RELIC!!! I CANT STOP PLAYING THIS GAME!!!!!
    This game is from 2006 yet i dont know a RTS with better graphics.
    Yet i dont know a game with more strategy.
    Yet i dont know a game with more mods.
    Yet i dont know a game with better dynamic combat.
    This is a underrated masterpiece!!
  53. Czar
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    This is an amazing experience. They have turned the old tired rts base building concept and made it new again. INstead of feeling like "the tanks arrived becuase I built a tent". I feel like the tanks are here so a support tent has been errected. Maybe that is just me. The pause button is your friend - use it. You are able to use real tactics in this game - a small force can take out a This is an amazing experience. They have turned the old tired rts base building concept and made it new again. INstead of feeling like "the tanks arrived becuase I built a tent". I feel like the tanks are here so a support tent has been errected. Maybe that is just me. The pause button is your friend - use it. You are able to use real tactics in this game - a small force can take out a superior force if you use sound tactics. Expand
  54. JoeM.
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    Absolutely stunning. By far the best RTS I've played in years. Believe the hype, this game delivers. Well balanced, immersive gameplay, interesting new tactical and strategic elements, and it even lives up to the often aspired to but seldom achieved goal of making the action the focus, and not the resource gathering/base building. Do NOT believe the absurd negative reviews (a 1?! Absolutely stunning. By far the best RTS I've played in years. Believe the hype, this game delivers. Well balanced, immersive gameplay, interesting new tactical and strategic elements, and it even lives up to the often aspired to but seldom achieved goal of making the action the focus, and not the resource gathering/base building. Do NOT believe the absurd negative reviews (a 1?! Seriously, are you on drugs, or merely bitter?) that some have given. Or at the very least, read them for content. Some thought they were buying yet another WWII first person shooter (as if the world needed another), and others are curmudgeony tabletop gamers who are cranky that the developers took game mechanics and balance into consideration first, and trivial details like the horizontal movment limits of an M-4 Sherman's main gun were secondary. If you need to learn about history, you obviously don't go to an RTS for it (unless you're some sort of idiot). Read a book, or at the very least tune in to a documentary. If you're coming to CoH looking for an outstanding and genre defining real time strategy game...then you've come to the right place! Expand
  55. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    This is probably one of the fewest games that defines real-time strategy. This would have been called the Call of Duty RTS game of the century. Excellent graphics, content, story and cinematics make this unique game far better than all the others. Slow gameplay, less FPS usage, less missions, numerous balance issues and big patches are the drawbacks.
  56. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    This is the best RTS I've ever played, and yeah that's counting Starcraft. I've played over 300 of this game with my friends alone. About another 150 hours on my own, if you want a great RTS this is the game to get especially since it's $10 on steam without specials. Personally not a big fan of the expansions though, which are basically required for multiplayer other than with friends.This is the best RTS I've ever played, and yeah that's counting Starcraft. I've played over 300 of this game with my friends alone. About another 150 hours on my own, if you want a great RTS this is the game to get especially since it's $10 on steam without specials. Personally not a big fan of the expansions though, which are basically required for multiplayer other than with friends.

    Unit AI, works just fine for those who complain about it are just clicking and forgetting to much. Sure it's not perfect but to give this game a 4 because of it is down right stupid.

    I've also noticed this game has a major historical inaccuracy that greatly effects gameplay. (I assume for balance reasons) Historically during WWII the only tanks that could turn in place was the Panther and Tiger tanks (and a few related versions of those tanks), while no other tanks could do this, but in CoH all tanks can do that. Once again I'll assume it's for balance reasons because the allies would lose a lot more often than necessary.
    Expand
  57. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    best strategy game ever. really good and cant stop playing it. tanks are wonderful and taking enemy machine guns and vehicles are so fantastic. i gave it 10 since its best for me
  58. Feb 16, 2015
    10
    Company of Heroes is one of the best RTS game in the world. its realistic graphics and system is very good until now. i'm still playing it in 2015!!!!!
  59. Suurboojumi
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    Very solid production from Relic. This is one of the best strategy games ever. Not a perfect 10, but still way better than 9.Winning in this game actually takes planning and instead of just building huge massses of cannon fodder. One of the few complaints i have, there is only Allied campaign, which is over too soon, but all in all definitely worth of buying. And I choose carefully which Very solid production from Relic. This is one of the best strategy games ever. Not a perfect 10, but still way better than 9.Winning in this game actually takes planning and instead of just building huge massses of cannon fodder. One of the few complaints i have, there is only Allied campaign, which is over too soon, but all in all definitely worth of buying. And I choose carefully which games I buy. Expand
  60. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Best RTS game ever. It's really realistic with lots of actions. Controlling tanks and spuads of troops to destroy the enemies. Campaign has good varieties of missions, like defending or attack with paratroopers. Skirmish and multiplayer can give you endless actions. I especially like 4 vs 4, because it requires teamwork and you can rely on your ally to help you. This is a really amazing game.
  61. PaulC.
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    I don't like giving games 10 - and this is the first game I remember giving 10 to on Meta...but it's worth it. I still ove the backdrop (WWII) and the sense of actually affecting the run of battle in a real way, your actions aren't just "tank rush" or "mass defense"..they will not work in this game, thoughtful combining of firepower in attack and carefully chosen positions I don't like giving games 10 - and this is the first game I remember giving 10 to on Meta...but it's worth it. I still ove the backdrop (WWII) and the sense of actually affecting the run of battle in a real way, your actions aren't just "tank rush" or "mass defense"..they will not work in this game, thoughtful combining of firepower in attack and carefully chosen positions in defense are vital - as is the requirment to continually adapt - 'cause the AI is among the best ever. For squad level - this one reigns supreme. Well done Relic (So what the hell was "The Outfit" all about then ??) Clarker Expand
  62. MadsJ.
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    Uber RTS! High quality gaming, SFX and GFX.. Go get it right now! And I'll cya online;-).
  63. RS
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Awesome game.
  64. Cb
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    A new standard for "10"!
  65. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    This is my second favorite game of all time, and I'm still playing it long after I gave up my favorite game of all time (Battlefield 2). It's probably one of the most replayable games of all time. It keeps things relatively simple yet provides endless ways to play.
  66. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Definitely best game ever, much better than so many other RTS as theres much more to think about, much more tactical play, and awesome replayability, Fave game still after over five years
  67. May 15, 2011
    10
    This is the greatest game WW2 RTS ever made. Its graphics and ganmeplay are mind blowing and with updates its even better. I hope this franchise is expanded
  68. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    A jaunt through the multi and even single-player modes of this game will lead you to the inevitable conclusion that this is the greatest and most innovative RTS of all time, no questions asked.

    The gameplay is infinitely replayable, terrain truly matters, and the micro is so detailed without ever becoming overwhelming or tedious. This is a game that makes full use of its available
    A jaunt through the multi and even single-player modes of this game will lead you to the inevitable conclusion that this is the greatest and most innovative RTS of all time, no questions asked.

    The gameplay is infinitely replayable, terrain truly matters, and the micro is so detailed without ever becoming overwhelming or tedious. This is a game that makes full use of its available resources.

    Most of all, mastering this game requires intelligence, not block-headed keyboard mashing. If you still haven't bought this yet, it's on Amazon for $14. Why don't you own it?
    Expand
  69. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    I have played this extensively and YES the graphics and sound effects are AMAZING, and is mostly good for massive battles and intense firefights. I give it a 10 because I have not once gotten bored of it over the last 4 years I've had it. Great game, AI needs some work, I highly recommend this game. P.S. Anyone who rated this game badly never gave it a BIT of a chance, don't listen to them please.
  70. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Hell of a game. It's 5 years old, but still very good looking, unrivalled gameplay. Squad based infantry, very tactical because you can cut off important strategy points. Excellent cover system. Great tank mechanics. factions are very good balanced. Mulitplayer still totally vivid. On weekend there are more then 8000 players online. Great for a 5 year old game.
  71. Aug 10, 2012
    9
    love this game. the system works well and the enemies offer a challenge. the games upgrade system feels satisfying and doesn't feel a worthless waste of points. I enjoyed the game from beginning to end and will consider buying the sequel when I've finished the game I'm playing now
  72. Aug 31, 2013
    9
    I'm not a great strategy, but loving me is like CoH, beautiful graphics, great video transfer, a long campaign, smart opponents, can only praise is a great word. I recommend to everyone.
  73. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Never has the RTS genre seen anything like this. Company of Heroes is rightfully, the highest rated game of its kind. And to this day, no other game in the likes holds a candle to its gameplay and tactical immersion. Every battle is something new and exciting, this is one of those games that never gets old.
  74. Sep 12, 2012
    9
    You know what? This is one of those few non-crappy RTSs I ever played. The gameplay is addicting, i barely see any flaws. THQ you did a really good job.
  75. May 21, 2013
    9
    Brilliant, thrilling, exhausting and exhilarating, this must be the finest RTS out there.

    Even the slow missions are excellent, and the fast ones, where you can't take your eyes off the screen for a second in case you miss the AI's tricks are quite incredible.
  76. Jul 13, 2015
    10
    A jewel of an RTS. Easily one of the BEST ever made. both defense and offense and immensely fun, challenging, and intense. The community is so active, and helpful, especially for a game that's nearly 8 years old. The graphics are very good, the FPS is so smooth, the gameplay seamless, easy to learn and control. Each faction ( 4 in total with DLC, 2 in base game) grants unique units andA jewel of an RTS. Easily one of the BEST ever made. both defense and offense and immensely fun, challenging, and intense. The community is so active, and helpful, especially for a game that's nearly 8 years old. The graphics are very good, the FPS is so smooth, the gameplay seamless, easy to learn and control. Each faction ( 4 in total with DLC, 2 in base game) grants unique units and abilities, and tactics you MUST follow to succeed in a battle. none of the factions play alike one another. Which brings me to my final in this review. This game never gets old. It is not repetitive. every battle is different. from where you set up, to when you go for a flank or an assault. I can't get enough of this game. And you won't either. Expand
  77. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    "It's like Dawn of War in WW2!" More like improved version of Dawn of War. And there's nothing bad about it right now. Yeah, sometimes it's actually good to keep very similiar gameplay! Take that C- oh wait I hate that game too... The gameplay is very similiar to Dawn of War (Not in a bad way) but the additions improve the gameplay a lot and add more depth. Since there are now three"It's like Dawn of War in WW2!" More like improved version of Dawn of War. And there's nothing bad about it right now. Yeah, sometimes it's actually good to keep very similiar gameplay! Take that C- oh wait I hate that game too... The gameplay is very similiar to Dawn of War (Not in a bad way) but the additions improve the gameplay a lot and add more depth. Since there are now three different kind of control points to capture, it's now more important to decide what you want to capture first. It also adds more dirty things to do like stealing the ammunation points to prevent enemy from spamming artillery strikes. Add the fact that you need to keep control points around it secured to make use of the resources you get, there are a lot more things to do to stop the enemy. The gameplay is the most intense I've encountered in a strategy game. Playing 3vs3 is simply amazing in this game. This game is definently one of the best strategy games released. The gameplay is great and was improved from Dawn of War in right places with very good additions. You DON'T avoid this game. You'll buy this game, play 3vs3 (Or 4vs4 and such), and have a lot of fun. 24/7. Expand
  78. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    Best RTS ever. Great multiplayer play as well as single player skirmish vs. the computer. The support for this game has gone down hill so if you plan on playing online ask the community how the game is being supported on steam(7/13). Worth it just for playing single player if you can get it cheap. There are replays on you tube.
  79. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    Unfortunetly, I have to write this from the perspective of someone who is THE WORST fps player of all time. However, if I play the easy mode their should still be the balance that would allow the me to make it through wihout huge difficulty spikes. The gameplay is great; the overall atmosphere is great.
  80. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    Best RTS ever. I've played every RTS on PC from Warcraft 1 to Starcraft 2, the DoW series, and the Total War games. This one shames them in all. In terms of gameplay, graphics, fun, and orginality, nothing has and I seriously doubt anything ever will surpass this game. Smart AI, great graphics and physics, awesome voice acting, endless maps and content. There is literally nothing more youBest RTS ever. I've played every RTS on PC from Warcraft 1 to Starcraft 2, the DoW series, and the Total War games. This one shames them in all. In terms of gameplay, graphics, fun, and orginality, nothing has and I seriously doubt anything ever will surpass this game. Smart AI, great graphics and physics, awesome voice acting, endless maps and content. There is literally nothing more you can ask for. Expand
  81. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    *Best strategy and tactics game ever! I just bought this in Dec 2012 and have logged more than 200 hours on it. Strategy games are my main interest with computer games and I have played some great ones. Warrior Kings Battles had some epic combined-arms tactics with interesting terrain and base building. Starcraft was OK for its time but was very limited and led to mono-tactics. CoH, and*Best strategy and tactics game ever! I just bought this in Dec 2012 and have logged more than 200 hours on it. Strategy games are my main interest with computer games and I have played some great ones. Warrior Kings Battles had some epic combined-arms tactics with interesting terrain and base building. Starcraft was OK for its time but was very limited and led to mono-tactics. CoH, and its fine expansion-packs, have set the bar so high that no game has been able to surpass it. The single player game is a fine tutorial and it has high production values and a logical progression. However, the game was designed around the PvP match, and it is very well thought out. There is an amazing variety of tactical options available with three distinct disciplines to choose from within each faction. (4 factions if you have both the expansions) Even still you will find that every player has a unique style that can be seen in their play. The game is about figuring out what your opponent is up to then foiling their plans. This does not boil down to 'this unit beats that unit' like so many other games. With CoH the player can react on the fly, fake out & misdirect, apply their 'brilliant plan' or devise a counter strategy when needed. Anything you can imagine can be attempted. *Many of the so-called 'bugs' are actually signs of extensive testing and debate by the studio. If your AT gun won't face to counter attack it is because you told him to guard the road. This is the army...units are supposed to follow orders, not decide what they feel like doing. Reacting to their pleas for refacing is your job...it's called micro. *The PvP has very little trash-talking compared to shooter games and there is an active community. Automatches will find you an opponent that is at the same level as you and game-play avoids abusive base-rushes and snowballing. Battles will often go back and forth leaving victory up for grabs until the very end. Solid design. Huge detail. The voice acting is great with accents and period-specific & regionally accurate colloquialisms. (Canadian soldiers with authentic Quebecois and Newfie accents.) Oh, and almost every significant unit type from WW2 is beautifully modeled with the actual abilities associated with them. The statistics for the weapon systems are modeled with amazing accuracy only being altered to maintain balance in the game. ( War is never fair but games should be). Matches can also be recorded and there are many shoutcasts for CoH playbacks with commentary available on the net. Company of Heroes is a must have for all strategy and tactics players. Expand
  82. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    There are many things that are just great about Company of heroes. The AI is polished, The campaign is awesome, the maps are pretty much flawlessly designed, the multiplayer is a ton of fun, there is a nice replay feature, AND SO MUCH MORE!!! If you would like to try a unique RTS, the look no further. You like occupying enemy territory? this will be your fix. Do you want a fun game thatThere are many things that are just great about Company of heroes. The AI is polished, The campaign is awesome, the maps are pretty much flawlessly designed, the multiplayer is a ton of fun, there is a nice replay feature, AND SO MUCH MORE!!! If you would like to try a unique RTS, the look no further. You like occupying enemy territory? this will be your fix. Do you want a fun game that is going to last a long time? Then buy this game. This game is a MUST BUY!!! If you would like to check out more about this, then go to wikepedia. I would give this thing a 10 out of 5. This thing is so good, it is tied right up there for one of the best RTS/pc exclusive/game of ALL TIME!!! Give yourself a good thing, and make this your next purchase/gift. Expand
  83. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time and the only RTS I've ever really been able to get into. It's got the mechanics of StarCraft with a WW2 setting and a much slower pace. There is an emphasis on micromanagement because your units are expensive and thus limited. This serves to make each battle realistic. Each faction is unique - they don't just have different units, they playOne of my favorite games of all time and the only RTS I've ever really been able to get into. It's got the mechanics of StarCraft with a WW2 setting and a much slower pace. There is an emphasis on micromanagement because your units are expensive and thus limited. This serves to make each battle realistic. Each faction is unique - they don't just have different units, they play differently. The Wehrmacht and Americans play differently from the Panzer Elite and British. The different kinds of units are very diverse. You can build sandbags, lay barbed wire, tank traps, mines, upgrade squads and vehicles. By the end of a match you won't recognize the environment because of the destruction. You can choose doctrines, upgrades. There's infantry, light vehicles, light tanks, heavy tanks, artillery, anti-tank guns. It's especially addicting if you're a WW2 buff. The game runs decently but has vsync enabled by default (this can be forced off) which causes some input lag. Also it lacks an AA option but this also can be forced on if you have an Nvidia GPU (FXAA). The sound in this game is phenomenal. You can really feel the thump of shells firing and units exploding; the environmental reverb is amazing. Each rifle, machine gun, and artillery piece sounds unique. The campaign is kind of boring but who cares... 10/10. Truly a masterpiece. Expand
  84. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    Amazing game that raised the bar for RTS. Great balance for multilayer with fun maps and multiple game modes one of which is a MOBA with WWII tanks! Sega will not update the matchmaking system which is sad because this game has better balance than CoH2.
  85. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Definitely one of my favorite RTS games.
    The Company of Heroes series offers many great campaigns to enjoy, different factions and a true to history feeling.
    The Squad-based strategies are easy to get into yet are challenging to use correctly. Upgrading and equipping your troops with specialised weapons is an essential part of the game, and the balance is nicely achieved; you can counter
    Definitely one of my favorite RTS games.
    The Company of Heroes series offers many great campaigns to enjoy, different factions and a true to history feeling.
    The Squad-based strategies are easy to get into yet are challenging to use correctly.
    Upgrading and equipping your troops with specialised weapons is an essential part of the game, and the balance is nicely achieved; you can counter the biggest tank rushes if you use the right units, use cover or hide in buildings.

    Great franchise, amazing value!
    Expand
  86. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    PRO's:

    Gorgeous visuals with a competent game engine. A gorgeous soundtrack and brilliant sound design. A massive modding community that is still making original content for a game close to 8 years since its release. Varied factions that all play in remarkably different ways. Hundreds of strategies, different methods of play, a still active multiplayer community. The sequel drew
    PRO's:

    Gorgeous visuals with a competent game engine.
    A gorgeous soundtrack and brilliant sound design.
    A massive modding community that is still making original content for a game close to 8 years since its release.
    Varied factions that all play in remarkably different ways.
    Hundreds of strategies, different methods of play, a still active multiplayer community.
    The sequel drew back in old players after everyone realized how mediocre it was.
    Its Warhammer 40K on steroids and who doesn't like Warhammer?

    CON's:

    Their have been some pretty mind numbingly stupid patches made for the expansion.
    The expansions were not very good compared to the original.
    Some things are mostly fixed, but a lot is still broken since the attempt years ago was made to balance all the factions pretty much at once.
    Its starting to look a little long in the tooth visually.
    The multiplayer community is full of some pretty huge ego maniacal fellas that don't play nice with newer players.
    The automatches can be a dangerous breeding ground for contempt amongst those who are new to the game.
    The modding communities are always heading for different camps, with the intent of making the game more "realistic" or more "balanced," but they never really settle on more "fun."
    Some of the concepts are so far removed from reality that some people might prefer entirely different games such as the "Men of War" games.
    Multiple scathing and somewhat stupid historical inaccuracies that should've never been in the game.
    Tank battles are more arcade-like than any tank battles from actual reality.
    If you were content enough with Warhammer 40K and those expansions- you may have already played this game for the most part- only without the World War II aesthetic or theme.
    Expand
  87. May 23, 2011
    10
    Possible the best RTS ever made! 5 Years old and the GFX are still amazing compared to most other RTS games. Just wow, if you havent tryed it your missing out!
  88. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    Best RTS ever. Single player campaign is excellent, but the game shines most for 1V1, 2V2. Deep tactical macro and micro. Very strategic, requiring careful planning of attacks. Flanking, using cover, machine guns supressing fire, snipers, tech tree from basic troops, advanced troops, medium vechicles and heavy tanks.

    After so many years, there is no other RTS that offers better
    Best RTS ever. Single player campaign is excellent, but the game shines most for 1V1, 2V2. Deep tactical macro and micro. Very strategic, requiring careful planning of attacks. Flanking, using cover, machine guns supressing fire, snipers, tech tree from basic troops, advanced troops, medium vechicles and heavy tanks.

    After so many years, there is no other RTS that offers better gameplay. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  89. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    CoH is not for everyone, but overall, its an amazing experience. the sheer level of realism is impressive, and the complexity is quite deep, but not so deep that it gets in the way of the gameplay. however that being said, the complexity of the game would turn off many people. to truely be able to be good at this game, you need to be very good at micromanaging, which im not particularlyCoH is not for everyone, but overall, its an amazing experience. the sheer level of realism is impressive, and the complexity is quite deep, but not so deep that it gets in the way of the gameplay. however that being said, the complexity of the game would turn off many people. to truely be able to be good at this game, you need to be very good at micromanaging, which im not particularly very good at. the level of complexity actually gets to the point where you have to actually tell every tank exactly which way to face, since their armor varies depending on which side they get shot... its not a perfect game by any means, but it sure is a great one. Expand
  90. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    This is an awesome RTS. Company of heroes is the most realistic WWII game I have ever played. All of the Weapons and Vehicles are historically accurate. The graphics and the sound effects are great. Company of heroes is territory based yet it still plays like an "Age of Empires" or "Warcraft III", but it is one of the only RTS games I have seen that can be territory based, but still fastThis is an awesome RTS. Company of heroes is the most realistic WWII game I have ever played. All of the Weapons and Vehicles are historically accurate. The graphics and the sound effects are great. Company of heroes is territory based yet it still plays like an "Age of Empires" or "Warcraft III", but it is one of the only RTS games I have seen that can be territory based, but still fast and not extremely complicated. CoH only has 2 different playable armies which is one of the only down sides, but that's why I bought "CoH: Tales of Valor" which unlocks the British and the Panzer Elite armies. I personally believe this is one of the greatest RTS games of all time. Expand
  91. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    CoH is the best strategy game currently on the market. The game is flawless in every aspect, and allows for some pretty epic battles. There is nothing more to say, everything is a perfect 10.
  92. Oct 26, 2011
    9
    You'll be hard-pressed to find another RTS as immersive, realistic (in a fun way) and intense as Company of Heros. Even by todays standards it's a great looking game. The objectives, units and weapons are so varied that it fails to feel tedious even over it's extensive campaign stretching 30+ hours (depending on how good you are) . Unfortunately, although it isn't the most complex of RTSYou'll be hard-pressed to find another RTS as immersive, realistic (in a fun way) and intense as Company of Heros. Even by todays standards it's a great looking game. The objectives, units and weapons are so varied that it fails to feel tedious even over it's extensive campaign stretching 30+ hours (depending on how good you are) . Unfortunately, although it isn't the most complex of RTS games, it can feel overwhelming to those used to Age of Empires, and many of the weaknesses of certain enemy units are not always known or apparent. However that is a miniscule issue that won't prevent you from enjoying the game on easier difficulties, especially considering how mesmerized you will be by the incredibly sound effects. Expand
  93. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    I have played many an RTS in my life, and I must say, this is the best one by some distance! Recommend it and the expansions (Opposing Fronts, Tales of Valor) to any RTS lovers out there!
  94. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    Great game! The best RTS game I ever played. The audio, gameplay and graphics all combine together to give a realistic war simulation. The destroyable enviroments are epic, showing the aftermath of huge battles. One of the effects I like is the ragdoll physics when a soldier dies when hit by an explosion. Really realistic. Worth it definetaly!
  95. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    Just started playing, as a certain magazine provided its readers with a free steam code - thanks! I've got dishonoured, far cry 3 and assassin's creed 3 sitting in their boxes unwrapped, as I've been immersed in these strategic/tactical, yet also action-packed campaigns (if you include Opposing Fronts expansion). I was worried that the slightly dated graphics and cut scenes would put meJust started playing, as a certain magazine provided its readers with a free steam code - thanks! I've got dishonoured, far cry 3 and assassin's creed 3 sitting in their boxes unwrapped, as I've been immersed in these strategic/tactical, yet also action-packed campaigns (if you include Opposing Fronts expansion). I was worried that the slightly dated graphics and cut scenes would put me off. This game really stands the test of time. The only other war RTS I bought this year as Wargame: European Escalation, but COH literally is a far, far more fun game to play. Will be eagerly awaiting the sequel. My only criticism, is the population cap limit - I understand the reasoning behind it, but it would be nice to have truly massive and epic battles. Expand
  96. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    Company of Heroes is surprising in almost every way possible. Its graphics were ahead of its time at release, the combat is polished and the gameplay is easy to pick u. Of course it has suffered slightly from imbalance and a bit of frustrating AI at times, but these issues seem to have been worked on in the end. This game delivers realism, immersion and shows strategy games from theirCompany of Heroes is surprising in almost every way possible. Its graphics were ahead of its time at release, the combat is polished and the gameplay is easy to pick u. Of course it has suffered slightly from imbalance and a bit of frustrating AI at times, but these issues seem to have been worked on in the end. This game delivers realism, immersion and shows strategy games from their finest angle. Expand
  97. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Company of heroes is not just the best RTS I've ever played, this game simply make other real time stratagy games (which I liked until played this game) look like a joke. I will admit the units in Red Alert 3 or in Starcraft 2 looks cooler: this game has no electricity shooting plane that turns into submarine or Giant 6 legs laser shooting beasts, but as far as the game goes, it's justCompany of heroes is not just the best RTS I've ever played, this game simply make other real time stratagy games (which I liked until played this game) look like a joke. I will admit the units in Red Alert 3 or in Starcraft 2 looks cooler: this game has no electricity shooting plane that turns into submarine or Giant 6 legs laser shooting beasts, but as far as the game goes, it's just excellent. And its not just the graphics and sound- in fact I only find myself zooming in while watching replays (Because awareness is key in this game) And the sound is great and realistic but not really varied. Its the game itself that earns the 10 score. The enviorment- Anything in the enviorment: Buildings, fences, trees, Destroyed Vehicles, Anything is part of the game. You will have to make sure your riflemen stay behind cover while running in mortar fire, position them behing fences while engaging the enemy, move quickly on roads (which offer nagative cover) and pretty much consider every detail in the landscape. The Securing Points System make sure no moment in the game remains dull. from the engineers skirmishes in the beginning to the full scale armour and artillary war in the end, the war takes place in every second and in every place, not just the enemy base and yours. Resources management is also improtant.

    The game also brings back many tactics that seem forgotten by other RTSs. Flanking the enemy can make the diffrence between full retreat to full victory. A well placed mine can soften enemy squeds and damage the enemy vehicles' engine and health. firing a supressing Brust can send your enemy troops into cover so you can finish them off with grenade. Tanks and other vehicles can cause total chaos until you bypass their shields and destroy them. As I said, after playing this game all other RTSs, even those created 5 years later, just seem childish. Anyone who loves RTS should definatly get this game
    Expand
  98. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    Even after all those years still one of the best RTS games when it comes to fast paced combat. A great fun to play online! It's also still one of the best looking RTS games out there. Relic truly did a great job!
  99. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    ClausA u can go screw yourself! the critics gave it amazing reviews. the AI is supposed to be hard ur fighting against a **** computer no duh its gonna be hard. the makers make the AI challenging to give u a challenge to face to make u get frustrated and go head on not to rage quit and whine all day about wasting your money its a good game don't blame the game because u suck!
  100. May 10, 2012
    10
    This game have all what I expect from RTS! Great team play with friends in MP, great single player and graphics is good too. Really looking forward to CoH2!
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 55
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 55
  3. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. PC Gamer
    96
    Company of Heroes should be on the must-play list of every RTS fanatic out there, even those tired of WWII settings. It's just that good. [Oct. 2006, p.70]
  2. PC Gamer UK
    94
    This is the finest WWII strategy game I've played. Hell, I'm having real trouble thinking of any strategy game that's this spectacular, this intense, this fun. [Oct 2006, p.70]
  3. 94
    The transformation from a idyllic little town into a heap of crushed buildings and burned out husks of vehicles can be shocking. Seeing and hearing major explosions that cause bodies (and bits of bodies) to fly across the screen along with rubble from a nearby building simply puts you more into the battle than any RTS in memory.